DETAILED ACTION
This office action has been issued in response to arguments/amendments filed on 04/15/2026. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/15/2026 has been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Form PTO-1449 is signed and attached hereto.
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments/amendments regarding the rejection of claims 1-20, filed on 04/15/2026 as recited in pages 10-12, have been fully considered but arguments are moot because newly added limitation to the claim (s) requires a new ground of rejection necessitated by amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newton et al. (US Pub No. 2017/0161239, hereinafter “Newton”) in view of Tsai et al. (US Pub No. 2012/0075490, hereinafter “Tsai”), further in view of Elsner et al. (US Pub No. 2023/0353802, hereinafter “Elsner”).
Regarding claim 1, Newton does disclose, a method comprising: receiving, using a browser module of a computing device, a first webpage of a website from an application server, wherein the first webpage is associated with a content element (Newton, (para. [0085] and figure 6B), in block 645, process 600 begins when the browser 100 access Web page 30 and initiates action to load and render the contents of the Web page 30); receiving, using the browser module, a [Digital Rights Management (“DRM”)-protected] video from the application server, wherein the [DRM-protected] video is associated with the content element DRM-protected] video; Newton, (para. [0066]), the module 275 then receives a selected advertisement and provides the selected advertisement to be served with the Web page 30; (para. [0013]), where the Web page includes a 30-seconds long video advertisement, the entire video advertisement may be rendered and begin playing automatically when the Web page is rendered);
causing, using the browser module, to store the outputted [DRM-protected] video (Newton, (para. [0045]), the cache 110 (i.e. storage component) stores information related to delayed behavior content segments, such as video and rich media advertisements. … (para. [0086]), the content segment storage and fetch module 220 retrieves the content segment from the cache 110 and the browser 100 renders the retrieved content segment in the designated area and activates the content segment (e.g., begins playing the video/audio content)).
Newton does not explicitly disclose but the analogous art Tsai discloses, causing, using the browser module, to output the [DRM-protected] video of the HTML element to [[the]] a display screen, wherein the [DRM-protected] video is configured to be overlaid on [[the]] at least a portion of the first webpage caused to be outputted via [[on]] the display screen (Tsai, (para. [0184]), an advertisements field 1412 can be configured to display advertisements that are related to the items mentioned or depicted in the active window 1401. Content providers and their advertisers can provide up-to-date information on products, specials or other items to the viewer of the content, and can tailor this information based on known user information. In certain embodiments, broadcast or multicast advertising can be associated with one or more of the videos to overlay dynamic content, e.g. time-sensitive information or specials (such as a special sale on a related product or service; (para. [0176), where a request operation 1306 corresponds to receipt of a request for the multimedia content).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Newton by including the video is configured to be overlaid on the at least a portion of the first webpage on the display screen taught by Tsai for the advantage of improving the likelihood that each object of interest will in fact induce the content consumer to act (Tsai, (para. [0200])).
However, Newton-Tsai does not explicitly disclose but the analogous art Elsner discloses, DRM-protected video (Elsner, (para. [0252]), each client-side network node needs to negotiate its own key exchange in order to playback or view DRM controlled content. That means when the leader wants followers to play a video which is DRM protected, the client-side network nodes stop co-browsing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Newton-Tsai by including DRM-protected video taught by Elsner for the advantage of efficiently broadcasts the web applications, the webpages and/or the videos from the server-side network node (or the server node) to the client-side network nodes (Elsner, (para. [0120])).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Newton-Tsai-Elsner does disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the DRM-protected video includes an image frame representing the content element (Newton, (para. [0026]), the browser may render and activate a first frame of the advertisement in the designated area), and wherein the content element represents sensitive information (Tsai, (para. [0184]), broadcast or multicast advertising can be associated with one or more of the videos to overlay dynamic content, e.g. time-sensitive information or specials).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Newton-Tsai-Elsner does disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the video includes a transparent image frame and the content element includes sensitive information (Newton, (para. [0026]), the browser may render and activate a first frame of the advertisement in the designated area where transparent frame is well known in the art), and wherein the method further comprises: outputting, using the operating system of the computing device, the content element to the display screen, wherein the DRM-protected video is configured to be overlaid on the content element on the display screen, and wherein the content element is configured to be merged with, or overlaid on, the at least a portion of the first webpage on the display screen; and storing, using the storage component, the outputted content element (Tsai, (para. [0184]), an advertisements field 1412 can be configured to display advertisements that are related to the items mentioned or depicted in the active window 1401. Content providers and their advertisers can provide up-to-date information on products, specials or other items to the viewer of the content, and can tailor this information based on known user information. In certain embodiments, broadcast or multicast advertising can be associated with one or more of the videos to overlay dynamic content, e.g. time-sensitive information or specials (such as a special sale on a related product or service).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Newton-Tsai-Elsner does disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the storage component includes a cache (Newton, (para. [0045]), the cache 110 (i.e. storage component) stores information related to delayed behavior content segments, such as video and rich media advertisements).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Newton-Tsai-Elsner does disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting, using the browser module, an invalidation action associated with the content element (Newton, (para. [0087]), in block 690, the module 250 coordinate tracking module 210 signals the module 250 as to whether the designated area remains visible. In block 690, if the designated area is visible, the process 640 returns to block 680. In block 680, if the content segment resumes playing, the counter may resume. However, if in block 690, the designated area is not visible, the process 640 moves to block 695).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Newton-Tsai-Elsner does disclose the method of claim 5, wherein the DRM-protected video includes an image frame representing the content element, and wherein the method further comprises: deleting, using the storage component, the video in response to detecting the invalidation action (Newton, (para. [0088]), in block 695, the module 250 determines if the browser 100 has received a close command. If the browser 100 is open, the process 640 moves to block 660. If the browser 100 has received a close command, the process 640 moves to block 698 and the module 250 reports any recorded impressions and the process 640 then ends).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Newton-Tsai-Elsner does disclose the method of claim 5, wherein the DRM-protected video includes a transparent image frame and the content element includes sensitive information, and wherein the method further comprises: outputting, using the operating system of the computing device, the content element to the display screen, wherein the DRM-protected video is configured to be overlaid on the content element on the display screen, and wherein the content element is configured to be merged with, or overlaid on, the at least a portion of the first webpage on the display screen (Tsai, (para. [0184]), an advertisements field 1412 can be configured to display advertisements that are related to the items mentioned or depicted in the active window 1401. Content providers and their advertisers can provide up-to-date information on products, specials or other items to the viewer of the content, and can tailor this information based on known user information. In certain embodiments, broadcast or multicast advertising can be associated with one or more of the videos to overlay dynamic content, e.g. time-sensitive information or specials (such as a special sale on a related product or service); storing, using the storage component, the content element prior to detecting the invalidation action associated with the content element (Newton, (para. [0087]), in block 690, the module 250 coordinate tracking module 210 signals the module 250 as to whether the designated area remains visible. In block 690, if the designated area is visible, the process 640 returns to block 680. In block 680, if the content segment resumes playing, the counter may resume. However, if in block 690, the designated area is not visible, the process 640 moves to block 695); and deleting, using the storage component, the content element in response to detecting the invalidation action (Newton, (para. [0088]), in block 695, the module 250 determines if the browser 100 has received a close command. If the browser 100 is open, the process 640 moves to block 660. If the browser 100 has received a close command, the process 640 moves to block 698 and the module 250 reports any recorded impressions and the process 640 then ends).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Newton-Tsai-Elsner does disclose the method of claim 5, wherein detecting, using the browser module, the invalidation action associated with the content element comprises: detecting that the content element is out of date; detecting that a time period associated with the website has expired; or detecting that a user associated with the computing device has logged off the website (Newton, (para. [0088]), in block 685, if the played segment length is greater than or equal to the minimum required length, the process 640 moves to block 695. In block 695, the module 250 determines if the browser 100 has received a close command. If the browser 100 is open, the process 640 moves to block 660. If the browser 100 has received a close command, the process 640 moves to block 698 and the module 250 reports any recorded impressions and the process 640 then end).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Newton-Tsai-Elsner does disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: monitoring, using the browser module, for an invalidation action associated with the content element (Newton, (para. [0087]), in block 690, the module 250 coordinate tracking module 210 signals the module 250 as to whether the designated area remains visible. In block 690, if the designated area is visible, the process 640 returns to block 680. In block 680, if the content segment resumes playing, the counter may resume. However, if in block 690, the designated area is not visible, the process 640 moves to block 695).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Newton-Tsai-Elsner does disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: outputting, using the browser module, at least a portion of a second webpage of the website to the display screen subsequent to outputting the DRM-protected video of the HTML element to the display screen (Newton, (para. [0085] and figure 6B), in block 645, process 600 begins when the browser 100 access Web page 30 and initiates action to load and render the contents of the Web page 30); retrieving, using the browser module, the first webpage of the website subsequent to outputting the at least a portion of the second webpage of the website to the display screen (Newton, (para. [0045]), the cache 110 (i.e. storage component) stores information related to delayed behavior content segments, such as video and rich media advertisements); determining, using the browser module, whether the DRM-protected video associated with the content element is stored in the storage component responsive to retrieving the first webpage of the website (Newton, (para. [0045]), the cache 110 (i.e. storage component) stores information related to delayed behavior content segments, such as video and rich media advertisements); upon determining that the DRM-protected video associated with the content element is stored in the storage component, retrieving, using the browser module, the DRM-protected video associated with the content element from the storage component; outputting, using the browser module, at least a portion of the retrieved first webpage to the display screen (Newton, (para. [0066]), the module 275 then receives a selected advertisement and provides the selected advertisement to be served with the Web page 30; (para. [0013]), where the Web page includes a 30-seconds long video advertisement, the entire video advertisement may be rendered and begin playing automatically when the Web page is rendered); and outputting, using the operating system, the retrieved DRM-protected video to the display screen, wherein the retrieved DRM-protected video is configured to be overlaid on the at least a portion of the retrieved first webpage on the display screen (Tsai, (para. [0184]), an advertisements field 1412 can be configured to display advertisements that are related to the items mentioned or depicted in the active window 1401. Content providers and their advertisers can provide up-to-date information on products, specials or other items to the viewer of the content, and can tailor this information based on known user information. In certain embodiments, broadcast or multicast advertising can be associated with one or more of the videos to overlay dynamic content, e.g. time-sensitive information or specials (such as a special sale on a related product or service; (para. [0176), where a request operation 1306 corresponds to receipt of a request for the multimedia content).
Regarding claim 11, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 1. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 12, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 2. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 13, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 3. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 14, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 4. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 15, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 5. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 16, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 6. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 17, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 7. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 18, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 8. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Newton-Tsai-Elsner does disclose the system of claim 11, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving, using the browser module, a non-DRM-protected video associated with the content element non-DRM-protected video is configured to block the computing device from copying the content element when the video is played on the display screen (Newton, (para. [0060]), the scroll block module 230 may disable browser scrolling or minimization that would preclude viewing of an activated content segment until the segment has played a sufficient time to count as an impression where blocking content copying or copy protection is well known in the art); and causing, using the browser module, the operating system of the computing device to output one or both of the DRM-protected video and the non-DRM-protected video (Elsner, (para. [0252, 0023]), each client-side network node needs to negotiate its own key exchange in order to playback or view DRM controlled content. That means when the leader wants followers to play a video which is DRM protected, the client-side network nodes stop co-browsing).
Regarding claim 20, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 1. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MORSHED MEHEDI whose telephone number is (571) 270-7640. The examiner can normally be reached on M - F, 8:00 am to 4:00 pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Linglan Edwards can be reach on (571) 270-5440. The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from their Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (In USA or Canada) or 571-272-1000.
/MORSHED MEHEDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2408