DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/19/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
1 This action is in response to the amendment filed on 07/06/2026. Claims 1-4 and 9-11 have been amended, claims 5-8 have been cancelled, and the abstract was amended to overcome an objection. Claims 1-4 and 9-11 remain rejected.
Response to Arguments
2 Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, and 11 filed on 07/06/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102 regarding that the prior art does not teach the following but not limited to “…mathematical formula, the mathematical formula including one or more registered mathematical formulas; and in a case where there is a selected mathematical formula that is selected as a target whose graph is to be drawn among the one or more registered mathematical formulas and there is an unselected mathematical formula that is not selected as the target whose graph is to be drawn among the one or more registered mathematical formulas, the at least one processor: displays the unselected mathematical formula on the display; and executes at least one of the following processes, with respect to the displayed unselected mathematical formula:(A) leaves blank a region in which the indicator is to be displayed in response to the unselected mathematical formula being selected as the selected mathematical formula;(B) displays a frame having a rectangular shape, the frame being a component of the indicator that surrounds the line segment, without also including the line segment in the indicator which is to be displayed in response to the unselected mathematical formula being selected as the selected mathematical formula; (C) displays, on the display, the selected mathematical formula with a character color different from a character color of the unselected mathematical formula; or (D) displays, on the display in a region in which the indicator is to be displayed, another indicator that is different from the indicator and that indicates the unselected mathematical formula.”. Various elements of claims 5-8 were added to these claims, and the claims were then cancelled. This argument has been considered, but are moot due to new grounds of rejection (specifically the mathematical formulas) under 35 U.S.C. § 103, based on previous prior art.
3 For further clarification, based on prior art from Karoji, their “function equations” can be used for a mathematical formula as it also contains graph functions utilizing content like f(x) ([0009] reciting “The present invention was made in view of this matter, and an object of the present invention is to provide a graph display control apparatus and a control program thereof enabling a user to experientially learn while understanding how a function f(x) and a function f′(x) obtained by differentiating the function f(x) are related to each other.”).
The applicant argues that the current prior art does not teach a display control processes performed with respect to an unselected mathematical formula, and specifically Suzuki’s “cursor keys” is not similar to the “indicators”. However, Suzuki “cursor keys” is linked to the various calculation/mathematical formulas ([0045] reciting “The number/operator key group 111 is a group of keys for inputting a number or a mathematical formula or instructing execution of a calculation.”), including if they are unselected ([0079] reciting “On the other hand, when the operation of the key input device 11 is determined to be the menu key operation, the CPU 13 causes a function list menu to be displayed on the display output device 12 (step S102). Then, the CPU 13 determines whether or not a selection operation of a normal calculation function mode has been performed (step S103).”). For specifically the “line segment of a line type same as a line type of a graph drawn based on a mathematical formula” can be further taught by Endo as previously mentioned in combination ([0055] reciting “Further, drawing color marks m1, m2, m3 representing the drawing colors of the lines of graph images corresponding to the function formulas y1, y2 and y3 are displayed by the same colors as those of these function formulas, respectively.”), utilizing the unselected formulas provided by Suzuki above.
The applicant has also argued that the current prior art does not teach “(C) displays, on the display, the selected mathematical formula with a character color different from a character color of the unselected mathematical formula; or (D) displays, on the display in a region in which the indicator is to be displayed, another indicator that is different from the indicator and that indicates the unselected mathematical formula.”. However, the prior art in combination is able to teach these limitations as clarified, specifically prior art from Endo for part (C) ([0039] reciting “The numerical formula data memory area 15d stores data relating to a function formula y=f(x) inputted by the operation of the key input part 12 together with display color data on a graph formula area F (see FIGS. 5A and 5B) set for each of function formulas y1, y2, - - - . In this embodiment, the display colors of the function formulas are set to five kinds.”; [0113] reciting “contained in the function formulas y1, y2, - - - are discriminately displayed so as to be displayed in different colors respectively according to the corresponding function formulas y1, y2, - - - , or partially in the same color.”), and Karoji can teach part (D) ([0060] reciting “The variable means a variable used as a constant in a mathematical formula or a function formula of a graph formula, and for example, different numerical values are input for letters of A to Z. For example, a variable B is designated by performing a key operation of a [3] key, a [.fwdarw.] key, and an [ALPHA]+[log] key (=a [B] key) of the key input device 11, and data“3” of a variable value is set.”). It is also worth mentioning that parts (A)-(D) is listed as “at least one of the following processes” and “or”, therefore it is not necessarily required for the prior art to teach all the parts, but the prior art will still account for the parts as much as possible.
4 Regarding claims 2-4 and 9, they directly/indirectly depend on independent claim 1 respectively. Applicant does not argue anything other than independent claims 2-4 and 9. The limitations in those claims, in conjunction with combination, was mostly previously established as explained, with few changes based on the amended parts of the dependent claims.
5 Regarding claims 5-8, they have been cancelled as mentioned previously. Therefore, they will not be reviewed further.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
7 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
8 Claim(s) 1-2, 4 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karoji et al. (US 20150310646 A1) in view of Suzuki et al. (US 20160086362 A1) and Endo et al. (US 20150187105 A1).
9 Regarding claim 1, Karoji teaches an electronic device comprising: at least one processor ([Abstract] reciting “A graph display control apparatus includes a processor.”), wherein;
the at least one processor displays, on a display, a mathematical formula alongside an indicator that includes a line segment of a line type same as a line type of a graph drawn based on the mathematical formula, the mathematical formula including one or more registered mathematical formulas ([Claim 3] reciting “The graph display control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor further operations including: displaying the graph corresponding to the regression function equation by overlapping with the plurality of plotted points, on the display.”; [0036] reciting “Furthermore, the differentiation mode has other functions such as a function of substituting coefficients a, b, . . . for coefficient values (parameters) which are included in the differential function equation y2 obtained by differentiating the function equation y1 which is a differentiation target, and substituting values set by sliders”; [0090] reciting “Also, the identification display method is not limited to colors, and a graph image and a corresponding function equation may be displayed with the same concentration such that they can be identified. Also, the line type (such as a solid line, a thick line, or a dotted line) of a graph image and the line type of an underline put under a corresponding function equation may be set to the same type, and the graph image and the function equation may be displayed such that they can be identified.”); and
in a case where there is a selected mathematical formula that is selected as a target whose graph is to be drawn among the one or more registered mathematical formulas ([0064] reciting “After the function equation (for example, y1=x.sup.3−4x) is input as a differentiation target in response to user's operations on a screen where an equation input function (Equation) of the touch panel display 13 (STEP S1), if a differential function (Derivative) is selected, as shown in FIG. 6A,”)
10 Karoji does not explicitly teach … and there is an unselected mathematical formula that is not selected as the target whose graph is to be drawn among the one or more registered mathematical formulas, the at least one processor: displays the unselected mathematical formula on the display; and executes at least one of the following processes, with respect to the displayed unselected mathematical formula: (A) leaves blank a region in which the indicator is to be displayed in response to the unselected mathematical formula being selected as the selected mathematical formula; (B) displays a frame having a rectangular shape, the frame being a component of the indicator that surrounds the line segment, without also including the line segment in the indicator which is to be displayed in response to the unselected mathematical formula being selected as the selected mathematical formula; (C) displays, on the display, the selected mathematical formula with a character color different from a character color of the unselected mathematical formula; or (D) displays, on the display in a region in which the indicator is to be displayed, another indicator that is different from the indicator and that indicates the unselected mathematical formula.
11 Suzuki teaches … and there is an unselected mathematical formula that is not selected as the target whose graph is to be drawn among the one or more registered mathematical formulas, the at least one processor ([0045] reciting “The number/operator key group 111 is a group of keys for inputting a number or a mathematical formula or instructing execution of a calculation…The cursor key 114 is a key for performing a movement operation of a cursor displayed on the display output device 12, a selection operation of a data item, and the like. The function key group 115 is a group of keys for performing, for example, a selection operation of a function appropriately allocated to each key displayed on the display output device 12.”; [0079] reciting “On the other hand, when the operation of the key input device 11 is determined to be the menu key operation, the CPU 13 causes a function list menu to be displayed on the display output device 12 (step S102). Then, the CPU 13 determines whether or not a selection operation of a normal calculation function mode has been performed (step S103).”):
displays the unselected mathematical formula on the display ([0079] reciting “On the other hand, when the operation of the key input device 11 is determined to be the menu key operation, the CPU 13 causes a function list menu to be displayed on the display output device 12 (step S102). Then, the CPU 13 determines whether or not a selection operation of a normal calculation function mode has been performed (step S103).”); and
executes at least one of the following processes, with respect to the displayed unselected mathematical formula:
(A) leaves blank a region in which the indicator is to be displayed in response to the unselected mathematical formula being selected as the selected mathematical formula ([0096] reciting “FIGS. 5A to 5C illustrate an exemplary basic setting (setup) list displayed and output on the display output device 12. Respective items are selected by a vertical operation of the cursor key 114 of the key input device 11 (an item being currently selected is identified and displayed, for example, reversed and displayed), and an item that is not displayed on the display output device 12 is scrolled and displayed according to the vertical operation of the cursor key 114.”);
(B) displays a frame having a rectangular shape, , without also including the line segment in the indicator which is to be displayed in response to the unselected mathematical formula being selected as the selected mathematical formula ([0098] reciting “[Draw Type] is a graph image display type setting item, and a [Connect] (image display by a line obtained by connecting points of a graph) mode or a [Plot] (image display by only dots) mode can be set.”; [0126] reciting “Then, the CPU 13 designates a graph formula number (for example, Y1) according to the user operation, inputs data (for example, Y1=0.2X.sup.2) of the graph formula number (Y1), sets whether or not the formula data of the graph formula is set as the display target (step S123). The selecting of whether or not the formula data of the graph formula is set as the display target may be designated by a operation of an [F1] key (a select key) of the function key group 115. When the selecting of the display target is designated, the identification display or the reverse display of [=] in the formula data of the graph formula is performed. In the drawings, for the sake of convenience, a difference in a color is indicated by a difference in a line type.”; [0096] reciting “FIGS. 5A to 5C illustrate an exemplary basic setting (setup) list displayed and output on the display output device 12. Respective items are selected by a vertical operation of the cursor key 114 of the key input device 11 (an item being currently selected is identified and displayed, for example, reversed and displayed), and an item that is not displayed on the display output device 12 is scrolled and displayed according to the vertical operation of the cursor key 114.”; [0108] reciting “[Complex Mode] is a complex number calculation mode setting item, and a [Real] (a calculation is performed only within a real number range) mode, an [a+bi] (a complex number operation is performed, and a result is displayed in a rectangular form) mode, or an [r∠θ] (a complex number operation is performed”; [0126] reciting “When the selecting of the display target is designated, the identification display or the reverse display of [=] in the formula data of the graph formula is performed. In the drawings, for the sake of convenience, a difference in a color is indicated by a difference in a line type.”);
unselected mathematical formula (see above); or
(D) displays, on the display in a region in which the indicator is to be displayed, another indicator that is different from the indicator and that indicates the unselected mathematical formula ([0060] reciting “The variable means a variable used as a constant in a mathematical formula or a function formula of a graph formula, and for example, different numerical values are input for letters of A to Z. For example, a variable B is designated by performing a key operation of a [3] key, a [.fwdarw.] key, and an [ALPHA]+[log] key (=a [B] key) of the key input device 11, and data“3” of a variable value is set.”; [0210] reciting “As a result, it is also possible to appropriately set and externally output the calculation result data as the external output target, and the external device can display the graph image corresponding to the formula data of the graph formula together with the appropriate calculation result. For example, there are cases in which the calculation accuracy of the graph function calculator 10 is different the calculation accuracy of the external device, and in this case, it is possible to match the calculation result of the graph function calculator 10.”).
12 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Karoji) to incorporate the teachings of Suzuki to provide a method that can detect when a formula is not selected and displaying the material while also differentiating from other formulas, utilizing the functions provided by the methods of Karoji. Doing so would allow the possibility of displaying a graph image corresponding to the function formula of the graph formula in an external device as stated by Suzuki ([0012] recited).
13 Karoji in view of Suzuki does not explicitly teach (B) displays a frame having a rectangular shape, the frame being a component of the indicator that surrounds the line segment …; (C) displays, on the display, the selected mathematical formula with a character color different from a character color of the unselected mathematical formula.
14 Endo teaches the frame being a component of the indicator that surrounds the line segment … ([0118] reciting “In this case, the parameter slider SLn may be discriminately displayed by surrounding it using a red frame H, for example, during a period where the parameter value is being changed using the parameter slider SLn or during a period from the start of the changing of the parameter value to a time point just after the termination of the changing.”); (C) displays, on the display, the selected mathematical formula with a character color different from a character color of the unselected mathematical formula ([0039] reciting “The numerical formula data memory area 15d stores data relating to a function formula y=f(x) inputted by the operation of the key input part 12 together with display color data on a graph formula area F (see FIGS. 5A and 5B) set for each of function formulas y1, y2, - - - . In this embodiment, the display colors of the function formulas are set to five kinds.”; [0113] reciting “contained in the function formulas y1, y2, - - - are discriminately displayed so as to be displayed in different colors respectively according to the corresponding function formulas y1, y2, - - - , or partially in the same color.”)…
15 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Karoji in view of Suzuki) to incorporate the teachings of Endo to provide a frame that is specifically needed for the line segments taught by the teachings of Karoji in view of Suzuki, as well as a method to provide different types of character colors for the unselected formulas provided by Karoji in view of Suzuki. Doing so would allow the parameter and the graph image according to a function formula to be shown clearly as stated by Endo ([0118] recited).
16 Regarding claim 2, Karoji in view of Suzuki and Endo teaches the electronic device according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above), wherein the at least one processor displays, with respect to the selected mathematical formula (Karoji; [0024] reciting “This graph display control apparatus is configured as a dedicated graph function calculator 10 to be described below, but may be configured as a device having a graph display function according to function equations, such as a tablet terminal, a mobile phone, or a mobile game device.”),
17 Endo as previously mentioned in claim 1 can further teach the limitations, specifically the indicator includes a including the frame surrounding the line segment ([0118] reciting “In this case, the parameter slider SLn may be discriminately displayed by surrounding it using a red frame H, for example, during a period where the parameter value is being changed using the parameter slider SLn or during a period from the start of the changing of the parameter value to a time point just after the termination of the changing.”).
18 As explained in the rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of the “indicator includes a including the frame surrounding the line segment” of Endo into Karoji (and by extension Suzuki) is provided above.
19 Regarding claim 4, Karoji in view of Suzuki and Endo teaches the electronic device according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above), wherein with respect to the selected mathematical formula that is selected as the target whose graph is to be drawn among the one or more registered mathematical formulas, the at least one processor displays the selected mathematical formula alongside with the indicator corresponding to the selected mathematical formulas on the display (Karoji; [0006] reciting “There is a graph function calculator which displays the increase/decrease table of functions f(x), f′(x), and f′(x) and which displays the graph image of the function f(x) and the graph image of the function f′(x) obtained by differentiating the function f(x), thereby enabling a user to learn the features of the graph of the differential function f′(x) and the components of the increase/decrease table in association with each other”).
20 Regarding claim 9, Karoji in view of Suzuki and Endo teaches the electronic device according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above), wherein in a case where a command input for drawing a graph representing the selected mathematical formula is received while the selected mathematical formula is displayed alongside the indicator, the at least one processor draws the graph with the line type same as the line type of the line segment included in the indicator (Karoji; [0049] reciting “In the graph data storage area 15i, data on the graph y1 corresponding to the function equation y1=f(x) stored in the input equation data storage area 15d, data on the graph y2 corresponding to the estimation function equation y2 stored in the estimation equation data storage area 15g, and data on the graph y3 corresponding to the regression function equation y3 stored in the regression equation data storage area 15h are stored as data representing the drawing positions of graph images according to the individual function equations y1, y2, and y3 and data representing the display colors of the individual graph images y1, y2, and y3.”).
21 Claims 10 and 11 has similar limitations as of claim 1, therefore they are rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
22 Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karoji et al. (US 20150310646 A1) in view of in view of Suzuki et al. (US 20160086362 A1) and Endo et al. (US 20150187105 A1) as of claims 1-2, further in view of Pietarinen et al. (US 20220343581 A1).
23 Regarding claim 3, Karoji in view of Suzuki and Endo teaches the electronic device according to claim 2 (see claims 1-2 rejections above),
24 Endo as previously mentioned in claim 1 can further teach the limitations, specifically wherein the indicator includes the frame and the line segment… ([0118] reciting “In this case, the parameter slider SLn may be discriminately displayed by surrounding it using a red frame H, for example, during a period where the parameter value is being changed using the parameter slider SLn or during a period from the start of the changing of the parameter value to a time point just after the termination of the changing.”).
25 As explained in the rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of the “indicator includes the frame and the line segment” of Endo into Karoji (and by extension Suzuki) is provided above.
26 Karoji in view of Suzuki and Endo does not explicitly teach …which is positioned on a virtual line connecting opposite vertices of the frame.
27 Pietarinen teaches …which is positioned on a virtual line connecting opposite vertices of the frame ([0174] reciting “The vertex pairs of this stage are calculated from each particle's current and historical positions, extending out each vertex to opposite directions, thereby creating a line depicting the particle's historical trajectory. The last part of render stage 2 (504) is to apply a fragment shader that colors the particle and it's trajectory as desired.”; [0205] reciting “The vertex positions after five frames include, per particle position, two triangles arranged as a rectangular quad (i. e., a rectangular shape formed by two triangles).”).
28 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Karoji in view of Suzuki and Endo) to incorporate the teachings of Pietarinen to provide a method that provides the line segment to be positioned to opposite directions utilizing the frames and line segments taught by the teachings of Karoji in view of Suzuki and Endo. Doing so would apply a fragment shader that colors the particle and it's trajectory as desired as stated by Pietarinen ([0174] recited).
Conclusion
29 The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Yoshizawa et al. (US 20140365954 A1) teaches a display graph method including the use of formulas and drawn lines.
30 Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
31 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHNNY TRAN LE whose telephone number is (571)272-5680. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thu: 7:30am-5pm; First Fridays Off; Second Fridays: 7:30am-4pm.
/JOHNNY T LE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2614
/KENT W CHANG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2614