Status of Claims
Applicant’s submission filed 10/02/24 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/02/24 and 10/12/25 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claims disclose the abstract idea of a delivery management method. The method includes receiving transaction information that includes a delivery address and delivery type information, receiving a current position of a delivery vehicle, allocating the transaction information having an adjacent delivery address to each of a plurality of delivery vehicles, setting a basic path, determining a target delivery vehicle for allocating real-time transaction information, and changing the basic path to pass through one of the delivery destinations, wherein the target delivery vehicle performs automatic sorting and automatic picking inside while moving to a delivery address based on the real-time transaction information.
STEP 1
Are the claims directed to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
The claims are all directed to a statutory category (e.g., a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter). The answer is YES.
STEP 2A. Prong 1
Exemplary claim 11 recites the following abstract concepts that are found to include “abstract idea”:
“--transmit a plurality of pieces of transaction information and a delivery address and delivery type information corresponding to each of the plurality of pieces of transaction information;
-- perform automatic sorting and automatic picking inside while moving to a delivery address based on the plurality of pieces of transaction information,
--receive current positions of a plurality of delivery vehicles;
--allocate the transaction information having an adjacent delivery address to each of the plurality of delivery vehicles;
--set a basic path as a path having a shortest movement path or a shortest movement time among a plurality of paths passing through delivery destinations in the transaction information allocated to each of the vehicle terminals for each of the plurality of delivery vehicles;
--determine a target delivery vehicle for allocating real-time transaction information, wherein the target delivery vehicle is one of first delivery vehicles; and
--change the basic path of a target delivery vehicle of the plurality of delivery vehicles to pass through one of the delivery destinations included in the transaction information..”
The remaining limitations are no more than computer elements (i.e., an order server, logistics control server, vehicle terminals) to be used as a tool to perform this abstract idea.
The recited limitations cover a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers subject matter viewed as a certain method of organizing human activity with the additional recitation of generic computer components. For example, but for the “by a server” language, “transmitting, receiving, allocating setting, determining, changing” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually receiving the information, allocating the information to different vehicles, selecting a target vehicle, determining a path for each vehicle, changing the path to pass through the delivery destination.
The practice of transmitting, receiving, allocating, setting, changing” data, as well as determining a target vehicle for allocating transaction information based on timing estimates and distance is a commercial or legal interaction long prevalent in our system of commerce. The claims recite the idea of performing various conceptual steps generically resulting in the selection of delivery vehicles. As determined earlier, none of these steps recites specific technological implementation details, but instead get to this result by receiving, selecting and determining data. Thus, the claims recite an abstract idea, specifically a certain method of organizing human activity.
STEP 2A, Prong 2
Are there additional elements or a combination of elements in the claim that apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception?
The claim recites the following additional elements:
--servers (order server, logistics control server) are used to perform the transmitting, receiving, allocating, setting, determining, and changing steps.
-current positions of the vehicles are received from vehicle terminals.
-automatic sorting and picking are performed by delivery vehicles.
The servers, the vehicles, and the vehicle terminals in the steps are recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as a generic processors performing generic computer functions of processing data (transmitting, by a server, transaction data; receiving location information from a GPS, sorting and picking items). These generic processor limitations are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
STEP 2B
The next issue is whether the claims provide an inventive concept because the additional elements recited in the claims provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception. Taking the claim elements separately, the function performed by the servers and vehicle terminals at each step of the process is purely conventional. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a server to perform the steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Considered as an ordered combination, the computer components of Applicants' claims add nothing that is not already present when the steps are considered separately. The claimed invention does not focus on an improvement in computers as tools, but rather certain independently abstract ideas that use computers as tools. {Elec. Power, 830 F.3d at 1354). (Step 2B: NO).
There is no indication that indication that the servers, and vehicle terminals are anything other than a generic, off-the-shelf computer component, and the Symantec, TLI, and OIP Techs. Court decisions cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Independent claims 1, 20 recite similar limitations as claim 11 and are therefore rejected under the same rationale.
The dependent claims when analyzed as a whole are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitations fail to establish that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea. The claims provide minimal technical structure or components for further consideration either individually or as ordered combinations with the independent claims. As such, additional recited limitations in the dependent claims only refine the identified abstract idea further. Further refinement of an abstract idea does not convert an abstract idea into something concrete.
For example, claims 2-5, 12-15 recite similar limitations as claims 1, 11, 20 (transmitting and receiving data). The driver terminal is also recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as a generic processors performing generic computer functions of processing data. Claim 6-8, 16-18 recite determining a supplementary vehicle in addition to the target vehicle, and transmitting data to the vehicles. Claims 9, 19 recite calculating completion time for the delivery.
Accordingly, a conclusion that the collecting step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 2.
See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350,1355,112 USPQ2d 1093,1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); but see DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hoteis.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1258, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1106 (Fed. Cir. 2014) ("Unlike the claims in Ultramercial, the claims at issue here specify how interactions with the Internet are manipulated to yield a desired result-a result that overrides the routine and conventional sequence of events ordinarily triggered by the click of a hyperlink." (emphasis added));
iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306,1334,115 USPQ2d 1681,1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363,115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
The claims are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-15, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angert et al. (US 20060010037 A1), in view of Dixon et al. (US 20190019149 A1), in further view of Gil (2019/0143872 A1).
Re-claim 1, Angert et al. teach -A delivery management method comprising:
--receiving, by an integrated logistics control server, a plurality of pieces of transaction information that includes a delivery address and delivery type information corresponding to each of the plurality of pieces of transaction information from an order server;
(see e.g. [0058] Server 20 supplies an order number and customer information corresponding to the current order. --[0046] delivery type option selected by the customer. -- Claim 1 ---communicating a geographical location of said first customer to said server; --[0046] delivery type option selected by the customer.)
--receiving, by the integrated logistics control server, a current position of a corresponding delivery vehicle from a vehicle terminal mounted on the corresponding delivery vehicle,
(see e.g. [0054] Driver display 52 displays a customized Driver web page from server 20. The driver, usually an employee, will be required to log in for the duration of the employee shift. When logged in as a driver type client, server 20 will receive position location information generated by GPS receiver 54 and update database 29 on a periodic basis, providing tracking of delivery vehicle 50.)
--wherein each of a plurality of delivery vehicles, including the corresponding delivery vehicle, includes a respective vehicle terminal mounted thereon;
(see e.g. [0036] Interfaces for other users are desirably tailored to the users' environments. For example, within delivery/preparation vehicles 16A-16C, a driver may use a palm-held or dashboard-installed device as driver computer 25 networked via a wireless local area network (WLAN) network interface (NIC) 222, while food preparation personnel (suppliers) may interact with server 20 via a larger dedicated terminal and a control pad designed to withstand a food preparation environment serving as a mobile version of supplier computer 24 and may share a connection through NIC 222 or have a separate interface for connection with a WLAN access point 221 connected to server 20.
[0053] FIGS. 5A and 5B show a delivery vehicle 50 in and with which an embodiment of the present invention is practiced. Delivery vehicle 50 may be a car or truck with or without food preparation capability. Vehicle 50 contains mobile laptop/palmtop computer 51 serving as driver computer 25 of FIG. 2 attached to a graphical display 52 displaying a driver browser page.)
--setting, by the integrated logistics control server, a basic path as a path having a shortest movement path or a shortest movement time among a plurality of paths passing through delivery destinations in the transaction information allocated to each of the vehicle terminals for each of the plurality of delivery vehicles;
(see e.g. [0050] Server 20 may also provide: detailed driving directions in either text-on-screen or via spoken audio prompts, mapping display showing current position and destination, and up to date road conditions.)
--changing, by the integrated logistics control server, the basic path to pass through one of the delivery destinations included in the real-time transaction information,
[0056] The driver web page displayed on graphical display 52 is dynamically updated by server 20, and provides an additional audible alarm or spoken audio prompt, via computer 51 and attached audio device 56 to alert the driver of a destination change.)
Although Angert et al. teach --allocating, by the integrated logistics control server, transaction information […] to each of the plurality of delivery vehicles;
(see e.g. [0045] In general, server 20 will either communicate the request to supervisor computer 26, at which the supervisor will either manually or supervisor computer will automatically schedule and assign a particular driver/supplier combination and add the preparation request to supplier computer system 24 and the delivery request to driver computer system 25, scheduling the preparation and deliver of the ordered food item(s) in queues maintained for the supplier and deliverer.)
Angert et al. does explicitly but Dixon et al. explicitly teach --allocating, by the integrated logistics control server, transaction information having an adjacent delivery address to each of the plurality of delivery vehicles;
(see e.g. [0016] determining whether the on-demand location is within a threshold distance of at least one of the plurality of delivery routes based on the vehicle locations; and assigning the on-demand transaction to a vehicle based on the determinations.)
--determining, based on a real-time delivery type, a target delivery vehicle for allocating real-time transaction information, wherein the target delivery vehicle is one of first delivery vehicles; and
(see e.g. [0037] The on-demand transactions may include customer preferences and/or specific time constraints, geography constraints, vehicle size constraints, and the like. For example, a customer may have requested delivery or pick-up by a certain time of day, or may have a perishable item for pick-up or delivery, or may have a large or irregularly shaped item which cannot fit in every vehicle 110a-b.
[0038] The disclosed methods and systems determine whether one of the delivery vehicles 110a-b can satisfy the on-demand request from the customer 140.
[0036] FIG. 1 is an overview diagram of an on-demand delivery system 100. The on-demand delivery system 100 includes a plurality of delivery vehicles 110a-b traveling over a geographic area 120.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Angert et al., and include the steps cited above, as taught by Dixon et al., such that an appropriate vehicle can be selected to perform an on-demand transaction (see e.g. [0075]).
Angert et al., in view of Dixon et al., do not explicitly teach the following limitation.
However, Gil teaches ----wherein the target delivery vehicle performs automatic sorting and automatic picking inside while moving to a delivery address based on the real-time transaction information.
(see e.g. [0025] Various embodiments are directed to package delivery vehicles having automated package sortation, tracking, and delivery mechanisms. Various package delivery vehicles comprise one or more onboard picking robots configured to interact with automatically resizable shelves (formed from a plurality of movable shelving brackets having retaining members 115 to prevent packages from significantly deviating from a placed position) to automatically load packages onto identified shelves within the vehicle, and to automatically pick packages for delivery by a delivery vehicle operator.
[0027] While the delivery vehicle is traversing a delivery route, computing entities in communication with the onboard picking robots identify packages for delivery at an upcoming delivery stop, and automatically retrieve those packages from their respective storage locations within the vehicle. In certain embodiments, the picking robots directly present the packages to a delivery vehicle operator located within a cockpit area of the delivery vehicle to enable the vehicle operator to quickly retrieve the package from the picking robot when at a delivery destination, and to complete delivery. In certain embodiments, the picking robot may be configured to place packages destined for delivery at an upcoming destination location in a delivery staging area (which may be within a cargo area of the vehicle). Multiple packages destined for delivery at a single destination may be stacked in the delivery staging area (e.g., on a delivery cart) to ease the delivery vehicle operator's task for retrieving multiple packages for delivery at a particular destination location. The picking robots may be configured to continue stacking additional packages for delivery at the destination location (if necessary) in the delivery staging area while the delivery is underway (e.g., while the delivery vehicle operator is shuttling packages from the delivery vehicle to a final delivery destination).
[0205] The cargo area 14 may additionally comprise a picked-up package staging area configured to receive picked-up packages 300 prior to sorting into storage locations within the cargo area 14. For example, the picked-up package staging area may be defined as an area within the cargo area 14 proximate the rear door, proximate (and/or including) the delivery staging area 15, and/or the like. The delivery vehicle operator may place a plurality of packages 300 into the picked-up package staging area, and the one or more picking robots 500 may be configured to retrieve the packages 300 from the picked-up package staging area to place those packages 300 into respective storage locations (e.g., on shelves) within the cargo area 14. As yet another alternative, the cart 50 may be loaded into the delivery staging area 15 while having a plurality of picked-up packages 300 thereon. Once the cart 50 is secured within the cargo area 14, the one or more picking robots 500 may retrieve packages 300 from the stack of packages 300 on the cart 50, and may sort those packages 300 onto shelves within the cargo area 14.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Angert et al., in view of Dixon et al., and include the steps cited above, as taught by Gil et al., in order to improve the efficiency of the delivery process. (see e.g. [0002]).
Re-claim 2, Angert et al. teach --The delivery management method of claim 1, wherein: a driver drives the corresponding delivery vehicle among the plurality of delivery vehicles, the driver includes a driver terminal,
(see e.g.[ 0036] Interfaces for other users are desirably tailored to the users' environments. For example, within delivery/preparation vehicles 16A-16C, a driver may use a palm-held or dashboard-installed device as driver computer 25 networked via a wireless local area network (WLAN) network interface (NIC) 222,
[0053] Delivery vehicle 50 may be a car or truck with or without food preparation capability. Vehicle 50 contains mobile laptop/palmtop computer 51 serving as driver computer 25 of FIG. 2 attached to a graphical display 52 displaying a driver browser page.
[0014] The delivery systems may be individual vehicles associated with and possibly owned by a particular food service franchise)
[0034] The system of the present invention provide a highly flexible system that can respond to changing demand. Delivery vehicles (generally with the supplier included within the vehicles) may be deployed near events where high demand is expected, or the deployment of delivery vehicles may be made at any time based on the observed geographic patterns of deliveries made by the system)
and the method further comprises: transmitting, by the integrated logistics control server, the basic path and the plurality of pieces of transaction information allocated to the corresponding delivery vehicle to the driver terminal;
(see e.g. [0055] The driver of vehicle 50 receives a dynamic list of delivery tasks from server 20 that appearing on graphical display 52, based on current order and delivery status information. Other information such as the order number and end customer information may also be displayed. Server 20 may also provide: detailed driving directions in either text-on-screen or via spoken audio prompts, mapping display showing current position and destination, and up to date road conditions.)
and receiving, by the integrated logistics control server, the real-time transaction information related to real-time delivery from the order server when the delivery type information indicates the real-time delivery, wherein the real-time transaction information includes information about at least one of a type of an order item, a quantity of the order item, a real-time delivery address, and an order time.
(see e.g. [0044] Web page 300 is updated from Server 20 upon receiving Customer's interactive preferences, as well as dynamically changing information about food item availability and estimated time for delivery. --In some areas, the customer may choose curb-side delivery at one price and to-door delivery at another price, selected by option controls 37.
[0043] Server 20 uses the customer's geographic location to calculate estimated delivery times. The geographic location is entered during customer configuration (or in the case of a mobile wireless device, determined from a location system or embedded GPS receiver), and may be retrieved from database 29 upon login or may be stored locally on customer computer 22 as a cookie or other data source. A new customer will be prompted to provide this information, and previous customers may log-in using previously assigned name and password.)
Re-claim 3, Angert et al., do not explicitly teach the following limitation.
However, Dixon et al. teach --The delivery management method of claim 2, wherein the target delivery vehicle is one of the first delivery vehicles located within a predetermined radius from a real-time delivery address among the plurality of delivery vehicles.
(see e.g. [0060] While process 400 describes one aspect of assigning a request to a vehicle, other embodiments are contemplated. For example, in some aspects, the vehicle database 221 may be searched for a vehicle closest to the location specified in the on-demand request. The search may be based on the vehicle location field 304. In some aspects, vehicles within a predetermined range may be identified.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Angert et al., and include the steps cited above, as taught by Dixon et al., in order to fulfill the request within a specified time period. (see e.g. [0013]).
Re-claim 4, Angert et al. teach --- The delivery management method of claim 3, further comprising: receiving, by the integrated logistics control server, inventory information of the delivery vehicle corresponding to the driver terminal,
(see e.g. [0062] Further equipment within the vehicle may include capability and inventory information systems for automatically determining the availability of food items and relaying information back to the server via the communication link
determining the target delivery vehicle further includes determining whether the target delivery vehicle satisfies the real-time transaction information.
(see e.g. [0062] ---then a supplier is chosen if more than one supplier for that item is available (step 68). If more than one item is available, an efficiency optimization algorithm, such as a time or route minimizer is used to elect the supplier that can meet the ETA provided in step 64 for the purchased food item(s). If the supplier is not mobile (decision 69), then a deliverer is selected via another optimization algorithm (step 610). Alternatively, the supplier and deliverer are chosen in combination in step 68.)
Angert et al. do not teach the following limitation ---
However, Dixon et al. teach wherein: the inventory information includes information related to a type and a quantity of items loaded in the delivery vehicle.
(see e.g. [0038] The determination may be based on a number of conditions, such as the current locations of each of the vehicles 110a-b, their planned routes through the geographic area 120, the location of the on-demand transaction 150, inventory of items requested by the on-demand transaction on the delivery vehicles 110a-b, item size, item type, customer preferences or specific constraints, among other conditions. By considering a variety of factors, the disclosed methods and systems may efficiently satisfy the on-demand request of the customer 140.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Angert et al., and include the steps cited above, as taught by Dixon et al., in order to efficiently satisfy the on-demand request of the customer (see e.g. [0038]).
Re-claim 5, Angert et al. teach --The delivery management method of claim 4, wherein when the inventory information of the target delivery vehicle satisfies the real-time transaction information, the method further comprises: changing, by the integrated logistics control server, a delivery path such that the target delivery vehicle passes through the real-time delivery address from the basic path of the target delivery vehicle.
(see e.g. [0015] The communication link also receives routing and change of routing information from the server so that the delivery schedule may be updated in real-time and the vehicle may be re-routed in conformity with a result of a sales or bidding process.
[0056] The driver web page displayed on graphical display 52 is dynamically updated by server 20, and provides an additional audible alarm or spoken audio prompt, via computer 51 and attached audio device 56 to alert the driver of a destination change.)
Claim 10 recites similar limitations as claim 1 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 11 recites similar limitations as claim 1 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Furthermore Gil et al. teach a plurality of delivery vehicles which perform automatic sorting and automatic picking inside while moving to a delivery address based on the plurality of pieces of transaction information
(see e.g. [0025] Various embodiments are directed to package delivery vehicles having automated package sortation, tracking, and delivery mechanisms. Various package delivery vehicles comprise one or more onboard picking robots configured to interact with automatically resizable shelves (formed from a plurality of movable shelving brackets having retaining members 115 to prevent packages from significantly deviating from a placed position) to automatically load packages onto identified shelves within the vehicle, and to automatically pick packages for delivery by a delivery vehicle operator.
[0027] While the delivery vehicle is traversing a delivery route, computing entities in communication with the onboard picking robots identify packages for delivery at an upcoming delivery stop, and automatically retrieve those packages from their respective storage locations within the vehicle. In certain embodiments, the picking robots directly present the packages to a delivery vehicle operator located within a cockpit area of the delivery vehicle to enable the vehicle operator to quickly retrieve the package from the picking robot when at a delivery destination, and to complete delivery. In certain embodiments, the picking robot may be configured to place packages destined for delivery at an upcoming destination location in a delivery staging area (which may be within a cargo area of the vehicle). Multiple packages destined for delivery at a single destination may be stacked in the delivery staging area (e.g., on a delivery cart) to ease the delivery vehicle operator's task for retrieving multiple packages for delivery at a particular destination location. The picking robots may be configured to continue stacking additional packages for delivery at the destination location (if necessary) in the delivery staging area while the delivery is underway (e.g., while the delivery vehicle operator is shuttling packages from the delivery vehicle to a final delivery destination).
[0205] The cargo area 14 may additionally comprise a picked-up package staging area configured to receive picked-up packages 300 prior to sorting into storage locations within the cargo area 14. For example, the picked-up package staging area may be defined as an area within the cargo area 14 proximate the rear door, proximate (and/or including) the delivery staging area 15, and/or the like. The delivery vehicle operator may place a plurality of packages 300 into the picked-up package staging area, and the one or more picking robots 500 may be configured to retrieve the packages 300 from the picked-up package staging area to place those packages 300 into respective storage locations (e.g., on shelves) within the cargo area 14. As yet another alternative, the cart 50 may be loaded into the delivery staging area 15 while having a plurality of picked-up packages 300 thereon. Once the cart 50 is secured within the cargo area 14, the one or more picking robots 500 may retrieve packages 300 from the stack of packages 300 on the cart 50, and may sort those packages 300 onto shelves within the cargo area 14.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Angert et al., and include the steps cited above, as taught by Gil et al., in order to improve the efficiency of the package transportation and delivery process. (see e.g. [0002]).
Claim 12 recites similar limitations as claim 2 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 13 recites similar limitations as claim 3 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 14 recites similar limitations as claim 4 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 15 recites similar limitations as claim 5 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 20 recites similar limitations as claim 1 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claims 6-9, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angert et al. (US 20060010037 A1), in view of Dixon et al. (US 20190019149 A1), in view of Gil (2019/0143872 A1), in further view of Garber (2013/0297463 A1).
Re-claims 6-8, Angert et al., in view of Dixon et al., in further view of Gil do not teach the limitations as claimed.
However, Garber teaches --The delivery management method of claim 4, wherein when the inventory information of the target delivery vehicle cannot satisfy the real-time transaction information, the method further comprises: determining, by the integrated logistics control server, a supplementary vehicle for replenishing insufficient inventory of the target delivery vehicle, wherein the supplementary vehicle is at least one of the plurality of delivery vehicles and has inventory information that is integrated with the inventory information of the target delivery vehicle to satisfy the real-time transaction information.
(see e.g. [0026] Each passenger vehicle for hire 110 includes a vending machine 130. The vending machine 130 is positioned in the passenger vehicle for hire 110 such that items can be vending to a passenger inside the passenger salon of the vehicle. For example, the vending machine 130 can be placed in the trunk of the vehicle with a passage such that items from the vending machine 130 can be received by a passenger located in the passenger salon. Inventory replenishment depots 140, which can include stationary replenishment depots 140a (e.g., warehouses, stores, service centers, etc.) and mobile replenishment depots 140b (e.g., trucks or other suitable vehicles), are also connected to the network 120 via a wireless communication link. The passenger vehicles for hire 110 and the depots 140 can also be in communication with GPS satellites.
[0027] when the inventory levels of the vending machine fall below a certain level for one or more items, and alert can be sent to the driver indicating that a refill is required or advisable and provide the location of the nearest refill depot
[0030] If the depot is mobile, such as a truck that moves to different locations throughout the day, the current location of the depot can be received via a wireless connection to the network and stored in the memory (e.g., the location of the mobile depot can be stored on a network memory or a request for the location of the vehicle can be sent to the mobile depot over the network, which is itself connected to the network). The distance module is arranged to configure the processor to calculate a distance between the current position of passenger vehicle for hire as determined in step 230 and the current position of the closest depot and to assign a distance score based on the distance between the two (e.g., between 0-100). For example, a high score can indicate that the vehicle and the depot are in close proximity (e.g., 100 for distances less than 200 feet) and a low score can indicate that the vehicle and the depot are far apart (e.g., 0 for distances greater than 15 miles). ------. If a replenishment alert is triggered, as discussed in more detail below, the vehicle driver will be directed to proceed to that depot. Optionally, a rendezvous point between the location of the passenger vehicle for hire and the closest mobile depot can be selected. Accordingly, the system can provide location data of the rendezvous point to both the vehicle and the mobile depot so that they can both proceed to the rendezvous location.)
Claim 7. The delivery management method of claim 6, further comprising: generating, by the integrated logistics control server, supplementary information including the type and quantity of items that the target delivery vehicle should receive from the supplementary vehicle;
(see e.g. [0028] As the vending machine is loaded with vending items, as discussed in more detail herein, the number and type of items are stored in memory and as items are vended to passengers, the changes in the respective inventory levels of the various, individual vending items are monitored by the inventory module. As items are refilled and vended, the levels change, which is monitored by the inventory module and changes are stored in the memory of the computer system. ----In addition, the inventory module can monitor inventory levels on an individual, per item basis.)
and transmitting, by the integrated logistics control server, the real-time transaction information and the supplementary information to the target delivery vehicle and the supplementary vehicle.
(see e.g. [0034] At step 280, whether the driver is automatically being directed to the nearest depot or is being directed as the result of the driver selecting the "option," the system in one embodiment sends a signal via the network alerting the nearest depot that a vehicle will be arriving for replenishment. The signal can identify the vehicle (e.g., by license plate number, hack number, or other means) and the inventory requirements of the vehicle. For example, the vehicle's current inventory levels or an itemized inventory replenishment order can be transmitted to the depot so that the depot can know what items are required and how much of each item before the vehicle arrives at the depot.
[0030] Accordingly, the system can provide location data of the rendezvous point to both the vehicle and the mobile depot so that they can both proceed to the rendezvous location.).
Claim 8. -- The delivery management method of claim 7, further comprising: --changing, by the integrated logistics control server, delivery paths of the target delivery vehicle and the supplementary vehicle such that the target delivery vehicle and the supplementary vehicle meet at an intermediate point between the basic path of the target delivery vehicle and the basic path of the supplementary vehicle; and --transmitting, by the integrated logistics control server, the changed delivery paths to the driver terminal of the target delivery vehicle and the driver terminal of the supplementary vehicle.
(see e.g. [0030] . For example, vehicle 110' is closest to depot 140' in their respective current positions and the distance between them is used to calculate the distance score. If a replenishment alert is triggered, as discussed in more detail below, the vehicle driver will be directed to proceed to that depot. Optionally, a rendezvous point between the location of the passenger vehicle for hire and the closest mobile depot can be selected. Accordingly, the system can provide location data of the rendezvous point to both the vehicle and the mobile depot so that they can both proceed to the rendezvous location.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Angert et al., in view of Dixon et al., in view of Gil et al., and include the steps cited above, as taught by Garber, so that the depot can know what items are required and how much of each item before the vehicle arrives at the depot. (see e.g. [00434]), and so that inventory levels can be maintained (see e.g. [0031]).
Claim 16 recites similar limitations as claim 6 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 17 recites similar limitations as claim 7 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 18 recites similar limitations as claim 8 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Re-claim 9, Angert et al. anticipate the claim in at least [0062] ---then a supplier is chosen if more than one supplier for that item is available (step 68). If more than one item is available, an efficiency optimization algorithm, such as a time or route minimizer is used to elect the supplier that can meet the ETA provided in step 64 for the purchased food item(s).
[0040] Database 29 also contains client information such as the type of client, name and location and phone number, distances from any supplier locations, estimated driving times between locations).
Angert et al. do not explicitly teach the following limitations as claimed.
However, Dixon et al. teach --The delivery management method of claim 8, wherein determining the target delivery vehicle comprises:
--calculating a completion time for a delivery corresponding to transaction information assigned to each of the vehicle terminals by calculating a time it takes to travel to the last delivery destination among basic paths that are set for each of the vehicle terminals;
--calculating the completion time for the delivery corresponding to the real-time transaction information by calculating the distance from the last delivery destination to the real-time delivery destination in the real-time transaction information for each of the plurality of delivery vehicles; and
--when a completion time for a delivery corresponding to the real-time transaction information is within a predetermined time from an acceptance time for the real-time delivery, determining a delivery vehicle having a shortest movement distance from a last delivery destination to a real-time delivery destination among the delivery vehicles as the target delivery vehicle.
(see e.g. [0016] .. perform a method of assigning an on-demand request to a vehicle on a delivery route, the method comprising: receiving an on-demand request, the request indicating an on-demand location for an on-demand transaction; determining locations of a plurality of vehicles on a plurality of delivery routes; determining whether the on-demand location is within a threshold distance of at least one of the plurality of delivery routes based on the vehicle locations; and assigning the on-demand transaction to a vehicle based on the determinations.
[0017] In some embodiments, the request further indicates an item for delivery to the on-demand location, and wherein the method further comprises determining the plurality of vehicles based on the item.
[0053] In block 410, a list of route stops is identified that is within a threshold distance of the location for the request to be completed. In some embodiments, the threshold may be a threshold time of travel. The time of travel can be an estimated time it would take a vehicle to move from its current position to the location of the on-demand request. It may be that a vehicle which is closer geographically may actually take longer to arrive at the on-demand request location based on traffic conditions, road conditions, instant direction of travel, and other similar reasons. In some aspects, block 410 may be performed as described below with respect to FIG. 5.
[0022] In some embodiments, the method further comprises determining, from among one or more of the plurality of delivery routes, the route requiring the minimum amount of deviation to fulfill the on-demand request, and assigning the on-demand request to the vehicle performing the minimum deviation route.
[0079] Alternatively, the on-demand request may be a first request for the item. In some aspects, the request may be for an item that may be included in one or more vehicle inventories. For example, frequently ordered items may be stocked on-board delivery vehicles to facilitate quick delivery for these items. Thus, in some aspects, the on-demand request may identify one or more items for delivery. The items may be identified in some aspects, by specifying the item id 314 value for the item in the request.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Angert et al., and include the steps cited above, as taught by Dixon et al., in order to fulfill the on-demand request within a specified time period using the determined route (see e.g. [0024]).
Claim 19 recites similar limitations as claim 9 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Conclusion
Laury (US-20190228375-A1) –Delivery Management System.
Baggott (US-20180025318-A1) -System and Method for Communication Routing, Transportation Coordination and Product Creation.
/LUNA CHAMPAGNE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627
April 7, 2026