DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
No information disclosure statement (IDS) is submitted.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 10/03/2024 are accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newton et al. (US Pub No. 2017/0161239, hereinafter “Newton”) in view of Tsai et al. (US Pub No. 2012/0075490, hereinafter “Tsai”).
Regarding claim 1, Newton does disclose, a method comprising: receiving, using a browser module of a computing device, a first webpage of a website from an application server, wherein the first webpage is associated with a content element (Newton, (para. [0085] and figure 6B), in block 645, process 600 begins when the browser 100 access Web page 30 and initiates action to load and render the contents of the Web page 30); receiving, using the browser module, a video from the application server, wherein the video is associated with the content element and a digital rights management technology; forming, using the browser module, a HyperText Markup Language (HTML) element including the video; outputting, using the browser module, at least a portion of the first webpage to a display screen associated with the computing device (Newton, (para. [0066]), the module 275 then receives a selected advertisement and provides the selected advertisement to be served with the Web page 30; (para. [0013]), where the Web page includes a 30-seconds long video advertisement, the entire video advertisement may be rendered and begin playing automatically when the Web page is rendered);
storing, using a storage component of the computing device, the outputted video (Newton, (para. [0045]), the cache 110 (i.e. storage component) stores information related to delayed behavior content segments, such as video and rich media advertisements. … (para. [0086]), the content segment storage and fetch module 220 retrieves the content segment from the cache 110 and the browser 100 renders the retrieved content segment in the designated area and activates the content segment (e.g., begins playing the video/audio content)).
Newton does not explicitly disclose but the analogous art Tsai discloses, outputting, using an operating system of the computing device, the video of the HTML element to the display screen, wherein the video is configured to be overlaid on the at least a portion of the first webpage on the display screen (Tsai, (para. [0184]), an advertisements field 1412 can be configured to display advertisements that are related to the items mentioned or depicted in the active window 1401. Content providers and their advertisers can provide up-to-date information on products, specials or other items to the viewer of the content, and can tailor this information based on known user information. In certain embodiments, broadcast or multicast advertising can be associated with one or more of the videos to overlay dynamic content, e.g. time-sensitive information or specials (such as a special sale on a related product or service; (para. [0176), where a request operation 1306 corresponds to receipt of a request for the multimedia content).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Newton by including the video is configured to be overlaid on the at least a portion of the first webpage on the display screen taught by Tsai for the advantage of improving the likelihood that each object of interest will in fact induce the content consumer to act (Tsai, (para. [0200])).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Newton-Tsai does disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the video includes an image frame representing the content element (Newton, (para. [0026]), the browser may render and activate a first frame of the advertisement in the designated area), and wherein the content element represents sensitive information (Tsai, (para. [0184]), broadcast or multicast advertising can be associated with one or more of the videos to overlay dynamic content, e.g. time-sensitive information or specials).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Newton-Tsai does disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the video includes a transparent image frame and the content element includes sensitive information (Newton, (para. [0026]), the browser may render and activate a first frame of the advertisement in the designated area where transparent frame is well known in the art), and wherein the method further comprises: outputting, using the operating system of the computing device, the content element to the display screen, wherein the video is configured to be overlaid on the content element on the display screen, and wherein the content element is configured to be merged with, or overlaid on, the at least a portion of the first webpage on the display screen; and storing, using the storage component, the outputted content element (Tsai, (para. [0184]), an advertisements field 1412 can be configured to display advertisements that are related to the items mentioned or depicted in the active window 1401. Content providers and their advertisers can provide up-to-date information on products, specials or other items to the viewer of the content, and can tailor this information based on known user information. In certain embodiments, broadcast or multicast advertising can be associated with one or more of the videos to overlay dynamic content, e.g. time-sensitive information or specials (such as a special sale on a related product or service).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Newton-Tsai does disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the storage component includes a cache (Newton, (para. [0045]), the cache 110 (i.e. storage component) stores information related to delayed behavior content segments, such as video and rich media advertisements).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Newton-Tsai does disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting, using the browser module, an invalidation action associated with the content element (Newton, (para. [0087]), in block 690, the module 250 coordinate tracking module 210 signals the module 250 as to whether the designated area remains visible. In block 690, if the designated area is visible, the process 640 returns to block 680. In block 680, if the content segment resumes playing, the counter may resume. However, if in block 690, the designated area is not visible, the process 640 moves to block 695).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Newton-Tsai does disclose the method of claim 5, wherein the video includes an image frame representing the content element, and wherein the method further comprises: deleting, using the storage component, the video in response to detecting the invalidation action (Newton, (para. [0088]), in block 695, the module 250 determines if the browser 100 has received a close command. If the browser 100 is open, the process 640 moves to block 660. If the browser 100 has received a close command, the process 640 moves to block 698 and the module 250 reports any recorded impressions and the process 640 then ends).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Newton-Tsai does disclose the method of claim 5, wherein the video includes a transparent image frame and the content element includes sensitive information, and wherein the method further comprises: outputting, using the operating system of the computing device, the content element to the display screen, wherein the video is configured to be overlaid on the content element on the display screen, and wherein the content element is configured to be merged with, or overlaid on, the at least a portion of the first webpage on the display screen (Tsai, (para. [0184]), an advertisements field 1412 can be configured to display advertisements that are related to the items mentioned or depicted in the active window 1401. Content providers and their advertisers can provide up-to-date information on products, specials or other items to the viewer of the content, and can tailor this information based on known user information. In certain embodiments, broadcast or multicast advertising can be associated with one or more of the videos to overlay dynamic content, e.g. time-sensitive information or specials (such as a special sale on a related product or service); storing, using the storage component, the content element prior to detecting the invalidation action associated with the content element (Newton, (para. [0087]), in block 690, the module 250 coordinate tracking module 210 signals the module 250 as to whether the designated area remains visible. In block 690, if the designated area is visible, the process 640 returns to block 680. In block 680, if the content segment resumes playing, the counter may resume. However, if in block 690, the designated area is not visible, the process 640 moves to block 695); and deleting, using the storage component, the content element in response to detecting the invalidation action (Newton, (para. [0088]), in block 695, the module 250 determines if the browser 100 has received a close command. If the browser 100 is open, the process 640 moves to block 660. If the browser 100 has received a close command, the process 640 moves to block 698 and the module 250 reports any recorded impressions and the process 640 then ends).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Newton-Tsai does disclose the method of claim 5, wherein detecting, using the browser module, the invalidation action associated with the content element comprises: detecting that the content element is out of date; detecting that a time period associated with the website has expired; or detecting that a user associated with the computing device has logged off the website (Newton, (para. [0088]), in block 685, if the played segment length is greater than or equal to the minimum required length, the process 640 moves to block 695. In block 695, the module 250 determines if the browser 100 has received a close command. If the browser 100 is open, the process 640 moves to block 660. If the browser 100 has received a close command, the process 640 moves to block 698 and the module 250 reports any recorded impressions and the process 640 then end).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Newton-Tsai does disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: monitoring, using the browser module, for an invalidation action associated with the content element (Newton, (para. [0087]), in block 690, the module 250 coordinate tracking module 210 signals the module 250 as to whether the designated area remains visible. In block 690, if the designated area is visible, the process 640 returns to block 680. In block 680, if the content segment resumes playing, the counter may resume. However, if in block 690, the designated area is not visible, the process 640 moves to block 695).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Newton-Tsai does disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: outputting, using the browser module, at least a portion of a second webpage of the website to the display screen subsequent to outputting the video of the HTML element to the display screen (Newton, (para. [0085] and figure 6B), in block 645, process 600 begins when the browser 100 access Web page 30 and initiates action to load and render the contents of the Web page 30); retrieving, using the browser module, the first webpage of the website subsequent to outputting the at least a portion of the second webpage of the website to the display screen (Newton, (para. [0045]), the cache 110 (i.e. storage component) stores information related to delayed behavior content segments, such as video and rich media advertisements); determining, using the browser module, whether the video associated with the content element is stored in the storage component responsive to retrieving the first webpage of the website (Newton, (para. [0045]), the cache 110 (i.e. storage component) stores information related to delayed behavior content segments, such as video and rich media advertisements); upon determining that the video associated with the content element is stored in the storage component, retrieving, using the browser module, the video associated with the content element from the storage component; outputting, using the browser module, at least a portion of the retrieved first webpage to the display screen (Newton, (para. [0066]), the module 275 then receives a selected advertisement and provides the selected advertisement to be served with the Web page 30; (para. [0013]), where the Web page includes a 30-seconds long video advertisement, the entire video advertisement may be rendered and begin playing automatically when the Web page is rendered); and outputting, using the operating system, the retrieved video to the display screen, wherein the retrieved video is configured to be overlaid on the at least a portion of the retrieved first webpage on the display screen (Tsai, (para. [0184]), an advertisements field 1412 can be configured to display advertisements that are related to the items mentioned or depicted in the active window 1401. Content providers and their advertisers can provide up-to-date information on products, specials or other items to the viewer of the content, and can tailor this information based on known user information. In certain embodiments, broadcast or multicast advertising can be associated with one or more of the videos to overlay dynamic content, e.g. time-sensitive information or specials (such as a special sale on a related product or service; (para. [0176), where a request operation 1306 corresponds to receipt of a request for the multimedia content).
Regarding claim 11, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 1. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 12, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 2. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 13, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 3. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 14, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 4. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 15, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 5. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 16, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 6. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 17, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 7. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 18, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 8. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Newton-Tsai does disclose the system of claim 11, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving, using the browser module, a video associated with the content element but not the digital rights management technology, wherein the video is configured to block the computing device from copying the content element when the video is played on the display screen (Newton, (para. [0060]), the scroll block module 230 may disable browser scrolling or minimization that would preclude viewing of an activated content segment until the segment has played a sufficient time to count as an impression where blocking content copying or copy protection is well known in the art).
Regarding claim 20, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 1. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent No. 10,972,809, “the system may generate, by the MTS, the delivery package based at least in part on executing the one or more transformation modules. In some embodiments, the set of transformation modules of the MTS may include: (1) an overlay module, (2) a stitching module, (3) a color space transformation module, and (4) an audio muxing module. The overlay module may overlay timed text and/or image content on a video file content of the video type that is one of the source files of the source package. The stitching module may insert interstitial video content of the interstitial video type at a location with the video content, or remove another interstitial video content from the video content. The color space transformation module may perform at least one of transforming the video content from a first color space to a second color space, or transforming the video from a first display resolution to a second display resolution. The audio muxing module may map an audio track (e.g., an alternate audio track of the audio track type) to the video content. As described herein, the one or more modules may be used to perform different kinds of transformations on source files of the source package. In some non-limiting examples of use cases, the overlay module may be used to overlay portions of video frames with image content to cover sensitive content”.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MORSHED MEHEDI whose telephone number is (571) 270-7640. The examiner can normally be reached on M - F, 8:00 am to 4:00 pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Linglan Edwards can be reach on (571) 270-5440. The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/MORSHED MEHEDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2408