DETAILED ACTION
Representative Figure
Application Data
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claims 13 and 15 specify, “a drive motor that rotates the screw conveyor to convey the one or more filtered objects along the debris chute, the drive motor having a drive axis that is substantially aligned with a longitudinal axis of the screw conveyor”. Dependent claim 17 specifies, “wherein the drive assembly includes a drive motor that rotates the screw conveyor, a drive axis of the drive motor being substantially aligned with the longitudinal axis of the screw conveyor.” This language does not find basis in the originally filed disclosure.
As depicted in Applicant’s Figures 15 and 16, the motor, which is not identified with a specific reference numeral, is offset from the longitudinal axis (202) of the screw conveyor, and not “substantially aligned” therewith. Some type of non-disclosed, non-labeled transmission mechanism (e.g., gear(s) or chain drive?) conveys power from the unlabeled motor to the offset screw conveyor. The “transmission”, “motor” and the “drive axis” of the motor are called-out by Examiner aided annotations in Fig. 16 below.
Applicant’s disclosure teaches:
As can be seen in the Examiner annotated Fig. 16 above, the “drive axis” (see Examiner added double-headed arrow in Fig. 16.) of Applicant’s unlabeled motor is offset from the axis “202” of the screw conveyer. Interposed between the motor and shaft of the screw conveyor is at least one, or perhaps a plurality of components, which would necessarily increase the maintenance requirements and overall wear and tear on the receiving station, and present at least one more component that could fail. These two axes are not “substantially aligned”.
The language above added to independent claims 13 and 15, and in new dependent claim 17, does not enjoy clear, positive, antecedent basis in the originally filed disclosure. The added language constitutes prohibited new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim 1 specifies, “wherein the debris removal assembly is configured such that a drive assembly that drives the screw conveyor is substantially aligned with a longitudinal axis of the screw conveyor”.
Applicant’s disclosure teaches:
It is unclear what Applicant intends by “drive assembly” as this language appears in claim 1. Although, described at “[0059]”, reference numeral 204 (“boxed” below) nebulously or vaguely refers to an “end” of the receiving station in Figs. 15 & 16. This ambiguous disclosure of the “drive assembly” renders this language indefinite.
Independent claims 13 and 15 specify, “a drive motor that rotates the screw conveyor to the one or more filtered objects along the debris chute, the drive motor having a drive axis that is substantially aligned with a longitudinal axis of the screw conveyor”.
It is unclear what Applicant intends by “substantially aligned” and/or “drive assembly” as this language appears in independent claims 1,13,15, and new dependent claim 17. Absent an objective definition or objectively clear depiction of what “substantially aligned” and “drive assembly” intend, this language renders claims 1-17 indefinite. This language does not particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention. Consequently, a potential infringer would NOT be placed on NOTICE as to what constitutes infringement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined teachings of ScreenCo Trash Master 400 as disclosed on YouTube on the 12th of MARCH 2020 (hereinafter “YouTube”; 2 minutes and 27 seconds in length; at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7EfHEZNAr1g) and GREENROSE (U.S. 6,461,523 B1 - 2002).
YouTube discloses the claimed receiving station substantially as claimed. As Applicant, Scott Meyer owns ScreenCo, claim limitation correspondence should be self-evident. Screenshots from the video, some of which are Examiner annotated, is provided as a separate NPL document which is now cited as Screenshots from ScreenCo Trash Master 400 YouTube Video.
YouTube does not appear to disclose:
Claim 1 specifies, “wherein the debris removal assembly is configured such that a drive assembly that drives the screw conveyor is substantially aligned with a longitudinal axis of the screw conveyor”. Dependent from claim 1, claim 17 specifies, “wherein the drive assembly includes a drive motor that rotates the screw conveyor, a drive axis of the drive motor being substantially aligned with the longitudinal axis of the screw conveyor.”
Independent claims 13 and 15 specify, “a drive motor that rotates the screw conveyor to convey the one or more filtered objects along the debris chute, the drive motor having a drive axis that is substantially aligned with a longitudinal axis of the screw conveyor”.
GREENROSE discloses a separation apparatus, which employs a motor 40 (called out by Examiner added arrow below) whose drive axis is axially aligned with a longitudinal axis of the shaft of auger 38. In view of the teachings of GREENROSE, it would have been obvious to modify the system of YouTube to employ a motor whose drive axis is axially aligned with the shaft of auger of that system, in order to utilize fewer components, which would necessarily decrease the maintenance requirements and overall wear and tear on the receiving station, and present at least one fewer component that could fail, thereby improving system reliability. The modification of YouTube in view of GREENROSE is seen to meet the limitations added to claims 1,13,15 and new claim 17.
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined teachings of ScreenCo Trash Master 400 as disclosed on YouTube on the 12th of MARCH 2020 (hereinafter “YouTube”; 2 minutes and 27 seconds in length; at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7EfHEZNAr1g) and DEWAARD (U.S. 10,603,675 B2 - 2020).
YouTube discloses the claimed receiving station substantially as claimed. As Applicant, Scott Meyer owns ScreenCo, claim limitation correspondence should be self-evident. Screenshots from the video, some of which are Examiner annotated, is provided as a separate NPL document which is now cited as Screenshots from ScreenCo Trash Master 400 YouTube Video.
YouTube does not appear to disclose:
Claim 1 specifies, “wherein the debris removal assembly is configured such that a drive assembly that drives the screw conveyor is substantially aligned with a longitudinal axis of the screw conveyor”. Dependent from claim 1, claim 17 specifies, “wherein the drive assembly includes a drive motor that rotates the screw conveyor, a drive axis of the drive motor being substantially aligned with the longitudinal axis of the screw conveyor.”
Independent claims 13 and 15 specify, “a drive motor that rotates the screw conveyor to convey the one or more filtered objects along the debris chute, the drive motor having a drive axis that is substantially aligned with a longitudinal axis of the screw conveyor”.
DEWAARD discloses a separation apparatus, which employs an auger drive motor 98 (called out by Examiner added arrow below) causes rotation of the axially aligned auger shaft 94. In view of the teachings of DEWAARD, it would have been obvious to modify the system of YouTube to employ a motor whose drive axis is axially aligned with the shaft of auger of that system, in order to utilize fewer components, which would necessarily decrease the maintenance requirements and overall wear and tear on the receiving station, and present at least one fewer component that could fail, thereby improving system reliability. The modification of YouTube in view of DEWAARD is seen to meet the limitations added to claims 1,13,15 and new claim 17.
Art of Interest
Trash Master 400 Auto Screen
Screen shots taken from ScreenCo website (https://www.screencosystems.com/trash-master-400) on August 10, 2025.
Scott Meyer Linkedin Screenshot of 12 September 2025
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 27 OCTOBER 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to claim 1, Applicant argues:
With respect to independent claim 13, Applicant argues:
With respect to independent claim 15, Applicant has argued:
Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments have been effective at removing the previous 35 USC §112(b) rejections. The drawing rejections have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s clarifying remarks.
Applicant’s argument, “Because the "drive assembly that drives the screw conveyor is substantially aligned with a longitudinal axis of the screw conveyor" certain components (e.g. a U-joint or other similar drive assembly components) may be eliminated from the drive assembly, thereby reducing the maintenance requirements and overall wear and tear on the receiving station” is not well received.
As depicted in Applicant’s Figures 15 and 16, the motor, which is not identified with a specific reference numeral, is offset from the longitudinal axis (202) of the screw conveyor, and not “substantially aligned” therewith. Some type of non-disclosed, non-labeled transmission mechanism (e.g., gear(s) or chain drive?) conveys power from the unlabeled motor to the offset screw conveyor. The “transmission”, “motor” and the “drive axis” of the motor are called-out by Examiner aided annotations in Fig. 16 above. Applicant’s non-disclosed, non-labeled transmission mechanism will most certainly add maintenance burden and unreliability to the system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT J POPOVICS/ Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1776