DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PARK et al PG PUB 2022/0210868.
Re Claims 1, 19 and 20, PARK et al teaches in figure 29, a UE (memory, processor) transmitting a EDT UL data including and RAI (an indication) indicating subsequent UL data [0270]; the UE transmitting the subsequent UP data after the EDT communication wherein the subsequent communication is transmitted in a transmission occasion based at least in part on the indication [0313].
Re Claims 2, 16, PARK et al teaches the RAI indicates subsequent EDT communication.
Re Claims 3, 4, PARK et al the EDT communication includes NAS signaling [0242] such as first/second segment NAS PDU.
Re Claim 5, PARK et al teaches in figure 17 the EDT transmission includes a PDU session ID (identifier) associated with the data, and subsequent EDT communication includes a PDU session ID (an identifier) associated with the data [0234].
Re Claims 6, 13, PARK et al teaches EDT communication includes a RRC early data request message (RRC message) [0233].
Re Claim 7, PARK et al teaches in figure 27, the UE receiving DL data (a subsequent transmission) response after transmitting the EDT transmission wherein the gNB-CU determines whether to perform RRC release procedure (the subsequent transmission response).
Re Claim 9, PARK et al teaches the EDT communication includes UL RRC message transfer message [0288].
Re Claim 10, PARK et al teaches the subsequent transmission response, See figure 13B, a Msg B 1332 which includes a contention resolution identifier, RNTI to be used for the subsequent EDT transmission, uplink grant (a set of resources) to be used for the subsequent EDT transmission, and a TA command [0199].
Re Claims 11, 12, PARK et al teaches subsequent transmission response can include a plurality of multiplexed MAC PDU [0082 0278] or a single subsequent DL data transmission or MAC PDU [0278].
Re Claim 14, PARK et al teaches in figure 13A teaches a contention-based for supporting subsequent EDT communication associated with PUR (preconfigured uplink resources) [0244] wherein based on the PUR configuration [0246] which can indicate the periodicity (a periodic common uplink channel resource).
Re Claim 15, PARK et al teaches the PUR configuration can indicate a time offset (the indication) [0246] wherein based on the time offset, the UE will wait for a subsequent transmission response, prior to transmitting the subsequent EDT communication.
Re Claims 17, 18, PARK et al teaches based on the PUR fallback indication (EDT fallback) and the PUR was successful (satisfaction of an EDT fallback condition) after retransmission (after transmitting the subsequent EDT communication) [0257], the one or more successfully transmitted NAS PDUs are discarded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK et al PG PUB 2022/0210868 in view of Myrberg et al PG PUB 2026/0059463.
Re Claim 8, PARK et al fails to explicitly teach the subsequent EDT transmission in a contention-free resource indicated in the subsequent transmission response.”. However, Myrberg et al teaches the NR-Rel-17 supports contention-free resources to carry user data in RRC messages [0008]. By combining the teachings, based on the subsequent transmission response, the subsequent EDT transmission can be transmitted in the contention-free resources as supported by the NR-Rel-17. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to be consistent with the known standard. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled to have combined the teachings.
/ANDREW LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475