DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24-33, 34, and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 24, 34, and 43, the applicant’s original disclosure provides no support for the claimed “source of power”. While it is noted that the applicant’s disclosure relates to a vacuum end effector, this negative pressure area is not considered to be a “source of power” but merely an area of negative pressure provided to the end effector.
Claims 24-32, 34, and 43 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Along with the 112(a) above, it is further noted that the metes and bounds of the applicant’s claim are not clear. It’s not understood from the applicant’s original disclosure what is considered to be the claimed “source of power”. As noted above, the negative pressure area/conduit is not considered to be a source of power, and even if one were to consider the means for creating the negative pressure a “source of power”, this is not disclosed to be provided in the claimed space. While breadth is not indefiniteness, the boundaries for the protected subject matter are not clear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 24-27, 33-36, 42-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feng (US Pat No 8,714,903) .
Regarding claim 24, as best understood, Feng discloses a dynamic end-effector system for connecting an end effector to an articulated arm comprising-
a first coupling portion (20) having an arm attachment area for rigidly connecting the first coupling portion to the articulated arm;
an end-effector (70); and
a second coupling portion (85) rotatably connecting the end effector to the first coupling portion, the first coupling portion and the second coupling portion being provided by a rotational bearing system (87) such that the end-effector is able to spin about an axis of rotation freely through 360 degrees, the first coupling portion including a first open interior (215) and the second coupling portion including a second open interior (e.g. noted by axis line in fig. 3) that aligns with the first open interior such that a source of power is provided to the end-effector through the first open interior and the second open interior.
Regarding claim 25, 35 and 44, Feng discloses the dynamic end effector system further includes a conduit (noted by axis line in fig. 3) that extends through the first open interior and the second open interior.
Regarding claim 26, Feng discloses the axis of rotation passes through the first open interior and the second open interior (noted by axis line in fig. 3).
Regarding claim 27 and 36, Feng discloses the second coupling portion is freely rotatable with respect to the first coupling portion such that there is no gravity biased rotational position of the second coupling portion with respect to the first coupling portion when the end-effector is not grasping an object (e.g. symmetrical and not driven).
Regarding claim 33, Feng discloses a dynamic end effector system for connecting an end effector to an articulated arm comprising:
a first coupling portion (20) having an arm attachment area for rigidly connecting the first coupling portion to the articulated arm;
an end-effector (70); and
a second coupling portion (85) rotatably connecting the end effector to the first coupling portion, the first coupling portion and the second coupling portion being provided by a rotational bearing system (87) such that the end-effector is able to spin about an axis of rotation freely through 360 degrees, the first coupling portion including a first open interior (215) and the second coupling portion including a second open interior (e.g. noted by axis line in fig. 3) that aligns with the first open interior, the axis of rotation passing through the first open interior and the second open interior.
Regarding claims 34 and 43, as best understood, Feng discloses the dynamic end effector system further includes a source of power (e.g. negative pressure) is provided to the end-effector through the first open interior and the second open interior.
Regarding claim 42, Feng discloses a dynamic end effector system for connecting an end effector to an articulated arm comprising:
a first coupling portion (20) having an arm attachment area for rigidly connecting the first coupling portion to the articulated arm;
an end-effector (70); and
a second coupling portion (85) rotatably connecting the end effector to the first coupling portion, the first coupling portion and the second coupling portion being provided by a rotational bearing system (87) such that the end-effector is able to spin about an axis of rotation freely through 360 degrees, the first coupling portion including a first open interior and the second coupling portion including a second open interior that aligns with the first open interior, the second coupling portion being freely rotatable with respect to the first coupling portion such that there is no gravity biased rotational position of the second coupling portion with respect to the first coupling portion when the end-effector is not grasping an object (e.g. symmetrical and not driven).
Regarding claim 45, Feng discloses the axis of rotation passes through the first open interior and the second open interior (see axis line of fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28-32, 37-41 and 45-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng.
Regarding the explicit bearing details, it is noted that Feng merely discloses an inner and outer race without disclosure as to the type of bearing used. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified with any of the claimed bearing types since finding an ideal type of bearing is merely a result of routine experimentation and focus of design choice for the anticipated use case of the end effector. Each of the bearings has advantages and disadvantages (e.g. cost, size, durability, friction) wherein one making a system would merely weigh each to see which design is best fit. It is noted that the applicant cites these advantages/disadvantages, however these are believed to be known relative to the bearing type and are not critical to the applicant’s invention as disclosed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Note: the applicant’s claim after amendment may be subject to rejection under double patenting.
/Patrick Cicchino/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619