DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is the first action on the merits for application 18/604,850 filed on 10/02/2024. Claims 1-19 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/29/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding the phrase “couple” in the various claims, applicant does not have any specific definition of the phrase in the specification. Therefore, the phrase should be given its ordinary meaning, which include connect either direct or indirectly (e.g. with intermediate elements). If examiner construes the phrase to mean indirectly coupled, such interpretation would indicate (via intermediate member(s)).
Regarding the phrase “couple” in the various claims, applicant does not have any specific definition of the phrase in the specification. Therefore, the phrase should be given its ordinary meaning, which means mechanically connected, coupled or interacting with another component either direct or indirectly via other intermediate elements. If examiner construes the phrase to mean indirectly, such interpretation would indicate (via intermediate member(s)).
Regarding the term "portion" in the various claims, applicant does not have any specific definition of the phrase in the specification. Therefore, the phrase should be given its ordinary meaning, which is "a part or segment or section of whole structure".
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “vehicle body”; “wheel” in claim 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kapaan (US 20050092558 A1)
Kapaan discloses:
Claim 1: A brake device (¶[0011]: FIGURE shows a brake caliper ) comprising:
a caliper body (1);
a brake pad (2/3) mounted on one side of the caliper body (1);
a mounting portion (e.g. e.g. caliper interior portion) formed inside the caliper body (1); and
a pad propulsion unit (4, 7, 22) located in the mounting portion (e.g. e.g. caliper interior portion) and configured for pressing one surface of the brake pad (3) (¶[0016]-[0017]),
wherein the pad propulsion unit (4,7,22) includes: a rotation medium rotating (9);
a conversion assembly (5,6) engaged to (via 26, 20) the rotation medium (9) and converting rotational motion into linear motion in conjunction with the rotation medium (9) (¶[0016]-[0017]); and
a piston (22) formed to surround one side of the conversion assembly (5,6).
Claim 2: The brake device of claim 1, wherein the conversion assembly (5,6) includes:
a ball screw nut (6. As 6 is rotatable component of ball screw conversion mechanism and cooperates with balls 28 to convert rotational input into axial movement. Thereof, 6 is reasonable to be interpreted as “ball screw nut”) coupled to (via 26, 20) the rotation medium (9) and rotating together with the rotation medium (9); and
a ball screw bolt (29,26. Note: the claim does not require “ball screw bolt” to be one piece component and the specification does not have any definition of “ball screw bolt”. Under BRI, the phrase “ball screw bolt” encompasses a multipart axial assembly that collectively performs the recited functions. In this case, portion of shaft 26 extends through 6 while 29 moves backward/ forward. Thus, 26 and 29 together as ball screw bolt, the combined structure collectively performs the recited functions.) penetrating through the rotation medium (9) and the ball screw nut (6) and moving forward or backward by the rotation of the ball screw nut (6).
Claim 5: The brake device of claim 2, wherein the ball screw bolt (29,26) includes a head (29) having a curved surface (41) on one side of the head (29), and wherein the piston (22) includes a connecting surface (42) having a curved surface formed to correspond to the curved surface of the head (29).
Claim 6: The brake device of claim 5, wherein a gap (e.g. clearance between the 41 and 42 when they are not in contact) is formed between one side of the head (29) and one side of the connecting surface (42).
Claim 9: The brake device of claim 2, wherein the ball screw bolt (29,26) is formed longer than a length of the ball screw nut (6).
Claim(s) 1, 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SATOH (US 20180094682 A1)
SATOH discloses:
Claim 1. A brake device (title) comprising:
a caliper body (C; Fig.1);
a brake pad (P/P’) mounted on one side of the caliper body (C);
a mounting portion (e.g. caliper interior portion) formed inside the caliper body (C); and
a pad propulsion unit (PI, T) located in the mounting portion (e.g. caliper interior portion) and configured for pressing one surface of the brake pad (P),
wherein the pad propulsion unit (PI, T) includes:
a rotation medium (6) rotating;
a conversion assembly (T) engaged to (via 6a, 21) the rotation medium (6) and converting rotational motion into linear motion in conjunction with the rotation medium (6) (¶[0066][0068]); and
a piston (PI) formed to surround one side of the conversion assembly (T).
Claim 10: The brake device of claim 1, wherein the piston (PI) includes at least two pressurizing portions (9a and portions on surface 9, see annotated Fig. below) which are symmetrically located spaced apart from each other in a first direction (radial direction, see Fig.6) 1 and wherein the second direction (axial direction) is perpendicular to the first direction.
Claim 11: The brake device of claim 10, wherein the at least two pressurizing portions (9a) include: first pressurizing portions (9a) symmetrically located spaced apart from each other in the first direction (radial direction); and
second pressurizing portions (see annotated Fig below rejection of claim 10) symmetrically located spaced apart from each other in the second direction (axial direction), wherein the first pressurizing portions include a stopper groove (9a is a groove), and wherein the brake device further include a back plate (4) having a stopper protrusion (t1) formed on one surface thereof, and the stopper groove (9a) is configured to come into contact with the stopper protrusion (t1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kapaan (US 20050092558 A1) in view of Schaffer (US 6213256 B1)
Claim 3 and 4: Kapaan does not disclose wherein the conversion assembly further includes a ball bearing mounted on an outer circumferential surface of the ball screw nut; wherein the ball screw nut includes a contact portion formed to protrude from the outer circumferential surface thereof and contacting the ball bearing.
Schaffer teaches a brake device (10, Figure) having a ball screw nut (20) and a ball bearing (36) mounted on the outer circumferential surface of the ball screw nut (20) and wherein the ball screw nut (20) includes a contact portion (shoulder portion) formed to protrude from the outer circumferential surface thereof and contacting the ball bearing (36).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the ball screw nut of Kapaan with space, associate protruding bearing contact portion and ball bearing mounted on the outer circumferential surface of the ball screw nut as taught by Schaffer in order to provide smooth, stable support and operation of screw actuation mechanism.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kapaan (US 20050092558 A1) in view of DEMORAIS (US 20190316644 A1)
Claim 7: Kapaan does not disclose wherein the conversion assembly further includes an annular seal portion coupled to an outer circumferential surface of the head, and wherein the piston includes an insertion groove into which the seal portion is inserted.
DEMORAIS teaches a brake system (title and Fig.5a-5b) with includes an annular seal portion (63) coupled to an outer circumferential surface of a head (65).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include annular seal portion coupled to an outer circumferential surface of a head as taught by DEMORAIS in the brake system of Kapaan for the purpose of providing sealed interface between surrounding piston and the head of the ball screw bolt thereby reducing leakage through interface.
Kapaan and DEMORAIS does not disclose wherein a piston includes an insertion groove into which the seal portion is inserted. However, DEMORAIS teaches the head (65) includes insertion groove (groove where 63 is inserted, see Fig.5a) which the seal portion (63) is inserted.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the corresponding/ insertion groove in piston rather than in the head, in order to maintain proper alignment of the seal and provide effective seal between piston and head of ball screw bolt. Furthermore, locating the insertion groove in either surface of piston or head would have been predictable alternative arrangement performing the same known seal retention function and require only routine modification of mating components.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kapaan (US 20050092558 A1)
Claim 8: The brake device of claim 2, wherein the ball screw bolt (29,26) includes at least one anti-rotation groove (60. The shaft 26 is non-rotatably coupled to the screw 6 through a spline groove coupling 60.) formed therein,
Kapaan does not disclose wherein the at least one anti-rotation groove has a polygonal shape.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify anti-rotation groove from the brake system of Kapaan to have polygonal shape because polygonal groove provides positive mechanical engagement with a corresponding shape mating portion, thereby more effectively preventing relative rotation. Furthermore, a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim(s) 12-13, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kapaan (US 20050092558 A1) in view of Yokoyama (20030083797A1)
Claim 12: Kapaan discloses a caliper body (1) into which one end of the brake disc (see ¶[0017]) is inserted;
a brake pad (2/3) mounted on one side of the caliper body (1), with one surface thereof facing the brake disc (¶[0017]);
a mounting portion (e.g. caliper interior portion) formed inside the caliper body (1); and
a pad propulsion unit (4,7,22) located in the mounting portion (e.g. caliper interior portion) and configured for pressing one surface of the brake pad (3),
wherein the pad propulsion unit (4,7,22) includes:
a rotation medium rotating (9);
a conversion assembly (5,6) engaged to (via 26,20) the rotation medium (9) and converting rotational motion into linear motion in conjunction with the rotation medium (9) (¶[0016]-0017]); and
a piston (22) formed to surround one side of the conversion assembly (5,6).
Kapaan does not explicitly disclose a vehicle comprising: a vehicle body; a wheel located under the vehicle body and rotating; a brake disc coupled to the wheel and rotating together with the wheel.
Yokoyama teaches a vehicle (¶[0009] comprises: a vehicle body (¶[0009]); a wheel (72) located under the vehicle body and rotating; a brake disc (75) coupled to the wheel (72) and rotating together with the wheel (72).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Yokoyama into the brake system of Kapaan for the purpose of providing essential structure of components that connect the brake device in order to apply braking force generated by the brake device to rotating wheel and thereby stop the vehicle.
Claim 13: Kapaan in view of Yokoyama discloses the vehicle of claim 12, wherein the conversion assembly (5,6) includes:
a ball screw nut (6. As 6 is rotatable component of ball screw conversion mechanism and cooperates with balls 28 to convert rotational input into axial movement. Thereof, 6 is reasonable to be interpreted as “ball screw nut”) coupled to (via 26, 20) the rotation medium (9) and rotating together with the rotation medium (9); and
a ball screw bolt (29,26. Note: the claim does not require “ball screw bolt” to be one piece component and the specification does not have any definition of “ball screw bolt”. Under BRI, the phrase “ball screw bolt” encompasses a multipart axial assembly that collectively performs the recited functions. In this case, portion of shaft 26 extends through 6 while 29 moves backward/ forward. Thus, 26 and 29 together as ball screw bolt, the combined structure collectively performs the recited functions.) penetrating through the rotation medium (9) and the ball screw nut (6) and moving forward or backward by the rotation of the ball screw nut (6).
Claim 16: Kapaan in view of Yokoyama discloses the vehicle of claim 13, wherein the ball screw bolt (29,26) includes a head (29) having a curved surface (41) on one side of the head (29), and wherein the piston (22) includes a connecting surface (42) having a curved surface formed to correspond to the curved surface of the head (29).
Claim 17: Kapaan in view of Yokoyama discloses the vehicle of claim 16, wherein a gap (e.g. clearance between the 41 and 42 when they are not in contact) is formed between one side of the head (29) and one side of the connecting surface (42).
Claim 18: Kapaan in view of Yokoyama discloses The vehicle of claim 13, wherein the ball screw bolt (29,26) includes at least one anti-rotation groove (60. The shaft 26 is non-rotatably coupled to the screw 6 through a spline groove coupling 60.) formed therein,
Kapaan does not disclose wherein the at least one anti-rotation groove has a polygonal shape.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify anti-rotation groove from the modified brake system of Kapaan to have polygonal shape because polygonal groove provides positive mechanical engagement with a corresponding shape mating portion, thereby more effectively preventing relative rotation. Furthermore, a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kapaan (US 20050092558 A1) in view of Yokoyama (20030083797A1) and further in view of Schaffer (US 6213256 B1)
Claims 14-15: Kapaan as modified by Yokoyama does not disclose wherein the conversion assembly further includes a ball bearing mounted on an outer circumferential surface of the ball screw nut; wherein the ball screw nut includes a contact portion formed to protrude from the outer circumferential surface thereof and contacting the ball bearing.
Schaffer teaches a brake device (10, Figure) having a ball screw nut (20) and a ball bearing (36) mounted on the outer circumferential surface of the ball screw nut (20); wherein the ball screw nut (20) includes a contact portion (shoulder portion) formed to protrude from the outer circumferential surface thereof and contacting the ball bearing (36).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the ball screw nut from the modified brake system of Kapaan with space, associate protruding bearing contact portion and ball bearing mounted on the outer circumferential surface of the ball screw nut as taught by Schaffer in order to provide smooth, stable support and operation of screw actuation mechanism.
Claim(s) 12, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SATOH (US 20180094682 A1) in view of Yokoyama (20030083797A1)
Claim 12: SATOH discloses a brake device (title) with caliper body (C; Fig.1) into which one end of the brake disc (D) is inserted;
a brake pad (P/ P’) mounted on one side of the caliper body (C), with one surface thereof facing the brake disc (D);
a mounting portion (e.g. caliper interior portion) formed inside the caliper body (C); and
a pad propulsion unit (PI,T) located in the mounting portion (e.g. caliper interior portion) and configured for pressing one surface of the brake pad (P),
wherein the pad propulsion unit (PI,T) includes:
a rotation medium rotating (6);
a conversion assembly (T) engaged to (via 6a, 21) the rotation medium (6) and converting rotational motion into linear motion in conjunction with the rotation medium (6) (¶[0066];[0068]); and
a piston (PI) formed to surround one side of the conversion assembly (T).
SATOH does not explicitly disclose a vehicle comprising: a vehicle body; a wheel located under the vehicle body and rotating; a brake disc coupled to the wheel and rotating together with the wheel.
Yokoyama teaches a vehicle (¶[0009] comprises: a vehicle body (¶[0009]); a wheel (72) located under the vehicle body and rotating; a brake disc (75) coupled to the wheel (72) and rotating together with the wheel (72).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Yokoyama into the brake system of SATOH for the purpose of providing essential structure of components that connect the brake device in order to apply braking force generated by the brake device to rotating wheel and thereby stop the vehicle.
Claim 19: SATOH as modified by Yokoyama discloses the vehicle of claim 12, wherein the piston (PI) includes at least two pressurizing portions (9a and portions on surface 9, see annotated Fig. below rejection of claim 10) which are symmetrically located spaced apart from each other in a first direction (radial direction, see Fig.6) 1, and wherein the second direction (axial direction) is perpendicular to the first direction.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hyun (US 20170314627 A1) discloses brake system with spindle, nut, piston.
Kapaan (US 20030051569 A1) discloses screw actuator with spindle, nut and piston
Conclusion
/LILLIAN T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3655a
1 The strikeout limitation is “or” limitation; thus the prior art does not require to satisfy the strikeout limitation to be applicable.