DETAILED ACTION
Authorization for Internet Communications
The examiner encourages Applicant to submit an authorization to communicate with the examiner via the Internet by making the following statement (from MPEP 502.03):
“Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.”
Please note that the above statement can only be submitted via Central Fax (not Examiner's Fax), Regular postal mail, or EFS Web using PTO/SB/439.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 – 11, and 13 - 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 9, 10, 15, 16, and 20 the limitation “the one or more DRM-protected files” lack proper antecedent basis because there is “one or more DRM-protected files based on the video data” (claim 1) and “one or more DRM-protected files based on the audio data” (claim 9) recited earlier in the claim.
Claims 11 and 17 is a dependent claim and thus also objected.
Regarding claims 13 and 20, the first occurrence of the acronyms “HTML”, “DRM” and “GUI” should be spelled out.
Claims 14 – 19 are dependent claims and thus also objected.
Regarding claim 17, the first occurrence of the acronym “DOM” should be spelled out.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 – 4, and 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially opaque” in claims 3, 4 and 14 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially opaque” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 4 is a dependent claim and thus also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 6, 9 – 16 and 18 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JOHNSON (WO 2022/112782 A2) (hereinafter “JOHNSON”) in view of Lee (US 2015/0067877 A1) (hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 1, JOHNSON discloses; a method for generating protected accessible HyperText Markup Language (“HTML”), the method comprising:
receiving a request to load media content associated with a first HTML element [i.e., an HTML <video> element to embed video content (page 9, lines 28 – 29), (page 14, line 11) i.e., a user of the browser may navigate to a web page that includes an embedded video and the browser renders the webpage when the user clicks on the video (page 5, lines 9 – 11) i.e., HTML5 includes a markup video element that can be used to embed video content in webpage (page 6, lines 10- 12), (page 9, lines 28 – 31)], the first HTML element including a content element [i.e., an HTML <video> element to embed video content (page 9, lines 28 – 29), (page 14, line 11)];
upon receiving the request to load the content element, generating video data associated with the content element [i.e., when the browser renders the webpage, it receives data corresponding to the video (page 5, lines 10 – 11) i.e., rending in a first markup video display region (see ref. 106 of figure 1), (page 7, lines 6 – 8), (page 14, lines 11 – 12) i.e.., the encoded base stream is extracted from the source buffer and decoded using markup video element…rendering the video content in the media player (page 9 – lines 20 – 21) and (page 10, lines 9 – 12), (see ref. 204 - 206 of figure 2)];
generating a second HTML element based on the one or more files [i.e., an HTML <canvas> element (page 14, line 13)], wherein the second HTML element includes video data associated with the content element [i.e., canvas is an HTML <canvas> element for displaying the rendered frames of the reconstructed video stream in a second markup video display region (page 14, lines 12 – 14), (see figure 1)]; and
causing to output, via a graphical user interface (“GUI”), the video data of the second HTML element [i.e., the reconstructed video stream may then be rendered in a second markup video display regions 110 within the webpage that is visible to a viewer of the webpage. The second markup video display region is a canvas element (page 11, lines 9 – 16), (see figure 1 and ref. 212 of figurer 2), (page 8, lines 7 – 9)].
JOHNSON does not disclose;
generating one or more digital rights management (“DRM”)-protected files based on the video data associated with the content element, wherein at least one of the one or more DRM-protected files includes the video data associated with the content element; and generating a second HTML element based on the one or more DRM-protected files.
However, Lee discloses;
generating one or more digital rights management (“DRM”)-protected files [i.e., the DRM processing operation applied to protection target objects (page 2, para 0035) i.e., encrypting a data region corresponding to the protection target object (page 2, para 0036) i.e., DRM information is added to the encrypted data (page 2, para 0037), (see figure 2)] based on video data associated with a content element [i.e., digital content includes various forms of objects such as a video (page 2, para 0031) i.e., an object may be designated as a DRM protection target (page 2, para 0034) i.e., encrypts the data region corresponding to the protection target object (page 2, para 0036)], wherein at least one of the one or more DRM-protected files includes the video data associated with the content element [i.e., encryption of the object’s data region…DRM information inserted into the encrypted object data (page 2, para 2, para 0036 – 0037))]; and
generating a HTML element [i.e., video tag (page 4, para 0060)] based on the one or more DRM-protected files [i.e., web-based digital content is provided using HTML and that video content is delivered using the video tag (page 3, para 0046) and (page 4, para 0060) i.e., the DRM program uses the embedded DRM information to access the protected content].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of JOHNSON by adapting the teachings of Lee for setting a user’s rights for each of objects included in digital content and setting rights for each object of content such that a part other than the encrypted object of the digital content may be available without any limitations (See Lee; page 1, para 0009).
Regarding claim 2, JOHNSON discloses; the method of claim 1, wherein the second HTML element is outputted such that the second HTML element is overlaid on the content element [i.e., the second markup video display region may overlap the first markup video display region (page 11, lines 11 – 13), (see figures 1 and ref. 212 of figure 2) i.e., an HTML <canvas> element (page 14, line 13)].
Regarding claim 3, JOHNSON discloses; the method of claim 2, further comprising: converting the video data of the second HTML element to be substantially opaque such that the content element is substantially obscured [i.e., the second markup video display region may overlap the first markup video display region (page 11, lines 11 – 13), (see figures 1 and ref. 212 of figure 2) i.e., an HTML <canvas> element (page 14, line 13)] Note; the HTML <canvas> tag renders is obscuring].
Regarding claim 4, JOHNSON discloses; the method of claim 3, wherein converting the second HTML element to be substantially opaque further comprises: converting the second HTML element to a substantially opaque still image [i.e., the second markup video display region may overlap the first markup video display region (page 11, lines 11 – 13), (see figures 1 and ref. 212 of figure 2) i.e., an HTML <canvas> element (page 14, line 13)] Note; the HTML <canvas> tag renders is obscuring].
Regarding claim 5, JOHNSON discloses; the method of claim 1, further comprising:
upon receiving the request to load the content element, generating text data associated with the content element [i.e., the further markup element embeds the subtitle data to be rendered on the video inside the website (page 11, lines 24 - 27), (see ref. 214 of figure 2)];
generating a third HTML element based on the one or more files [i.e., a further markup element (page 11, line 26) i.e., HTML DivElement (page 12, line 1)], wherein the third HTML element includes text data associated with the content element [i.e., the further markup element embeds the subtitle data to be rendered on the video inside the website (page 11, lines 24 - 27), (see ref. 214 of figure 2)]; and
causing to output, via the GUI, the text data of the third HTML element [i.e., rendering the subtitle from the subtitle data using a further markup element. The subtitle data may be included within the encoded multi-layer video stream (page 11, lines 24 – 26), (see ref. 214 of figure 2).
JOHNSON does not disclose;
generating one or more digital rights management (“DRM”)-protected files based on the at least one of video data, text data or audio data associated with the content element, wherein at least one of the one or more DRM-protected files includes the at least one of video data, text data, or audio data associated with the content element; generating a second HTML element based on the one or more DRM-protected files; generating a third HTML element based on the oner or more DRM-protected files; and generating a fourth HTML element based on the one or more DRM-protected files.
However, Lee discloses;
generating one or more digital rights management (“DRM”)-protected files [i.e., the DRM processing operation applied to protection target objects (page 2, para 0035) i.e., encrypting a data region corresponding to the protection target object (page 2, para 0036) i.e., DRM information is added to the encrypted data (page 2, para 0037), (see figure 2)] based on text data [i.e., the digital content is output through the user terminal in the form of webpage including a text, a video, an image, a sound source (page 2, para 0031) i.e., video tag (page 4, para 0060)], wherein at least one of the one or more DRM-protected files includes the text data associated with the content element [i.e., the digital content is output through the user terminal in the form of webpage including a text, a video, an image, a sound source (page 2, para 0031) i.e., video tag (page 4, para 0060)].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of JOHNSON by adapting the teachings of Lee for setting a user’s rights for each of objects included in digital content and setting rights for each object of content such that a part other than the encrypted object of the digital content may be available without any limitations (See Lee; page 1, para 0009).
Regarding claim 6, JOHNSON discloses; the method of claim 5, wherein the text data represents at least one of a channel associated with subtitles [i.e., subtitles are generated and rendered by the markup video element in the first markup display region (page 11, lines 21 – 23), (see figures 1 and 2)].
Regarding claim 9, JOHNSON discloses; the method of claim 1, further comprising:
upon receiving the request to load the content element, generating audio data [i.e., audio content (page 11, line 21 – 22)] associated with the content element [i.e., when the browser renders the webpage, it receives data corresponding to the video (page 5, lines 10 – 11) i.e., rending in a first markup video display region (see ref. 106 of figure 1), (page 7, lines 6 – 8), (page 14, lines 11 – 12) i.e.., the encoded base stream is extracted from the source buffer and decoded using markup video element…rendering the video content in the media player (page 9 – lines 20 – 21) and (page 10, lines 9 – 12), (see ref. 204 - 206 of figure 2)];
generating the one or more files based on the audio data associated with the content element, wherein at least one of the one or more files includes the audio data associated with the content element [i.e., audio content (page 11, line 21 – 22)];
generating a fourth HTML element based on the one or more files [i.e., an HTML <video> element to embed video content (page 9, lines 28 – 29), (page 14, line 11)], wherein the fourth HTML element includes DRM-protected audio data associated with the content element [i.e., audio content (page 11, line 21 – 22)]; and
causing to output, via the GUI, the audio data of the fourth HTML element [i.e., rendering the subtitle from the subtitle data using a further markup element. The subtitle data may be included within the encoded multi-layer video stream (page 11, lines 24 – 26), (see ref. 214 of figure 2) i.e., the reconstructed video stream may then be rendered in a second markup video display regions 110 within the webpage that is visible to a viewer of the webpage. The second markup video display region is a canvas element (page 11, lines 9 – 16), (see figure 1 and ref. 212 of figurer 2), (page 8, lines 7 – 9)].
JOHNSON does not disclose;
generating one or more digital rights management (“DRM”)-protected files based on the at least one of video data, text data or audio data associated with the content element, wherein at least one of the one or more DRM-protected files includes the at least one of video data, text data, or audio data associated with the content element; generating a second HTML element based on the one or more DRM-protected files; generating a third HTML element based on the oner or more DRM-protected files; and generating a fourth HTML element based on the one or more DRM-protected files.
However, Lee discloses;
generating one or more digital rights management (“DRM”)-protected files [i.e., the DRM processing operation applied to protection target objects (page 2, para 0035) i.e., encrypting a data region corresponding to the protection target object (page 2, para 0036) i.e., DRM information is added to the encrypted data (page 2, para 0037), (see figure 2)] based on text data [i.e., the digital content is output through the user terminal in the form of webpage including a text, a video, an image, a sound source (page 2, para 0031) i.e., video tag (page 4, para 0060)], wherein at least one of the one or more DRM-protected files includes the text data associated with the content element [i.e., the digital content is output through the user terminal in the form of webpage including a text, a video, an image, a sound source (page 2, para 0031) i.e., video tag (page 4, para 0060)].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of JOHNSON by adapting the teachings of Lee for setting a user’s rights for each of objects included in digital content and setting rights for each object of content such that a part other than the encrypted object of the digital content may be available without any limitations (See Lee; page 1, para 0009).
Regarding claim 10, JOHNSON discloses; the method of claim 1, further comprising:
generating audio data associated with the content element [i.e., audio content (page 11, line 21 – 22)];
generating the one or more files based on the audio data associated with the content element, wherein at least one of the one or more includes the audio data associated with the content element [i.e., audio content (page 11, line 21 – 22)];
storing, via a data storage system, the audio data i.e.., the encoded base stream is extracted from the source buffer and decoded using markup video element…rendering the video content in the media player (page 9 – lines 20 – 21) and (page 10, lines 9 – 12), (see ref. 204 - 206 of figure 2)];
upon receiving the request to load the content element, generating a fourth HTML element based on the one or more files, wherein the fourth HTML element includes audio data associated with the content element [i.e., when the browser renders the webpage, it receives data corresponding to the video (page 5, lines 10 – 11) i.e., rending in a first markup video display region (see ref. 106 of figure 1), (page 7, lines 6 – 8), (page 14, lines 11 – 12) i.e.., the encoded base stream is extracted from the source buffer and decoded using markup video element…rendering the video content in the media player (page 9 – lines 20 – 21) and (page 10, lines 9 – 12), (see ref. 204 - 206 of figure 2)]; and
causing to output, via the GUI, the audio data of the fourth HTML element [i.e., the reconstructed video stream may then be rendered in a second markup video display regions 110 within the webpage that is visible to a viewer of the webpage. The second markup video display region is a canvas element (page 11, lines 9 – 16), (see figure 1 and ref. 212 of figurer 2), (page 8, lines 7 – 9)].
JOHNSON does not disclose;
generating one or more digital rights management (“DRM”)-protected files based on the at least one of video data, text data or audio data associated with the content element, wherein at least one of the one or more DRM-protected files includes the at least one of video data, text data, or audio data associated with the content element; generating a second HTML element based on the one or more DRM-protected files; generating a third HTML element based on the oner or more DRM-protected files; and generating a fourth HTML element based on the one or more DRM-protected files.
However, Lee discloses;
generating one or more digital rights management (“DRM”)-protected files [i.e., the DRM processing operation applied to protection target objects (page 2, para 0035) i.e., encrypting a data region corresponding to the protection target object (page 2, para 0036) i.e., DRM information is added to the encrypted data (page 2, para 0037), (see figure 2)] based on text data [i.e., the digital content is output through the user terminal in the form of webpage including a text, a video, an image, a sound source (page 2, para 0031) i.e., video tag (page 4, para 0060)], wherein at least one of the one or more DRM-protected files includes the text data associated with the content element [i.e., the digital content is output through the user terminal in the form of webpage including a text, a video, an image, a sound source (page 2, para 0031) i.e., video tag (page 4, para 0060)].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of JOHNSON by adapting the teachings of Lee for setting a user’s rights for each of objects included in digital content and setting rights for each object of content such that a part other than the encrypted object of the digital content may be available without any limitations (See Lee; page 1, para 0009).
Regarding claim 11, JOHNSON discloses; the method of claim 10, further comprising:
detecting initiation of an interpretation of the audio data of the fourth HTML element [i.e., a user of the browser may navigate to a web page that includes an embedded video and the browser renders the webpage when the user clicks on the video (page 5, lines 9 – 11) i.e., HTML5 includes a markup video element that can be used to embed video content in webpage (page 6, lines 10- 12), (page 9, lines 28 – 31)]; and
causing to output, via an auditory interface system, the audio data of the fourth HTML element [i.e., the reconstructed video stream may then be rendered in a second markup video display regions 110 within the webpage that is visible to a viewer of the webpage. The second markup video display region is a canvas element (page 11, lines 9 – 16), (see figure 1 and ref. 212 of figurer 2), (page 8, lines 7 – 9)].
JOHNSON does not disclose;
digital rights management (“DRM”)-protected audio data.
However, Lee discloses;
one or more digital rights management (“DRM”)-protected audio files [i.e., the DRM processing operation applied to protection target objects (page 2, para 0035) i.e., encrypting a data region corresponding to the protection target object (page 2, para 0036) i.e., DRM information is added to the encrypted data (page 2, para 0037), (see figure 2) i.e., the digital content is output through the user terminal in the form of webpage including a text, a video, an image, a sound source (page 2, para 0031)].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of JOHNSON by adapting the teachings of Lee for setting a user’s rights for each of objects included in digital content and setting rights for each object of content such that a part other than the encrypted object of the digital content may be available without any limitations (See Lee; page 1, para 0009).
Regarding claim 12, JOHNSON discloses; the method of claim 1, further comprising:
generating a nested HTML element based on the one or more files [i.e., hls.attachMedia( video, canvas, subtitles, IcevcConfig ) (page 14, line 9) i.e., the browser processes document written in HTTML markup language with embedded video, canvas and Div elements to generate a visual representation of a webpage including video content with audio and subtitle (see figures 1 and 2) Note; there is Document Object Model (DOM) hierarchy structure in the webpage i.e., nested], wherein the nested HTML element includes the first HTML element [i.e., an HTML <video> element to embed video content (page 9, lines 28 – 29), (page 14, line 11)] and at least one of the second HTML element [i.e., an HTML <canvas> element (page 14, line 13)], the third HTML element [i.e., a further markup element (page 11, line 26) i.e., HTML DivElement (page 12, line 1)], or the fourth HTML element [i.e., an HTML <video> element to embed video content (page 9, lines 28 – 29), (page 14, line 11)], wherein: the third HTML element includes text data associated with the content element [i.e., subtitles are generated and rendered by the markup video element in the first markup display region (page 11, lines 21 – 23), (see figures 1 and 2)], and the fourth HTML element includes audio data associated with the content element [i.e., audio content (page 11, line 21 – 22)]; and
causing to output, via a GUI, data of the nested HTML element [i.e., rendering the subtitle from the subtitle data using a further markup element. The subtitle data may be included within the encoded multi-layer video stream (page 11, lines 24 – 26), (see ref. 214 of figure 2) i.e., the reconstructed video stream may then be rendered in a second markup video display regions 110 within the webpage that is visible to a viewer of the webpage. The second markup video display region is a canvas element (page 11, lines 9 – 16), (see figure 1 and ref. 212 of figurer 2), (page 8, lines 7 – 9)].
JOHNSON does not disclose;
generating one or more digital rights management (“DRM”)-protected files based on the at least one of video data, text data or audio data associated with the content element.
However, Lee discloses;
generating one or more digital rights management (“DRM”)-protected files [i.e., the DRM processing operation applied to protection target objects (page 2, para 0035) i.e., encrypting a data region corresponding to the protection target object (page 2, para 0036) i.e., DRM information is added to the encrypted data (page 2, para 0037), (see figure 2)] based on video data associated with a content element [i.e., digital content includes various forms of objects such as a video (page 2, para 0031) i.e., an object may be designated as a DRM protection target (page 2, para 0034) i.e., encrypts the data region corresponding to the protection target object (page 2, para 0036)].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of JOHNSON by adapting the teachings of Lee for setting a user’s rights for each of objects included in digital content and setting rights for each object of content such that a part other than the encrypted object of the digital content may be available without any limitations (See Lee; page 1, para 0009).
Regarding claim 13, JOHNSON discloses; a system [i.e., system (see ref. 100 of figure 1), (page 4, line 26), (page 15, line 22)], the system comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions [i.e., executable instructions stored on computer readable storage media (page 15, lines 24 - 25)]; and
at least one processor [i.e., processor (page 15, line 24)] operatively connected to the memory, and configured to execute the instructions to perform operations for generating protected accessible HTML [i.e., (page 15, lines 22 – 25)], the operations including:
receiving a request to load media content associated with a first HTML element [i.e., an HTML <video> element to embed video content (page 9, lines 28 – 29), (page 14, line 11) i.e., a user of the browser may navigate to a web page that includes an embedded video and the browser renders the webpage when the user clicks on the video (page 5, lines 9 – 11) i.e., HTML5 includes a markup video element that can be used to embed video content in webpage (page 6, lines 10- 12), (page 9, lines 28 – 31)], the first HTML element including a content element [i.e., an HTML <video> element to embed video content (page 9, lines 28 – 29), (page 14, line 11)];
upon receiving the request to load the content element, generating video data associated with the content element [i.e., when the browser renders the webpage, it receives data corresponding to the video (page 5, lines 10 – 11) i.e., rending in a first markup video display region (see ref. 106 of figure 1), (page 7, lines 6 – 8), (page 14, lines 11 – 12) i.e.., the encoded base stream is extracted from the source buffer and decoded using markup video element…rendering the video content in the media player (page 9 – lines 20 – 21) and (page 10, lines 9 – 12), (see ref. 204 - 206 of figure 2)];
generating a second HTML element based on the one or more files [i.e., an HTML <canvas> element (page 14, line 13)], wherein the second HTML element includes video data associated with the content element [i.e., canvas is an HTML <canvas> element for displaying the rendered frames of the reconstructed video stream in a second markup video display region (page 14, lines 12 – 14), (see figure 1)]; and
causing to output, via a GUI, the video data of the second HTML element [i.e., the reconstructed video stream may then be rendered in a second markup video display regions 110 within the webpage that is visible to a viewer of the webpage. The second markup video display region is a canvas element (page 11, lines 9 – 16), (see figure 1 and ref. 212 of figurer 2), (page 8, lines 7 – 9)].
JOHNSON does not disclose;
generating one or more digital rights management (“DRM”)-protected files based on the video data associated with the content element, wherein at least one of the one or more DRM-protected files includes the video data associated with the content element; and generating a second HTML element based on the one or more DRM-protected files.
However, Lee discloses;
generating one or more digital rights management (“DRM”)-protected files [i.e., the DRM processing operation applied to protection target objects (page 2, para 0035) i.e., encrypting a data region corresponding to the protection target object (page 2, para 0036) i.e., DRM information is added to the encrypted data (page 2, para 0037), (see figure 2)] based on video data associated with a content element [i.e., digital content includes various forms of objects such as a video (page 2, para 0031) i.e., an object may be designated as a DRM protection target (page 2, para 0034) i.e., encrypts the data region corresponding to the protection target object (page 2, para 0036)], wherein at least one of the one or more DRM-protected files includes the video data associated with the content element [i.e., encryption of the object’s data region…DRM information inserted into the encrypted object data (page 2, para 2, para 0036 – 0037))]; and
generating a HTML element [i.e., video tag (page 4, para 0060)] based on the one or more DRM-protected files [i.e., web-based digital content is provided using HTML and that video content is delivered using the video tag (page 3, para 0046) and (page 4, para 0060) i.e., the DRM program uses the embedded DRM information to access the protected content].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of JOHNSON by adapting the teachings of Lee for setting a user’s rights for each of objects included in digital content and setting rights for each object of content such that a part other than the encrypted object of the digital content may be available without any limitations (See Lee; page 1, para 0009).
Regarding claim 14, JOHNSON discloses; the system of claim 13, the operations further including:
converting the second HTML element to be substantially opaque such that the content element is substantially obscured [i.e., the second markup video display region may overlap the first markup video display region (page 11, lines 11 – 13), (see figures 1 and ref. 212 of figure 2) i.e., an HTML <canvas> element (page 14, line 13)] Note; the HTML <canvas> tag renders is obscuring]; and
causing to output, via a GUI, the substantially opaque second HTML element such that the second HTML element is overlaid on the content element [i.e., the reconstructed video stream may then be rendered in a second markup video display regions 110 within the webpage that is visible to a viewer of the webpage (page 11, lines 9 – 16), (see figure 1 and ref. 212 of figurer 2), (page 8, lines 7 – 9)].
Regarding claim 15, JOHNSON discloses; the system of claim 13, the operations further including:
upon receiving the request to load the content element, generating text data associated with the content element [i.e., the further markup element embeds the subtitle data to be rendered on the video inside the website (page 11, lines 24 - 27), (see ref. 214 of figure 2)];
generating the one or more files based on the text data associated with the content element, wherein at least one of the one or more files includes the text data associated with the content element, wherein the text data represents at least one of a channel associated with subtitles [i.e., subtitles are generated and rendered by the markup video element in the first markup display region (page 11, lines 21 – 23), (see figures 1 and 2)];
generating a third HTML element based on the one or more files [i.e., a further markup element (page 11, line 26) i.e., HTML DivElement (page 12, line 1)], wherein the third HTML element includes text data associated with the content element [i.e., the further markup element embeds the subtitle data to be rendered on the video inside the website (page 11, lines 24 - 27), (see ref. 214 of figure 2)]; and
causing to output, via the GUI, the text data of the third HTML element [i.e., rendering the subtitle from the subtitle data using a further markup element. The subtitle data may be included within the encoded multi-layer video stream (page 11, lines 24 – 26), (see ref. 214 of figure 2).
JOHNSON does not disclose;
generating one or more digital rights management (“DRM”)-protected files based on the at least one of video data, text data or audio data associated with the content element, wherein at least one of the one or more DRM-protected files includes the at least one of video data, text data, or audio data associated with the content element; generating a second HTML element based on the one or more DRM-protected files; generating a third HTML element based on the oner or more DRM-protected files; and generating a fourth HTML element based on the one or more DRM-protected files.
However, Lee discloses;
generating one or more digital rights management (“DRM”)-protected files [i.e., the DRM processing operation applied to protection target objects (page 2, para 0035) i.e., encrypting a data region corresponding to the protection target object (page 2, para 0036) i.e., DRM information is added to the encrypted data (page 2, para 0037), (see figure 2)] based on text data [i.e., the digital content is output through the user terminal in the form of webpage including a text, a video, an image, a sound source (page 2, para 0031) i.e., video tag (page 4, para 0060)], wherein at least one of the one or more DRM-protected files includes the text data associated with the content element [i.e., the digital content is output through the user terminal in the form of webpage including a text, a video, an image, a sound source (page 2, para 0031) i.e., video tag (page 4, para 0060)].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of JOHNSON by adapting the teachings of Lee for setting a user’s rights for each of objects included in digital content and setting rights for each object of content such that a part other than the encrypted object of the digital content may be available without any limitations (See Lee; page 1, para 0009)..
Regarding claim 16, JOHNSON discloses; the system of claim 13, the operations further comprising:
generating audio data associated with the content element [i.e., audio content (page 11, line 21 – 22)];
generating the one or more files based on the audio data associated with the content element, wherein at least one of the one or more files includes the audio data associated with the content element [i.e., audio content (page 11, line 21 – 22)];
storing, via a data storage system, the audio data i.e.., the encoded base stream is extracted from the source buffer and decoded using markup video element…rendering the video content in the media player (page 9 – lines 20 – 21) and (page 10, lines 9 – 12), (see ref. 204 - 206 of figure 2)];
upon receiving the request to load the content element, generating a fourth HTML element based on the one or more files, wherein the fourth HTML element includes audio data associated with the content element [i.e., when the browser renders the webpage, it receives data corresponding to the video (page 5, lines 10 – 11) i.e., rending in a first markup video display region (see ref. 106 of figure 1), (page 7, lines 6 – 8), (page 14, lines 11 – 12) i.e.., the encoded base stream is extracted from the source buffer and decoded using markup video element…rendering the video content in the media player (page 9 – lines 20 – 21) and (page 10, lines 9 – 12), (see ref. 204 - 206 of figure 2)]; and
causing to output, via the GUI, the audio data of the fourth HTML element [i.e., the reconstructed video stream may then be rendered in a second markup video display regions 110 within the webpage that is visible to a viewer of the webpage. The second markup video display region is a canvas element (page 11, lines 9 – 16), (see figure 1 and ref. 212 of figurer 2), (page 8, lines 7 – 9)].
JOHNSON does not disclose;
generating one or more digital rights management (“DRM”)-protected files based on the at least one of video data, text data or audio data associated with the content element, wherein at least one of the one or more DRM-protected files includes the at least one of video data, text data, or audio data associated with the content element; generating a second HTML element based on the one or more DRM-protected files; generating a third HTML element based on the oner or more DRM-protected files; and generating a fourth HTML element based on the one or more DRM-protected files.
However, Lee discloses;
generating one or more digital rights management (“DRM”)-protected files [i.e., the DRM processing operation applied to protection target objects (page 2, para 0035) i.e., encrypting a data region corresponding to the protection target object (page 2, para 0036) i.e., DRM information is added to the encrypted data (page 2, para 0037), (see figure 2)] based on text data [i.e., the digital content is output through the user terminal in the form of webpage including a text, a video, an image, a sound source (page 2, para 0031) i.e., video tag (page 4, para 0060)], wherein at least one of the one or more DRM-protected files includes the text data associated with the content element [i.e., the digital content is output through the user terminal in the form of webpage including a text, a video, an image, a sound source (page 2, para 0031) i.e., video tag (page 4, para 0060)].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of JOHNSON by adapting the teachings of Lee for setting a user’s rights for each of objects included in digital content and setting rights for each object of content such that a part other than the encrypted object of the digital content may be available without any limitations (See Lee; page 1, para 0009).
Regarding claim 18, JOHNSON discloses; the system of claim 13, the operations further including:
upon receiving the request to load the content element, generating audio data [i.e., audio content (page 11, line 21 – 22)] associated with the content element [i.e., when the browser renders the webpage, it receives data corresponding to the video (page 5, lines 10 – 11) i.e., rending in a first markup video display region (see ref. 106 of figure 1), (page 7, lines 6 – 8), (page 14, lines 11 – 12) i.e.., the encoded base stream is extracted from the source buffer and decoded using markup video element…rendering the video content in the media player (page 9 – lines 20 – 21) and (page 10, lines 9 – 12), (see ref. 204 - 206 of figure 2)];
generating the one or more files based on the audio data associated with the content element, wherein at least one of the one or more files includes the audio data associated with the content element [i.e., audio content (page 11, line 21 – 22)];
generating a fourth HTML element based on the one or more files [i.e., an HTML <video> element to embed video content (page 9, lines 28 – 29), (page 14, line 11)], wherein the fourth HTML element includes DRM-protected audio data associated with the content element [i.e., audio content (page 11, line 21 – 22)]; and
causing to output, via the GUI, the audio data of the fourth HTML element [i.e., rendering the subtitle from the subtitle data using a further markup element. The subtitle data may be included within the encoded multi-layer video stream (page 11, lines 24 – 26), (see ref. 214 of figure 2) i.e., the reconstructed video stream may then be rendered in a second markup video display regions 110 within the webpage that is visible to a viewer of the webpage. The second markup video display region is a canvas element (page 11, lines 9 – 16), (see figure 1 and ref. 212 of figurer 2), (page 8, lines 7 – 9)].
JOHNSON does not disclose;
generating one or more digital rights management (“DRM”)-protected files based on the at least one of video data, text data or audio data associated with the content element, wherein at least one of the one or more DRM-protected files includes the at least one of video data, text data, or audio data associated with the content element; generating a second HTML element based on the one or more DRM-protected files; generating a third HTML element based on the oner or more DRM-protected files; and generating a fourth HTML element based on the one or more DRM-protected files.
However, Lee discloses;
generating one or more digital rights management (“DRM”)-protected files [i.e., the DRM processing operation applied to protection target objects (page 2, para 0035) i.e., encrypting a data region corresponding to the protection target object (page 2, para 0036) i.e., DRM information is added to the encrypted data (page 2, para 0037), (see figure 2)] based on text data [i.e., the digital content is output through the user terminal in the form of webpage including a text, a video, an image, a sound source (page 2, para 0031) i.e., video tag (page 4, para 0060)], wherein at least one of the one or more DRM-protected files includes the text data associated with the content element [i.e., the digital content is output through the user terminal in the form of webpage including a text, a video, an image, a sound source (page 2, para 0031) i.e., video tag (page 4, para 0060)].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of JOHNSON by adapting the teachings of Lee for setting a user’s rights for each of objects included in digital content and setting rights for each object of content such that a part other than the encrypted object of the digital content may be available without any limitations (See Lee; page 1, para 0009)..
Regarding claim 19, JOHNSON discloses; the system of claim 13, the operations further including:
generating a nested HTML element based on the one or more DRM-protected files [i.e., hls.attachMedia( video, canvas, subtitles, IcevcConfig ) (page 14, line 9) i.e., the browser processes document written in HTTML markup language with embedded video, canvas and Div elements to generate a visual representation of a webpage including video content with audio and subtitle (see figures 1 and 2) Note; there is Document Object Model (DOM) hierarchy structure in the webpage i.e., nested], wherein the nested HTML element includes the first HTML element [i.e., an HTML <video> element to embed video content (page 9, lines 28 – 29), (page 14, line 11)] and at least one of the second HTML element [i.e., an HTML <canvas> element (page 14, line 13)], the third HTML element [i.e., a further markup element (page 11, line 26) i.e., HTML DivElement (page 12, line 1)], or the fourth HTML element [i.e., an HTML <video> element to embed video content (page 9, lines 28 – 29), (page 14, line 11)], wherein: the third HTML element includes DRM-protected text data associated with the content element [i.e., subtitles are generated and rendered by the markup video element in the first markup display region (page 11, lines 21 – 23), (see figures 1 and 2)], and the fourth HTML element includes DRM-protected audio data associated with the content element [i.e., audio content (page 11, line 21 – 22)]; and
causing to output, via a GUI, DRM-protected data of the nested HTML element [i.e., rendering the subtitle from the subtitle data using a further markup element. The subtitle data may be included within the encoded multi-layer video stream (page 11, lines 24 – 26), (see ref. 214 of figure 2) i.e., the reconstructed video stream may then be rendered in a second markup video display regions 110 within the webpage that is visible to a viewer of the webpage. The second markup video display region is a canvas element (page 11, lines 9 – 16), (see figure 1 and ref. 212 of figurer 2), (page 8, lines 7 – 9)].
JOHNSON does not disclose;
generating one or more digital rights management (“DRM”)-protected files based on the at least one of video data, text data or audio data associated with the content element.
However, Lee discloses;
generating one or more digital rights management (“DRM”)-protected files [i.e., the DRM processing operation applied to protection target objects (page 2, para 0035) i.e., encrypting a data region corresponding to the protection target object (page 2, para 0036) i.e., DRM information is added to the encrypted data (page 2, para 0037), (see figure 2)] based on video data associated with a content element [i.e., digital content includes various forms of objects such as a video (page 2, para 0031) i.e., an object may be designated as a DRM protection target (page 2, para 0034) i.e., encrypts the data region corresponding to the protection target object (page 2, para 0036)].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of JOHNSON by adapting the teachings of Lee for setting a user’s rights for each of objects included in digital content and setting rights for each object of content such that a part other than the encrypted object of the digital content may be available without any limitations (See Lee; page 1, para 0009)..
Regarding claim 20, JOHNSON discloses; a method for generating protected accessible HTML, the method comprising:
receiving a request to load media content associated with a first HTML element [i.e., an HTML <video> element to embed video content (page 9, lines 28 – 29), (page 14, line 11) i.e., a user of the browser may navigate to a web page that includes an embedded video and the browser renders the webpage when the user clicks on the video (page 5, lines 9 – 11) i.e., HTML5 includes a markup video element that can be used to embed video content in webpage (page 6, lines 10- 12), (page 9, lines 28 – 31)], the first HTML element including a content element [i.e., an HTML <video> element to embed video content (page 9, lines 28 – 29), (page 14, line 11)];
upon receiving the request to load the content element, generating at least one of video data [i.e., when the browser renders the webpage, it receives data corresponding to the video (page 5, lines 10 – 11) i.e., rending in a first markup video display region (see ref. 106 of figure 1), (page 7, lines 6 – 8), (page 14, lines 11 – 12) i.e.., the encoded base stream is extracted from the source buffer and decoded using markup video element…rendering the video content in the media player (page 9 – lines 20 – 21) and (page 10, lines 9 – 12), (see ref. 204 - 206 of figure 2)], text data [i.e., subtitles are generated and rendered by the markup video element in the first markup display region (page 11, lines 21 – 23), (see figures 1 and 2)], or audio data associated with the content element [i.e., audio content (page 11, line 21 – 22)];
generating a second HTML element based on the one or more files [i.e., an HTML <canvas> element (page 14, line 13)], wherein the second HTML element includes video data associated with the content element [i.e., canvas is an HTML <canvas> element for displaying the rendered frames of the reconstructed video stream in a second markup video display region (page 14, lines 12 – 14), (see figure 1)];
generating a third HTML element based on the one or more files [i.e., a further markup element (page 11, line 26) i.e., HTML DivElement (page 12, line 1)], wherein the third HTML element includes text data associated with the content element [i.e., the further markup element embeds the subtitle data to be rendered on the video inside the website (page 11, lines 24 - 27), (see ref. 214 of figure 2)];
generating a fourth HTML element based on the one or more files [i.e., an HTML <video> element to embed video content (page 9, lines 28 – 29), (page 14, line 11)], wherein the fourth HTML element includes audio data associated with the content element [i.e., audio content (page 11, line 21 – 22)];
generating a nested HTML element based on the one or more files [i.e., hls.attachMedia( video, canvas, subtitles, IcevcConfig ) (page 14, line 9) i.e., the browser processes document written in HTTML markup language with embedded video, canvas and Div elements to generate a visual representation of a webpage including video content with audio and subtitle (see figures 1 and 2) Note; there is Document Object Model (DOM) hierarchy structure in the webpage i.e., nested], wherein the nested HTML element includes the first HTML element [i.e., an HTML <video> element to embed video content (page 9, lines 28 – 29), (page 14, line 11)] and at least one of the second HTML element [i.e., an HTML <canvas> element (page 14, line 13)], the third HTML element [i.e., a further markup element (page 11, line 26) i.e., HTML DivElement (page 12, line 1)], or the fourth HTML element [i.e., an HTML <video> element to embed video content (page 9, lines 28 – 29), (page 14, line 11)]; and
causing to output, via a GUI or an auditory interface system, the DRM-protected data of the nested HTML element [i.e., rendering the subtitle from the subtitle data using a further markup element. The subtitle data may be included within the encoded multi-layer video stream (page 11, lines 24 – 26), (see ref. 214 of figure 2) i.e., the reconstructed video stream may then be rendered in a second markup video display regions 110 within the webpage that is visible to a viewer of the webpage. The second markup video display region is a canvas element (page 11, lines 9 – 16), (see figure 1 and ref. 212 of figurer 2), (page 8, lines 7 – 9)].
JOHNSON does not disclose;
generating one or more digital rights management (“DRM”)-protected files based on the at least one of video data, text data or audio data associated with the content element, wherein at least one of the one or more DRM-protected files includes the at least one of video data, text data, or audio data associated with the content element; generating a second HTML element based on the one or more DRM-protected files; generating a third HTML element based on the oner or more DRM-protected files; and generating a fourth HTML element based on the one or more DRM-protected files.
However, Lee discloses;
generating one or more digital rights management (“DRM”)-protected files [i.e., the DRM processing operation applied to protection target objects (page 2, para 0035) i.e., encrypting a data region corresponding to the protection target object (page 2, para 0036) i.e., DRM information is added to the encrypted data (page 2, para 0037), (see figure 2)] based on video data associated with a content element [i.e., digital content includes various forms of objects such as a video (page 2, para 0031) i.e., an object may be designated as a DRM protection target (page 2, para 0034) i.e., encrypts the data region corresponding to the protection target object (page 2, para 0036)], wherein at least one of the one or more DRM-protected files includes the video data associated with the content element [i.e., encryption of the object’s data region…DRM information inserted into the encrypted object data (page 2, para 2, para 0036 – 0037))]; and
generating second, third and fourth HTML element [i.e., the digital content is output through the user terminal in the form of webpage including a text, a video, an image, a sound source (page 2, para 0031) i.e., video tag (page 4, para 0060)] based on the one or more DRM-protected files [i.e., web-based digital content is provided using HTML and that video content is delivered using the video tag (page 3, para 0046) and (page 4, para 0060) i.e., the DRM program uses the embedded DRM information to access the protected content].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of JOHNSON by adapting the teachings of Lee for setting a user’s rights for each of objects included in digital content and setting rights for each object of content such that a part other than the encrypted object of the digital content may be available without any limitations (See Lee; page 1, para 0009).
Claim(s) 7 – 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JOHNSON in view of Lee as applied to claims 1, 5, 13 and 15 above, and further in view of P K et al., (US 2020/0371754 A1) (hereinafter “P K”).
Regarding claim 7, JOHNSON discloses; the method of claim 5, further comprising: converting the third HTML element into a format [i.e., automatic captioning procedures i.e., speech to text (page 11, lines 29 - 30]; and
causing to output the converted third HTML element [i.e., the obtained subtitle then be rendered within the webpage (page 11, lines 30 – 31), (see figures 1 and 2)].
JOHNSON and Lee do not disclose;
configured to be read by a screen reader; and output via the screen reader.
However, P K discloses;
a format configured to be read by a screen reader [i.e., alternate text being added with an image so that the screen readers can go through the alt-text and speak out the names of the image to the user (page 6, para 0078)]; and
output via a screen reader [i.e., the screen readers speak out the names of the image to the user (page 6, para 0078)].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of JOHNSON and Lee by adapting the teachings of P K to uplifting the visually-impaired workforce with the use of assistive technology and accessibility tool to improve their ability to provide automation services (See P K; page 1, para 0004).
Regarding claim 8, JOHNSON discloses; the method of claim 7 [i.e., (see claim 7 above)].
JOHNSON and Lee do not disclose;
wherein converting the third HTML element into the format configured to be read by the screen reader further comprises: incorporating the text data of at least one of a channel associated with subtitles into an alt text field of the third HTML element.
However, P K discloses;
converting the third HTML element into the format configured to be read by the screen reader further comprises: incorporating the text data of at least one of a channel associated with subtitles into an alt text field of the third HTML element [i.e., alternate text being added with an image so that the screen readers can go through the alt-text and speak out the names of the image to the user (page 6, para 0078)].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of JOHNSON and Lee by adapting the teachings of P K to uplifting the visually-impaired workforce with the use of assistive technology and accessibility tool to improve their ability to provide automation services (See P K; page 1, para 0004).
Regarding claim 17, JOHNSON discloses; the system of claim 15, the operations further including:
converting the third HTML element into a format [i.e., automatic captioning procedures i.e., speech to text (page 11, lines 29 - 30]; and
causing to output, via a GUI, the converted third HTML element [i.e., the reconstructed video stream may then be rendered in a second markup video display regions 110 within the webpage that is visible to a viewer of the webpage. The second markup video display region is a canvas element (page 11, lines 9 – 16), (see figure 1 and ref. 212 of figurer 2), (page 8, lines 7 – 9)].
JOHNSON and Lee do not disclose;
by incorporating the DRM-protected text data of at least one of the channel associated with metadata or the channel associated with subtitles into an alt text field of the third HTML element or an alt text field of an alt text tag of a DOM associated with the media content.
However, P K discloses;
by incorporating the DRM-protected text data of at least one of the channel associated with metadata or the channel associated with subtitles into an alt text field of the third HTML element or an alt text field of an alt text tag of a DOM associated with the media content [i.e., alternate text being added with an image so that the screen readers can go through the alt-text and speak out the names of the image to the user (page 6, para 0078)].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of JOHNSON and Lee by adapting the teachings of P K to uplifting the visually-impaired workforce with the use of assistive technology and accessibility tool to improve their ability to provide automation services (See P K; page 1, para 0004).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
HUNSBERGER (US 2025/0117449 A1) discloses receiving, via a first graphical user interface (“GUI”), at least one user input associated with a DRM-protected input field, wherein the DRM-protected input field has been caused to be output via the GUI and is substantially hidden from view; based on the at least one user input, appending at least one DRM-protected media element to the DRM-protected input field via a browser module; and causing to output, via the first GUI, the DRM-protected input field with the appended DRM-protected media such that the appended DRM-protected media is substantially visible via the first GUI; detecting, via an application server, an input element of a HyperText Markup Language (“HTML”) associated with the media content; and replacing, via the application server, the input element in the HTML with a div element to generate the DRM-protected input field.
/SYED A RONI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432