Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-14) in the reply filed on June 26, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the validity of the Restriction Requirement. This is not found persuasive because the process of group II can be practiced by another and materially different apparatus or by hand, such as a system without an engaging means, and/or placement of the dough by hand. Claims 15-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on June 26, 2026.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
The claim to priority to NL 2035961, filed on October 5, 2023 is acknowledged in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on September 9, 2025 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “”Device for spacing” in line 1 should be changed to “A device for spacing”
Claim 1 recites “At least one engagement” in line 3 should be changed to “at least one engagement”
Claims 2-14 recites “Device according to” in lime 1 should be changed to “The device according to”
Claims 1, 5, 7, 11, 13-14 recites “said/the engagement means” should be changed to “the at least one engagement means”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “at least one engagement means” in claims 1, 5, 7 and 9-14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 5, 7, 11 and 13-14 recites “the/said engagement means” renders the claims indefinite and unclear which one of the “at least one engagement means” is being referred to.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the starting point" and “the end point” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukugami et al. (US Pub. 2018/0116229).
Regarding claim 1, Fukugami et al. discloses an apparatus for aligning and positioning pieces of food dough having a device (1, Fig. 1-2) for spacing dough pieces (D1, Fig. 1) positioned adjacently in a length direction on a carrier (6, 7, Fig. 1-2) that extends in a length and a width direction, comprising: at least one engagement means (a holding unit 2 with a plurality of holding mechanism 35, Fig. 1, 3, 5 and 6) for a dough piece (D2), the at least one engagement means (35) movable between: a position engaging at least one dough piece (D1, Fig. 1) and position releasing the at least one dough piece (D2, Fig. 1); configured for: (a) moving to the position engaging at least one dough piece (D1, Fig. 1); (b) moving the at least one dough piece (D1) in the length direction relative to the carrier (6, 7, Fig. 1-2); (c) moving the at least one dough piece in the width direction relative to the carrier; (d) moving to the position releasing the at least one dough piece (D2) (Fig. 1-3, 5-6 and 9-12).
Regarding claim 2, Fukugami et al. discloses (e) rotating the at least one dough piece (From D1 to D2, Fig. 1 and 11-12) to a predetermined final orientation during movement in a length and/or width direction.
Regarding claim 3, Fukugami et al. discloses repeating step (a) to (e) for each subsequent dough piece (D1, Fig. 1) positioned adjacently in a length direction on the carrier (6), wherein step (e) comprises alternately rotating subsequent dough pieces (D2) clockwise and counterclockwise and wherein step (c) comprises moving each subsequent dough piece in a first direction in a first direction in the width direction an a second direction in the width direction, opposite to the first direction (Fig. 11-12).
Regarding claim 4, Fukugami et al. discloses configured for simultaneously performing at least two of steps (b), (c) and (e) (Fig. 1 and 9-12).
Regarding claim 5, Fukugami et al. discloses the carrier comprises a first conveyor (6, Fig. 1-2), configured for transporting the dough pieces (D1, Fig. 1) in a length direction, wherein the at least one engaging means (35) are configured to perform at least steps (b), (c), and (e) with the first conveyor (6) moving in the length direction (Fig. 1 and 9-12).
Regarding claim 7, Fukugami et al. discloses the at least engaging means (holding unit 2 with a plurality of holding mechanism 35, Fig. 1-3, 5 and 6) are coupled to a drive system (pulleys 85, 86 and endless belt 87) for moving the at least one engaging means from a starting point to an end point in the length direction while in the position engaging a dough piece and subsequently moving the at least one engaging means from the end point back to the starting point while in the position that releases the at least one dough piece and wherein the device is configured for carrying out steps b), c) and e) between the starting point and the end point (Fig. 2-3).
Regarding claim 9, Fukugami et al. discloses several engaging means (35, Fig. 2-3), arranged one behind the other in the length direction for gripping successive dough pieced (d1, d2) (Fig. 1-3).
Regarding claim 12, Fukugami et al. discloses several engaging means (35, Fig. 2-3), arranged next to each other in the width direction for gripping dough pieces located in parallel rows extending in the length direction (Par. 109; Fig.1 and 7).
Regarding claim 13, Fukugami et al. discloses the device configured for displacing the at least one engaging means (35) with at least one directional component directed towards the transport surface; for moving the at least one engaging means from the position releasing the at least one dough piece to the position engaging the at least one dough piece (D1, D2) (drive system with pulleys 85, 86 and endless belt 87; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Fukugami et al. discloses the at least one engagement means (35) are provided with a mechanical operating member (two rails member 49 with three sliders 40, 41 and 41; Fig. 5) for moving the at least one dough piece in the width direction relative to the carrier (6, 7) and wherein the device is provided with a guide (rail 49) that is configured for operating the operating member by mechanical contact during movement of the at least one engaging means (35).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukugami et al. (US Pub. 2018/0116229) in view of Kuwabara et al. (US Pat. 9,408,398).
Regarding claim 6, Fukugami et al. discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above including the carrier comprises a second conveyor (7, Fig. 1-2), arranged in a length direction downstream adjacent to the first conveyor (6, Fig. 1-2) and configured for transporting the dough pieces (D2, Fig. 1) in length direction during use except the second conveyor during use at a higher speed than the first conveyor. Kuwabara et al. discloses the second conveyor (20) during use at a higher speed than the first conveyor (10) (Fig. 4; Col. 7, Lines 13-16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Fukugami, the second conveyor during use at a higher speed than the first conveyor, as taught by Kuwabara et al., for the purpose of separating the dough pieces faster at downstream conveyor, so the rows of the pieces that are translocated to the downstream conveyor are conveyed in the conveying direction with a predetermined interval between the rows.
Regarding claim 8, Fukugami et al. discloses a starting point is above the first conveyor (6, Fig. 2) and an end point is above the second conveyor (7) (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Kuwabara et al. discloses respective subsequent engaging means (40, Fig. 1 and 3-4) in the longitudinal direction are alternately configured for rotating a piece of dough (D1) in a first direction of rotation and moving the piece of dough in a first direction in the width direction, respectively for rotating a next piece of dough in a second direction opposite to the first direction and moving the piece of dough in a second direction opposite to the first side (Fig. 4).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukugami et al. (US Pub. 2018/0116229) in view of Scalzeri (EP 2277809).
Regarding claim 11, Fukugami et al. discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above including a placed rotation for supporting the at least one engagement means (35, Fig. 6), for both displacing the at least one engagement means in the length and width directions during rotation of the at least one engagement means except an eccentrically placed rotation point for supporting the at least one engagement means, for both displacing the at least one engagement means in the length and width directions during rotation of the at least one engagement means. Scalzeri discloses an eccentrically placed rotation point (101, Fig. 3) for supporting the at least one engagement means (8), for both displacing the at least one engagement means (8) in the length and width directions during rotation of the at least one engagement means (8) (Abstract; Par. 25, 36, 59; Claim 1; Fig. 3-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Fukugami, an eccentrically placed rotation point for supporting the at least one engagement means, for both displacing the at least one engagement means in the length and width directions during rotation of the at least one engagement means, as taught by Scalzeri, for the purpose of moving the dough piece transversally with respect to the longitudinal direction of the width owing to the fact that the rotation axis is eccentric with respect to the handling element/engagement means.
Conclusion
/HUNG D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
HUNG D. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3761