DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/17/2025, 07/07/2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandre (US 20080201438 A1, Filed Date: Dec. 19, 2007) in view of Voss (US 20210165559 A1, Filed Date: Feb. 11, 2021).
Regarding independent claim 1, Mandre teaches: A method for displaying an identifier, comprising: displaying a first identifier on a session interface; (Mandre – Fig. 5A-5B [0052-0057] [0053] In this example, User A 102 has initiated an IM conversation with User B 112. FIG. 5A illustrates the UI displayed on the display of user terminal 104 of User A 102, and FIG. 5B illustrates the UI displayed on the user terminal 114 of User B 112. [0079-0083] Fig. 9A-9B, User A and User B participate in an IM conversation, and User B client displays typing activity indicator 902, in the form of pencil icon, in User A contact card to indicate that User A is typing.)
and updating the first identifier to be a target identifier based on a session operation of at least two session objects in the session interface and displaying the target identifier, (Mandre – Fig. 10A-10B, [0082-0083] after user A changes from typing to deleting the message, the deletion is detected and an activity notification identifying deletion is transmitted to User B, causing pencil indicator 902 to be replaced by deletion indicator 1002 having the eraser displayed. [0083] The effect of the receipt of this activity notification message on the UI of User B is shown in FIG. 10B. As mentioned, this UI previously showed the pencil icon 902. However, following the notification that User A is deleting a message, the icon has been replaced.)
a type of the target identifier matching with a type of the session operation, (Mandre – Fig. 6, [0063-0072] Fig. 6, Fig. 7 determines whether the detected activity represents normal typing, deletion, accidental input, angry-user activity, message completion, message cancellation, or another activity, generates a code identifying the detected activity type, and transmits the activity type to the other participate (User B). Receiving client users the activity type to determine the appropriate displayed activity indicator, including replacing an existing indicator with a different type of indicator.)
the at least two session objects being objects participating in a target session in the session interface, (Mandre – [0088] Reference is now made to FIG. 13, which illustrates the use of activity indicators in a multichat scenario. A multichat is an IM conversation in which there are more than two participants. For example an IM conversation between User A and User B, User C and UserD, wherein activity indicators are associated with the respective participants of the IM conversation. This activity is indicated by activity indicators 1310 for User A and 1312 for User D.)
Mandre does not explicitly teach: an interactive operation relationship associated with the target session.
However, Voss teaches: the target identifier indicating an interactive operation relationship associated with the target session. (Voss − [0031-0032] [0031] Consider an illustrative example from the perspective of two users of the animated icon system, User-A and User-B. The pair of users may opt to generate an animated icon via one or more user inputs, or in some example embodiments, the animated icon system may automatically generate and present an animated icon to User-A and User-B in response to an analysis of communication patterns of User-A and User-B, or based on a comparison of user attributes of User-A and User-B. For example, the animated icon system may determine that User-A and User-B communicate on a daily basis, or that User-A and User-B are in a relationship with one another (based on user profile information of the users). [0096] displaying the animation icon in response to initiation of communication session, such as a video chat or text-message conversation between associated devices.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Mandre’s activity identifier to further indicate a communication or interactive relationship associated with the participants of the messaging session, as taught by Voss, thereby providing additional contextual information regarding the relationship and interaction between participants of the communication session.
Regarding dependent claim 2, depends on claim 1, Mandre does not explicitly teach: determining a display parameter of the target identifier based on the type of the session operation;
However, Voss teaches: wherein updating the first identifier to be a target identifier based on a session operation of at least two session objects in the session interface and displaying the target identifier comprises at least one of: determining a display parameter of the target identifier based on the type of the session operation; displaying the target identifier on the session interface based on the display parameter. (Voss – [0115-0116] Fig. 12B, FIG. 12B is a depiction 1200B of a set of user input types, and associated attributes that correspond to those user input types. As discussed with respect to the method 900 of FIG. 9, a user may select a user input type from among a set of user input types, and the display state module 606 may adjust a point (e.g., state indicator) within an associated display state model (e.g., display state model 1202 of FIG. 12A) based on attributes associated with the user input.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Mandre’s activity identifier to further indicate a communication or interactive relationship associated with the participants of the messaging session, as taught by Voss, thereby providing additional contextual information regarding the relationship and interaction between participants of the communication session.
Regarding dependent claim 3, depends on claim 2, Mandre does not explicitly teach: wherein the display parameter comprises at least one of: an identifier shape parameter, an identifier size parameter, an identifier color parameter, an identifier brightness parameter, an identifier fuzziness parameter and an identifier dynamic effect parameter.
However, Voss teaches: wherein the display parameter comprises at least one of: an identifier shape parameter, an identifier size parameter, an identifier color parameter, an identifier brightness parameter, an identifier fuzziness parameter and an identifier dynamic effect parameter. (Voss – [0111] FIG. 11 is a depiction of an animated icon 1102, as discussed above. As seen in FIG. 11, the animated icon 1102 may be a virtual pet, such as a cat. The particles 1104 may be displayed by the presentation module 608 in response to the user input module 604 detecting an input at the client device 102, as described in operation 804 of the method 800 depicted in FIG. 8. In some embodiments, attributes and properties of the particles 1104 may be based on attributes of the user input. For example, the color, shape, style, and brightness of the particles 1104 may vary based on user input type, user input duration, user input style, and so on. Fig. 12B)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Mandre’s activity identifier to further indicate a communication or interactive relationship associated with the participants of the messaging session, as taught by Voss, thereby providing additional contextual information regarding the relationship and interaction between participants of the communication session.
Regarding dependent claim 4, depends on claim 1, Mandre teaches: further comprising: in response to the first identifier being updated to be the target identifier, updating the first identifier of a target interface to be the target identifier, the target interface comprising another interface in a current application different from the session interface. (Mandre – Fig. 5A-5B and Fig, 9A-9B [0050-0054] multiple interface of the same IM client, including a main user interface 400 containing user contact and identifiers and the IM conversion interfaces.)
Regarding dependent claim 5, depends on claim 1, Mandre teaches: updating a display parameter of an interface element in the session interface based on a display parameter of the target identifier. (Mandre – Fig. 10A-10B, [0082-0083] after user A changes from typing to deleting the message, the deletion is detected and an activity notification identifying deletion is transmitted to User B, causing pencil indicator 902 to be replaced by deletion indicator 1002 having the eraser displayed. [0083] The effect of the receipt of this activity notification message on the UI of User B is shown in FIG. 10B. As mentioned, this UI previously showed the pencil icon 902. However, following the notification that User A is deleting a message, the icon has been replaced.)
Regarding dependent claim 6, depends on claim 1, Mandre does not explicitly teach: performing a voice call or a video call between at least two session objects
However, Voss teaches: wherein updating the first identifier to be a target identifier based on a session operation of at least two session objects in the session interface comprises at least one of: in response to the session operation comprising performing a voice call or a video call between at least two session objects, determining a first target identifier as the target identifier; in response to the session operation comprising sending a message satisfying a predetermined condition in the target session between the at least two session objects, determining a second target identifier as the target identifier. (Voss – [0037] Accordingly, each messaging client application 104 is able to communicate and exchange data with another messaging client application 104 and with the messaging server system 108 via the network 106. The data exchanged between messaging client applications 104, and between a messaging client application 104 and the messaging server system 108, includes functions (e.g., commands to invoke functions) as well as payload data (e.g., text, audio, video or other multimedia data). 0096] In further embodiments, the interface module 602 may cause display of the animated icon within GUIs of devices associated with the animated icon in response to detecting an initiation of a communication session between the devices. For example, the interface module 602 may receive inputs indicating that a video chat, a text message conversation, or an ephemeral message was sent/initiated between the set of client devices associated with the animated icon.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Mandre’s activity identifier to further indicate a communication or interactive relationship associated with the participants of the messaging session, as taught by Voss, thereby providing additional contextual information regarding the relationship and interaction between participants of the communication session.
Regarding dependent claim 7, depends on claim 6, Mandre does not explicitly teach: wherein in response to the session operation comprising sending a message satisfying a predetermined condition in the target session between the at least two session objects, determining a second target identifier as the target identifier comprises at least one of: in response to the session operation comprising mutually sending a media resource between the at least two session objects, determining a second identifier as the second target identifier; in response to the session operation comprising sharing a media content between the at least two session objects, determining a third identifier as the second target identifier.
However, Voss teaches: wherein in response to the session operation comprising sending a message satisfying a predetermined condition in the target session between the at least two session objects, determining a second target identifier as the target identifier comprises at least one of: in response to the session operation comprising mutually sending a media resource between the at least two session objects, determining a second identifier as the second target identifier; in response to the session operation comprising sharing a media content between the at least two session objects, determining a third identifier as the second target identifier. (Voss − Fig. 4 [0041] a particular messaging client application 104 to another messaging client application 104, the sending of media files (e.g., images or video) from a messaging client application 104 to the messaging server application 114, and for possible access by another messaging client application 104, the setting of a collection of media data (e.g., story), the retrieval of a list of friends of a user of a client device 102, the retrieval of such collections, the retrieval of messages and content, the adding and deletion of friends to a social graph, the location of friends within a social graph, opening and application event (e.g., relating to the messaging client application 104).)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Mandre’s activity identifier to further indicate a communication or interactive relationship associated with the participants of the messaging session, as taught by Voss, thereby providing additional contextual information regarding the relationship and interaction between participants of the communication session.
Regarding dependent claim 8, depends on claim 1, Mandre teaches: further comprising: receiving a first input to the session interface; and in response to the first input, displaying the target identifier in a session unit of a session list interface, the session unit being configured for triggering the display of the session interface. (Mandre – [0050-0053] Fig. 4 contact list 408 containing contacts of other users, each having associated identifying or status information, and expressly teaches an IM conversation with listed user is initiated by selecting the respective contact.)
Regarding dependent claim 12, depends on claim 10, Mandre teaches: further comprising: displaying third prompt information matching with the session operation on the session interface; receiving a second input for the third prompt information; and displaying, in response to the second input, an identifier prompt panel in the session interface, the identifier prompt panel comprising identifier information of the at least two session objects and fourth prompt information, the fourth prompt information matching with the session operation. (Mandre – [0050-0053] Fig. 4 contact list 408 containing contacts of other users, each having associated identifying or status information, and expressly teaches an IM conversation with listed user is initiated by selecting the respective contact.)
Regarding independent claim 13 is directed to electronic device. Claim 13 have similar/same technical features/limitation as claim 1 and the claims are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 14, depends on claim 13, Mandre does not explicitly teach: determining a display parameter of the target identifier based on the type of the session operation;
However, Voss teaches: wherein updating the first identifier to be a target identifier based on a session operation of at least two session objects in the session interface and displaying the target identifier comprises at least one of: determining a display parameter of the target identifier based on the type of the session operation; displaying the target identifier on the session interface based on the display parameter. (Voss – [0115-0116] Fig. 12B, FIG. 12B is a depiction 1200B of a set of user input types, and associated attributes that correspond to those user input types. As discussed with respect to the method 900 of FIG. 9, a user may select a user input type from among a set of user input types, and the display state module 606 may adjust a point (e.g., state indicator) within an associated display state model (e.g., display state model 1202 of FIG. 12A) based on attributes associated with the user input.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Mandre’s activity identifier to further indicate a communication or interactive relationship associated with the participants of the messaging session, as taught by Voss, thereby providing additional contextual information regarding the relationship and interaction between participants of the communication session.
Regarding dependent claim 15, depends on claim 14, Mandre does not explicitly teach: wherein the display parameter comprises at least one of: an identifier shape parameter, an identifier size parameter, an identifier color parameter, an identifier brightness parameter, an identifier fuzziness parameter and an identifier dynamic effect parameter.
However, Voss teaches: wherein the display parameter comprises at least one of: an identifier shape parameter, an identifier size parameter, an identifier color parameter, an identifier brightness parameter, an identifier fuzziness parameter and an identifier dynamic effect parameter. (Voss – [0111] FIG. 11 is a depiction of an animated icon 1102, as discussed above. As seen in FIG. 11, the animated icon 1102 may be a virtual pet, such as a cat. The particles 1104 may be displayed by the presentation module 608 in response to the user input module 604 detecting an input at the client device 102, as described in operation 804 of the method 800 depicted in FIG. 8. In some embodiments, attributes and properties of the particles 1104 may be based on attributes of the user input. For example, the color, shape, style, and brightness of the particles 1104 may vary based on user input type, user input duration, user input style, and so on. Fig. 12B)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Mandre’s activity identifier to further indicate a communication or interactive relationship associated with the participants of the messaging session, as taught by Voss, thereby providing additional contextual information regarding the relationship and interaction between participants of the communication session.
Regarding dependent claim 16, depends on claim 13, Mandre teaches: wherein the acts further comprise: in response to the first identifier being updated to be the target identifier, updating the first identifier of a target interface to be the target identifier, the target interface comprising another interface in a current application different from the session interface. (Mandre – Fig. 5A-5B and Fig, 9A-9B [0050-0054] multiple interface of the same IM client, including a main user interface 400 containing user contact and identifiers and the IM conversion interfaces.)
Regarding dependent claim 17, depends on claim 13, Mandre teaches: wherein the acts further comprise: updating a display parameter of an interface element in the session interface based on a display parameter of the target identifier. (Mandre – Fig. 10A-10B, [0082-0083] after user A changes from typing to deleting the message, the deletion is detected and an activity notification identifying deletion is transmitted to User B, causing pencil indicator 902 to be replaced by deletion indicator 1002 having the eraser displayed. [0083] The effect of the receipt of this activity notification message on the UI of User B is shown in FIG. 10B. As mentioned, this UI previously showed the pencil icon 902. However, following the notification that User A is deleting a message, the icon has been replaced.)
Regarding dependent claim 18, depends on claim 13, Mandre does not explicitly teach: performing a voice call or a video call between at least two session objects
However, Voss teaches: wherein updating the first identifier to be a target identifier based on a session operation of at least two session objects in the session interface comprises at least one of: in response to the session operation comprising performing a voice call or a video call between at least two session objects, determining a first target identifier as the target identifier; in response to the session operation comprising sending a message satisfying a predetermined condition in the target session between the at least two session objects, determining a second target identifier as the target identifier. (Voss – [0037] Accordingly, each messaging client application 104 is able to communicate and exchange data with another messaging client application 104 and with the messaging server system 108 via the network 106. The data exchanged between messaging client applications 104, and between a messaging client application 104 and the messaging server system 108, includes functions (e.g., commands to invoke functions) as well as payload data (e.g., text, audio, video or other multimedia data). 0096] In further embodiments, the interface module 602 may cause display of the animated icon within GUIs of devices associated with the animated icon in response to detecting an initiation of a communication session between the devices. For example, the interface module 602 may receive inputs indicating that a video chat, a text message conversation, or an ephemeral message was sent/initiated between the set of client devices associated with the animated icon.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Mandre’s activity identifier to further indicate a communication or interactive relationship associated with the participants of the messaging session, as taught by Voss, thereby providing additional contextual information regarding the relationship and interaction between participants of the communication session.
Regarding dependent claim 19, depends on claim 13, Mandre does not explicitly teach: wherein in response to the session operation comprising sending a message satisfying a predetermined condition in the target session between the at least two session objects, determining a second target identifier as the target identifier comprises at least one of: in response to the session operation comprising mutually sending a media resource between the at least two session objects, determining a second identifier as the second target identifier; in response to the session operation comprising sharing a media content between the at least two session objects, determining a third identifier as the second target identifier.
However, Voss teaches: wherein in response to the session operation comprising sending a message satisfying a predetermined condition in the target session between the at least two session objects, determining a second target identifier as the target identifier comprises at least one of: in response to the session operation comprising mutually sending a media resource between the at least two session objects, determining a second identifier as the second target identifier; in response to the session operation comprising sharing a media content between the at least two session objects, determining a third identifier as the second target identifier. (Voss − Fig. 4 [0041] a particular messaging client application 104 to another messaging client application 104, the sending of media files (e.g., images or video) from a messaging client application 104 to the messaging server application 114, and for possible access by another messaging client application 104, the setting of a collection of media data (e.g., story), the retrieval of a list of friends of a user of a client device 102, the retrieval of such collections, the retrieval of messages and content, the adding and deletion of friends to a social graph, the location of friends within a social graph, opening and application event (e.g., relating to the messaging client application 104).)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Mandre’s activity identifier to further indicate a communication or interactive relationship associated with the participants of the messaging session, as taught by Voss, thereby providing additional contextual information regarding the relationship and interaction between participants of the communication session.
Regarding independent claim 20 is directed to a non-transitory readable storage medium. Claim 20 have similar/same technical features/limitation as claim 1 and the claims are rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandre and Voss as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of HE (US 20200028815 A1, Filed Date: Sep. 30, 2019).
Regarding dependent claim 9, depends on claim 1, Mandre does not explicitly teach: the target widget being provided by a terminal device associated with a current application.
However, HE teaches: further comprising: in response to the first identifier being updated to be the target identifier, triggering a target widget to display the target identifier and/or first prompt information associated with the target identifier, the target widget being configured for triggering the display of the session interface, the target widget being provided by a terminal device associated with a current application. (HE – [0068] FIG. 4A illustrates first client device 104-1 displaying an interface 410 for a chat application that is associated with a social network platform. The region for conversation 416 also includes unread messages indicator 424 indicating that user XX has two unread messages from user ZZ within conversation 416. As new messages arrive in the conversation group, the unread messages indicator is updated to shown the current number of new messages in the conversation group (e.g., when the message-on-hold mode is not activated for the conversation group).)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Mandre’s and Voss to include a conversation-list interface having selectable conversation entries and unread-message, as taught by HE, thereby providing a user with an indication of unread messages corresponding to the each conversation.
Regarding dependent claim 10, depends on claim 9, Mandre does not explicitly teach: and the second prompt information comprises at least one of: prompt information indicating an unread session message in the session interface, and prompt information indicating a receiving and sending frequency of a session message in the session interface.
However, He teaches: wherein the target widget displays at least one of: identifier information of the session object, a fourth identifier and second prompt information, wherein the fourth identifier is configured for displaying an online state of the session object, and the second prompt information comprises at least one of: prompt information indicating an unread session message in the session interface, and prompt information indicating a receiving and sending frequency of a session message in the session interface. (HE – [0068] FIG. 4A illustrates first client device 104-1 displaying an interface 410 for a chat application that is associated with a social network platform. The region for conversation 416 also includes unread messages indicator 424 indicating that user XX has two unread messages from user ZZ within conversation 416. As new messages arrive in the conversation group, the unread messages indicator is updated to shown the current number of new messages in the conversation group (e.g., when the message-on-hold mode is not activated for the conversation group).)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Mandre’s and Voss to include a conversation-list interface having selectable conversation entries and unread-message, as taught by HE, thereby providing a user with an indication of unread messages corresponding to the each conversation.
Regarding dependent claim 11, depends on claim 10, Mandre does not explicitly teach: wherein: at least one of the target identifier, the first prompt information, the fourth identifier, and the second prompt information is displayed on a foreground of the target widget, and the message information of the target session and/or the identifier information of a target object in the target session is displayed on a background of the target widget.
However, HE teaches: wherein: at least one of the target identifier, the first prompt information, the fourth identifier, and the second prompt information is displayed on a foreground of the target widget, and the message information of the target session and/or the identifier information of a target object in the target session is displayed on a background of the target widget. (He – [0068] FIG. 4A illustrates first client device 104-1 displaying an interface 410 for a chat application that is associated with a social network platform. The region for conversation 416 also includes unread messages indicator 424 indicating that user XX has two unread messages from user ZZ within conversation 416. As new messages arrive in the conversation group, the unread messages indicator is updated to shown the current number of new messages in the conversation group (e.g., when the message-on-hold mode is not activated for the conversation group).)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Mandre’s and Voss to include a conversation-list interface having selectable conversation entries and unread-message, as taught by HE, thereby providing a user with an indication of unread messages corresponding to the each conversation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
RIDEOUT US 20140280603 A1, monitoring the activity or attention of participants in a chat, such as typing, viewing an image or video, or consuming shared content, and providing graphical status indications of that activity to other chat participants. Includes interactive functionality to allow participants to join shared activities.
CURRY US 20170331769 A1, displaying an interactive contextual emoji in a digital conversation that represents a participant’s contextual state, such as availability or a schedule meeting. User interaction with the emoji can display a contextual-information panel containing details such as meeting time, topic, attendees, and selectable actions.
SUNG US 20180302231 A1, multi-user chat-room interface in which identification information for a participant is displayed, and selection of that identification information causes a separate job-information window associated with the selected participant to be displayed overlapping the chat room.
WU US 20230032666 A1, selecting a message in a session interface to display a resource-transmission interface containing recipient identifiers and a message icon. Allows dragging the message icon toward a selected recipient to transmit its underlying resource.
Shen US 20240089331 A1, obtaining state information for multiple communication sessions and displaying corresponding session identifiers according to the state of each session.
Lu US 20240220469 A1, displaying a message-aggregation interface corresponding to a session, classifying the session’s messages by message type, selecting one or more messages through a first input, and performing a target operation on the selected messages through a subsequent input. Examples include filtering, organizing messages by type, time or participant and forwarding selected messages to identified contacts.
/CARL E BARNES JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2178
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178