Priority
1. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/22/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, this submission of the information disclosure statements is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 08/06/2026 has been entered. Currently, claims 19-38 remain pending in the application. Independent claims 19, 27, and 35 were amended by Applicant without the addition of new matter to include further narrowing limitations. These limitations and applicant’s argument are persuasive in overcoming the double patenting rejections recited in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 03/09/2026. . Additionally, claims 20, 22-24, 28, 30-32, 36, and 38 have been amended to overcome previous 35 USC 112(B) rejections and claim objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 03/09/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument regarding claim 19, see remarks filed 08/06/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The prior art of record is maintained for claim 19: Fujita et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 20200069505 A1).
Applicant’s amendment to independent claims 27 and 35 is sufficient to overcome the previous 35 USC § 103 rejection recited in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 03/09/2026. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks on Pages 14-24, filed 3/09/2021, with respect to the rejection under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, the amended claims have changed the scope of the claims and upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of new prior art of the record: Fujita et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 20200069505 A1) and Kelly et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 20110009788).
Applicant makes the argument that “the claims limitations have sufficient structure from the specification and thereby should not be interpreted as means plus function limitation under 112(F)” (Remarks, Pages 7-13).
In response to Applicant’s argument (Remarks, Pages 7-13) the claims use placeholders for means followed by functional language. The specification does provide the meaning for those placeholders, thereby the limitations are interpreted under 112(F) to include those structures from the specification as well as any known equivalents not from the specification.
Applicant makes the argument that “(1) for amended claim 19 the upper part is at inclination angle relative to upper support element in medial-lateral direction. Fujita merely states that the tilt angle and/or curvature of the thigh frame 20 relative to the lower frame 40 is different but does not describe the tilt inclination angle between the thigh frame and the upper frame as claimed. Also, Fujita has rubber spacer but Nothing in this disclosure indicates that the spacer 280 causes an angle of any kind between the thigh frame 20 and the upper frame 120; (2) for amended claim 27 the upper part and lower part only on medial or lateral side as problems with bilateral arrangements rails include difficulties with leg circumferences and interferences with joint devices; (3) for amended claim 35 a clearance between the first and second joint devices as recited by Applicant in Specification Paragraph 40 that there is more stability the greater the clearance but very large brings comfort disadvantages. Meanwhile Fujita merely recites a coaxially connected state of engagement part 181Db and actuator side depression engagement part 185Da as opposed to any clearance” (Remarks, Pages 14-23).
In response to Applicant’s argument (Remarks, Pages 14-23), (1) Fujita still reads on the amended claims because the thigh frame itself and calf frame are tilted bent themselves (Figures 7 and 30) such that they are also tilted after the contact point with the spacer. Furthermore, the rubber spacer of Fujita does provide adjustable force throughout as compression force changes. Furthermore, Fujita Paragraph 44 recites that with the spacer “ it is possible to be adequately attached to variously shaped knee-ankle-foot orthoses, merely by replacing the outer spacer with a dedicated outer spacer that has a shape adjusted to the tilt angle and/or curvature of the outer side thigh frame relative to the outer side lower leg frame in the corresponding knee-ankle-foot orthosis”. This reads on the claims in as much as Applicant’s inclination angle which is due to the different thicknesses of the upper 95 and lower 90 spacers causing that inclination angle as shown in Applicant’s Figure 7. (2) Fujita still reads on the amended claim limitations because the upper part is only being construed as that one side. The other medial or lateral side is another upper frame but not an upper part of a double joint system. Examiner notes that Applicant would overcome Fujita by amending to recite, for example --free lateral or medial side from any frame-- or the --cuff is frameless on opposite medial/lateral side--. Also, a preamble amendment against bilateral rail would also overcome Fujita. (3) Annotated Figure 30 of Fujita below shows that the first and second joint devices are spaced apart with a gap clearance (Paragraph 222) provided by the spacers. Examiner notes that Applicant may overcome Fujita by amending the claims to recite the criticality in Applicant’s paragraph 40 of stable clearance distance vs very large comfort disadvantage.
Applicant makes the argument that “plurality of functional elements in claims 37 and 35 are not taught by Fujita” (Remarks, Page 24).
In response to Applicant’s argument, the claims have been amended changing the scope of the claims, such that a new grounds of rejection with Kelly et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 20110009788) is applied, rendering this argument moot.
Moreover, Examiner notes that Applicant may amend the claims to overcome the prior art of record by reciting positive limitations such as the spatial and positional relationship between two joint and frame structures. Furthermore, any negative limitation such as –not—or –without— to teach away from the prior art. Lastly, transitional phrases such as –consisting— or –consisting essentially of-- in the preamble or body of the claim to prevent prior art combinations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 20200069505 A1).
Regarding claim 19, an embodiment of Figure 27-30 of Fujita discloses an orthosis 1 (Paragraph 322 and Figure 27, knee-ankle-foot orthosis 1) comprising: an upper part 20 (Paragraph 322 and Figure 28, thigh frame 20); a lower part 40 (Paragraph 322 and Figure 28, lower leg frame 40); a first joint device 50 (Paragraph 340, 357, and see annotated Figure 30 below, first joint device 50 pivotably coupling thigh 20 and lower leg frame 40 along pivot axis X; ; this is the structure as defined by the 112f analysis above) coupling the upper part 20 and lower part40 to each other in such a way as to be pivotable about a first pivot axis ;devices 10,30 (Paragraph 322 and Figure 27, thigh and lower leg attachments 10,30; this is the structure as defined by the 35 USC 112f analysis above) for receiving a body part or a limb or for securing the orthosis 1 to a body part or a limb are arranged on the upper part 20 and the lower part 40; an upper support element 120 (Paragraph 325 and Figure 28, upper support frame 120 secured to thigh frame20 on outer side via fastener 161,165 and with bearing plate 165 receiving two bolts 169 to releasably fasten upper part and upper support element to the upper and lower parts via the first and second joint devices; this is the structure as defined by the 112f analysis above) is releasably attached to the upper part 20 on one side; a lower support element 140 (Paragraph 325 and Figure 28, lower support frame 140 secured to lower frame 40 on outer side via fastener 171,175 and with bearing plate 165 receiving two bolts 169 to releasably fasten upper part and upper support element to the upper and lower parts via the first and second joint devices; this is the structure as defined by the 112f analysis above) is releasably attached to the lower part 40 on one side; a second joint device 151,185 (Paragraph 340, 357, and Figure 30, second joint device 151,185 pivotably coupling upper and lower support 120,140 to one another about pivot axis Y which is the same as/coaxial with pivot axis X; ; this is the structure as defined by the 112f analysis above) connecting the upper support element 120 and lower support element 140 to each other in such a way as to be pivotable about a second pivot axis, wherein the first pivot axis and the second pivot axis are coaxially orientated to each other (Paragraph 340, 357, and Figure 30, coaxial aligned first joint device 50 and second joint device 151D,185D throughout flexion/extension).
However, the embodiment of Figure 27 of Fujita fails to explicitly disclose wherein the upper support element is oriented at an inclination relative to the upper part in a medial-lateral direction.
An embodiment of Figure 1-12 of Fujita teaches an analogous orthosis (Paragraphs 43-44, 60, 87, 136, 222, 242 and Figures 1-3, 11-12, long lower limb orthosis 1 is an instrument worn for walking assistance or rehabilitation) wherein the analogous upper support element (Paragraph 87, actuator unit 100 includes an upper frame 120 connectable to the first thigh frame 20 with a driver 110 for producing driving force for rotating lower frame 140 around the actuator-side pivot axis Y) is oriented at an inclination (Paragraphs 43-44, 222, and 242 and Figures 1-3, 11-12, spacer 280 provides adjustable elastic tilt angle between thigh frame 20 and upper support frame element 120. Also, spacer 380 provides adjustable elastic tilt angle between calf frame 40 and lower support frame element 140; the thigh frame itself and calf frame are tilted bent themselves (Figures 7 and 30) such that they are also tilted after the contact point with the spacer. Furthermore, the rubber spacer of Fujita does provide adjustable force throughout as compression force changes. Furthermore, Fujita Paragraph 44 recites that with the spacer “ it is possible to be adequately attached to variously shaped knee-ankle-foot orthoses, merely by replacing the outer spacer with a dedicated outer spacer that has a shape adjusted to the tilt angle and/or curvature of the outer side thigh frame relative to the outer side lower leg frame in the corresponding knee-ankle-foot orthosis”. This reads on the claims in as much as Applicant’s inclination angle which is due to the different thicknesses of the upper 95 and lower 90 spacers causing that inclination angle as shown in Applicant’s Figure 7) relative to the analogous upper part 20 (Paragraph 136 and Figures 11-12, thigh frame 20) in a medial-lateral direction.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection between the upper support element and the upper part of the embodiment of Figure 27 of Fujita, so that the upper support element is oriented relative to the upper part in medial-lateral direction, as taught by the embodiment of Figure 1 of Fujita, in order to provide an improved orthosis with an improved connection between an upper part and upper functional support element for providing a gradual deformation of the force transfer of the functional element of the second joint device through the upper part via the spacer with desirable thigh frame and support element tilt angles (Fujita, Paragraphs 43-44, 222, and 242).
Regarding claim 20, the embodiment of Figure 27 of Fujita in view of the embodiment of Figure 1 of Fujita discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the upper support element (Fujita Figure 1: Paragraphs 43-44, 222, and 242 and Figures 1-3, 11-12, spacer 280 provides adjustable elastic swivel tilt angle between thigh frame 20 and upper support frame element 120. Also, spacer 380 provides adjustable elastic tilt angle between calf frame 40 and lower support frame element 140 ) is swivel- mounted about a swivel-axis to change an inclination angle of the upper support element relative to the upper part.
Regarding claim 21, the embodiment of Figure 27-30 of Fujita in view of the embodiment of Figure 1 of Fujita discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the swivel-axis (Fujita Figure 1: Paragraphs 43-44, 222, and 242 and Figures 1-3, 11-12, spacer 280 proximal to pivot joint X-axis) is located proximally to the pivot axis.
Regarding claim 22, the embodiment of Figure 27-30 of Fujita in view of the embodiment of Figure 1 of Fujita discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the inclination-angle(Fujita Figure 1: Paragraphs 43-44, 222, and 242 and Figures 1-3, 11-12, rubber spacer 280 provides elastic adjustability throughout movement) is adjustable.
Regarding claim 23, the embodiment of Figure 27-30 of Fujita in view of the embodiment of Figure 1 of Fujita discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein a distance element 280 (Fujita Figure 1: Paragraphs 43-44, 222, and 242 and Figures 1-3, 11-12, rubber spacer distance element 280 between thigh frame 20 and upper support frame element 120; this is the structure as defined by the 35 UCS 112f analysis above) is arranged between the upper part and the upper support element to adjust the inclination-angle.
Regarding claim 24, the embodiment of Figure 27-30 of Fujita in view of the embodiment of Figure 1 of Fujita discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the swivel-axis is orientated perpendicular (Fujita Figure 1: Paragraphs 43-44, 222, and 242 and Figures 1-3, 11-12, spacer 280 provides adjustable elastic swivel tilt angle between thigh frame 20 and upper support frame element 120. Also, spacer 380 provides adjustable elastic tilt angle between calf frame 40 and lower support frame element 140 ) to the first and second pivot-axis in anterior-posterior direction.
Regarding claim 25, the embodiment of Figure 27-30 of Fujita in view of the embodiment of Figure 1 of Fujita discloses the invention as described above. The embodiment of Figure 27 of Fujita further discloses wherein a bearing plate 169 (Paragraph 346 and Figure 29, bearing plate 169 detachably attached to upper part 20 and couples with upper support element 120 via fastener 161,165) is attached to the upper part 20, the bearing plate 169 having at least one fastening device 161,165 (Paragraph 343 and Figure 29, fastening device 161,165 for securing upper part 20 and upper support element 120, thereby also securing the second joint device 151,185 via the upper support element 120; this is the structure as defined by the 35 USC 112f analysis above) for securing the upper support element 120.
Regarding claim 26, the embodiment of Figure 27-30 of Fujita in view of the embodiment of Figure 1 of Fujita discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein a distance element is arranged between the lower part and the lower support element.
The embodiment of Figure 1 of Fujita further discloses wherein a distance element 380 (Paragraphs 43-44, 222, and 242 and Figures 1-3, 11-12, spacer 280 provides adjustable elastic tilt angle between thigh frame 20 and upper support frame element 120. Also, spacer 380 provides adjustable elastic tilt angle between calf frame 40 and lower support frame element 140; this is the structure as defined by the 35 UCS 112f analysis above) is arranged between the analogous lower part 40 and the analogous lower support element 140.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection between the lower support element and the lower part of the embodiment of Figure 27 of Fujita in view of the embodiment of Figure 1 of Fujita, so that a distance element is arranged between the lower part and the lower support element, as taught by the embodiment of Figure 1 of Fujita, in order to provide an improved orthosis with an improved connection between a lower part and lower support element for providing a gradual deformation of the force transfer of the functional element of the second joint device through the lower part via the distance spacer element with desirable calf frame and support element tilt angles (Fujita, Paragraphs 43-44, 222, and 242).
Claims 27-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 20200069505 A1) in view of Kelly et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 20110009788).
Regarding claim 27, an embodiment of Figure 27-30 of Fujita discloses an orthosis 1 (Paragraph 322 and Figure 27, knee-ankle-foot orthosis 1) comprising: an upper part 20 (Paragraph 322 and Figure 28, thigh frame 20); a lower part 40 (Paragraph 322 and Figure 28, lower leg frame 40); a first joint device 50 (Paragraph 340, 357, and see annotated Figure 30 below, first joint device 50 pivotably coupling thigh 20 and lower leg frame 40 along pivot axis X; ; this is the structure as defined by the 112f analysis above) coupling the upper part 20 and lower part40 to each other in such a way as to be pivotable about a first pivot axis ;devices 10,30 (Paragraph 322 and Figure 27, thigh and lower leg attachments 10,30; this is the structure as defined by the 35 USC 112f analysis above) for receiving a body part or a limb or for securing the orthosis 1 to a body part or a limb are arranged on the upper part 20 and the lower part 40; wherein the upper part 20 and the lower part 40are configured to be arranged only on either a medial side or a lateral side of the body part or the limb (Figures 27-30: the upper part is only being construed as that one medial or lateral frame side. The other medial or lateral side is another upper frame but not an upper part of a double joint system); an upper support element 120 (Paragraph 325 and Figure 28, upper support frame 120 secured to thigh frame20 on outer side via fastener 161,165 and with bearing plate 165 receiving two bolts 169 to releasably fasten upper part and upper support element to the upper and lower parts via the first and second joint devices; this is the structure as defined by the 112f analysis above) is releasably attached to the upper part 20 on one side; a lower support element 140 (Paragraph 325 and Figure 28, lower support frame 140 secured to lower frame 40 on outer side via fastener 171,175 and with bearing plate 165 receiving two bolts 169 to releasably fasten upper part and upper support element to the upper and lower parts via the first and second joint devices; this is the structure as defined by the 112f analysis above) is releasably attached to the lower part 40 on one side; a second joint device 151,185 (Paragraph 340, 357, and Figure 30, second joint device 151,185 pivotably coupling upper and lower support 120,140 to one another about pivot axis Y which is the same as/coaxial with pivot axis X; ; this is the structure as defined by the 112f analysis above) connecting the upper support element 120 and lower support element 140 to each other in such a way as to be pivotable about a second pivot axis, wherein the first pivot axis and the second pivot axis are concentric and remain concentric throughout a gait of a user (Paragraph 340, 357, and Figure 30, coaxial aligned first joint device 50 and second joint device 151D,185D throughout flexion/extension), wherein the first joint device 50 and the second joint device 151,185 are laterally spaced apart (see annotated Figure 30 below) from each other, wherein the first pivot axis and the second pivot axis are coaxially orientated to each other; a bearing plate169 (Paragraph 346 and Figure 29, bearing plate 169 detachably attached to upper part 20 and couples with upper support element 120 via fastener 161,165) attached to either the upper part to the upper support element; and at least one functional element 110 (Paragraph 330 and Figure 30, actuated motorized driver 110 has upper portion 160 with upper support element 120 that detachably couples to bearing plate 169) detachably securable to the bearing plate plate169, wherein the at least one functional element 110 comprises a motorized drive110.
However, the embodiment of Figure 27 of Fujita fails to explicitly disclose (1) wherein the upper support element is oriented at an inclination relative to the upper part in a medial- lateral direction; (2) a plurality of different functional elements.
An embodiment of Figure 1-12 of Fujita teaches an analogous orthosis (Paragraphs 43-44, 60, 87, 136, 222, 242 and Figures 1-3, 11-12, long lower limb orthosis 1 is an instrument worn for walking assistance or rehabilitation) wherein the analogous upper support element (Paragraph 87, actuator unit 100 includes an upper frame 120 connectable to the first thigh frame 20 with a driver 110 for producing driving force for rotating lower frame 140 around the actuator-side pivot axis Y) is oriented at an inclination (Paragraphs 43-44, 222, and 242 and Figures 1-3, 11-12, spacer 280 provides adjustable elastic tilt angle between thigh frame 20 and upper support frame element 120. Also, spacer 380 provides adjustable elastic tilt angle between calf frame 40 and lower support frame element 140; the thigh frame itself and calf frame are tilted bent themselves (Figures 7 and 30) such that they are also tilted after the contact point with the spacer. Furthermore, the rubber spacer of Fujita does provide adjustable force throughout as compression force changes. Furthermore, Fujita Paragraph 44 recites that with the spacer “ it is possible to be adequately attached to variously shaped knee-ankle-foot orthoses, merely by replacing the outer spacer with a dedicated outer spacer that has a shape adjusted to the tilt angle and/or curvature of the outer side thigh frame relative to the outer side lower leg frame in the corresponding knee-ankle-foot orthosis”. This reads on the claims in as much as Applicant’s inclination angle which is due to the different thicknesses of the upper 95 and lower 90 spacers causing that inclination angle as shown in Applicant’s Figure 7) relative (Paragraphs 43-44, 222, and 242 and Figures 1-3, 11-12, spacer 280 provides adjustable elastic tilt angle between thigh frame 20 and upper support frame element 120. Also, spacer 380 provides adjustable elastic tilt angle between calf frame 40 and lower support frame element 140) to the analogous upper part 20 (Paragraph 136 and Figures 11-12, thigh frame 20) in medial- lateral direction.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection between the upper support element and the upper part of the embodiment of Figure 27 of Fujita, so that the upper support element is inclined to the upper part in medial-lateral direction, as taught by the embodiment of Figure 1 of Fujita, in order to provide an improved orthosis with an improved connection between an upper part and upper functional support element for providing a gradual deformation of the force transfer of the functional element of the second joint device through the upper part via the spacer with desirable thigh frame and support element tilt angles (Fujita, Paragraphs 43-44, 222, and 242).
However, the embodiment of Figure 27 of Fujita in view of the embodiment of Figure 1-12 of Fujita fails to explicitly disclose (2) a plurality of different functional elements.
Kelly teaches an analogous orthosis 20 (Paragraphs 28, 31 and Figures 6-7: orthosis 20 with removably attachable actuators 22 mounted onto the frame 10 so that so that the orthotic 20 may be easily changed from one type or configuration of motor actuator to a different dynamic actuator) comprising a plurality of different analogous functional elements 22 each being detachably secured to the analogous bearing plate 10 (Paragraphs 28, 31 and Figures 6-7: mounting plate frame 10).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the functional element of the embodiment of Figure 27 of Fujita in view of the embodiment of Figure 1-12 of Fujita, so that there are a plurality of different functional elements, as taught by Kelly, in order to provide an improved orthotic with an enhanced functional element that is formed by plurality of resistance and actuator devices for desirable control and removable variability during therapy (Kelly, Paragraphs 28 and 31)
Regarding claim 28, the embodiment of Figure 27 of Fujita in view of the embodiment of Figure 1 of Fujita in view of Kelly discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the upper support element (Fujita Figure 1: Paragraphs 43-44, 222, and 242 and Figures 1-3, 11-12, spacer 280 provides adjustable elastic swivel tilt angle between thigh frame 20 and upper support frame element 120. Also, spacer 380 provides adjustable elastic tilt angle between calf frame 40 and lower support frame element 140 ) is swivel- mounted about a swivel-axis to change an inclination angle of the upper support element relative to the upper part.
Regarding claim 29, the embodiment of Figure 27-30 of Fujita in view of the embodiment of Figure 1 of Fujita in view of Kelly discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the swivel-axis (Fujita Figure 1: Paragraphs 43-44, 222, and 242 and Figures 1-3, 11-12, spacer 280 proximal to pivot joint X-axis) is located proximally to the pivot axis.
Regarding 30, the embodiment of Figure 27-30 of Fujita in view of the embodiment of Figure 1 of Fujita in view of Kelly discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the inclination-angle(Fujita Figure 1: Paragraphs 43-44, 222, and 242 and Figures 1-3, 11-12, rubber spacer 280 provides elastic adjustability throughout movement) is adjustable.
Regarding claim 31, the embodiment of Figure 27-30 of Fujita in view of the embodiment of Figure 1 of Fujita in view of Kelly discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein a distance element 280 (Fujita Figure 1: Paragraphs 43-44, 222, and 242 and Figures 1-3, 11-12, rubber spacer distance element 280 between thigh frame 20 and upper support frame element 120; ; this is the structure as defined by the 35 UCS 112f analysis above) is arranged between the upper part and the upper support element to adjust the inclination-angle.
Regarding claim 32, the embodiment of Figure 27-30 of Fujita in view of the embodiment of Figure 1 of Fujita in view of Kelly discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the swivel-axis is orientated perpendicular (Fujita Figure 1: Paragraphs 43-44, 222, and 242 and Figures 1-3, 11-12, spacer 280 provides adjustable elastic swivel tilt angle between thigh frame 20 and upper support frame element 120. Also, spacer 380 provides adjustable elastic tilt angle between calf frame 40 and lower support frame element 140 ) to the first and second pivot-axis in anterior-posterior direction.
Regarding claim 33, the embodiment of Figure 27-30 of Fujita in view of the embodiment of Figure 1 of Fujita in view of Kelly discloses the invention as described above. The embodiment of Figure 27 of Fujita further discloses wherein a bearing plate 169 (Paragraph 346 and Figure 29, bearing plate 169 detachably attached to upper part 20 and couples with upper support element 120 via fastener 161,165) is attached to the upper part 20, the bearing plate 169 having at least one fastening device 161,165 (Paragraph 343 and Figure 29, fastening device 161,165 for securing upper part 20 and upper support element 120, thereby also securing the second joint device 151,185 via the upper support element 120; this is the structure as defined by the 35 USC 112f analysis above) for securing the upper support element 120.
Regarding claim 34, the embodiment of Figure 27-30 of Fujita in view of the embodiment of Figure 1 of Fujita in view of Kelly discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein a distance element is arranged between the lower part and the lower support element.
The embodiment of Figure 1 of Fujita further discloses wherein a distance element 380 (Paragraphs 43-44, 222, and 242 and Figures 1-3, 11-12, spacer 280 provides adjustable elastic tilt angle between thigh frame 20 and upper support frame element 120. Also, spacer 380 provides adjustable elastic tilt angle between calf frame 40 and lower support frame element 140; this is the structure as defined by the 35 UCS 112f analysis above) is arranged between the analogous lower part 40 and the analogous lower support element 140.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection between the lower support element and the lower part of the embodiment of Figure 27 of Fujita in view of the embodiment of Figure 1 of Fujita in view of Kelly, so that a distance element is arranged between the lower part and the lower support element, as taught by the embodiment of Figure 1 of Fujita, in order to provide an improved orthosis with an improved connection between a lower part and lower support element for providing a gradual deformation of the force transfer of the functional element of the second joint device through the lower part via the distance spacer element with desirable calf frame and support element tilt angles (Fujita, Paragraphs 43-44, 222, and 242).
Regarding claim 35, an embodiment of Figure 27-30 of Fujita discloses an orthosis 1 (Paragraph 322 and Figure 27, knee-ankle-foot orthosis 1) comprising: an upper part 20 (Paragraph 322 and Figure 28, thigh frame 20); a lower part 40 (Paragraph 322 and Figure 28, lower leg frame 40); a first joint device 50 (Paragraph 340, 357, and see annotated Figure 30 below, first joint device 50 pivotably coupling thigh 20 and lower leg frame 40 along pivot axis X; ; this is the structure as defined by the 112f analysis above) coupling the upper part 20 and lower part40 to each other in such a way as to be pivotable about a first pivot axis ;devices 10,30 (Paragraph 322 and Figure 27, thigh and lower leg attachments 10,30; this is the structure as defined by the 35 USC 112f analysis above) for receiving a body part or a limb or for securing the orthosis 1 to a body part or a limb are arranged on the upper part 20 and the lower part 40; an upper support element 120 (Paragraph 325 and Figure 28, upper support frame 120 secured to thigh frame20 on outer side via fastener 161,165 and with bearing plate 165 receiving two bolts 169 to releasably fasten upper part and upper support element to the upper and lower parts via the first and second joint devices; this is the structure as defined by the 112f analysis above) is releasably attached to the upper part 20 on one side; a lower support element 140 (Paragraph 325 and Figure 28, lower support frame 140 secured to lower frame 40 on outer side via fastener 171,175 and with bearing plate 165 receiving two bolts 169 to releasably fasten upper part and upper support element to the upper and lower parts via the first and second joint devices; this is the structure as defined by the 112f analysis above) is releasably attached to the lower part 40 on one side; a second joint device 151,185 (Paragraph 340, 357, and Figure 30, second joint device 151,185 pivotably coupling upper and lower support 120,140 to one another about pivot axis Y which is the same as/coaxial with pivot axis X; ; this is the structure as defined by the 112f analysis above) connecting the upper support element 120 and lower support element 140 to each other in such a way as to be pivotable about a second pivot axis, wherein the first pivot axis and the second pivot axis are coaxially orientated to each other (Paragraph 340, 357, and Figure 30, coaxial aligned first joint device 50 and second joint device 151D,185D throughout flexion/extension) and wherein the first joint device 50 is spaced apart from the second joint device151,185 such that a clearance (See annotated Figure 30 below: lateral spacing formed) is formed between the first joint device 50 and the second joint device151,185; a bearing plate169 (Paragraph 346 and Figure 29, bearing plate 169 detachably attached to upper part 20 and couples with upper support element 120 via fastener 161,165) attached to either the upper part to the upper support element; and at least one functional element 110 (Paragraph 330 and Figure 30, actuated motorized driver 110 has upper portion 160 with upper support element 120 that detachably couples to bearing plate 169) detachably securable to the bearing plate plate169.
However, the embodiment of Figure 27 of Fujita fails to explicitly disclose (1) wherein the upper support element is oriented at an inclination relative to the upper part in medial-lateral direction; (2) a plurality of different functional elements.
An embodiment of Figure 1-12 of Fujita teaches an analogous orthosis (Paragraphs 43-44, 60, 87, 136, 222, 242 and Figures 1-3, 11-12, long lower limb orthosis 1 is an instrument worn for walking assistance or rehabilitation) wherein the analogous upper support element (Paragraph 87, actuator unit 100 includes an upper frame 120 connectable to the first thigh frame 20 with a driver 110 for producing driving force for rotating lower frame 140 around the actuator-side pivot axis Y) is oriented at an inclination (Paragraphs 43-44, 222, and 242 and Figures 1-3, 11-12, spacer 280 provides adjustable elastic tilt angle between thigh frame 20 and upper support frame element 120. Also, spacer 380 provides adjustable elastic tilt angle between calf frame 40 and lower support frame element 140; the thigh frame itself and calf frame are tilted bent themselves (Figures 7 and 30) such that they are also tilted after the contact point with the spacer. Furthermore, the rubber spacer of Fujita does provide adjustable force throughout as compression force changes. Furthermore, Fujita Paragraph 44 recites that with the spacer “ it is possible to be adequately attached to variously shaped knee-ankle-foot orthoses, merely by replacing the outer spacer with a dedicated outer spacer that has a shape adjusted to the tilt angle and/or curvature of the outer side thigh frame relative to the outer side lower leg frame in the corresponding knee-ankle-foot orthosis”. This reads on the claims in as much as Applicant’s inclination angle which is due to the different thicknesses of the upper 95 and lower 90 spacers causing that inclination angle as shown in Applicant’s Figure 7) relative to the analogous upper part 20 (Paragraph 136 and Figures 11-12, thigh frame 20) in medial- lateral direction.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection between the upper support element and the upper part of the embodiment of Figure 27 of Fujita, so that the upper support element is inclined to the upper part in medial-lateral direction, as taught by the embodiment of Figure 1 of Fujita, in order to provide an improved orthosis with an improved connection between an upper part and upper functional support element for providing a gradual deformation of the force transfer of the functional element of the second joint device through the upper part via the spacer with desirable thigh frame and support element tilt angles (Fujita, Paragraphs 43-44, 222, and 242).
However, the embodiment of Figure 27 of Fujita in view of the embodiment of Figure 1-12 of Fujita fails to explicitly disclose (2) a plurality of different functional elements.
Kelly teaches an analogous orthosis 20 (Paragraphs 28, 31 and Figures 6-7: orthosis 20 with removably attachable actuators 22 mounted onto the frame 10 so that so that the orthotic 20 may be easily changed from one type or configuration of motor actuator to a different dynamic actuator) comprising a plurality of different analogous functional elements 22 each being detachably secured to the analogous bearing plate 10 (Paragraphs 28, 31 and Figures 6-7: mounting plate frame 10).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the functional element of the embodiment of Figure 27 of Fujita in view of the embodiment of Figure 1-12 of Fujita, so that there are a plurality of different functional elements, as taught by Kelly, in order to provide an improved orthotic with an enhanced functional element that is formed by plurality of resistance and actuator devices for desirable control and removable variability during therapy (Kelly, Paragraphs 28 and 31)
Regarding claim 36, the embodiment of Figure 27 of Fujita in view of the embodiment of Figure 1 of Fujita in view of Kelly discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the upper support element (Fujita Figure 1: Paragraphs 43-44, 222, and 242 and Figures 1-3, 11-12, spacer 280 provides adjustable elastic swivel tilt angle between thigh frame 20 and upper support frame element 120. Also, spacer 380 provides adjustable elastic tilt angle between calf frame 40 and lower support frame element 140 ) is swivel- mounted about a swivel-axis to change an inclination angle of the upper support element relative to the upper part.
Regarding claim 37, the embodiment of Figure 27-30 of Fujita in view of the embodiment of Figure 1 of Fujita in view of Kelly discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the swivel-axis (Fujita Figure 1: Paragraphs 43-44, 222, and 242 and Figures 1-3, 11-12, spacer 280 proximal to pivot joint X-axis) is located proximally to the pivot axis.
Regarding 38, the embodiment of Figure 27-30 of Fujita in view of the embodiment of Figure 1 of Fujita in view of Kelly discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the inclination-angle(Fujita Figure 1: Paragraphs 43-44, 222, and 242 and Figures 1-3, 11-12, rubber spacer 280 provides elastic adjustability throughout movement) is adjustable.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL MILO/
Art Unit 3786
/OPHELIA A HAWTHORNE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786