Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kohout (EP2803444B1).
Claim 1
Kohout teaches a tool clamping mechanism (1) of a machining apparatus (¶0009), adapted to clamp a tool holder (10), comprising: a base (11) having an axial hole (15); a control rod (134) passing through the axial hole (Figure 1) and being movable between a first position and a second position along an axial line (¶0019 “the double-acting pneumatic cylinder 14 , 14' is connected fixedly to one end of the drive rod 134 , 134' , which is slidably mounted in a linear guide 15”), wherein an end of the control rod has a coupling portion (Location where the rod (134) connects to the struts (133).); two grip arms (13) pivotally connected to the base (¶0018 “The jaws 13 , 13' are pivotably mounted”) and being capable of clamping and opening (¶0024 “the released position” and “which by means of the struts 133 turn about the pivots 131 to a position in which they grip the stem of the tool 10.”), wherein each of the two grip arms has a coupled portion (The portion of the arms (13) that couples to the struts (133).); wherein when the control rod is located at the first position (Figure 1) , the two grip arms clamp the tool holder (Figure 1); when the control rod is located at the second position, the coupling portion of the control rod is operatively coupled with the two coupled portions of the two grip arms to drive the two grip arms to pivot and open to release the tool holder. (¶0024 “the piston rod 142 and the drive rod 134 move towards the clamping jaws 13 which by means of the struts 133 turn about the pins 131 into the released position.”)
Claim 2
Kohout teaches the tool clamping mechanism as claimed in claim 1, wherein the coupling portion of the control rod includes a connecting block (133) and two rollers (Pivot pins located at the joint between the connecting block (133) and the arms (13).); the connecting block is connected to the control rod(Figure 1); the two rollers are disposed on the connecting block and are spaced by a fixed distance (Figure 1); each of the two grip arms has a groove constituting the coupled portion (Figure 1 shows the arms have a groove where the pivot pins (or rollers as claimed) are located.); the two rollers are correspondingly located in the two grooves of the two grip arms. (Figure 1 shows the arms have a groove where the pivot pins (or rollers as claimed) are located.)
Claim 3
Kohout teaches the tool clamping mechanism as claimed in claim 2, wherein the groove of one of the two grip arms is disposed along a first extension line which is virtual (The extension line in Kohout is a line that passes through the groove and along the longitudinal axis of the arm.); the groove of the other grip arm is disposed along a second extension line which is virtual (The extension line in Kohout is a line that passes through the groove and along the longitudinal axis of the arm.); the first extension line and the second extension line intersect to form an acute angle (Following imaginary extension lines that pass along the longitudinal axes of the two arms, the lines will intersect as claimed.); the axial line passes through an intersection of the first extension line and the second extension line (A line drawn along the rod (134) will pass through the center of the imaginary lines.); when the control rod is located at the first position Figure 1), the axial line divides the acute angle into two first half angles having the same degree (The rod in located in the center of the two arms, so the axial line bisects longitudinal imaginary extension lines of the arms.); when the control rod is located at the second position, the axial line divides the acute angle into two second half angles having the same degree; each of the two second half angles is greater than each of the two first half angles. (The second position is described in ¶0024 as forcing the arms apart. If the arms are further apart, the angle formed by the intersection of their longitudinal imaginary extension lines is greater and therefore the two second half angles formed will be greater than the first.)
Claim 4
Kohout teaches the tool clamping mechanism as claimed in claim 3, wherein each of the two first half angles is less than or equal to 45°. (The orientation in Figure 1 of the arms and their imaginary longitudinal extension lines clearly shows the half angles will be less than 45 degrees. “Drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed.” In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972) “The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art.” In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979) See MPEP 2125. Examiner asserts that an artisan attempting to practice Kohout, but having no measurements, would have reasonably at first attempted to copy the structure as shown in the Figure.)
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Keppler (DE102008005094A1).
Claim 1
Keppler teaches a tool clamping mechanism (Figure 2) of a machining apparatus (¶0001), adapted to clamp a tool holder (14), comprising: a base (17) having an axial hole (where the rod (25) passes); a control rod (25) passing through the axial hole (Figure 2) and being movable between a first position and a second position along an axial line (¶0020 “In the position shown in Fig. 2, the control element 25 ensures that the gripper arms 19 , 20 are in their closed position. The open position of the jaw arm 20 is also indicated by a thinner line. This is achieved when the control element 25 is set back relative to the jaw arms 19, 20. The springs 23, 24 then press the jaw arms 19, 20 into their open position.”), wherein an end of the control rod has a coupling portion (where item 25 contacts the jaw arms (19, 20).); two grip arms (19, 20) pivotally connected to the base (¶0020 “The clamping arms 19, 20 are pivotably mounted around bolts 21, 22”) and being capable of clamping and opening (¶0020 “In the position shown in Fig. 2, the control element 25 ensures that the gripper arms 19 , 20 are in their closed position. The open position of the jaw arm 20 is also indicated by a thinner line. This is achieved when the control element 25 is set back relative to the jaw arms 19, 20. The springs 23, 24 then press the jaw arms 19, 20 into their open position.”), wherein each of the two grip arms has a coupled portion (Where the arms (19, 20) contact and interact with the control element (25).); wherein when the control rod is located at the first position, the two grip arms clamp the tool holder; when the control rod is located at the second position, the coupling portion of the control rod is operatively coupled with the two coupled portions of the two grip arms to drive the two grip arms to pivot and open to release the tool holder. (¶0020 “In the position shown in Fig. 2, the control element 25 ensures that the gripper arms 19 , 20 are in their closed position. The open position of the jaw arm 20 is also indicated by a thinner line. This is achieved when the control element 25 is set back relative to the jaw arms 19, 20. The springs 23, 24 then press the jaw arms 19, 20 into their open position.”)
Claim 6
Keppler teaches the tool clamping mechanism as claimed in claim 1, including a chain seat (26), wherein the chain seat has a connecting portion (27) and a connected portion (28); the chain seat is connected to a connected portion of a neighboring chain seat through the connecting portion (Figure 1); the base is detachably engaged with the chain seat (¶0022 “The gripper part 17 can be separated from the base part 26 by loosening screws 29, 30 and pins 31, 32”.); the control rod has a head Figure 2 shows a head, or enlarged diameter portion of the control rod (25).) located on a side opposite to the coupling portion (Figure 2); the control rod passes through a through hole of the chain seat (Figure 2 or 3), and the coupling portion and the head are located on two sides of the chain seat. (Figure 2)
Claims 1, 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saadat (US20100096870A1).
Claim 1
Saadat teaches a tool clamping mechanism (Figure 1) of a machining apparatus (The clamp mechanism is capable of use with the claimed apparatus.), adapted to clamp a tool holder (The clamp mechanism is capable of use for the claimed intended use.), comprising: a base (1) having an axial hole (Figure 1 shows an opening within the base where the rod (3) passes.); a control rod (3) passing through the axial hole (Figure 1) and being movable between a first position and a second position along an axial line (¶0035 “piston” “drives the central section of the driveshaft”), wherein an end of the control rod has a coupling portion (End of rod (3) that connects to the block (4a).); two grip arms (10) pivotally connected to the base (¶0025 “swing”) and being capable of clamping and opening (¶0005 or ¶0019), wherein each of the two grip arms has a coupled portion (5); wherein when the control rod is located at the first position (Figure 1), the two grip arms clamp the tool holder; when the control rod is located at the second position, the coupling portion of the control rod is operatively coupled with the two coupled portions of the two grip arms to drive the two grip arms to pivot and open to release the tool holder. (¶0025 teaches the fingers can swing 180 degrees to render the space ahead of the gripper available for other purposes. This is an open position. Figure 1’s illustration of the transmission shows the forward movement, away from the first position, causes the opening of the fingers (10).)
Claim 2
Saadat teaches the tool clamping mechanism as claimed in claim 1, wherein the coupling portion of the control rod includes a connecting block (4a) and two rollers (Pins illustrated on each side of the block that connect to the couplers (5).¶0010 and 0011 teach the use of pins to interconnect components of the transmission system.); the connecting block is connected to the control rod (Figure 1); the two rollers are disposed on the connecting block and are spaced by a fixed distance (Figure 1); each of the two grip arms has a groove constituting the coupled portion (The opening in the coupler (5) of the two grip arms (10) is the claimed groove. The groove cooperates with a pin to allow rotation of the coupler in relation to the block (4a).; the two rollers are correspondingly located in the two grooves of the two grip arms. (Figure 1)
Claim 5
Saadat teaches the tool clamping mechanism as claimed in claim 2, wherein a threaded hole (Where the bolt connects the slider (4a) to the rod (3).) is axially provided on the control rod (Figure 1); the connecting block has a through hole (Figure 1); a bolt passes through the through hole of the connecting block to screw into the threaded hole (Figure 1); the bolt fixes the connecting block on the control rod (Figure 1); two lateral grooves are respectively provided on two sides of the through hole of the connecting block (Figure 1 shows two openings (grooves) located on respective sides of the through hole (Where the bolt is inserted) of the block (4a).); the two rollers are respectively located in the two lateral grooves and are correspondingly located in the two grooves of the two grip arms. (Figure 1 shows the grooves (openings/holes) of the block (4a) and the coupler (5) are aligned for the pin (roller) to pass through.)
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Asamoto (US3945676A).
Claim 1
Asamoto teaches a tool clamping mechanism (Figure 1) of a machining apparatus (The clamp mechanism is capable of use with the claimed apparatus.), adapted to clamp a tool holder (The clamp mechanism is capable of use for the claimed intended use.), comprising: a base (1) having an axial hole (Figure 3 shows an opening within the base where the rod (7) passes.); a control rod (7) passing through the axial hole (Figure 3) and being movable between a first position and a second position along an axial line (Col. 3, Lines 34-40), wherein an end of the control rod has a coupling portion (End of rod (7) that connects to the block.); two grip arms (2, 3) pivotally connected to the base (4a/4b) and being capable of clamping and opening (Col. 3, Lines 35-40), wherein each of the two grip arms has a coupled portion (6a/6b); wherein when the control rod is located at the first position, the two grip arms clamp the tool holder; when the control rod is located at the second position, the coupling portion of the control rod is operatively coupled with the two coupled portions of the two grip arms to drive the two grip arms to pivot and open to release the tool holder. (Col. 3, Lines 34-42)
Claim 7
Asamoto teaches the tool clamping mechanism as claimed in claim 1, wherein the base includes a fixing block (Block in between the rod (7) and the links (5a/5b) that is fixed to the rod.), a top clamping plate (1), and a bottom clamping plate (1); the fixing block has the axial hole (Where item 6c passes.); the top clamping plate and the bottom clamping plate are respectively fixed on two sides of the fixing block (Figure 2 shows the two plates (1) are fixed in position on two sides (top and bottom) of the block.); an operating space is formed between the top clamping plate and the bottom clamping plate (Figure 2); a part of each of the two grip arms having the coupled portion is located in the operating space (Figures 1 and 2); the two grip arms are pivotally connected to the base through two pivot shafts (4a/4b) passing through the top clamping plate and the bottom clamping plate. (Figure 2)
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rizzardi (EP3321031B1).
Claim 1
Rizzardi teaches a tool clamping mechanism (Figure 1) of a machining apparatus (¶0005), adapted to clamp a tool holder (PU1), comprising: a base (12) having an axial hole (Figure 1 shows a hole where the rod (13) passes.); a control rod (13) passing through the axial hole and being movable between a first position and a second position along an axial line (¶0014 “slide means 13 that can move with a straight-line alternating movement”), wherein an end of the control rod has a coupling portion (Figure 1 shows the rod (13) has a portion on each end that couples to another object.); two grip arms (14) pivotally connected to the base (14.7) and being capable of clamping and opening (¶0018), wherein each of the two grip arms has a coupled portion (14.4); wherein when the control rod is located at the first position, the two grip arms clamp the tool holder (The position in Figure 1); when the control rod is located at the second position, the coupling portion of the control rod is operatively coupled with the two coupled portions of the two grip arms to drive the two grip arms to pivot and open to release the tool holder. (¶0018 “It will be noted that when said slide means 13 of said gripper 11 are in said set-back position, near to said shaft A, they allow the mutual opening of said clamps 14 of the corresponding gripper 11 on said tool-holder PU1, PU2, and when said slide means 13 of said gripper 11 are in said advanced position, distal to said shaft A, they cause the mutual closure of said clamps 14 of the corresponding gripper 11 on a tool-holder PU1, PU2.”)
Claim 9
Rizzardi teaches tool clamping mechanism as claimed in claim 1, including a resilience member (16), wherein the resilience member provides a pushing force to the control rod so that the control rod keeps moving towards the first position. (¶0014 “elastic means 16 that elastically move said slide means 13 towards said advanced position and said clamps 14 to a mutually near position with gripper closed”.)
Claims 1 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wood (US438044A).
Claim 1
Wood teaches a tool clamping mechanism (Figure 2) of a machining apparatus (Figure 1), adapted to clamp a tool holder (Figure 2 shows the device is capable of performing the claimed intended use.), comprising: a base (21 and 30) having an axial hole (Item 21 has a bore where the rod (actuator, 36) passes.); a control rod (36) passing through the axial hole (Figure 2) and being movable between a first position and a second position along an axial line (Col. 3, Line 33 “coaxially movable”), wherein an end of the control rod has a coupling portion (35); two grip arms (32) pivotally connected (31) to the base (Col. 3, Lines 25-30) and being capable of clamping and opening (Col. 3, Lines 38-40), wherein each of the two grip arms has a coupled portion (34); wherein when the control rod is located at the first position, the two grip arms clamp the tool holder (Figure 2); when the control rod is located at the second position, the coupling portion of the control rod is operatively coupled with the two coupled portions of the two grip arms to drive the two grip arms to pivot and open to release the tool holder. (Col. 4, Lines 65-68)
Claim 9
Wood teaches the tool clamping mechanism as claimed in claim 1, including a resilience member (68), wherein the resilience member provides a pushing force to the control rod so that the control rod keeps moving towards the first position. (Col. 4, Lines 20-25)
Claim 10
Wood teaches the tool clamping mechanism as claimed in claim 9, wherein the control rod has a head (57) located on a side opposite to the coupling portion (Figure 2); the resilience member includes a spring (68); the spring fits around the control rod (Figure 2); an end of the spring abuts against the base (Figures 3-5 shows one end of the spring (68) abuts against the housing (21).) another end of the spring abuts against the head of the control rod. (Figure 3 shows another end of the spring abuts the head (57) on the rod (36).)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asamoto (US3945676A).
Claim 8
Asamoto teaches the tool clamping mechanism as claimed in claim 1, wherein an inner edge of one of the two grip arms has a first positioning block (301); an inner edge of the other grip arm has a second positioning block (201); the first positioning block has a first width; the second positioning block has a second width. (Figure 2 appears to show the blocks (301 and 201) have a different size.)
Asamoto does not explicitly disclose the first width is less than the second width.
However, at the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to size blocks of Asamoto with the claimed dimensions because applicant has not disclosed that having the claimed dimensions provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Asamoto’s blocks, and applicant’s invention, to perform equally well with either the dimension taught by Asamoto or the claimed dimension because both dimensions would perform the same function of providing a surface for gripping the object.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Asamoto to obtain the invention as specified in Claim 8 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Asamoto.
See also MPEP 2144.04, subsection IV. A. – change in size or proportion.
See also MPEP 2144.04, subsection IV. B. – change in shape.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found on the PTO-892 Notice of References Cited form.
Document
Date
Description of Relevant Subject Matter
US20200376618A1
2020-05-13
A tool clamping mechanism (30); a base (31) having an axial hole (3111); a control rod (37) passing through the axial hole (316); wherein an end of the control rod has a coupling portion (371); two grip arms (351) pivotally connected to the base (352); wherein each of the two grip arms has a coupled portion (353); wherein when the control rod is located at the first position, the two grip arms clamp the tool holder (Figure 39, ¶0073 “the main axle 80 does not further move upwards, and the tool bar 100 to which the main-axle tool 814 is mounted is gripped and held by the gripping element 35.”); when the control rod is located at the second position (Figure 43), the coupling portion of the control rod is operatively coupled (through mechanical linkage) with the two coupled portions of the two grip arms to drive the two grip arms to pivot and open to release the tool holder. (Figure 43 shows the tool holder is released.)
EP2551052B1
2012-3-01
A tool clamping mechanism (Figure 3); a base (Figure 3) having an axial hole (Where actuator (8) enters.); a control rod (8) passing through the axial hole (Figure 3); wherein an end of the control rod has a coupling portion (5); two grip arms (2) pivotally connected to the base (Figure 3); wherein each of the two grip arms has a coupled portion (3); wherein when the control rod is located at the first position, the two grip arms clamp the tool holder (Figure 4a-c); when the control rod is located at the second position (to the left in Figure 3), the coupling portion of the control rod is operatively coupled (through mechanical linkage) with the two coupled portions of the two grip arms to drive the two grip arms to pivot and open to release the tool holder. (Inherent functionality based on the structure of the cam (5).)
EP2803444B1
2014-03-28
A tool clamping mechanism (Figure 1); a base (11) having an axial hole (15); a control rod (134) passing through the axial hole (Figure 1); wherein an end of the control rod has a coupling portion (where it connects to item 133); two grip arms (13) pivotally connected to the base (Figure 1, Item 131); wherein each of the two grip arms has a coupled portion (where 133 connects); wherein when the control rod is located at the first position, the two grip arms clamp the tool holder (Figure 1); when the control rod is located at the second position (to the right in Figure 1, see ¶0024), the coupling portion of the control rod is operatively coupled (through mechanical linkage) with the two coupled portions of the two grip arms to drive the two grip arms to pivot and open to release the tool holder. (Inherent functionality based on the structure of the device as shown in Figure 1 and described in ¶0024.)
US20080223101A1
2008-03-13
A tool clamping mechanism (Figure 3); a base (5) having an axial hole (Figure 7 shows a hole where the rod (10) passes.); a control rod (10) passing through the axial hole (Figure 7); wherein an end of the control rod has a coupling portion (13); two grip arms (6) pivotally connected to the base (7); wherein each of the two grip arms has a coupled portion (14); wherein when the control rod is located at the first position, the two grip arms clamp the tool holder (Figure 4/5); when the control rod is located at the second position (Figures 6/7), the coupling portion of the control rod is operatively coupled (Figure 6/7) with the two coupled portions of the two grip arms to drive the two grip arms to pivot and open to release the tool holder. (Figures 4-7)
US3945676A
1974-09-13
A tool clamping mechanism (Figure 1); a base (1) having an axial hole (Figure 3 shows a hole where the rod (7) passes.); a control rod (7) passing through the axial hole (Figure 3); wherein an end of the control rod has a coupling portion (6c); two grip arms (2) pivotally connected to the base (4a/b); wherein each of the two grip arms has a coupled portion (6a/b); wherein when the control rod is located at the first position, the two grip arms clamp the tool holder (Figure 1); when the control rod is located at the second position (Figure 1), the coupling portion of the control rod is operatively coupled (Figure 2, 6c, 5a/b, 6a/b) with the two coupled portions of the two grip arms to drive the two grip arms to pivot and open to release the tool holder. (Figure 1)
EP3321031B1
2018-05-16
A tool clamping mechanism (Figure 1); a base (12) having an axial hole (Figure 3 shows a hole where the rod (13) passes.); a control rod (13) passing through the axial hole (Figure 3); wherein an end of the control rod has a coupling portion (14.6); two grip arms (14.3) pivotally connected to the base (14.7); wherein each of the two grip arms has a coupled portion (14.4); wherein when the control rod is located at the first position, the two grip arms clamp the tool holder (Figure 3, ¶0014); when the control rod is located at the second position (¶0014), the coupling portion of the control rod is operatively coupled with the two coupled portions of the two grip arms (Figure 3, Items 14.2, 14.4 and 14.6) to drive the two grip arms to pivot and open to release the tool holder. (¶0018)
US7604584B1
2008-06-08
A tool clamping mechanism (Figure 2); a base (31) having an axial hole (312); a control rod (32) passing through the axial hole (Figure 2); wherein an end of the control rod has a coupling portion (321); two grip arms (42) pivotally connected to the base (423); wherein each of the two grip arms has a coupled portion (423); wherein when the control rod is located at the first position, the two grip arms clamp the tool holder (Figure 5); when the control rod is located at the second position (Figure 4), the coupling portion of the control rod is operatively coupled with the two coupled portions of the two grip arms (Figure 4) to drive the two grip arms to pivot and open to release the tool holder. (Figure 4)
DE102008005094A1
2009-07-23
A tool clamping mechanism (Figure 2); a base (17) having an axial hole (Where the rod (25) passes.); a control rod (25) passing through the axial hole (Figure 2); wherein an end of the control rod has a coupling portion (where item 25 contacts the grip arms.); two grip arms (19, 20) pivotally connected to the base (21, 22); wherein each of the two grip arms has a coupled portion (where the arms (19, 20) contact the control rod (25)); wherein when the control rod is located at the first position, the two grip arms clamp the tool holder (Figure 2); when the control rod is located at the second position (upward in Figure 2), the coupling portion of the control rod is operatively coupled with the two coupled portions of the two grip arms (Figure 2 shows the inner surface of the arms (19, 20) contacts the rod (25) in both positions) to drive the two grip arms to pivot and open to release the tool holder. (“open position” indicated by thinner line in Figure 2)
Chain seat (26); connecting/connected portion (27); removable connection (29, 30 , 31, 32); head of control rod (Figure 2)
US20220152761A1
2021-11-19
Figure 3 teaches a plurality of tool clamping mechanisms (100) connected to one another along a chain.
US5277689A
1991-10-07
A tool clamping mechanism (Figure 1); a base (18, 33, 34) having an axial hole (Where the rod (47) passes.); a control rod (47) passing through the axial hole (Figure 2); wherein an end of the control rod has a coupling portion (where item 47 contacts the grip arms.); two grip arms (14, 15) pivotally connected to the base (16, 17); wherein each of the two grip arms has a coupled portion (where the arms (14, 15) contact the control rod (47)); wherein when the control rod is located at the first position, the two grip arms clamp the tool holder (Figure 3); when the control rod is located at the second position (Figure 4), the coupling portion of the control rod is operatively coupled with the two coupled portions of the two grip arms (Figure 3-4 shows the inner surface of the arms (14, 15) contacts the rod (47) in both positions) to drive the two grip arms to pivot and open to release the tool holder. (Figure 4)
/MICHAEL W HOTCHKISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726