DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al, US Pub. 2022/0164624, in view of Lee et al, KR 20150134594.
Regarding claim 1, Cheng et al disclose a card shaped mobile payment device and operation method thereof comprising: an apparatus (item 200, fig. 1, fig. 3) having: a contact pad (item 121, fig. 2-4); an output light (item 180, fig. 2, par. 0052); an ultra-wide band (UWB) transceiver (par. 0047, fig. 1; item 161); and a control circuit (item 110, fig. 1 ), the control circuit to: activate the UWB transceiver when the contact pad is activated by a user §[0039]-[0043]; activate the output light to display a light pattern §[0039]-[0043]; and establish a UWB communication channel with a reader §[0047].
Although it is common practice to illuminate a light display during pairing and the prior art teaches output indicating light, but the prior art fails to specifically teach a pairing light in the reader for indicating pairing between the transceiver and the reader.
Lee et al disclose a method for controlling the lighting system comprising: a light selection mode in which a device 100 receives specific input from the user and selects a light to be controlled; including pairing between the device and the light 200.
In view of the teachings of Lee et al, it would have been obvious to modify the teachings of Cheng et al to include a pairing light for indicating the pairing between the transceiver and the device. Such modification would clearly indicating the pairing process. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by the prior art.
Regarding claim 2, Cheng et al as modified by Lee et al fails to disclose a solar power to power the control circuit. However, solar cells are very common in the art for powering electronic devices, including powering control circuits. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary artisan to employ solar cells for powering the control circuit of Cheng et al as modified by Lee et al.
Regarding claims 3-5, displaying advertisement information is for meeting specific customer requirements, wherein it is common to display information, such as card logo, for indicating the type of cards. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by Cheng et al as modified by Lee et al.
Regarding claim 6, Cheng et al as modified by Lee et al fails to disclose wherein the control circuit is deactivate the UWB transceiver when the contact pad deactivated by the user. However, the contact pad must be connected or activated in order to power up the transceiver. Therefore, it would have been obvious that the transceiver is deactivated when a user deactivates the contact pad.
Claim(s) 7, 10-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergeron et al, US Pub. 2023/0083618, in view of Lee et al, KR 20150134594.
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Bergeron et al disclose transaction cards, computer-based systems, and a mobile device for authenticating transactions comprising: an apparatus (item 160, fig. 1 ) having: a control circuit, the control circuit to: instruct a camera to capture (§[0046]) a card ID advertisement from a smart card (item 110, fig. 2); verify a card ID from the card ID advertisement (item 130, fig. 2); pair with the smart card (§[0055]-[0058]) using an ultra-wide band (UWB) transceiver (item 255, fig. 2); activate a pairing light to display a light pattern (§[0064]); and establish a UWB communication channel with the smart card .
Although it is common practice to illuminate a light display during pairing, but Bergeron et al fail to specifically teach a pairing light in the reader for indicating pairing between the transceiver and the reader.
Lee et al disclose a method for controlling the lighting system comprising: a light selection mode in which a device 100 receives specific input from the user and selects a light to be controlled; including pairing between the device and the light 200.
In view of the teachings of Lee et al, it would have been obvious to modify the teachings of Bergeron et al to include a pairing light for indicating the pairing between the transceiver and the device. Such modification would clearly indicating the pairing process. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by the prior art.
Regarding 10-14 and 17-20, they refer to technical features belonging to general knowledge in the field of smart cards and corresponding readers by the person skilled in the art, such detecting the card to activate lights or camera, and pairing the card with appropriate readers. These limitations do not meet the requirements of inventive step, these are general known steps for processing transactions. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by the prior art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The applicant teaches an apparatus and a method which includes a control circuit to instruct a camera to capture a card ID advertisement from a smart card, to verify the card ID from the card ID advertisement, to pair with the smart card using an ultra-wide band (UWB) transceiver to establish a UWB communication channel with the smart card, wherein the control circuit triangulates a location of the smart card based on signal strength from a UWB antenna and verify the location of the smart card corresponds to a location of the captured card ID advertisement. These limitations in conjunction with other limitations in the claims were not shown by the prior art of record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Remarks:
In response to the applicant’s argument regarding the prior art fails to disclose activating a pairing light to display a pattern during a pairing process, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The secondary prior art (Lee et al), disclose a method for controlling the lighting system including controlling a pairing light. The addition of Lee et al would render the claims obvious. The applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Refer to the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
.Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DANIEL ST CYR whose telephone number is (571)272-2407. The examiner can normally be reached M to F 8:00-8:00.
DANIEL ST CYR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2876
/DANIEL ST CYR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876