DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in IN202441014414 on 02/28/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the IN202441014414 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. IN202341066554, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. A claim by claim analysis indicates a lack of support in the priority document for viscosity modifying agent in claims 3, and 6-8 and the compounds (cyclodextrin derivative, polyvinylpyrrolidone, hydroxypropyl cellulose, or hydroxypropyl methylcellulose or a combination thereof, wherein the aqueous solution) in claims 9-10. Thus these claims were given a priority date of 10/03/2024. The remaining claims were given a priority date of 10/04/2023.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the structures on pages 1 and 18-19 are of poor image resolution and should be replaced .
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
In chemical patent abstracts for compounds or compositions, the general nature of the compound or composition should be given as well as its use, e.g., “The compounds are of the class of alkyl benzene sulfonyl ureas, useful as oral anti-diabetics.” Exemplification of a species could be illustrative of members of the class. For processes, the type of reaction, reagents and process conditions should be stated, generally illustrated by a single example unless variations are necessary.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: the . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5, 7-8 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4-5 contain trademark/trade names: Labrasol®, Labrasol® ALF, Eudragit® L-100, Eudragit®S-100. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe caprylocaproyl Polyoxyl-8 glycerides or copolymers of methacrylic acid-methyl methacrylate and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
The parentheses used around the phrases "(Labrasol®, Labrasol® ALF, Eudragit® L-100, Eudragit®S-100)" renders the claims 4-5, 7-8 indefinite because it is not clear if this limitation is part of the claim or not. It is recommended that the parathesis are removed.
Regarding claims 7, 8, 9-10, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandge (Mandge et al., US 20240197705 A1, published 2024-06-20 , effective filing date 2022-07-27) as evidenced by technophar (STANDARD SOFTGEL CAPSULE SHAPES AND SIZES, accessed 2026).
The reference Mandge teaches a motivation to find suitable liquid oral compositions of Apixaban to overcome the problem of low water solubility and to provide optimal “content uniformity” while optimizing for taste “Furthermore, drugs that have a low solubility in water, and particularly drugs that are practically insoluble in water (for example drugs having a water solubility at 25° C. of about 100 mg/l or less), present challenges to the preparation of pharmaceutical formulations. In particular, achieving an acceptable dissolution rate and oral bioavailability can be difficult. Apixaban, in common with some other direct factor Xa inhibitors, is practically insoluble in water (i.e. 0.04 mg/mL), and moreover has a low solubility in many organic solvents, including ethanol, and hence presents significant challenges to formulators. Additionally, as apixaban exhibits low water solubility, mixture with conventional excipients could prove to be difficult due to issues such as unpredictable dissolution rates, irregular bioavailability, or instability. Accordingly, a suitable and robust pharmaceutical composition which can overcome the above problems is the current need. Liquid oral formulations, generally provide optimal “content uniformity”. However, an unpleasant, strong and bitter taste of active ingredient in such formulations may lead to poor compliance or even non-compliance of the patient towards treatment and thus might have a negative impact on the efficiency of treatment. Although the taste can be masked using excipients such as sweeteners, flavors, or taste masking agents, it is desirable to minimize the use of such additional excipients for formulating oral liquid formulations. There continues to be a need for developing superior formulations which can solubilize and stabilize apixaban, provide adequate bioavailability, and ultimately deliver the active ingredient to the appropriate target within the human body”[0006-0008].
The reference Mandge teaches “Non-limiting examples of mono or polyhydric alcohols that can be used as solubilizing agents are glycerin, methanol, ethanol, n-octanol, i-octanol, octadecanol, 1,6-hexanediol, ethylene glycol, propylene glycol, neopentyl glycol, thiodiethylene glycol, diethylene glycol, triethylene glycol or mixtures thereof. In a preferred embodiment, the concentration of mono or polyhydric alcohol ranges from about 0.1% to about 95%, based on total weight of the pharmaceutical composition”[0089].
The reference Mandge teaches “A “carrier system” herein comprises a component in which apixaban is homogeneously distributed therein. In a preferred embodiment, the drug-carrier system is encapsulated within a capsule shell that is suitable for oral administration. The carrier is “aqueous” or “non-aqueous” or “substantially non-aqueous” i.e., having no water, or in an amount of 0% to less than about 5% by weight”[0039] and “In some embodiments, one or more “oil” may be used as a solubilizing agent. The term “oil” as used herein means an agent that functions as a non-aqueous solvent or solubility enhancing agent, particularly depending on the amount of oil used in inventive compositions as described herein. More specifically, oils may include, for example and without limitation, medium-chain fatty acids, medium-chain fatty acid esters of glycerol (e.g. mono, di or triglyceride), medium-chain fatty acid esters of polyethylene glycol, medium-chain fatty acid esters of propylene glycol, long chain fatty acids, long-chain fatty acid esters of glycerol (e.g. mono, di or triglyceride), long-chain fatty acid esters of polyethylene glycol, long-chain fatty acid esters of propylene glycol or combinations thereof. The term “medium-chain” is used to describe the aliphatic chain length of fatty acid containing molecules. The term “medium-chain” as used herein means any medium-chain carbon-containing (i.e., C.sub.4-C.sub.12 containing) substance, including C.sub.4-C.sub.12 fatty acid esters of glycerol, fatty acids, and mono-, di-, and tri-glycerides of such substances. …In a preferred embodiment, the concentration of “oil” ranges from about 0.1% to about 95%, based on total weight of the pharmaceutical composition. Pharmaceutically acceptable medium chain oils include, without limitation, polyethylene glycol glyceride (Labrasol® ALF and Gelucire®); a caprylic/capric triglyceride; ….”[0084-0086].
The reference Mandge teaches “In an aspect of the invention, a pharmaceutical composition is provided comprising a fill material encapsulated in a capsule shell, wherein the fill material comprises: apixaban and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier system, wherein fill material is in the form of a liquid, wherein apixaban is uniformly dissolved or solubilized in the pharmaceutically acceptable carrier system and wherein the fill material comprises from about 0.5 mg to about 50 mg of apixaban”[0021] and “ The size of the capsule shell typically ranges from about 3 minim to about 22 minim, preferably from about 8 minim to about 20 minim, and more preferably from about 10 minim to about 18 minim” [0043]. The reference technophar provides evidence that a 10 minim to 18 minim volume is the same volume as 0.616-1.109 cc. Since 1 cc is equal to 1 mL; the volume would be about 0.616-1.109 mL. Converting 0.5mg apixaban divided by 0.616 mL gives 0.812 mg/mL at the lower range of the prefer concentration and the upper range would be 50mg / 1.109mL= 45 mg/mL. Thus this reference would make obvious concentrations between 0.812 mg/mL-45 mg/mL apixaban.
This helps to teach claims 1-4.
The reference Mandge teaches “In some embodiments, one or more phospholipid surfactant may be used as a surfactant. Exemplary phospholipids used in the present inventive compositions are lecithin, phosphatidylcholine (PC), lysophosphatidylcholine (LPC), phosphatidylethanolamine (PE), distearoylphosphatidylcholine (DSPC), phosphatidylserine (PS), phosphatidylglycerol (PG), phosphatidic acid (PA), phosphatidylinositol (PI), sphingomyelin (SPM) or a combination thereof. In another embodiment, the phospholipid surfactant may be Phosal® which comprises, phosphatidylcholine, lysophosphatidylcholine, mono- and diglycerides from sunflower oil, soy fatty acids, ethanol, and ascorbyl palmitate. In a preferred embodiment, the concentration of phospholipid surfactant ranges from about 0.1% to about 95%, based on total weight of the pharmaceutical composition.” [0083]
This helps to teach claims 5-6.
The reference Mandge teaches “The present invention involves the use of a solubilizing agent for solubilization of the active ingredient (i.e. apixaban). However, apixaban may crystallize over time resulting in loss of desired properties and shortened shelf life. The present invention uses “crystallization inhibitors” in order to promote the physical stability of apixaban in the final encapsulated solution. The term “crystallization inhibitors” as used herein, inhibits the crystallization of the active ingredient thereby making the formulation physically stable for a longer period of time. As crystallization inhibitors, highly dispersed silicon dioxide or macromolecular substances are suitable. Illustrative macromolecular substances include, but are not limited to, for example, polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP), polyvinyl alcohol, hydroxypropyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, ethyl cellulose, sodium carboxymethylcellulose, gelatin, starch (derivatives), copolymers of vinyl acetate and of vinylpyrrolidone, polyethylene glycols, benzyl alcohol, mannitol, glycerine, sorbitol, lecithin or polyoxyethylenated esters of sorbitan; or dextrins and dextrans (such as, for example, α-, β- and γ-cyclodextrin, dimethyl-β-cyclodextrin and 2-hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin), sterols (such as cholesterol) or bile acids (such as cholic acid or lithocholic acid) can be used. The preferred crystallization inhibitors in the present invention are polyvinylpyrrolidones and glycerine. In a preferred embodiment, the concentration of crystallization inhibitors ranges from about 0.1% to about 95%, based on total weight of the pharmaceutical composition”[0091].
This helps to teach claims 7-8.
The reference Mandge teaches “The pharmaceutical composition of the present invention may contain a “stabilizing agent” or “stabilizer”. The terms “stabilizing agent” or “stabilizer” as used herein inhibits, prevents, slows down, or reduces the degradation of apixaban. More specifically, stabilizing agents include amino acids such as glycine, alanine, glutamate, sodium glutamate, L-arginine, lysine, L-cysteine or methionine; sodium chloride or sodium sulfate salts; ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid (EDTA), metal ions such as zinc, magnesium and calcium or mixtures thereof; natural or synthetic gums, cellulosic derivatives such as carboxy methyl cellulose, ethyl cellulose, hydroxyethyl cellulose, hydroxyl propyl cellulose, hydroxyl propyl methylcellulose, methyl cellulose, polyanionic cellulose; cyclodextrins; …”[0094] and “In an embodiment, a phyarmaceutical composition is provided comprising a fill material encapsulated in a capsule shell, wherein the fill material comprises (a) apixaban and (b) a solubilizing agent selected from the group consisting of surfactants, oils, wetting agents, polyethylene glycols, polyhydric alcohols, cyclodextrins or mixtures thereof; and wherein the capsule shell comprises (a) a shell forming polymer, (b) a plasticizer, and (c) a solvent”[0098].
This helps to teach claims 9-10.
The reference Mandge does not teach a specific embodiment of the instant claims instead the reference requires picking and choosing from multiple variables.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified Mandge to achieve a composition for oral liquid of apixaban of the instant invention because all required compounds and concentrations are suggested by the reference. One would be motivated to explore different compositions of apixaban to improve solubility, dissolution rates, irregular bioavailability, stability, and taste. One would have a reasonable expectation of success because all indicated compounds are suggested alternatives to be combined with apixaban. It must be remembered that “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious”. KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S,Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). “[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious”, the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007). The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742.
Conclusion
Claims 1-10 are rejected.
/A.A.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627