DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 4, 10, 11, 12 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3, lines 1 – 2, “an annular groove inside which is inserted at least partly the annular sensing ring” should read - - an annular groove inside which the annular sensing ring is at least partly inserted - -.
Claim 4, lines 5 – 6, “processing means” should read - - the processing means - -.
Claim 10, lines 1 – 2, “an annular groove inside which is inserted at least partly the annular sensing ring” should read - - an annular groove inside which the annular sensing ring is at least partly inserted - -.
Claim 11, lines 5 – 6, “processing means” should read - - the processing means - -.
Claim 12, line 4, “processing means” should read - - the processing means - -.
Claim 16, line 1, “a bearing device” should read - - the bearing device - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 – 7 and 11 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “processing means” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification merely references “processing means 12” and “processing means 16” (see par. [0051] and [0064]) without disclosing specific hardware, circuitry, processor structure, or an algorithm corresponding to the claimed functions.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3 and 8 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Hubert et al. USPGPUB 20230016206.
Claim 1, Hubert discloses a bearing device (hub bearing unit 2)([0018], l. 3) comprising: a bearing including a first ring (inner ring 6)([0019], ll. 2 – 3) and a second ring (outer ring 5)([0019], l. 3), the first and second rings configured to rotate concentrically relative to one another; and an annular sensing ring (Fig. 4) mounted on the second ring of the bearing, the annular sensing ring comprising a plurality of sensors (strain sensors 4)([0018], l. 5) arranged on the inner or outer surface of the second ring, the plurality of sensors configured to measure physical parameters of the bearing ([0041], ll. 7 – 10: “[c]onducting band 23 may be configured to receive electrical signals emitted by strain sensors 4 following mechanical deformation of outer ring 5 and transmit electrical signals to a vehicle control unit”), the annular sensing ring comprising wired connections (plurality of electrically conducting wires 23)([0041], ll. 2 – 3) connecting the plurality of sensors, the plurality of sensors being connected together by at least one wired connection so that each sensor of the plurality of sensors is connected to at least two wired connections.
Claim 2, Hubert discloses the plurality of sensors including two sensors, the two sensors being connected together by two wired connections (the plurality of electrically conducting wires taught by Hubert includes two wired connections connecting two strain sensors 4 shown in Fig. 4).
Claims 3 and 10, Hubert discloses the second ring comprising an annular groove 15 ([0041], l. 1) inside which the annular sensing ring is at least partly inserted.
Claim 8, Hubert discloses each sensor of the plurality of sensors as a temperature sensor, a vibration sensor, a radial load sensor, an axial load sensor, or a strain sensor ([0018], l. 5).
Claim 9, Hubert discloses machine ([0003], ll. 1 – 2: “a sensorized hub bearing for vehicles”) comprising the bearing device 2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 – 7 and 11 – 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/PHILLIP A JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617