DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 10, 14, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The limitation “determining, as a function of an interaction between the first and second setting parameters, a performance criterion of the camera system” was not found to be properly described in the specification. The specification does not appear to disclose “a function of an interaction between the first and second setting parameters”. Therefore, the limitation “determining, as a function of an interaction between the first and second setting parameters, a performance criterion of the camera system” is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. To satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. See AriadPharms., Inc. v. EliLilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1351 (Fed. Cir. 2010). “[T]he test requires an objective inquiry into the four comers of the specification from the perspective of a person of ordinary skill in the art. Based on that inquiry, the specification must describe an invention understandable to that skilled artisan and show that the inventor actually invented the invention claimed.” “[A] description that merely renders the invention obvious does not satisfy the requirement.” See Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1352. Therefore, the non-provisional specification is not commensurate with the full scope of the claims. Thus, given the state of this technology, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have recognized that the inventor possessed the full scope of the claimed invention. Consequently, this raise doubt as to possession, by the applicant, of the claimed invention at the time the invention was filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 14, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Citerin et al (US 20200275016).
As to claim 1, Citerin discloses a method for determining how well a camera system will perform a task, the camera system comprising a camera connected via a communication network to a controller arranged to control the camera (FIG. 1: cameras 110, backbone network 130, video manager system (VMS) 150), the method comprises:
identifying a task to be performed by the camera system (see [0046], [0048] and [0075]: auto-setting a video content analysis module configured to analyse representation of predetermined targets in images of a scene captured by a video-camera);
obtaining a first setting parameter of the camera (see [0076] and [0139]: image quality parameter);
obtaining a second setting parameter of the communication network and/or the controller (see [0071]: f.sub.resource.sub.i), wherein the second parameter comprises at least one of the following: a type of processor of the controller; a memory capacity of a memory device of the controller; and an operating parameter of the controller (see [0011], [0048] and [0071]: resource requirements for a video content analysis module, in particular in terms of CPU and of memory … Other examples of resource constraints are memory storage and bandwidth … f.sub.resource.sub.i is a function that makes it possible to compute the consumption of resource i for the video content analysis module to perform its task … it is directed to at least the use of the CPU); and
determining, as a function of an interaction between the first and second setting parameters (see [0067]-[0076]: score function score(t) is a function of an interaction between at least the image quality parameter and the resource consumption parameter), a performance criterion of the camera system, wherein the performance criterion is indicative of how well the camera system will perform the identified task (see claim 1 and [0029]: estimating a performance indicator of the video content analysis module according to the considered setting, the performance indicator being determined as a function of at least the obtained quality indicator and the obtained characteristics; see claim 6: wherein the performance indicators further depend on resource consumption).
As to claim 2, Citerin further discloses wherein at least one of the first and second setting parameters is configurable as a function of the task to be performed based on images obtained from the camera (see [0076], [0139]).
As to claim 3, Citerin further discloses wherein the method comprises determining, based on the performance criterion of the camera system, an indication of the expected performance of the camera system to perform the task, and/or an indication of a setting parameter of the camera system which is required to perform the task (see [0029]: performance indicator, quality indicator).
As to claim 4, Citerin further discloses wherein the method comprises displaying the indication to a user of the camera system, the indication comprises an instruction to a user to configure the camera system to satisfy the setting parameter (FIG. 9; [0056], [0086], [0145], [0150]).
As to claim 5, Citerin further discloses wherein the method comprises displaying the performance indication and/or the parameter indication to a user via a display apparatus of the camera system (see [0054]; FIG. 9).
As to claim 6, Citerin further discloses wherein the method comprises determining, based on the performance criterion of the camera system, a parameter control for configuring a component of the camera system to satisfy the setting parameter (see [0030]-[0031] and [0143]).
As to claim 7, Citerin further discloses wherein the first parameter comprises at least one of the following:
a position of the camera (see [0007], [0010]);
a camera type (see [0050]);
a camera lens type; and
an operating parameter of the camera.
As to claim 8, Citerin further discloses wherein the operating parameter of the camera comprises at least one of: a gain value; a shutter speed value; an aperture size value; and an image encoding value (these features are not part of the BRI based on claim 7).
As to claim 10, Citerin further discloses wherein the second parameter comprises at least one of the following: a type of router of the communication network; a position of a router of the communication network; and an operating parameter of a router of the communication network (these features are not part of the BRI based on claim 1; claim 1 requires only a second parameter of the controller because of “and/or”; see also [0048], [0051]-[0052]).
As to claim 14, Citerin discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing instructions of a computer program for implementing a method for determining how well a camera system will perform a task (see [0034] and [0065]), the camera system comprising a camera connected via a communication network to a controller arranged to control the camera (FIG. 1: cameras 110, backbone network 130, video manager system (VMS) 150), the method comprises, the method comprising:
identifying a task to be performed by the camera system (see [0046], [0048] and [0075]: auto-setting a video content analysis module configured to analyse representation of predetermined targets in images of a scene captured by a video-camera);
obtaining a first setting parameter of the camera (see [0076] and [0139]: image quality parameter);
obtaining a second setting parameter of the communication network and/or the controller (see [0071]: f.sub.resource.sub.i), wherein the second parameter comprises at least one of the following: a type of processor of the controller; a memory capacity of a memory device of the controller; and an operating parameter of the controller (see [0011], [0048] and [0071]: resource requirements for a video content analysis module, in particular in terms of CPU and of memory … Other examples of resource constraints are memory storage and bandwidth … f.sub.resource.sub.i is a function that makes it possible to compute the consumption of resource i for the video content analysis module to perform its task … it is directed to at least the use of the CPU); and
determining, as a function of an interaction between the first and second setting parameters (see [0067]-[0076]: score function score(t) is a function of an interaction between at least the image quality parameter and the resource consumption parameter), a performance criterion of the camera system, wherein the performance criterion is indicative of how well the camera system will perform the identified task (see claim 1 and [0029]: estimating a performance indicator of the video content analysis module according to the considered setting, the performance indicator being determined as a function of at least the obtained quality indicator and the obtained characteristics; see claim 6: wherein the performance indicators further depend on resource consumption).
As to claim 16, Citerin discloses an apparatus for determining an ability of a camera system to perform a task, the camera system comprising a camera connected via a communication network to a controller arranged to control the camera (FIG. 1: cameras 110, backbone network 130, video manager system (VMS) 150), the apparatus comprising a processor configured to carry out the method steps of (FIG. 2):
identifying a task to be performed by the camera system (see [0046], [0048] and [0075]: auto-setting a video content analysis module configured to analyse representation of predetermined targets in images of a scene captured by a video-camera);
obtaining a first setting parameter of the camera (see [0076] and [0139]: image quality parameter);
obtaining a second setting parameter of the communication network and/or the controller (see [0071]: f.sub.resource.sub.i), wherein the second parameter comprises at least one of the following: a type of processor of the controller; a memory capacity of a memory device of the controller; and an operating parameter of the controller (see [0011], [0048] and [0071]: resource requirements for a video content analysis module, in particular in terms of CPU and of memory … Other examples of resource constraints are memory storage and bandwidth … f.sub.resource.sub.i is a function that makes it possible to compute the consumption of resource i for the video content analysis module to perform its task … it is directed to at least the use of the CPU); and
determining, as a function of an interaction between the first and second setting parameters (see [0067]-[0076]: score function score(t) is a function of an interaction between at least the image quality parameter and the resource consumption parameter), a performance criterion of the camera system, wherein the performance criterion is indicative of how well the camera system will perform the identified task (see claim 1 and [0029]: estimating a performance indicator of the video content analysis module according to the considered setting, the performance indicator being determined as a function of at least the obtained quality indicator and the obtained characteristics; see claim 6: wherein the performance indicators further depend on resource consumption).
As to claim 17, Citerin discloses a camera system comprising a camera, a controller according to claim 16 (see rejection of claim 16), and a communication network for connecting the controller to the camera (FIG. 1: cameras 110, backbone network 130, video manager system (VMS) 150).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 14 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/BOUBACAR ABDOU TCHOUSSOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482