DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17/796,551, filed on 07/29/2022.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the Applicant’s cutter is intentionally positioned inwardly from the edge of the pedestal so that the cutter can interact with the discharged composition) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Further delineation is required in the body of the claims adequate delineated the claimed invention from the prior art of record.
Further Applicant argues that the cutters of Engles are not formed at the edge as now required by the claims but instead at a rim. However, a rim is an edge as Merriam Webster defines a rim being an upper or outer edge of an object, typically something circular or approximately circular. Further, the inner region of the pedestal has not been defined and Engles clearly shows cutters within an inner region of the pedestal as depicted in Fig. 8 with the cutter disposed in an inner section of the pedestal away from the exterior of the device. Further delineation is required in the body of the claims adequate delineated the claimed invention from the prior art of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 10-12, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Petrus Engels (US 2005/0087545 A1 herein after Engels).
Re: Claim 1, Engel discloses the claimed invention including dispenser comprising:
a housing (6) (Fig. 1);
a plurality of cartridges (4) disposed inside the housing (Figs. 2 and 12);
a mounting body (2) to which the plurality of cartridges are mounted to be replaceable (Figs. 7 and 10);
a main motor that is configured to rotate the mounting body (Para. 49, motor for rotating);
an elevating body (19) that is configured to move up and down so that a composition is discharged from any one of the plurality of cartridges (Fig. 2, Para. 46, elevating body); and
at least one pedestal (45, 47) configured to receive the composition discharged from the cartridge of the plurality of cartridges (Depicted in Figs. 8-9),
at least one cutter (46, 48) protruding upward from an inner region of an edge of the at least one pedestal (Depicted in Figs. 8-9),
Re: Claim 2, Engel discloses the claimed invention including the at least one cutter is inclined toward a direction of rotation of the cartridge or a direction opposite to the direction of rotation of the cartridge (Fig. 8-9 depicts inclined cutters).
Re: Claim 3, Engel discloses the claimed invention including the at least one cutter includes a plurality of the cutters (46, 48), each of the plurality of cutters being inclined at an angle that is the same or different (Depicted in Figs. 8-9).
Re: Claim 4, Engel discloses the claimed invention including an upper end of the cutter is formed at the same height or lower than an outlet of the cartridge (Depicted in Figs. 8-9 lower).
Re: Claim 5, Engel discloses the claimed invention including the at least one cutter includes a plurality of cutters disposed at different heights (Depicted in Figs. 8-9, cutters of different heights).
Re: Claim 6, Engel discloses the claimed invention including wherein each of the plurality of cartridges includes:
a container in which the composition is configured to be accommodated and
an actuator (20) configured to discharge the composition accommodated in the container, the actuator including a discharge body having an outlet through which the composition accommodated in the container is configured to move to an outside and an operating body (21) configured to open the outlet according to a pressure (Para. 47, actuator and discharge body with operating body for opening an outlet).
Re: Claim 8, Engel discloses the claimed invention including the mounting body includes a plurality of mounting holes (26, 28, 30) in which lower portions of each of the plurality of cartridges are accommodated (Depicted in Figs. 3-4).
Re: Claim 10, Engel discloses the claimed invention including the mounting body includes a plurality of fixing members (15) configured to fix each of the plurality of cartridges, and wherein an upper portion (at 31) of each of the plurality of cartridges is fixed by the plurality of fixing members (Fig. 4).
Re: Claim 11, Engel discloses the claimed invention including an accommodating body (49) in which a basket (12) in which the composition discharged from the plurality of cartridges is configured to be accommodated (Fig. 2, 7), wherein the accommodating body is detachable from the housing (Para. 66, can be removed).
Re: Claim 12, Engel discloses the claimed invention including the accommodating body includes a plate (12) on which the basket is seated (Fig. 2), and the plate including a connection member that is in contact with a weight sensor when the accommodating body is disposed in the housing is formed on the plate (Para. 57-58, plate has a weight sensor).
Re: Claim 15, Engel discloses the claimed invention including wherein the at least one pedestal includes a plurality of pedestals (45, 47) configured to receive the composition discharged from the plurality of cartridges and disposed under the plurality of cartridges (Figs. 8-9, Para. 66, plurality of pedestals).
Re: Claim 16, Engel discloses the claimed invention including the at least one cutter (46, 48) protruding upward is formed on at least one of the plurality of pedestals (Figs. 8-9, Para. 66, plurality of cutters).
Re: Claim 17, Engel discloses the claimed invention including an upper end of the at least one cutter is formed at the same height or lower than an outlet of the cartridge (Depicted in Figs. 8-9 lower).
Re: Claim 18, Engel discloses the claimed invention including the at least one cutter includes a plurality of cutters having different heights (Depicted in Fig. 9 different heights).
Re: Claim 19, Engel discloses the claimed invention including the at least one cutter is inclined toward a direction of rotation of the cartridge or a direction opposite to the direction of rotation of the cartridge (Fig. 8-9 depicts inclined cutters).
Re: Claim 20, Engel discloses the claimed invention including the at least one cutter includes a plurality of cutters (46, 48), the plurality of cutters being inclined at angle that is the same or different (Depicted in Figs. 8-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petrus Engels (US 2005/0087545 A1 herein after Engels) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Driessen et al. (US 2007/0084520 A1).
Re: Claim 7, Engel discloses the claimed invention including an elevating motor installed on a main body (80) supporting the mounting body, wherein the elevating body is connected to a side surface of the elevating actuator (Para. 46, actuator for automatic movement) except for expressly stating the actuator is a motor. However, Driessen teaches a motor for operating an elevating body (Para. 137, motor moving the elevating body).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include a motor as taught by Driessen, since Driessen states in para 21 that such a modification allows the device to calculate the amount dispensed based on the number of steps for the stepper motor.
Claim(s) 9, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petrus Engels (US 2005/0087545 A1 herein after Engels) as applied to claim 5 & 8 above, and further in view of Thompson (US Patent No. 2,660,351).
Re: Claim 9, Engels discloses the claimed invention including except for a rubber ring disposed in each of the plurality of mounting holes. However, Thompson teaches rubber rings (81) in mounting holes (Col. 7, lines 1-5, rubber rings in mounting holes).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include rubber rings as taught by Thompson, since such a modification would provide a secure fit thus preventing leaks and vibration there between ensuring proper working conditions.
Re: Claim 13-14, Engels discloses the claimed invention including the accommodating body includes a base, the base including a connection member (Para. 58, connection member from the weighing plate passes through the accommodating body and into device to connect to the controller in the door) except for expressly teaching a connection hole with a protrusion. However, Thompson teaches a connection hole (138) (through which a connection member may pass) is formed in a base of the accommodating body (142), the accommodating body (142) with a base having a protrusion (135) protruding upward from the base and formed around the connection hole (Fig. 12, Col. 10, lines 45-60, protrusions).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include protrusion as taught by Thompson, since Thompson states in column 10, lines 50-51 that such a modification provides support and positioning assistance, and further the court held that the configuration of the claimed feature was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed feature was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES P. CHEYNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754