DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 5/13/26 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igrashi (US PG Pub No. 2016/0272211) in view of Hyun et al (US PG Pub No. 2021/0094534)
Regarding claim 1, Igarashi teaches An apparatus for controlling a vehicle, the apparatus comprising: a sensor configured to acquire information about a road; and
a processor configured to
determine whether the vehicle passes over a speed bump based on the information about the road, and (paragraph 30 50a in pitch vibration damping control calculated based on wheel force and torque paragraph 32 external force is a bump)
control a pitch motion and a bounce motion made as the vehicle passes through the speed bump, by determining a motor torque when the vehicle passes through the speed bump. (paragraph 206 and 207 paragraph 32; drive torque adjusted 80 pitch/bounce is suppressed).
Regarding claim 2, Igarashi teaches wherein the processor is configured to produce a vibration motion equation by transforming a motion equation corresponding to the pitch motion and the bounce motion made as the vehicle passes through the speed bump, to be in a modal coordinate system. (paragraph 32 displacements; dz/dt, dtheta/dt model paragraph 37 reduce state variables in the bounce direction and pitch direction to zero using theory of optimum regulator is determined).
Igrashi does not explicitly teach however Hyun teaches wherein the processor is configured to determine the motor torque based on whether a motor is provided in both a front wheel and a rear wheel of the vehicle, when the vehicle passes over the speed bump. (paragraph 71 torque for controlling vehicle both front and rear wheels. Paragraph 73 +5Nm to front and +5Nm to rear wheels paragraph 80).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Igrashi based on the teachings of Hyun to teach wherein the processor is configured to determine the motor torque based on whether a motor is provided in both a front wheel and a rear wheel of the vehicle, when the vehicle passes over the speed bump. The motivation would be to improve ride comfort (Hyun abstract)
Regarding claim 3, Igarashi teaches wherein the processor is configured to calculate i) a first modal speed corresponding to a pitch angular speed (equation 1b paragraph 38) and ii) a second modal speed corresponding to a bounce speed, using the motion vibration equation. (equation 1a paragraph 38).
Regarding claim 4, Igarashi teaches wherein the pitch angular speed is calculated based on a pitch angle made through the pitch motion. (equation 1b paragraph 38).
Regarding claim 5, Igarashi teaches wherein the bounce speed is calculated based on a displacement in a vertical direction that is made through the bounce motion (Equation 1a paragarph 38).
Regarding claim 6, Igarashi teaches wherein the processor is configured to calculate i) first modal force corresponding to the first modal speed and ii) second modal force corresponding to the second modal speed, based on the vibration motion equation. (paragraph 43; C4 state feedback Equation 1a and 1b; driver requested torque; induces pitch, pitch/bounce vibration in vehicle body suppressed; natural frequency eliminated)
Regarding claim 7, Igarashi teaches wherein the processor is configured to:
determine a first motor torque based on the first modal force; and
determine a second motor torque based on the second modal force. (paragraph 43 and 45 Tw wheel torque)
Regarding claim 8, Igarashi teaches wherein the processor is configured to control a motor provided in a front wheel based on the first motor torque, when the vehicle passes through the speed bump. (paragraph 43 and 45 wheel torque).
Regarding claim 9, Igarashi teaches wherein the processor is configured to control a motor provided in a rear wheel based on the second motor torque, when the vehicle passes through the speed bump. (paragraph 43 and 45 wheel torque).
Regarding claims 10-18, see the rejection to claims 1-9 as the limitations are substantially similar
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GEORGE C JIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747