Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's amendment and remarks filed 8/25/2026 in reply to the Non-Final Office Action mailed May 6, 2026. Claims 1, 2, 11, 12, 17, 19, and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and are examined in this Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 101
In view of Applicant's amendments and remarks, the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejections set forth below have been updated to address the amended claim language, including the added "determine whether a checkout transaction is on-going" and "previously determined to be present in the bagging area" limitations, and the citations to the references have been refined accordingly.
(a) Goncalves. Applicant argues that the warning of Goncalves relates to a failure to register or a misregistration of an item, that Goncalves is not concerned with detecting that the person is at the point-of-sale terminal, and that "registered merchandise removals from 'the bagging area' are not tracked at all in Goncalves."
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, the rejection does not rely on Goncalves alone for the determination that the person is at the point-of-sale terminal or for the removal-triggered warning; those limitations are taught by Morrison and Addy, respectively, as set forth in the rejection. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 426 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 1097 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Goncalves is relied upon for its bagging-area sensors (a scale and cameras trained on the bagging area), its transaction processor that conducts the on-going transaction, and its customer-facing touch screen display 130 through which the system prompts the customer at the terminal during the transaction (Goncalves col. 2, ll. 52-67; col. 4, ll. 23-53; col. 5, l. 66 - col. 6, l. 5; col. 6, ll. 60-67). Second, contrary to Applicant's assertion, Goncalves does track removals of items from the bagging area: its optical flow module "may be configured to detect motion out of the bag" and capture images "corresponding to the removal of an item from the bag" to confirm which item was removed (Goncalves col. 6, ll. 43-48; see also Goncalves claim 9). Accordingly, the argument is not persuasive.
(b) Morrison. Applicant argues that the primary concern of Morrison is "walk-away control," such that the Morrison notification is triggered when the customer leaves the terminal rather than when the customer stays at the terminal and the merchandise leaves.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Morrison is relied upon for teaching a processor that determines, based on sensor output, whether the person is at the point-of-sale terminal during the on-going checkout transaction (and, for claims 2, 12, and 20, for summoning personnel when the person is not at the terminal). Morrison's movement detection floor mat 22 monitors "the customer's movement both within and into and out of the checkout area 44" during the retail checkout transaction (Morrison col. 8, ll. 17-33), the processing unit determines "if the customer stays within the checkout area 44" (Morrison col. 6, ll. 44-58), and when the mat "detects presence of the customer" returning to the terminal the transaction is allowed to continue (Morrison col. 8, ll. 45-53). Morrison thus determines both that the customer is present and that the customer is absent during the on-going transaction, and the former determination is the condition recited in the independent claims. That Morrison's described alarm is keyed to absence does not diminish what Morrison teaches about presence detection; a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807 (Fed. Cir. 1989); MPEP 2123. Moreover, Morrison's terminal itself monitors "the ingress and egress of items into and out of the bagwell 38" with its bagwell scale 20 during the same transaction (Morrison col. 4, l. 67 - col. 5, l. 4).
(c) Addy. Applicant argues that the removal control signal of Addy occurs in the distinct context of confirming that a misregistered product has been removed for re-scanning, that Addy is not concerned with whether the person is still at the terminal, and that the warning output to the customer in Addy "occurs before the generation of this removal 'control signal.'"
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims do not recite any particular reason for the removal of the item, and do not require that the removed item have been "correctly" registered; the claims require only that a warning be output to the person at the terminal when the person is determined to be at the terminal during the on-going checkout transaction and the item of merchandise is no longer present in the bagging area after having previously been determined to be present there. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 1184 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Addy teaches exactly this sequence. Addy's video system detects the customer placing an item into a grocery bag in the bagwell and the bag scale 24 determines the weight of the item placed in the bag (Addy steps 68, 70, and 78; col. 6, l. 65 - col. 7, l. 3; col. 8, ll. 9-28), i.e., the item is determined to be present in the bagging area. Addy then detects the removal of an item from the grocery bag (step 88; col. 8, ll. 57-63) and compares the weight of the item removed with the weight of the item previously placed in the bag (step 98; col. 9, ll. 28-37). After that removal determination, and not before it, Addy displays a message on the display monitor 18 instructing the customer that "the wrong item was removed from the grocery bag" (steps 102 and 106; col. 10, ll. 21-25 and 52-56). Applicant's characterization applies only to the initial instruction of step 82, which is not the warning relied upon. All of these steps occur during the itemization step 56, before the finalization step 58 in which payment is tendered (Addy col. 6, ll. 1-21; col. 7, l. 56 - col. 8, l. 4), and the messages are displayed on the terminal's display monitor 18 to the customer who is operating the terminal. More generally, Addy's bag scale "monitors the weight of items which are placed into and taken out of the grocery bags" (Addy col. 3, l. 66 - col. 4, l. 4), and motion in the bagwell target area "is indicative of an item being placed into or removed from one of the grocery bags" (Addy col. 3, ll. 30-39). The person-presence condition is supplied by Morrison, as set forth above.
(d) Motivation to combine and hindsight. Applicant argues that each reference addresses a different problem (Goncalves and Addy, mis-registrations; Morrison, walk-aways), that significant modifications beyond a simple combination would be required, and that absent improper hindsight there would be no motivation to combine the references because no problem identified in the references would be addressed.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. All three references are directed to the same field, security at self-service checkout terminals, and to the same overarching problem: in the absence of a clerk, the self-service terminal itself must supervise the customer and provide security against theft (Goncalves col. 1, ll. 34-43; Morrison col. 1, ll. 43-58; Addy col. 1, ll. 49-67). "[A]ny need or problem known in the field of endeavor at the time of invention and addressed by the patent can provide a reason for combining the elements in the manner claimed." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 420 (2007). It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by Applicant. In re Kemps, 97 F.3d 1427, 1430 (Fed. Cir. 1996); In re Linter, 458 F.2d 1013, 1016 (CCPA 1972); MPEP 2144(IV). Here, the references themselves supply the reasoning: Addy teaches warning the customer at the terminal when an item previously placed in the bag is improperly removed (Addy col. 9, l. 28 - col. 10, l. 56), and Morrison teaches that the terminal should determine, by a sensor, whether the customer remains at the terminal during the transaction because the appropriate response differs depending on whether the customer is present (Morrison col. 1, ll. 48-58; col. 8, ll. 17-53). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a customer-facing warning of the type taught by Goncalves and Addy is useful when the customer is at the terminal to receive it, whereas summoning personnel, as Morrison teaches, is appropriate when the customer has left. Conditioning the warning on the presence determination is therefore the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions. KSR, 550 U.S. at 417.
With respect to hindsight, "[a]ny judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning," but such a reconstruction is proper so long as it takes into account only knowledge within the level of ordinary skill at the time of the claimed invention and does not include knowledge gleaned only from Applicant's disclosure. In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 1395 (CCPA 1971). The rationale above relies only on the teachings of the references. With respect to the alleged "significant modifications," the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference, but what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. In re Keller, 642 F.2d at 425; In re Sneed, 710 F.2d 1544, 1550 (Fed. Cir. 1983). Each of Morrison and Addy describes a self-service checkout terminal having a processing unit coupled to a bag scale, a display monitor, and a network (Morrison col. 4, l. 56 - col. 5, l. 4; col. 6, ll. 15-19; col. 7, ll. 27-31; Addy col. 3, l. 66 - col. 4, l. 4; col. 4, ll. 22-26 and 45-48), and Goncalves' self-checkout station likewise includes a bagging-area scale, cameras, a touch screen display, and a transaction processor (Goncalves col. 2, ll. 52-67; col. 3, ll. 19-29). Adding a presence sensor and the associated processor logic to such a terminal is within the ordinary skill in the art.
(e) Claim 18 and Official Notice. Applicant traverses the Official Notice taken in the rejection of claim 18 that it is old and well known to use pop-up windows to draw the user's attention to something important, such as an alert or warning, and notes that the cited references do not use pop-up windows.
In response to Applicant's traversal, and in accordance with MPEP 2144.03(C), the Examiner no longer relies on Official Notice and instead provides documentary evidence. United States Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0112825 A1 to Konishi et al. ("Konishi") discloses a self-checkout terminal in which, during the merchandise sales data registration processing, a monitoring screen is "superimposed on a registration screen 40" and "displayed in a pop-up form" so that the customer has a sense of being monitored and dishonest acts are minimized (Konishi ¶¶ [0053]-[0054]). Konishi is cited as evidence directly corresponding to the previously noticed fact, applied in the same self-checkout loss-prevention context as the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.03(D).
Claim Objections
Claims 11, 12, 19, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11 recites "determined whether a checkout transaction is on-going." The Examiner suggests "determine whether a checkout transaction is on-going."
Claims 12 and 20 recite "during the on-going checkout transaction at the point-of-sale." The Examiner suggests "at the point-of-sale terminal."
Claim 19 recites "during the on-going transaction" in the final step. For consistency with the antecedent "an on-going checkout transaction," the Examiner suggests "during the on-going checkout transaction."
Claim 20 recites "the item merchandise." The Examiner suggests "the item of merchandise." Claim 20 also lacks a terminal period.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites "further comprising: a communication interface configured to communicate with an external device" and "via the communication interface." Claim 1 already recites "a communication interface." It is unclear whether claim 2 introduces a second communication interface or refers to the communication interface of claim 1, and therefore which element "the communication interface" refers to. For purposes of examination, claim 2 is interpreted as further limiting the communication interface of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 10-14, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent No. 8,196,822 B2 to Goncalves ("Goncalves"), in view of United States Patent No. 7,416,117 B1 to Morrison ("Morrison"), and further in view of United States Patent No. 5,965,861 to Addy et al. ("Addy").
In regards to claims 1, 11, and 19, Goncalves discloses the following limitations:
A monitoring device, comprising: a data storage unit; (see at least Goncalves FIG. 3 and col. 3, ll. 19-29, disclosing the UPC database 312 and the database 334 of image data; col. 3, ll. 32-34, the UPC database includes "the weight of the item in pounds")
a communication interface; (see at least Goncalves col. 4, ll. 5-7, disclosing that the checkout system is configured by a system administrator 360 "at the store or remotely located via a network connection")
and a processor configured to: receive sensor output from at least one sensor associated with a point-of-sale terminal; (see at least Goncalves FIG. 3 and col. 3, ll. 19-29, disclosing the feature extractor 332 coupled to the cameras, the image processor 330, the weight processor 340 coupled to the scale 180, and the transaction processor 350; col. 2, ll. 52-61, video cameras "trained on the counter and the bagging area")
determine whether a checkout transaction is on-going at the point-of-sale terminal; (see at least Goncalves col. 4, ll. 23-33, the transaction processor implements the sales transaction and "decides whether to intervene in a transaction"; col. 6, ll. 11-13, after an item is added to the checkout list the customer is requested to scan another item or conclude the transaction with payment (block 516); col. 7, ll. 6-7, "the transaction proceeds with the customer scanning 718 the next item." The transaction processor thus determines whether the transaction is continuing with further items or is being concluded with payment.)
determine, based on the received sensor output, whether an item of merchandise is present in a bagging at the point-of-sale terminal during an on-going checkout transaction; (see at least Goncalves col. 3, ll. 1-3, the scale is incorporated into the bag rack 170 to "measure the cumulative weight of items as they are placed into the shopping bag 190"; col. 3, ll. 8-12, camera 162 looks into the shopping bag 190 to view items as they are placed into the bag; col. 4, ll. 34-53, after the UPC scan the item is transferred to the bag area where its weight is determined and images are captured; col. 6, ll. 49-56, FIG. 7, the item is transferred to the bagging area with an integral scale and weighed 704)
and cause an output device to output a warning … wherein the warning is output to the person at the point-of-sale terminal. (see at least Goncalves col. 2, ll. 65-67, touch screen display device 130 of the checkout station; col. 4, ll. 23-30, the transaction processor communicates via the customer interface 130 and intervenes in the transaction; col. 4, ll. 34-53, "the system can prompt the customer to scan/re-scan the UPC"; col. 5, l. 66 - col. 6, l. 5, asking the customer to remove the item from the bag and rescan; col. 6, ll. 60-67, the processor "prompts the user to remove the item from the bagging area/conveyor and rescan it." The touch screen display 130 is the output device, and the prompts are warnings output to the customer at the self-checkout station.)
Goncalves discloses an optical flow module that detects motion out of the bag and captures images corresponding to the removal of an item from the bag (Goncalves col. 6, ll. 43-48; Goncalves claim 9), but Goncalves does not appear to disclose the following limitations:
determine, based on the received sensor output, whether there is a person at the point-of-sale terminal during the on-going checkout transaction;
and cause an output device to output a warning when it is determined, based on the received sensor output, that the person is at the point-of-sale terminal during the on-going checkout transaction but the item of merchandise is no longer present in the bagging area after the item of merchandise was previously determined to be present in the bagging area during the on-going checkout transaction
The Examiner provides Morrison to teach the following limitations:
determine, based on the received sensor output, whether there is a person at the point-of-sale terminal during the on-going checkout transaction; (see at least Morrison col. 5, ll. 5-22, movement detection floor mat 22 is provided to track movement of a customer within the checkout area 44 around the self-service checkout terminal 10; col. 6, ll. 44-58, the processing unit 26 receives the floor mat output signals and determines "if the customer stays within the checkout area 44"; col. 8, ll. 17-33, during the retail checkout transaction the floor mat monitors the customer's movement within, into, and out of the checkout area 44; col. 8, ll. 45-53, when the floor mat "detects presence of the customer," the customer is allowed to continue the retail checkout transaction; see also Morrison claim 1. Morrison further determines whether the transaction is on-going by whether the payment-tendered control signal that ends the transaction has been generated (Morrison col. 7, l. 63 - col. 8, l. 16).)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the self-checkout system of Goncalves the sensor-based determination of whether the customer is at the terminal during the on-going transaction as taught by Morrison, in order for the terminal itself to know whether the customer remains at the terminal while the transaction is on-going, thereby providing the supervision and security that a self-service terminal must provide in the absence of a clerk (see Morrison col. 1, ll. 43-58), and since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
The Examiner provides Addy to teach the following limitations:
and cause an output device to output a warning when it is determined, based on the received sensor output, that … the item of merchandise is no longer present in the bagging area after the item of merchandise was previously determined to be present in the bagging area during the on-going checkout transaction, wherein the warning is output to the person at the point-of-sale terminal. (see at least Addy col. 3, ll. 30-39, a video target area proximate the bagwell, where motion "is indicative of an item being placed into or removed from one of the grocery bags"; col. 3, l. 66 - col. 4, l. 4, the bag scale 24 "monitors the weight of items which are placed into and taken out of the grocery bags"; col. 6, l. 65 - col. 7, l. 3 and col. 8, ll. 9-28, steps 68, 70, and 78, the video system detects the customer placing the item into a grocery bag and the bag scale 24 determines the weight of the item placed in the bag; col. 8, ll. 57-63, step 88, the video system detects the customer removing the item from the grocery bag; col. 9, ll. 28-37, step 98, the weight of the item removed is compared with the weight of the item previously placed in the bag; col. 10, ll. 21-25 and 52-56, steps 106 and 102, the processing unit causes a message to be displayed on the display monitor 18 which instructs the customer that the wrong item was removed from the grocery bag; col. 6, ll. 1-21 and col. 7, l. 56 - col. 8, l. 4, these steps occur during the itemization step 56, before the finalization step 58 in which payment is tendered; see also Addy claim 5.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the self-checkout system of Goncalves, as modified by Morrison, the bagging-area removal detection and customer-directed removal warning of Addy, and to output that warning when Morrison's sensor determines that the customer is at the terminal, in order to provide security against items being improperly removed from the bagging area during the checkout transaction (see Addy col. 1, ll. 49-67) and to direct the warning to the customer while the customer is present at the terminal to receive and act on it, while reserving personnel summoning for when the customer is not at the terminal (see Morrison col. 8, ll. 17-33), and since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
In regards to claim 11, claim 11 recites a point-of-sale terminal with a processor that performs functions corresponding to those of claim 1, and is rejected for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 1. In regards to the additional elements of claim 11, Goncalves further discloses the following limitations:
A point-of-sale terminal, comprising: a bagging area; a bagging area sensor; (see at least Goncalves col. 2, ll. 52-61, self-checkout stations 100, 200 including a scale 180 and a bagging area 150; col. 3, ll. 1-12, scale incorporated into the bag rack 170 and camera 162 looking into the shopping bag 190)
a data storage unit for storing a reference output of the bagging area sensor (see at least Goncalves col. 3, ll. 19-34, the UPC database including the known weight of each item and the database 334 of image data; col. 4, ll. 13-19, the measured weight is compared to "the known weight of the object retrieved from the UPC database")
an output device for providing information to a user at the point-of-sale terminal; a communication interface for connecting to a monitoring terminal; (see at least Goncalves col. 2, ll. 65-67 and col. 4, ll. 23-30, touch screen display device 130 / customer interface 130; col. 4, ll. 5-7, network connection; col. 4, ll. 23-30, alerting a cashier of a potential problem)
and a processor configured to: receive sensor output from the bagging area sensor …; determined whether a checkout transaction is on-going; (see at least Goncalves FIG. 3 and col. 3, ll. 19-29; col. 4, ll. 23-33; col. 6, ll. 11-13; col. 7, ll. 6-7, as set forth above with respect to claim 1)
Goncalves does not appear to disclose the following limitations of claim 11:
an operation area sensor;
a data storage unit for storing … a reference output of the operation area sensor;
The Examiner provides Morrison to teach the following limitations:
an operation area sensor; (see at least Morrison col. 5, ll. 5-22, movement detection floor mat 22 covering the checkout area 44 in which the customer moves about during operation of the terminal; col. 5, ll. 31-33, the floor mat responds to changes in pressure by generating an electrical output signal; col. 5, ll. 42-46, detection zones 22a-22l; col. 6, ll. 44-58, output signals on data communication line 46 to processing unit 26)
The Examiner provides Addy to teach the following limitations:
a data storage unit for storing … a reference output of the operation area sensor; (see at least Addy col. 3, ll. 14-22, digital images from the video camera 16a are stored within a memory 16d for subsequent processing by the video processor 17; col. 3, ll. 23-39, the video system detects motion associated with target areas at the scanner and the bagwell; col. 2, ll. 3-8, monitoring the movement of the user's hand with respect to the components of the terminal; see also Addy claim 1, storing electronic representations of the video images in a memory device and analyzing the stored representations.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to store in the data storage unit of Goncalves, as modified by Morrison, a reference output for the operation area sensor as taught by Addy, so that the processor can evaluate the operation area sensor output against stored data in the same manner that Goncalves already evaluates bagging-area sensor output against stored reference weights and image features, and since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
In regards to claim 19, claim 19 recites a method comprising steps that correspond to the functions of the processor of claim 1, and is rejected for the same reasons and over the same citations set forth above with respect to claim 1.
In regards to claims 2, 12, and 20, the combination of Goncalves, Morrison, and Addy discloses the limitations of claims 1, 11, and 19 as set forth above, and Goncalves further discloses a network connection (Goncalves col. 4, ll. 5-7) and alerting an attendant/cashier (Goncalves col. 4, ll. 34-53). Goncalves and Addy do not appear to disclose the following limitations:
cause an alarm notification to be output via the communication interface to the external device when it is determined, based on the received sensor output, that the person is not at the point-of-sale terminal during the on-going checkout transaction and the item of merchandise is no longer present in the bagging area after previously being determined to be present in the bagging area during the on-going checkout transaction.
The Examiner provides Morrison to teach the following limitations:
cause an alarm notification to be output via the communication interface to the external device when it is determined, based on the received sensor output, that the person is not at the point-of-sale terminal during the on-going checkout transaction and the item of merchandise is no longer present in the bagging area after previously being determined to be present in the bagging area during the on-going checkout transaction. (see at least Morrison col. 8, ll. 17-33, if the customer exits the checkout area 44 prior to tendering payment, the processing unit 26 generates a personnel-request control signal and operates a summoning device such as a paging system to summon retail personnel; col. 9, ll. 11-19, alerting retail personnel that the customer may be exiting the store "with items which have not been paid for"; col. 4, l. 67 - col. 5, l. 4, the bagwell scale 20 monitors the ingress and egress of items into and out of the bagwell 38; col. 7, ll. 27-31, network interface circuitry for communicating with the retailer's network 25; see also Morrison claims 1 and 3, summoning device comprising a paging system coupled to the terminal. See also Addy col. 4, ll. 45-48 and col. 5, ll. 47-59, the processing unit communicates with the network 28 to page or otherwise alert the retailer's personnel. Claim 12's "monitoring terminal" and claim 20's "monitoring terminal" read on the paging system / personnel alerting device.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the system of Goncalves and Addy the teachings of Morrison in order to summon personnel via the paging system when the customer has left the terminal before payment while merchandise is unaccounted for, which Morrison identifies as a security risk (see Morrison col. 8, ll. 17-33; col. 9, ll. 11-19), and since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
In regards to claim 3, Goncalves discloses the following limitations:
wherein the data storage unit stores a reference output for the at least one sensor, and the processor determines whether merchandise is present in the bagging area by comparing the received sensor output to the stored reference output. (see at least Goncalves col. 3, ll. 19-34, UPC database with item weight and database 334 of image data; col. 4, ll. 13-19, the measured weight is compared to the known weight retrieved from the UPC database; col. 6, ll. 49-56, FIG. 7, known weight compared to measured weight of the item in the bagging area. See also Addy col. 9, ll. 28-37, comparing the bag scale output upon removal with the stored weight of the item placed in the bag.)
In regards to claim 5, Goncalves discloses the following limitations:
wherein the at least one sensor associated with the point-of-sale terminal includes a camera in the point-of-sale terminal. (see at least Goncalves col. 3, ll. 8-14 and FIGS. 1-2, cameras 160-162 of the self-checkout station)
In regards to claim 6, Goncalves discloses the following limitations:
wherein the at least one sensor associated with the point-of-sale terminal includes a scale integrated with the point-of-sale terminal. (see at least Goncalves col. 2, ll. 52-61, scale 180 of self-checkout stations 100, 200; col. 3, ll. 1-3, the weight scale is incorporated into the bag rack 170)
In regards to claim 10, Goncalves discloses the following limitations:
wherein the output device is a display screen of the point-of-sale terminal. (see at least Goncalves col. 2, ll. 65-67, touch screen display device 130 of the checkout station; col. 4, ll. 23-30, customer interface 130 displays purchase information on the touch screen)
In regards to claim 13, Goncalves discloses the following limitations:
wherein the processor determines whether merchandise is present in the bagging area by comparing the received sensor output from the bagging area sensor to the stored reference output for the bagging area sensor, (see at least Goncalves col. 3, ll. 19-34; col. 4, ll. 13-19; col. 6, ll. 49-56, as set forth above with respect to claim 3)
Goncalves does not appear to disclose the following limitations:
and the processor determines whether the person is at the point-of-sale terminal by comparing the received sensor output from the operation area sensor to the stored reference output for the operation area sensor.
The Examiner provides Morrison and Addy to teach the following limitations:
and the processor determines whether the person is at the point-of-sale terminal by comparing the received sensor output from the operation area sensor to the stored reference output for the operation area sensor. (see at least Morrison col. 6, ll. 44-58 and col. 8, ll. 45-53, the processing unit 26 determines from the floor mat output signals whether the customer is within the checkout area 44; Addy col. 3, ll. 14-39, video images are stored in memory 16d and analyzed to detect motion of the customer in target areas at the terminal; Addy claim 1, analyzing stored electronic representations of the video images. See also Goncalves col. 5, ll. 34-40, image subtraction or image correlation against a static background.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine presence in Goncalves, as modified by Morrison, by comparing the operation area sensor output against stored reference data as taught by Addy and Goncalves, because comparing current sensor output against stored data is the technique Goncalves and Addy already use to interpret their sensor outputs, and since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
In regards to claim 14, Goncalves discloses the following limitations:
wherein the bagging area sensor is a first camera, and the operation area sensor is a second camera. (see at least Goncalves col. 2, ll. 52-61, video cameras "trained on the counter and the bagging area"; col. 3, ll. 8-14, camera 162 looks into the shopping bag 190 and camera 160 is trained to capture images of items on the belt 140. See also Addy col. 3, ll. 23-39, a video camera detecting the customer's motion in target areas at the scanner and the bagwell.)
In regards to claim 17, Goncalves discloses the following limitations:
a barcode scanner to read a barcode from the item of merchandise to register the item in the on-going checkout transaction at the point-of-sale terminal. (see at least Goncalves col. 2, ll. 52-61, UPC scanner 120; col. 4, ll. 34-53, the customer scans the item, and if all data is consistent the item is added to the checkout list)
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goncalves, in view of Morrison, in view of Addy, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0112825 A1 to Konishi et al. ("Konishi").
In regards to claim 18, Goncalves discloses the following limitations:
wherein the output device is a display screen, and the warning is displayed on the display screen (see at least Goncalves col. 2, ll. 65-67, touch screen display device 130; col. 4, ll. 23-30, the customer interface 130 displays purchase information on the touch screen, i.e., the transaction display on which items are registered; col. 6, ll. 40-43, the transaction processor transmits 610 the name and price of the product to the touch screen display)
Goncalves, Morrison, and Addy do not appear to disclose the following limitations:
as a popup window over a registration screen being displayed on the display screen.
The Examiner provides Konishi to teach the following limitations:
as a popup window over a registration screen being displayed on the display screen. (see at least Konishi ¶ [0053], during the merchandise sales data registration processing, a monitoring screen 50 is "superimposed on a registration screen 40" and "displayed in a pop-up form"; ¶ [0054], the displayed screen gives the customer a sense of being monitored so that dishonest acts are minimized)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to display the customer warning of Goncalves, Morrison, and Addy as a pop-up window over the registration screen as taught by Konishi, in order to present loss-prevention information to the customer prominently while the customer remains in the registration process (see Konishi ¶¶ [0053]-[0054]), and since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claims 4, 7, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goncalves, in view of Morrison, in view of Addy, and further in view of United States Patent No. 9,564,031 B2 to Migdal et al. ("Migdal").
In regards to claim 4, the combination of Goncalves, Morrison, and Addy does not appear to specifically disclose the following limitations:
wherein the data storage unit stores a reference output for the at least one sensor, and the processor determines whether the person is at the point-of-sale terminal by comparing the received sensor output to the stored reference output.
The Examiner provides Migdal to teach the following limitations:
wherein the data storage unit stores a reference output for the at least one sensor, and the processor determines whether the person is at the point-of-sale terminal by comparing the received sensor output to the stored reference output. (see at least Migdal col. 3, ll. 17-35, video data from an elevated camera focused on the checkout transaction area is analyzed to detect item activity and operator activity in the transaction area, including detecting removal of an item from, or introduction of an item into, a region of interest; col. 9, ll. 21-32, FIG. 3, highlights are applied by differencing a snapshot taken at scanning time with a snapshot taken at bagging time, i.e., comparing a captured image with a stored reference image. See also Goncalves col. 5, ll. 34-40, image subtraction or image correlation against a static background.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the system as taught by Goncalves, Morrison, and Addy the teachings of Migdal since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
In regards to claim 7, Goncalves discloses the following limitations:
wherein the at least one sensor includes a bagging area camera in the point-of-sale terminal and an operation area camera in the point-of-sale terminal, the bagging area camera is positioned to image the bagging area, and the operation area camera is positioned to image an operation area in front of the point-of-sale terminal. (see at least Goncalves col. 2, ll. 52-61, video cameras "trained on the counter and the bagging area"; col. 3, ll. 8-14 and FIGS. 1-2, camera 162 looks into the shopping bag 190 in the bagging area and camera 160 is trained on the belt 140 at the counter where the customer handles the items)
In regards to claim 8, Goncalves does not appear to specifically disclose the following limitations:
wherein the at least one sensor includes a camera separate from the point-of-sale terminal and positioned to image the bagging area and an operation area in front of the point-of-sale terminal.
The Examiner provides Migdal to teach the following limitations:
wherein the at least one sensor includes a camera separate from the point-of-sale terminal and positioned to image the bagging area and an operation area in front of the point-of-sale terminal. (see at least Migdal col. 9, ll. 47-56 and FIG. 5, video camera 507, separate from the self-checkout terminal 508 and communicating with the computer processing unit 509, monitors the transaction area 501, 504, including the cart 502 and the customer 503, with the bagging area 505 at the terminal; col. 6, ll. 39-43, the transaction area may include surrounding areas of the self-checkout terminal; col. 9, ll. 21-32, the video feed shows the bagging area at bagging time; col. 3, ll. 17-35, an elevated camera focused on the checkout transaction area)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the system and method as taught by Goncalves, Morrison, and Addy the separate camera of Migdal since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
In regards to claim 9, Goncalves does not appear to specifically disclose the following limitations:
wherein the processor is further configured to extract a bagging area image and an operation area image from an image received from the camera.
The Examiner provides Migdal to teach the following limitations:
wherein the processor is further configured to extract a bagging area image and an operation area image from an image received from the camera. (see at least Migdal col. 7, ll. 38-53, modifying the video feed by cropping or masking the imagery to focus attention on the pertinent areas of the scene, and highlighting specific image regions designated for specific activity, e.g., input area and output area)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the system and method as taught by Goncalves, Morrison, and Addy the region extraction of Migdal since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goncalves, in view of Morrison, in view of Addy, and further in view of WIPO Publication No. WO 2003/049057 A1 to Greyling et al. ("Greyling").
In regards to claims 15 and 16, the combination of Goncalves, Morrison, and Addy discloses that the bagging area sensor can be a scale or a camera (see at least Goncalves col. 2, ll. 52-61; col. 3, ll. 1-14) and that the operation area sensor can be a pressure-sensitive floor mat (see at least Morrison col. 5, ll. 5-33) or a camera (see at least Addy col. 3, ll. 23-39), but does not appear to specifically disclose the following limitations:
wherein the bagging area sensor is a scale, and the operation area sensor is an infrared sensor.
wherein the bagging area sensor is one of a camera, a scale, and a distance sensor, and the operation area sensor is one of a camera, an infrared sensor, and an ultrasonic sensor.
The Examiner provides Greyling to teach the following limitations:
the operation area sensor is an infrared sensor; the operation area sensor is one of a camera, an infrared sensor, and an ultrasonic sensor. (see at least Greyling claims 18-19, a point of sale surveillance system in which the sensor is a motion detector whose activation zone is the position of the customer at the point of sale, and the motion detector is any one of an infrared sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, or a real time image processing sensor)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the system as taught by Goncalves, Morrison, and Addy the teachings of Greyling since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH M MUTSCHLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3627
/A. Hunter Wilder/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627