DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The Instant Application, filed 10/02/2024, is a continuation of 17/911122, filed 09/12/2022, now U.S. Patent No. 12/137,035 which is a National Stage entry of PCT/CN2020/085875 with an international filing date of 04/21/2020.
Double Patenting
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,137,035. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claims are anticipated by the reference claim(s). Claim 1 of the Patent contains every element of claim 16 of the instant application as shown in the table below and as such anticipate(s) the claim of the instant application. Claim 21 is rejected under the same rationale for reciting similar limitaitons.
“A later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim. In re Longi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651 (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting because the claims at issue were obvious over claims in four prior art patents); In re Berg, 140 F.3d at 1437, 46 USPQ2d at 1233 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting where a patent application claim to a genus is anticipated by a patent claim to a species within that genus). “ELI LILLY AND COMPANY v BARR LABORATORIES, INC., United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC (DECIDED: May 30, 2001).
Instant Application
Patent No. 12,137,035
16. A method of wireless communication at a network entity comprised in a wireless network, comprising: receiving, at the network entity, an analytics request from a consumer of the wireless network, the analytics request including a first analytics identifier and a second analytics identifier; determining a first network data analytics function (NWDAF) based on the first analytics identifier indicated in the analytics request and a second NWDAF based on the second analytics identifier indicated in the analytics request; forwarding, from the network entity, a request to multiple NWDAFs, including forwarding a first request to the first NWDAF based on the first analytics identifier indicated in the analytics request and forwarding a second request to the second NWDAF based on the second analytics identifier indicated in the analytics request; receiving multiple analytics responses including an analytics response from each of the multiple NWDAFs, including receiving a first analytics response from the first NWDAF and receiving a second analytics response from the second NWDAF; combining the multiple analytics responses into a combined analytics response based on a combination of the first analytics response that the network entity received from the first NWDAF and the second analytics response that the network entity received from the second NWDAF; and providing, to the consumer, the combined analytics response based on the combination of the first analytics response received from the first NWDAF and the second analytics response received from the second NWDAF.
1. A method of wireless communication at a network entity comprised in a wireless network, comprising: receiving, at the network entity, an analytics request from a consumer of the wireless network, the analytics request including a first analytics identifier and a second analytics identifier; determining a first network data analytics function (NWDAF) based on the first analytics identifier indicated in the analytics request and a second NWDAF based on the second analytics identifier indicated in the analytics request; forwarding, from the network entity, a request to multiple NWDAFs, including forwarding a first request to the first NWDAF based on the first analytics identifier indicated in the analytics request and forwarding a second request to the second NWDAF based on the second analytics identifier indicated in the analytics request; receiving multiple analytics responses including an analytics response from each of the multiple NWDAFs, including receiving a first analytics response from the first NWDAF and receiving a second analytics response from the second NWDAF; combining the multiple analytics responses into a combined analytics response, wherein the network entity provides the combined analytics response to the consumer based on a combination of the first analytics response that the network entity received from the first NWDAF and the second analytics response that the network entity received from the second NWDAF; and providing, to the consumer, the combined analytics response based on the combination of the first analytics response received from the first NWDAF and the second analytics response received from the second NWDAF.
---
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 1 is drawn to method (i.e., a process) and claim 6 is drawn to an apparatus (i.e., a machine/manufacture). As such, claims 1 and 6 are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention.
Claims 1 and 6 merely recite the steps of sending a request and receiving a response. Specifically, the claims recite the steps of, sending an analytics request to a network entity of the wireless communication system, the analytics request including a first analytics identifier and a second analytics identifier; and receiving, from the network entity, a combined analytics response to the analytics request, wherein the combined analytics response includes a first analytics response from a first network data analytics function, NWDAF, based on the first analytics identifier included in the analytics request and a second analytics response from a second NWDAF based on the second analytics identifier included in the analytics request (Claim 1), which is grouped within Mental Processes and is similar to the concept of (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) grouping of abstract ideas in prong one of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 54 (January 7, 2019)). Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea (See pages 7, 10, Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., US Supreme Court, No. 13-298, June 19, 2014; 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 53-54 (January 7, 2019)).
These limitations, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the combination of additional elements fails to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claims are directed to an abstract idea with generic computer elements and these generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. The claim(s) do not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Dependent claims 2-5 and 7-10 are held to be patent ineligible under 35 USC 101 because the additional recited limitations fail to establish that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea.
Thus, the claims fail to be patent eligible when analyzed under the prongs of step 2A and step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 54 (January 7, 2019)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-26 are allowed over the prior art of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Marquezan et al. (2023/0069455).
As per claim 1, Marquezan et al. teaches a method of wireless communication at a consumer of a wireless communication system, comprising: sending an analytics request to a network entity of the wireless communication system, the analytics request including a first analytics identifier and a second analytics identifier [paragraphs 0005 and 0186-0193 and fig. 7]; and
receiving, from the network entity, a combined analytics response to the analytics request, wherein the combined analytics response includes a first analytics response from a first network data analytics function, NWDAF, based on the first analytics identifier included in the analytics request and a second analytics response from a second NWDAF based on the second analytics identifier included in the analytics request [paragraphs 0200-0215].
As per claim 2, Marquezan et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the analytics request further includes a location, and wherein the first analytics response and the second analytics response from the first NWDAF and the second NWDAF are further based on the location and an area supported by the first NWDAF and the second NWDAF [paragraph 0096].
As per claim 3, Marquezan et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the network entity comprises a central NWDAF [paragraph 0109].
As per claim 4, Marquezan et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the network entity comprises a network report function [paragraph 0119].
As per claim 5, Marquezan et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the consumer comprises one of: a core network entity, an application function, or an original equipment manufacturer [paragraph 0128].
Claims 6-10 have similar limitations as to the rejected claims above therefore they are being rejected under the same rationale.
There are prior art made of record not relied upon but is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached.
Conclusion
Ranodhi N. Serrao
/RANODHI SERRAO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444