DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-13, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuo (US 20210400746 A1).
Considering claim 1, Kuo teaches a method comprising:
receiving (relay) a first unicast connection establishment request message from a source terminal (PC5 unicast link, Fig.15-17, [0193] UE-1 broadcasts directly communication request with relay… [0242]-[0244]);
sending a second unicast connection establishment request message to a first target terminal (Fig.11, 15-17, [0194] Relay-1 and relay-2 decide to forward the request, [00195] UE-2 receives the requests from relay, [0242]-[0244]);
receiving, from the first target terminal ([0193]-[0195] directly communication request with relay…UE-2 receives the requests from relay), a second unicast connection establishment accept message indicating that the first target terminal has established a unicast connection to a relay terminal based on the second unicast connection establishment request message (Fig.11,15-17, [0195]-[0197] UE-2 receives the requests from relay…If UE-2 directly receives the direct communication request from UE-1, it may choose to setup a direct communication link by sending the request accept directly to UE-1. The response message includes indication on the type of communication link being established (e.g. via relay or direct));
allocating a first identifier (ID of UE B) to the first target terminal (Fig.15-17, [0089]-[0090]);
receiving a third unicast connection establishment request message from the source terminal ( Fign.11, [0208] On the source UE (i.e. UE1), the application layer provides information to the ProSe layer for PC5 unicast communication (e.g. broadcast Layer-2 ID, ProSe Application ID, UE's Application Layer ID, target UE's Application Layer ID, relay applicable indication));
sending the third unicast connection establishment request message to the first target terminal (Fig.11, [0209] a broadcast Direct Communication Request message to UEs);
receiving, from the first target terminal (UE 2, Fig.11), a third unicast connection establishment accept message indicating that the first target terminal has established a unicast connection to the source terminal based on the third unicast connection establishment request message (Fig.11, 15-17, [0210] The UE-to-UE Relay receives the broadcast Direct Communication Request message and verifies if it's configured to relay this application);
sending the third unicast connection establishment accept message to the source terminal (Fig.11, 15-17, [0211]);
receiving a first data packet from the source terminal (UE1), where the first data packet includes the first identifier and first data ([0160]-[0161] V2X service identified by the V2X service identifier in the DIRECT LINK ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message); and
sending the first data to the first target terminal based on the first identifier (Fig.11, 15-17, [0160]-[0161]).
Considering claim 9, Kuo teaches an apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor (308) coupled to one or more memories (310) storing programming instructions that are executable by the at least one processor (Fig.3, [0039]) to perform operations comprising:
sending a first unicast connection establishment request message to a relay terminal (PC5 unicast link, Fig.15-17, [0193] UE-1 broadcasts directly communication request with relay… [0242]-[0244]);
sending a third unicast connection establishment request message to the relay terminal, to request to establish a unicast connection between a source terminal and a first target terminal (Fig.11, [0208] On the source UE (i.e. UE1), the application layer provides information to the ProSe layer for PC5 unicast communication (e.g. broadcast Layer-2 ID, ProSe Application ID, UE's Application Layer ID, target UE's Application Layer ID, relay applicable indication));
receiving, from the relay terminal (Fig.11, [0209] a broadcast Direct Communication Request message to UEs), a third unicast connection establishment accept message indicating that the first target terminal has accepted a request for establishing the unicast connection between the source terminal and the first target terminal (Fig.11, 15-17, [0210] The UE-to-UE Relay receives the broadcast Direct Communication Request message and verifies if it's configured to relay this application, [0211]);
receiving an association relationship between the first target terminal and a first identifier from the relay terminal ([0160]-[0161] V2X service identified by the V2X service identifier in the DIRECT LINK ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message); and
sending a first data packet to the relay terminal based on the association relationship, where the first data packet includes the first identifier and first data (Fig.11, 15-17, [0160]-[0161] V2X service identified by the V2X service identifier).
Considering claim 12, Kuo teaches an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor coupled to one or more memories storing programming instructions that are executable by the at least one processor to perform operations comprising:
receiving (relay) a first unicast connection establishment request message from a source terminal (PC5 unicast link, Fig.15-17, [0193] UE-1 broadcasts directly communication request with relay… [0242]-[0244]);
sending a second unicast connection establishment request message to a first target terminal (Fig.11, 15-17, [0194] Relay-1 and relay-2 decide to forward the request, [00195] UE-2 receives the requests from relay, [0242]-[0244]);
receiving, from the first target terminal ([0193]-[0195] directly communication request with relay…UE-2 receives the requests from relay), a second unicast connection establishment accept message indicating that the first target terminal has established a unicast connection to a relay terminal based on the second unicast connection establishment request message (Fig.11,15-17, [0195]-[0197] UE-2 receives the requests from relay…If UE-2 directly receives the direct communication request from UE-1, it may choose to setup a direct communication link by sending the request accept directly to UE-1. The response message includes indication on the type of communication link being established (e.g. via relay or direct));
allocating a first identifier (ID of UE B) to the first target terminal (Fig.15-17, [0089]-[0090]);
receiving a third unicast connection establishment request message from the source terminal ( Fign.11, [0208] On the source UE (i.e. UE1), the application layer provides information to the ProSe layer for PC5 unicast communication (e.g. broadcast Layer-2 ID, ProSe Application ID, UE's Application Layer ID, target UE's Application Layer ID, relay applicable indication));
sending the third unicast connection establishment request message to the first target terminal (Fig.11, [0209] a broadcast Direct Communication Request message to UEs);
receiving, from the first target terminal (UE 2, Fig.11), a third unicast connection establishment accept message indicating that the first target terminal has established a unicast connection to the source terminal based on the third unicast connection establishment request message (Fig.11, 15-17, [0210] The UE-to-UE Relay receives the broadcast Direct Communication Request message and verifies if it's configured to relay this application);
sending the third unicast connection establishment accept message to the source terminal (Fig.11, 15-17, [0211]);
receiving a first data packet from the source terminal (UE1), where the first data packet includes the first identifier and first data ([0160]-[0161] V2X service identified by the V2X service identifier in the DIRECT LINK ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message); and
sending the first data to the first target terminal based on the first identifier (Fig.11, 15-17, [0160]-[0161]).
Considering claims 2, 13, Kuo teaches wherein the method further comprises: sending an association relationship between the first identifier and the first target terminal to the source terminal (Fig.11, 15-17, [0087]-[0090]).
Considering claims 4, 11, 15, Kuo teaches receiving a second data packet from the source terminal, wherein the second data packet comprises a second identifier, second data, and a layer 2 address of the relay terminal, and the first data packet further comprises the layer 2 address of the relay terminal (Fig.15-17, [0202] relay L2 ID).
Considering claims 5, 16, Kuo teaches wherein the sending the first data to the first target terminal based on the first identifier comprises: sending the first data packet to the first target terminal based on the first identifier (Fig.11, 15-17, [0160]-[0161]).
Considering claims 6, 17, Kuo teaches receiving a third data packet from the first target terminal (Fig.11, , wherein the third data packet comprises third data and the first identifier; and sending the third data packet to the source terminal based on the first identifier (Fig.11, [0209]-[0211]).
Considering claims 7, 18, Kuo teaches sending the first identifier to the first target terminal (Fig.11, 15-17, [0160]-[0161]).
Considering claims 8, 19, Kuo teaches receiving fourth data from the first target terminal; configuring the first identifier for the fourth data based on an association relationship, to obtain a fourth data packet; and sending the fourth data packet to the source terminal, wherein the fourth data packet comprises the fourth data and the first identifier (Fig.11, [0160]-[0161], [0209]-[0211]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 10, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KHAI M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641