DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to amendment received on 05/19/26. Claims 1, 11 and 18 have been amended and claims 1, 3-5, 7-11 and 13-23 are pending and examiner herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-11 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levinsohn (US 2022/0362615) in view of Okajima (US 2006/0277653) and Partridge (US 4,266,300).
In regard to claim 1, Levinsohn teaches a weighted article of apparel with an adjustable fit (see garment in figures 1-3B and paragraph 0010-0011), comprising: a wearable portion with a plurality of compartments (paragraphs 0018); and a plurality of weights positioned within the plurality of compartments (paragraph 0021).
However, Levinsohn fails to teach the adjustable fit being a zipper-mechanism comprising a first side attached proximate to a first edge of the wearable portion and a second side attached proximate to a second edge of the wearable portion, the first side and the second side configured to be reversibly coupled to each other; and a connecting textile that extends between the first side and the second side of the zipper-mechanism and thereby limits displacement of the first side and the second side of the zipper-mechanism, wherein coupling the first side and the second side of the zipper-mechanism defines a first fit of the wearable portion in which the connecting textile is compacted, and wherein uncoupling the first side and the second side of the zipper- mechanism defines a second fit of the wearable portion in which the connecting textile is extended, the second fit being looser than the first fit. Further, Levinsohn fails to teach an outer pocket positioned on an exterior surface of the wearable portion, the outer pocket not including the plurality of weights.
Okajima teaches a jacket garment with an adjustable fit comprising a zipper-mechanism comprising a first side attached proximate to a first edge of the wearable portion and a second side attached proximate to a second edge of the wearable portion, the first side and the second side configured to be reversibly coupled to each other (zipper: 40, paragraph 0041, figures 1 and 3); and a connecting textile that extends between the first side and the second side of the zipper-mechanism and thereby limits displacement of the first side and the second side of the zipper-mechanism (connecting textile: mesh portion 38 as illustrated in figure 3 and details the attachment in paragraph 0041), wherein coupling the first side and the second side of the zipper-mechanism defines a first fit of the wearable portion in which the connecting textile is compacted (see figure 1 coupled zipper, compacted), and wherein uncoupling the first side and the second side of the zipper- mechanism defines a second fit of the wearable portion in which the connecting textile is extended, the second fit being looser than the first fit (see figure 3 uncoupled zipper: looser fit).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the weighted jacket of Levinsohn with the adjustable vent portions as taught by Okajima, since the weighted jacket of Levinsohn provided with adjustable vent portions would provide a jacket that has selectable vents that can be opened and closed as needed for protection from the elements, breathability and heat regulation.
Partridge teaches an outer pocket positioned on an exterior surface of a garment, the outer pocket not including a plurality of weights (figures 1-4 and column 2, lines 10-21).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the weighted vest garment of Levinsohn with the detachable and attachable pocket of Partridge, since the garment of Levinsohn provided with an exterior attachable and detachable pocket would provide a pocket that can be transferred from one garment to the next holding items therein for ease of carrying during clothing changes.
In regard to claim 3, the combined references teach wherein the connecting textile is separately formed from the wearable portion, and is attached to an inner surface of the wearable portion adjacent to the first edge and adjacent to the second edge (Okajima: perforated mesh: 38, figures 3 and paragraph 0041).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the weighted jacket of Levinsohn with the adjustable vent portions as taught by Okajima, since the weighted jacket of Levinsohn provided with adjustable vent portions attached to the inner surface of the jacket edges would provide a jacket that has selectable vents that can be opened and closed to conceal the vents as needed for protection from the elements, breathability and heat regulation.
In regard to claim 4, the combined references teach wherein the connecting textile comprises a gusset (Okajima: see figure 3, connecting textile/perforated mesh: 38 and paragraph 0041).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the weighted jacket of Levinsohn with the adjustable vent portions as taught by Okajima, since the weighted jacket of Levinsohn provided with adjustable vent gusset portions would provide a jacket that has selectable vents that can be opened and closed to conceal the gusset as needed for protection from the elements, breathability and heat regulation.
In regard to claim 5, the combined references teach wherein the gusset comprises a triangular shape (Okajima: figure 3, gusset is triangular shape with the point being located in the cuff arm area).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the weighted jacket of Levinsohn with the adjustable triangular vent portions as taught by Okajima, since the weighted jacket of Levinsohn provided with adjustable, triangular vent portions would provide a jacket that has selectable vents that can be opened and closed as needed for protection from the elements, breathability and heat regulation while having a zipper means with a point at the triangular top end that can easily be opened and closed without having to line-up or catch the zipper stringer at the top end.
In regard to claim 7, Levinsohn teaches wherein the plurality of weights each comprise a material having a higher density than one or more textiles forming the wearable portion (paragraphs 0016, 0021).
In regard to claim 8, the combined references teach wherein the zipper- mechanism comprises one of a pair of zipper-mechanisms positioned on opposite sides of the article of apparel, each zipper-mechanism configured for adjusting a fit of the wearable portion (Okajima: figure 3 vent and zippers are located on each side and sleeve of the jacket).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the weighted jacket of Levinsohn with the adjustable vent portions on each side as taught by Okajima, since the weighted jacket of Levinsohn provided with adjustable vent portions on each side of the jacket would provide a jacket that has selectable vents along both sleeves and sides of the toros portion that can be opened and closed to conceal the gusset as needed for protection from the elements, breathability and heat regulation.
In regard to claim 9, the combined references teach wherein the article of apparel comprises an upper body article of apparel (both Lavinsohn (paragraph 0010) and Okajima (figures 1 and 3) teach jacket garments), wherein the wearable portion comprises a torso portion (both Levinsohn (paragraph 0010) and Okajima (figures 1 and 3) teach jacket garments), and wherein the pair of zipper-mechanisms extend vertically upward along opposite sides of the torso portion (Okajima: see figure 3 and paragraph 0041).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the weighted jacket of Levinsohn with the adjustable vent portions as taught by Okajima, since the weighted jacket of Levinsohn provided with adjustable vent portions attached to the inner surface of the jacket edges would provide a jacket that has selectable vents that can be opened and closed to conceal the vents as needed for protection from the elements, breathability, and heat regulation.
In regard to claim 10, the combined references teach wherein the wearable portion further comprises a pair of arm portions that are attached to the torso portion (both Lavinshon (paragraph 0010) and Okajima (figures 1 and 3) teach jacket garments with arm portions), and wherein each zipper-mechanism extends from the torso portion onto a corresponding one of the pair of arm portions (Okajima: see figure 3 and paragraph 0041).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the weighted jacket of Levinsohn with the adjustable vent portions as taught by Okajima, since the weighted jacket of Levinsohn provided with adjustable vent portions attached to the inner surface of the jacket edges would provide a jacket that has selectable vents that can be opened and closed to conceal the vents as needed for protection from the elements, breathability, and heat regulation.
In regard to claim 11, the combined references teach wherein the wearable portion further comprises a pair of arm cuffs (Okajima: cuffs 14a), and wherein each zipper-mechanism extends from a corresponding arm portion to a corresponding one of the pair of arm cuffs (Okajima: see figure 3 and paragraph 0053).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the weighted jacket of Levinsohn with the adjustable vent portions to the cuffs as taught by Okajima, since the weighted jacket of Levinsohn provided with adjustable vent portions to the cuff would provide a jacket that has selectable vents that can be opened and closed to conceal the vents as needed for protection from the elements, breathability, and heat regulation.
In regard to claim 13, Levinsohn teaches wherein the plurality of compartments are located at one or more first zones on the wearable portion (paragraph 0011), and wherein one or more second zones located on the wearable portion are formed without the plurality of compartments (paragraph: 0024).
In regard to claim 14, Levinsohn teaches wherein the connecting textile has a first weight per area and the wearable portion with the plurality of compartments has a second weight per area, wherein the first weight per area is less than the second weight per area (paragraphs 0033).
In regard to claim 15, Levinsohn teaches wherein the plurality of compartments comprise a first textile, a second textile, and one or more batting layers between the first textile and the second textile (paragraphs 0018 and 0023).
In regard to claim 16, Levinsohn teaches wherein the one or more batting layers comprise a nonwoven material (paragraph 0023).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levinsohn (US 2022/0362615), Okajima (US 2006/0277653) and Partridge (US 4,266,300) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hooper (US 2023/0309631).
Levinsohn, Okajima and Partridge fail to teach the connecting textile being a first color and the wearable portion being second different color.
In regard to claim 17, Hooper teaches a jacket wherein the connecting/mesh inner layer color is different than the second outer jacket layer color (see claim 9 detailing the different colors of outer and inner layer).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the jacket and connecting portion of Levinsohn, Okajima and Partridge with the different colored jacket (second layer) and connecting portion (first layer) as taught by Hooper, since the jacket of Levinsohn, Okajima and Partridge provided with a different colors would provide an aesthetic effect when the vent/connecting portion is opened vs. closed.
Claim(s) 18-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okajima (US 2006/0277653) in view of Levinsohn (US 2022/0362615).
In regard to claim 18, Okajima teaches an article of apparel having an adjustable fit (see figure 1 vs. figure 3), comprising: a torso portion (see figures 1 and 3, torso portion); a pair of arm portions extending from the torso portion (see figures 1 and 3, sleeves); a first zipper-mechanism located on a first side of the torso portion (see right slide fastener: 40); a first connecting textile coupled to the torso portion such that it extends between opposite sides of the first zipper-mechanism (mesh insert: 38, paragraph 0041), thereby allowing the first connecting textile to be compacted when the first zipper-mechanism is in a closed configuration and extended when the first zipper-mechanism is in an open configuration (see figure 1 vs. figure 3 and paragraph 0041); a second zipper-mechanism located on a second side of the torso portion (see left slide fastener: 40); and a second connecting textile coupled to the torso portion such that it extends between opposite sides of the second zipper-mechanism (mesh insert: 38, paragraph 0041), thereby allowing the second connecting textile to be compacted when the second zipper-mechanism is in a closed configuration and extended when the second zipper-mechanism is in an open configuration (see figure 1 vs. figure 3 and paragraph 0041).
However, Okajima fails to teach a plurality of internal compartments formed in the torso portion and in the pair of arm portions; and a plurality of weights positioned in the plurality of internal compartments, and wherein one or more batting layers positioned in each of the plurality of internal compartments, each batting layer comprises entangled fibers (paragraph 0023, polyester fill is entangled polyester fibers that forming a batting between the chambers).
Levinsohn teaches a jacket garment with arm portions, a plurality of internal compartments formed in the torso portion and in the pair of arm portions; wherein a plurality of weights are positioned in the plurality of internal compartments (column 0010, 0059, and 0011).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the jacket of Okajima with the internal compartments with weights positioned therein as taught by Levinsohn, since the jacket of Okajima provided with weighted compartments would not only provide a jacket with ventilation control, but also a jacket that helps with strength training, posture improvement, bone density improvement, increased calorie burning, calming anxiety, and/or balance improvement (paragraph 0009 of Levinsohn).
In regard to claim 19, Okajima teaches wherein the article of apparel is an upper body garment (see figures 1 and 3).
In regard to claim 20, Okajima teaches wherein the upper body garment comprises: a jacket (see figures 1 and 3).
In regard to claim 21, Okajima teaches wherein the first connecting textile comprises a first gusset attached to the torso portion adjacent to the opposite sides of the first zipper-mechanism (gusset is mesh part: 38 on either side and zipper: 40 in figures 1 and 3), and wherein the first gusset extends through a first underarm area on the first side of the torso portion (see figure 1 and 3), wherein the second connecting textile comprises a second gusset attached to the torso portion adjacent to the opposite sides of the second zipper-mechanism (gusset is mesh part: 38 on opposite side of the garment and zipper 40 on opposite side of garment in figures 1 and 3), and wherein the second gusset extends through a second underarm area on the second side of the torso portion (see figures 1 and 3).
In regard to claim 22, Okajima teaches wherein the first zipper- mechanism and the first gusset further extend through the first underarm area onto a first arm portion of the pair of arm portions (see figures 1 and 3, zippers: 40 and gusset: 38 extend through the torso underarm and side portions), and wherein the second zipper-mechanism and the second gusset further extend through the second underarm area onto a second arm portion of the pair of arm portions (see figures 1 and 3, zippers 40 extend through the torso underarm and sides portions).
In regard to claim 23, Okajima teaches wherein the first connecting textile and the second connecting textile each comprise a mesh (paragraph 0041, identifier 38 in figure 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/19/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant remarks that the cited references fail to teach the limitation as amended into claim 1, detailing an exterior pocket without weights.
The reference to Partridge (US 4,266,300) has been brought into the rejection to teach this limitation as detailed above in the office action.
Applicant remarks that the cited reference to Levinsohn fails to teach the limitation as amended into claim 18, detailing that one or more batting layers is positioned in each of the plurality of internal compartments, each batting layer comprising entangled fibers.
Levinsohn teaches in paragraph 0023 that each compartment comprises a polyester fill material along with the weights, polyester fill is a batting layer that comprises entangled fibers, therefore, Levinsohn teach the limitation as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be found cited in PTO-892 form submitted herewith. The cited prior art to Crump et al. (US 2013/0139298) is of particular relevance to the claimed invention.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALISSA L. HOEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/ALISSA L HOEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732