DETAILED ACTION
A complete action on the merits of pending claims 37-56 appears below.
Claim Objections
Claim 41 objected to because of the following informalities:
There needs to be a period at the end of claim 41.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 37-39, 42-51, and 53-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cosman US 20150320481.
Regarding claims 37 and 46-49, Cosman teaches a generator coupled to the processor (par. [0110]) and to be operatively coupled to at least two electrodes (Fig. 1C electrode tips 150 on probe 150), at least one of the at least two electrodes to be placed in a target region of a tissue site; a sensor, wherein the sensor is a current sensor or voltage sensor (par. [0198] sensors measure current and temperature); and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory comprising program instructions to perform operations comprising: generating a plurality of electrical pulses between the at least two electrodes (pars. [0090] and [0117]); sensing at least one treatment parameter during the generation of the plurality of electrical pulses; receiving an indication of the at least one treatment parameter; detecting an abnormal condition of an irreversible electroporation (IRE) treatment procedure based in part on the indication of the at least one treatment parameter; pausing generation of at least one of the plurality of electrical pulses in response to detection of the abnormal condition; receiving an indication to resume the IRE treatment procedure; and resuming the IRE treatment procedure including resuming generation of the at least one of the plurality of electrical pulses to complete the IRE treatment procedure (pars. [0092] and [0113] a down time of no energy being sent because of an impedance, current, or voltage indication, then the up time can start again).
Regarding claims 38 and 50, wherein the treatment parameter is a voltage value (par. [0117] max voltage set to prevent sub-optimal heating of tissue).
Regarding claims 39 and 51, wherein the abnormal condition includes the voltage value exceeding a predetermined threshold (par. [0117] max voltage set to prevent sub-optimal heating of tissue).
Regarding claims 42 and 53, Cosman teaches wherein the treatment parameter is a current value (pars. [0055] and [0198] sensed parameter can be current).
Regarding claims 43 and 54, Cosman teaches wherein the abnormal condition includes the current value exceeding a predetermined threshold (par. [0055] and [0117] current monitoring and thresholds to determine up and down times of generator based upon sensed parameters).
Regarding claims 44 and 55, Cosman teaches wherein the abnormal condition includes the current value being below a predetermined threshold (par. [0126] minimum current value).
Regarding claims 45 and 56, Cosman teaches wherein the abnormal condition is insufficient to provide an effective ablation (par. [0117] sub-optimal heating during ablation procedure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 40, 41, and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cosman in view of Scherman US 20070242743.
Regarding claims 40, 41, and 52, Cosman does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further comprise reducing a voltage of the plurality of electrical pulses in response to the detection of the abnormal condition wherein the voltage is reduced by 5-10%.
Scherman, in an analogous device, teaches reducing the voltage of the device in response to a sensed resistance (par. [0189]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the device of Cosman to reduce the voltage by 5-10% or any percent. Scherman has the voltage reduced proportional to a change in resistance to maintain a constant condition in the therapeutic field (Scherman par. [0189]).
Conclusion
/R.T.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/SEAN W COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794