DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moisa (US 2018/0078218).
Regarding claim 1, Moisa teaches a transducer-activation system comprising:
a data processing device system (par. [0070], 110);
an input-output device system communicatively connected to the data processing device system (110 connected to 120); and
a memory device system communicatively connected to the data processing device system and storing a program executable by the data processing device system, the program comprising (130 with program as in par. [0077]):
graphical representation instructions configured to cause display, via the input-output device system (par. [0103]), of a graphical representation comprising a representation of at least a portion of a bodily cavity (representation 500 of body cavity as in par. [0103]), the graphical representation comprising a plurality of graphical elements corresponding to a plurality of transducers positionable in the bodily cavity (par. [0104] elements 501 corresponding to transducers);
reception instructions configured to cause reception, via the input-output device system, of user input indicating an encircling path around at least a region of the representation of the at least the portion of the bodily cavity (par. [0129]);
determination instructions configured to cause a determination of a first region of space in a determined positional relationship with respect to the encircling path (par. [0156]), the determined positional relationship being interior of the encircling path or the determined positional relationship being exterior of the encircling path (par. [0037]);
selection instructions configured to cause, in response to reception of the user input indicating the encircling path and in response to the determination of the first region of space in the determined positional relationship with respect to the encircling path (par. [0237]), a machine-based selection of a first transducer set of the plurality of transducers (par. [0170]), the machine-based selection selecting each transducer in the first transducer set as having at least part of a corresponding graphical element of the displayed plurality of graphical elements in the determined first region of space (par. [0029] machine based selection of graphical element); and activation instructions configured to cause, via the input-output device system, activation of selected transducers of the plurality of transducers including each transducer in the first transducer set (par. [0019] activation of selected transducers).
Regarding claim 2, Moisa teaches wherein the graphical representation instructions are configured to cause display, via the input-output device system, of the encircling path among the at least some of the displayed plurality of graphical elements (par. [0236] display graphical path that is circumferential path).
Regarding claim 3, Moisa teaches wherein the graphical representation instructions are configured to cause display, via the input-output device system, of the encircling path around the at least the region of the representation of the at least the portion of the bodily cavity (par. [0236]).
Regarding claim 4, Moisa teaches wherein the graphical representation instructions are configured to cause display, via the input-output device system, of the encircling path distinctly from the displayed plurality of graphical elements (par. [0236]).
Regarding claim 5, Moisa teaches wherein the first transducer set includes a particular transducer having a corresponding graphical element of the displayed plurality of graphical elements that is intersected by the encircling path (par. [0015]).
Regarding claim 6, Moisa teaches wherein the selection instructions are configured to cause a selection indicating a selected graphical element set from the displayed plurality of graphical elements, the selected graphical element set corresponding to the first transducer set of the plurality of transducers (par. [0209] selected transducer graphical element).
Regarding claim 7, Moisa teaches wherein the machine-based selection includes a first machine-based selection of a first graphical element of the selected graphical element set (machine base selection as in par. [0232]), the first graphical element corresponding to a first transducer in the first transducer set (502 corresponding transducers to graphical elements), the first graphical element selected according to the first machine-based selection as a first particular one of the plurality of graphical elements located closest to a portion of the encircling path among all graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements located at least in part in the first region of space (par. [0237]), and wherein the machine-based selection includes a second machine-based selection of a second graphical element of the selected graphical element set (multiple machine-based selection as in par. [0232]), the second graphical element selected according to the second machine-based selection as a second particular one of the plurality of graphical elements located closest (par. [0232]), besides the first graphical element, to the portion of the encircling path, among all graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements that are in the first region of space and spaced from the encircling path (par. [0155] first region of space 350), the second graphical element spaced from the encircling path, and the second graphical element corresponding to a second transducer in the first transducer set, the second transducer other than the first transducer (par. [0104] elements 501 corresponding to transducers).
Regarding claim 8, Moisa teaches wherein the first transducer and the second transducer are adjacent transducers of the plurality of transducers (adjacent transducers connected as in at least Fig. 5U).
Regarding claim 9, Moisa teaches wherein the first graphical element selected according to the first machine-based selection is spaced from the encircling path (par. [0237] non-connecting graphical elements from a path).
Regarding claim 10, Moisa teaches wherein the first graphical element selected according to the first machine-based selection is intersected by the portion of the encircling path (par. [0237] circumferential path).
Regarding claim 11, Moisa teaches wherein the machine-based selection includes a first machine-based selection of a first group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements (par. [0229]), each graphical element in the first group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements corresponding to a respective transducer in a first group of transducers in the first transducer set (par. [0104] elements 501 corresponding to transducers), each graphical element in the first group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements selected according to the first machine-based selection as a particular one of the plurality of graphical elements located in the first region of space closest to a respective portion of the encircling path among all graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements located in or located at least in part in the first region of space (machine based selection as in par. [0232], and graphical path as in par. [0233]), and
wherein the machine-based selection includes a second machine-based selection of a second group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements (par. [0232] multiple machine base selections), each graphical element in the second group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements selected according to the second machine-based selection as a particular one of the plurality of graphical elements in the first region of space other than any graphical element in the first group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements (first region of space 350 between transducers as in par. [0155]), each graphical element in the second group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements corresponding to a respective transducer in a second group of transducers in the first transducer set (par. [0104] elements 501 corresponding to transducers).
Regarding claim 12, Moisa teaches wherein each graphical element in the second group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements is adjacent each of at least one graphical element in the first group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements (Fig. 5U-V with the graphical elements adjacent to other graphical elements).
Regarding claim 13, Moisa teaches wherein each transducer in the second group of transducers is adjacent each of at least one other transducer in the second group of transducers (Fig. 5U-V with the graphical elements adjacent to other graphical elements).
Regarding claim 14, Moisa teaches wherein the machine-based selection includes a machine-based selection of a particular group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements (machine selected as in par. [0227]), each graphical element in the selected particular group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements corresponding to a respective transducer in the first transducer set (as in at least par. [0225]), and each graphical element of at least one particular graphical element in the selected particular group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements adjacent each graphical element of a respective set of at least three graphical elements in the selected particular group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements (as in at least Fig. 5U-V with graphical elements adjacent other graphical elements).
Regarding claim 15, Moisa teaches wherein each graphical element in each respective set of at least three graphical elements in the selected particular group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements is adjacent each other graphical element in the respective set of at least three graphical elements in the selected particular group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements (Fig. 5U-V with the graphical elements adjacent to other graphical elements).
Regarding claim 16, Moisa teaches wherein the machine-based selection includes a machine-based selection of a particular group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements (machine selected as in par. [0227]), each graphical element in the selected particular group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements corresponding to a respective transducer in the first transducer set (as in at least par. [0225]), and each graphical element in the selected particular group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements adjacent each graphical element of a respective set of at least three graphical elements in the selected particular group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements (as in at least Fig. 5U-V with graphical elements adjacent other graphical elements).
Regarding claim 17, Moisa teaches wherein at least one graphical element in a first respective set of at least three graphical elements in the selected particular group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements is other than any graphical element in a second respective set of at least three graphical elements in the selected particular group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements (graphical elements in one selected set is different than a second set as in par. [0229]).
Regarding claim 18, Moisa teaches wherein each graphical element in a first respective set of at least three graphical elements in the selected particular group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements is other than any graphical element in a second respective set of at least three graphical elements in the selected particular group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements (graphical elements in one selected set is different than a second set as in par. [0229]).
Regarding claim 19, Moisa teaches wherein at least one graphical element of the at least one particular graphical element in the selected particular group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements is located closest to a portion of the encircling path among all graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements in the first region of space (par. [0140]).
Regarding claim 20, Moisa teaches wherein the selected particular group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements consists of some, but not all, of the graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements in the first region of space (par. [0149] some transducers may be selected).
Regarding claim 21, Moisa wherein the selected particular group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements includes all of the graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements in the first region of space (par. [0149] all transducers).
Regarding claim 22, Moisa wherein the machine-based selection includes a machine-based selection of a particular group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements (par. [0229]), each graphical element in the selected particular group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements corresponding to a respective transducer in the first transducer set (par. [0104] elements 501 corresponding to transducers), and each graphical element of at least one particular graphical element in the selected particular group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements adjacent each graphical element of a respective set of at least five graphical elements in the selected particular group of graphical elements of the plurality of graphical elements (Fig. 5U-V).
Regarding claim 23, Moisa teaches wherein the encircling path defines at least three non-colinear locations in the graphical representation (par. [0204] non-linear portions).
Regarding claim 24, Moisa teaches wherein the activation of each transducer in the first transducer set is configured to cause tissue ablation (par. [0145]).
Regarding claim 25, Moisa teaches wherein the user input indicating the encircling path is received according to the reception instructions at a first time (graphical path as in par. [0023]), wherein the machine-based selection occurs at a second time after the first time (Fig. 6a), and wherein the reception instructions are configured to cause reception, via the input-output device system, of movement information received between the first time and the second time (608c), the movement information indicating movement of at least part of the first transducer set into a particular region of the bodily cavity corresponding to the first region of space by the second time (first region of space 350 as in par. [0155]).
Regarding claim 26, Moisa teaches wherein the user input indicating the encircling path is received according to the reception instructions in a state in which at least part of the first transducer set is in a particular region of the bodily cavity corresponding to the first region of space (par. [0217]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Reinders (US 2019/0269367) and Brewster (US 2016/0135690) teach transducers of a similar device.
/BO OUYANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/MICHAEL F PEFFLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794