DETAILED ACTION
This is a Non-final Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on pgs. 6-7 with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Messina.
Applicant’s arguments on pgs. 7-8 with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Messina and Prosser.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the transfer section in claims 1-2 and 4-5 (See at least [0023-0024] for corresponding structure):
“…configured to transfer the article placed on the placement section…”
the power transmission section in claim 4 (See at least [0048] for corresponding structure):
“…configured to transmit power to another transport vehicle of the plurality of transport vehicles while combined with the other transport vehicle…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fox of US 20240149443 A1, filed 11/09/2022, hereinafter “Fox”, in view of Messina of US 20160167888 A1, filed 12/16/2014, hereinafter “Messina”.
Regarding claim 1, Fox teaches:
An article transport facility comprising: a plurality of transport vehicles configured to transport an article by traveling on a travel surface without a track; (See at least [0023]: “…Communication system 100 includes a warehouse 101 which includes a warehouse control system 102, autonomous mobile robots (also referred to as “mobile robots” or “robots”) 103…” & [0026]: “…Mobile robots 103 have the capability to move around in their environment and are not fixed to one physical location…autonomous mobile robots 103 are devices capable of performing tasks and moving around an environment, such as warehouse 101, without the need for human intervention.”)
a plurality of connection target locations to which the plurality of transport vehicles are connectable; and (See at least [0072]: “…the source and target locations are determined by warehouse control system 102 based on a map of warehouse 101, such as map 206, which indicates the locations of various items as well as various target locations for the movement of such items within warehouse 101...”)
a control system configured to control the plurality of transport vehicles, and (See at least [0087]: “…organizing engine 303 organizes one or more available mobile robots 103 to implement the identified optimal movement path based on instructing robot base controller 203 of those mobile robots 103 the job assignment to pick up and transport a specified number of items from a specified source location to a specified destination location, including connecting to another mobile robot 103 if a continuous movement path is to be created…”)
wherein: each of the plurality of transport vehicles comprises: a placement section on which the article is placeable, and a transfer section configured to transfer the article placed on the placement section, (See at least [0016]: “…a worker may select the item(s) from the shelves and deposit them on the robot. The autonomous mobile robot then serves as a picking cart in which the mobile robot itself takes the item(s) and transports them to a destination, such as the consolidation and packaging zone”, [0020]: “…Such a conveyer belt may be locked so that the conveyer belt will not move when a mobile robot is individually carrying the item from one location to another…” & [0054]: “…conveyer belt 215 resides on the top surface of mobile robot 103…”)
in a combined state in which the plurality of transport vehicles are combined in such a manner as to be adjacent to each other, the plurality of transport vehicles constitute a transport route in which the plurality of transfer sections cooperate to transport the article, the plurality of transport vehicles in the combined state form a combined transport vehicle group, (See at least [0020]: “…each autonomous mobile robot (also referred to herein as simply “moveable robot,” “mobile robot” or “robot”) may be equipped with a conveyer belt configured to carry or move one or more items. Such a conveyer belt may be locked so that the conveyer belt will not move when a mobile robot is individually carrying the item from one location to another. Alternatively, such a conveyer belt may be activated to move. A “continuous movement path,” as used herein, refers to connecting multiple mobile robots in such a manner where the conveyer belt on each of the connected mobile robots is activated to move the item in the same direction (i.e., conveyer belts of the connected mobile robots are moving in the same direction)…”. See also [0080] regarding predicting a number of robots to be used for a continuous movement path.)
the combined transport vehicle group enters a connected state in which the article is deliverable to and from a connection target location of the plurality of connection target locations, due to at least one of the plurality of transport vehicles in the combined transport vehicle group being disposed at an adjacent position adjacent to the connection target location, in the connected state, a gap is formed between the transport vehicle (See at least [0029]: “As discussed above, warehouse control system 102 may determine that the optimal movement path for transporting items from the source location to the target location involves a continuous movement path, which involves connecting mobile robots 103 in such a manner where the conveyer belt on each of the connected mobile robots 103 is activated to move the items in the same direction (i.e., conveyer belts of the connected mobile robots 103 are moving in the same direction). In one embodiment, warehouse control system 102 organizes mobile robots 103 to form the continuous movement path by programming mobile robots 103 to connect to one another. “Connecting,” as used herein, refers to a mobile robot 103 being located in close proximity to another mobile robot 103 whereby an item (e.g., lithium battery) being moved on the conveyer belt of mobile robot 103 continues to be moved on the conveyer belt of the adjacent mobile robot 103 since the space between such mobile robots 103 is so small” & [0080]: “…a continuous movement path comprised of six connected mobile robots 103…”)
the plurality of connection target locations comprise a first connection target location and a second connection target location at a position different from that of the first connection target location, (See at least [0072]: “In one embodiment, the source and target locations are determined by warehouse control system 102 based on a map of warehouse 101, such as map 206, which indicates the locations of various items as well as various target locations for the movement of such items within warehouse 101. In one embodiment, based on receiving an identification of the items (e.g., lithium batteries) as well as a number of such items (e.g., six lithium batteries) to be transported within warehouse 101, such as from a user of computing device 107, one or more source locations (e.g., aisle A, unit BA, row X; aisle B, unit DB, row C) may be determined based on map 206 listing various source locations for such items. Furthermore, map 206 may include a listing of various target locations, which may be pre-filled by an expert, and associated with various items.”)
the control system is configured to move the combined transport vehicle group between the adjacent position adjacent to the first connection target location and the adjacent position adjacent to the second connection target location while maintaining the plurality of transport vehicles in the combined state, and (See at least [0038]: “In one embodiment, upon identifying the optimal movement path for transporting the items from the source location to the target location, warehouse control system 102 is configured to organize available mobile robots 103 to implement the identified optimal movement path. In one embodiment, warehouse control system 102 tracks which mobile robots 103 are available to be utilized in transporting items within warehouse 101. In one embodiment, one or more of such available mobile robots 103 may be organized by warehouse control system 102 to implement the identified optimal movement path (e.g., continuous movement path). Upon organizing the available mobile robots 103 to implement the identified optimal movement path, the items are then transported from the source location to the target location using the optimal movement path established by the organized mobile robots 103”, [0082]: “In one embodiment, in which multiple source and destination locations are utilized, the model may identify multiple optimal movement paths, such as multiple continuous movement paths to be utilized to transport the requested items. In such a scenario, the model may prioritize which continuous movement path will be created and which continuous movement path will be delayed based on simulator 302 simulating the different scenarios of creating different continuous movement path(s) and delaying other continuous movement path(s) to determine the different item movement times for the different scenarios. Based on such item movement times, the model will prioritize which continuous movement path will be created and which continuous movement path will be delayed based on minimizing the item movement times. In one embodiment, such prioritization may be performed by organizing engine 303 of warehouse control system 102 based, in part, on the availability of mobile robots 103 and their current locations” & [0087]: “…robot base controller 203 may generate a command signal that causes onboard navigation system 204 to connect with another mobile robot 103 in situations in which a continuous movement path is to be created…” See also [0093] regarding implementing a new movement path by picking up items to be transported at a source location which corresponds to a location on the journey of mobile robots traversing the previous movement path.)
the control system is configured to selectively cause the combined transport vehicle group to form: a serial configuration in which the transport route is one route, (See at least [0021]: “A “continuous movement path,” as used herein, refers to connecting multiple mobile robots in such a manner where the conveyer belt on each of the connected mobile robots is activated to move the item in the same direction (i.e., conveyer belts of the connected mobile robots are moving in the same direction).”
a branching configuration in which at least one location on the transport route is provided with a branching section where one route branches into two or more routes(See at least [0081]: “…the model may also identify a movement path involving the separation of a continuous movement path into individual movement paths based on the simulated movement paths…” & claim 3: “…splitting an existing continuous movement path into individual movement paths.”)
a merging configuration in which at least one location on the transport route is provided with a merging section where two or more routes merge into one route(See at least [0081]: “…it may be more efficient in terms of transportation time to utilize two separate continuous movement paths. Such separate continuous movement paths may be linked using an individual movement path…” & claim 2: “…connecting two or more mobile robots to create said continuous movement path.”)
Fox does not explicitly teach the underlined:
…in the connected state, a gap is formed between the transport vehicle disposed at the adjacent position and the connection target location, and the transport vehicle and the connection target location are not physically coupled to each other…
However, Fox does teach that the mobile robots connect to one other such that “an item (e.g., lithium battery) being moved on the conveyer belt of mobile robot 103 continues to be moved on the conveyer belt of the adjacent mobile robot 103 since the space between such mobile robots 103 is so small” (See at least [0029]). Fox further teaches that the target location or destination of a transported item may be a “packaging zone” (See at least [0025]). Since the mobile robots maintain a gap between each other when they are connected and the target location is a zone, the teachings of Fox render obvious the robot being inside or adjacent to the packaging zone to drop off an item, which provides the benefit of “items are transported from a source location to a target location, such as in a warehouse, in an efficient manner” and “to ensure a continuous flow of items within the warehouse, such as a continuous flow of items from a source location (e.g., item located at aisle A, unit BA, row X) to a target destination (e.g., packaging zone)” (See [0021] & [0118] of Fox).
Additionally, Messina teaches the same limitation above (underlined):
…in the connected state, a gap is formed between the transport vehicle disposed at the adjacent position and the connection target location, and the transport vehicle and the connection target location are not physically coupled to each other… (See at least Fig. 9, which shows that mobile robotic devices 920b and 920k are connected and a gap between mobile robotic devices 920b and 920c-920e & [0083]: “To facilitate sortation of the inventory items coming from the end of the long conveyor docked to the mobile robotic device 920k, the mobile robotic device 920b may rotate (e.g., as indicated by the curved arrows) to sort such items to one or more different destinations. As shown, the mobile robotic device 920b may rotate to enable inventory items to be placed onto a conveyor docked a mobile robotic device 920c for arriving at the inventory station 350e. The mobile robotic device 920b may also rotate to enable inventory items to be placed onto a conveyor docked a mobile robotic device 920d.” See also Fig. 8 which shows a gap between connected mobile robotic devices 820a and 820b and inventory stations 350a and 350b & [0076-0077] regarding instructing the mobile robotic devices to move to a position adjacent to the inventory stations.)
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to combine Fox’s article transport facility with Messina’s technique of in the connected state, a gap is formed between the transport vehicle disposed at the adjacent position and the connection target location, and the transport vehicle and the connection target location are not physically coupled to each other. Doing so would be obvious so “the mobile robotic device 920b may rotate (e.g., as indicated by the curved arrows) to sort such items to one or more different destinations” and for “moving inventory items that come from inventory stations 350e, 350f, 350g along the conveyor segments to the vehicle 930, or moving inventory items between any combination of the stations 350e, 350f, 350g and/or vehicles 930” (See [0083] of Messina).
Furthermore, Fox does not explicitly teach the underlined:
…where one route branches into two or more routes and the two or more routes extend along directions intersecting each other…
…where two or more routes merge into one route and the two or more routes extend along directions intersecting each other…
Messina teaches:
…where one route branches into two or more routes and the two or more routes extend along directions intersecting each other… (See at least Fig. 8 & [0080]: “After being placed onto the long conveyor, the inventory items originally from the vehicle 840 may travel in a direction toward the end of the long conveyor docked to the mobile robotic device 820e and ultimately arriving to the inventory station 350e, or alternatively, travel in a direction toward the portion of the long conveyor docked to the mobile robotic device 820d and ultimately arriving at either the inventory station 350d or 350c depending on whether further sortation is performed. It is appreciated that this example also contemplates moving inventory items that come from inventory stations 350c, 350d, 350e along the conveyor segments to either or both vehicles 830, 840, or moving inventory items between any combination of the stations 350c, 350d, 350e and/or vehicles 830, 840.”)
…where two or more routes merge into one route and the two or more routes extend along directions intersecting each other… (See at least Fig. 8 & [0079]: “Alternatively, the conveyors may be connected, via connectors described herein, such that inventory items may be moved between the conveyors docked to mobile robotic devices 820g, 820h, 820i and/or 820f and the long conveyor docked to mobile robotic devices 820c, 820d and 820e without human intervention.”)
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to combine Fox’s article transport facility with Messina’s technique of connecting conveyors of mobile robotic devices into a branching configuration where one route branches into two or more routes and the two or more routes extend along directions intersecting each other and a merging configuration where two or more routes merge into one route and the two or more routes extend along directions intersecting each other. Doing so would be obvious since “multiple conveyor components may form a longer conveyor segment to cover a distance throughout the workspace” and “to facilitate moving inventory items or objects over various distances to one or more locations in or outside the workspace” (See [0016] of Messina).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fox in view of Messina and further in view of Liu of CN 113387117 A, published 09/14/2021, hereinafter “Liu”.
Regarding claim 2, Fox and Messina in combination teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Fox and Messina in combination do not explicitly teach:
wherein each of the connection target locations comprises a conveyor, and
wherein in a case of putting the combined transport vehicle group in the connected state, the control system disposes at least one of the transport vehicles in the combined transport vehicle group at the adjacent position by moving the combined transport vehicle group to approach the adjacent position along a conveyor transport direction that is a direction for transport of the article by the conveyor.
Liu teaches:
wherein each of the connection target locations comprises a conveyor, and (See at least [0101]: “…The object to be conveyed can be conveyed directly from the external fixed device to the conveyor belt of the connected conveying robot.”)
wherein in a case of putting the combined transport vehicle group in the connected state, the control system disposes at least one of the transport vehicles in the combined transport vehicle group at the adjacent position by moving the combined transport vehicle group to approach the adjacent position along a conveyor transport direction that is a direction for transport of the article by the conveyor. (See at least [0122]: “…Send a movement control command to the designated conveyor robot so that the conveyor robot moves to the conveying starting point. When the object to be conveyed is large, multiple conveyor robots can be used to carry the object, as shown in Figure 13. The object to be conveyed can be carried by connecting multiple conveyor robots…” & [0117]: “…Based on the transport distance of a single transport robot and the transport distance corresponding to the transport route, determine the number of transport robots required for a single row connection. Based on the number of robots in a single row and the required number of rows, determine the connection layout of the transport robots. A set of transport robots in a discrete state is obtained. Based on the connection layout of the transport robots and the position information of each transport robot in the obtained set, the number of transport robots to be connected that correspond to the connection layout and are closest to the transport line are selected from the set…”)
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to combine Fox and Messina’s facility with Liu’s connection target locations comprising a conveyor and technique of in a case of putting the combined transport vehicle group in the connected state, the control system disposes at least one of the transport vehicles in the combined transport vehicle group at the adjacent position by moving the combined transport vehicle group to approach the adjacent position along a conveyor transport direction that is a direction for transport of the article by the conveyor. Doing so would be obvious so “manpower can be saved and transportation efficiency can be improved” and so “the transport length of the conveyor robots is extended, the application range of the conveyor robots is expanded, and efficient and accurate unified control is achieved” (See [0002] & [0015] of Liu).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fox in view of Messina and further in view of Shin of US 20240034183 A1, filed 12/06/2022, hereinafter “Shin”.
Regarding claim 4, Fox and Messina in combination teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Fox and Messina in combination do not explicitly teach:
further comprising: a power supply section configured to supply power to the transport vehicles while fixed at a position on the travel surface, and
wherein: each of the plurality of transport vehicles comprises a power transmission section configured to transmit power to another transport vehicle of the plurality of transport vehicles while combined with the other transport vehicle,
the combined transport vehicle group comprises at least one transport vehicle serving as a power-receiving transport vehicle, and the power-receiving transport vehicle receives a supply of power from the power supply section, and
the plurality of transport vehicles constituting the combined transport vehicle group are electrically connected to each other by the power transmission sections in such a manner that a remaining transport vehicle of the plurality of transport vehicles in the combined transport vehicle group receives a supply of power from the power-receiving transport vehicle.
Shin teaches:
further comprising: a power supply section configured to supply power to the transport vehicles while fixed at a position on the travel surface, and (See at least [0058]: “With reference to FIG. 1, the first vehicle 130 may be connected to the charger no via a charging cable for battery charging, and the second vehicle 150 may be connected to the first vehicle 130 via a charging cable for battery charging” & [0069]: “The power input terminal 210 receives external power, i.e., power from a charger through a cable connection…”)
wherein: each of the plurality of transport vehicles comprises a power transmission section configured to transmit power to another transport vehicle of the plurality of transport vehicles while combined with the other transport vehicle, (See at least [0070-0071]: “The power conversion unit 220 may convert power input through the power input terminal 210 into power for charging the battery 250 or into power for charging another vehicle through the power output terminal 230. Meanwhile, the power conversion unit 220 may include a bypass function that is capable of splitting power input through the power input terminal 210 for charging another vehicle through the power output terminal 230 while charging the master vehicle 200 simultaneously. The power output terminal 230 outputs power for charging another vehicle through cable connection…”. See also [0066] regarding the second vehicle also having a power sharing function for charging another vehicle.)
the combined transport vehicle group comprises at least one transport vehicle serving as a power-receiving transport vehicle, and the power-receiving transport vehicle receives a supply of power from the power supply section, and (See at least [0057]: “FIG. 1 shows an example in which an eco-friendly vehicle charger, a first vehicle, and a second vehicle are connected to each other for sharing power according to an embodiment of the present invention” & [0059]: “…a vehicle that shares power with other vehicles, such as the first vehicle 130, is defined as a master vehicle, and a vehicle that receives power from another vehicle, such as the second vehicle 150, is defined as a slave vehicle.”)
the plurality of transport vehicles constituting the combined transport vehicle group are electrically connected to each other by the power transmission sections in such a manner that a remaining transport vehicle of the plurality of transport vehicles in the combined transport vehicle group receives a supply of power from the power-receiving transport vehicle. (See at least [0110]: “The master vehicle also charges, at step S545, the vehicle connected via the power output terminal, i.e., the slave vehicle.” See also [0066] regarding the second vehicle being able to charge another vehicle & [0070-0071] regarding outputting power for charging another vehicle connected through a cable.)
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to combine Fox and Messina’s article transport facility with Shin’s technique of transferring power from a power supply section between transport vehicles. Doing so would be obvious “to simultaneously charge a plurality of vehicles greater in number than the chargers installed” (See [0035] of Shin).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fox in view of Messina and further in view of Prosser of US 20220129010 A1, filed 03/06/2020, hereinafter “Prosser”.
Regarding claim 5, Fox teaches:
An article transport facility comprising: a plurality of transport vehicles configured to transport an article by traveling on a travel surface without a track; (See at least [0023]: “…Communication system 100 includes a warehouse 101 which includes a warehouse control system 102, autonomous mobile robots (also referred to as “mobile robots” or “robots”) 103…” & [0026]: “…Mobile robots 103 have the capability to move around in their environment and are not fixed to one physical location…autonomous mobile robots 103 are devices capable of performing tasks and moving around an environment, such as warehouse 101, without the need for human intervention.”)
a plurality of connection target locations to which the plurality of transport vehicles are connectable; and (See at least [0072]: “…the source and target locations are determined by warehouse control system 102 based on a map of warehouse 101, such as map 206, which indicates the locations of various items as well as various target locations for the movement of such items within warehouse 101...”)
a control system configured to control the plurality of transport vehicles, and (See at least [0087]: “…organizing engine 303 organizes one or more available mobile robots 103 to implement the identified optimal movement path based on instructing robot base controller 203 of those mobile robots 103 the job assignment to pick up and transport a specified number of items from a specified source location to a specified destination location, including connecting to another mobile robot 103 if a continuous movement path is to be created…”)
wherein: each of the plurality of transport vehicles comprises: a placement section on which the article is placeable, and a transfer section configured to transfer the article placed on the placement section, (See at least [0016]: “…a worker may select the item(s) from the shelves and deposit them on the robot. The autonomous mobile robot then serves as a picking cart in which the mobile robot itself takes the item(s) and transports them to a destination, such as the consolidation and packaging zone”, [0020]: “…Such a conveyer belt may be locked so that the conveyer belt will not move when a mobile robot is individually carrying the item from one location to another…” & [0054]: “…conveyer belt 215 resides on the top surface of mobile robot 103…”)
in a combined state in which the plurality of transport vehicles are combined in such a manner as to be adjacent to each other, the plurality of transport vehicles constitute a transport route in which the plurality of transfer sections cooperate to transport the article, the plurality of transport vehicles in the combined state form a combined transport vehicle group, (See at least [0020]: “…each autonomous mobile robot (also referred to herein as simply “moveable robot,” “mobile robot” or “robot”) may be equipped with a conveyer belt configured to carry or move one or more items. Such a conveyer belt may be locked so that the conveyer belt will not move when a mobile robot is individually carrying the item from one location to another. Alternatively, such a conveyer belt may be activated to move. A “continuous movement path,” as used herein, refers to connecting multiple mobile robots in such a manner where the conveyer belt on each of the connected mobile robots is activated to move the item in the same direction (i.e., conveyer belts of the connected mobile robots are moving in the same direction)…”. See also [0080] regarding predicting a number of robots to be used for a continuous movement path.)
the combined transport vehicle group enters a connected state in which the article is deliverable to and from a connection target location of the plurality of connection target locations, due to at least one of the plurality of transport vehicles in the combined transport vehicle group being disposed at an adjacent position adjacent to the connection target location, in the connected state, a gap is formed between the transport vehicle(See at least [0029]: “As discussed above, warehouse control system 102 may determine that the optimal movement path for transporting items from the source location to the target location involves a continuous movement path, which involves connecting mobile robots 103 in such a manner where the conveyer belt on each of the connected mobile robots 103 is activated to move the items in the same direction (i.e., conveyer belts of the connected mobile robots 103 are moving in the same direction). In one embodiment, warehouse control system 102 organizes mobile robots 103 to form the continuous movement path by programming mobile robots 103 to connect to one another. “Connecting,” as used herein, refers to a mobile robot 103 being located in close proximity to another mobile robot 103 whereby an item (e.g., lithium battery) being moved on the conveyer belt of mobile robot 103 continues to be moved on the conveyer belt of the adjacent mobile robot 103 since the space between such mobile robots 103 is so small” & [0080]: “…a continuous movement path comprised of six connected mobile robots 103…”)
the plurality of connection target locations comprise a first connection target location and a second connection target location at a position different from that of the first connection target location, (See at least [0072]: “In one embodiment, the source and target locations are determined by warehouse control system 102 based on a map of warehouse 101, such as map 206, which indicates the locations of various items as well as various target locations for the movement of such items within warehouse 101. In one embodiment, based on receiving an identification of the items (e.g., lithium batteries) as well as a number of such items (e.g., six lithium batteries) to be transported within warehouse 101, such as from a user of computing device 107, one or more source locations (e.g., aisle A, unit BA, row X; aisle B, unit DB, row C) may be determined based on map 206 listing various source locations for such items. Furthermore, map 206 may include a listing of various target locations, which may be pre-filled by an expert, and associated with various items.”)
the control system is configured to move the combined transport vehicle group between the adjacent position adjacent to the first connection target location and the adjacent position adjacent to the second connection target location while maintaining the plurality of transport vehicles in the combined state, and the control system is configured to move the combined transport vehicle group, formed by combining the plurality of transport vehicles in a body front-rear direction (See at least [0038]: “In one embodiment, upon identifying the optimal movement path for transporting the items from the source location to the target location, warehouse control system 102 is configured to organize available mobile robots 103 to implement the identified optimal movement path. In one embodiment, warehouse control system 102 tracks which mobile robots 103 are available to be utilized in transporting items within warehouse 101. In one embodiment, one or more of such available mobile robots 103 may be organized by warehouse control system 102 to implement the identified optimal movement path (e.g., continuous movement path). Upon organizing the available mobile robots 103 to implement the identified optimal movement path, the items are then transported from the source location to the target location using the optimal movement path established by the organized mobile robots 103”, [0082]: “In one embodiment, in which multiple source and destination locations are utilized, the model may identify multiple optimal movement paths, such as multiple continuous movement paths to be utilized to transport the requested items. In such a scenario, the model may prioritize which continuous movement path will be created and which continuous movement path will be delayed based on simulator 302 simulating the different scenarios of creating different continuous movement path(s) and delaying other continuous movement path(s) to determine the different item movement times for the different scenarios. Based on such item movement times, the model will prioritize which continuous movement path will be created and which continuous movement path will be delayed based on minimizing the item movement times. In one embodiment, such prioritization may be performed by organizing engine 303 of warehouse control system 102 based, in part, on the availability of mobile robots 103 and their current locations” & [0087]: “…robot base controller 203 may generate a command signal that causes onboard navigation system 204 to connect with another mobile robot 103 in situations in which a continuous movement path is to be created…” See also [0093] regarding implementing a new movement path by picking up items to be transported at a source location which corresponds to a location on the journey of mobile robots traversing the previous movement path.)
Fox does not explicitly teach the underlined:
…in the connected state, a gap is formed between the transport vehicle disposed at the adjacent position and the connection target location, and the transport vehicle and the connection target location are not physically coupled to each other…
However, Fox does teach that the mobile robots connect to one other such that “an item (e.g., lithium battery) being moved on the conveyer belt of mobile robot 103 continues to be moved on the conveyer belt of the adjacent mobile robot 103 since the space between such mobile robots 103 is so small” (See at least [0029]). Fox further teaches that the target location or destination of a transported item may be a “packaging zone” (See at least [0025]). Since the mobile robots maintain a gap between each other when they are connected and the target location is a zone, the teachings of Fox render obvious the robot being inside or adjacent to the packaging zone to drop off an item, which provides the benefit of “items are transported from a source location to a target location, such as in a warehouse, in an efficient manner” and “to ensure a continuous flow of items within the warehouse, such as a continuous flow of items from a source location (e.g., item located at aisle A, unit BA, row X) to a target destination (e.g., packaging zone)” (See [0021] & [0118] of Fox).
Additionally, Messina teaches the same limitation above (underlined):
…in the connected state, a gap is formed between the transport vehicle disposed at the adjacent position and the connection target location, and the transport vehicle and the connection target location are not physically coupled to each other… (See at least Fig. 9, which shows that mobile robotic devices 920b and 920k are connected and a gap between mobile robotic devices 920b and 920c-920e & [0083]: “To facilitate sortation of the inventory items coming from the end of the long conveyor docked to the mobile robotic device 920k, the mobile robotic device 920b may rotate (e.g., as indicated by the curved arrows) to sort such items to one or more different destinations. As shown, the mobile robotic device 920b may rotate to enable inventory items to be placed onto a conveyor docked a mobile robotic device 920c for arriving at the inventory station 350e. The mobile robotic device 920b may also rotate to enable inventory items to be placed onto a conveyor docked a mobile robotic device 920d.” See also Fig. 8 which shows a gap between connected mobile robotic devices 820a and 820b and inventory stations 350a and 350b & [0076-0077] regarding instructing the mobile robotic devices to move to a position adjacent to the inventory stations.)
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to combine Fox’s article transport facility with Messina’s technique of in the connected state, a gap is formed between the transport vehicle disposed at the adjacent position and the connection target location, and the transport vehicle and the connection target location are not physically coupled to each other. Doing so would be obvious so “the mobile robotic device 920b may rotate (e.g., as indicated by the curved arrows) to sort such items to one or more different destinations” and for “moving inventory items that come from inventory stations 350e, 350f, 350g along the conveyor segments to the vehicle 930, or moving inventory items between any combination of the stations 350e, 350f, 350g and/or vehicles 930” (See [0083] of Messina).
Fox and Messina in combination do not explicitly teach:
…along a body width direction…
Prosser teaches:
…along a body width direction…. (See at least Fig. 25B & [0076]: “Central control system 160 directs transport robots 200 where to go, what actions to take, route planning, re-planning, and all other higher level decisions. However, transport robots 200 themselves include onboard controls, e.g., onboard CPU subassemblies 230 (see FIG. 2), configured to enable transport robots 200 to themselves and/or as groups of two or more transport robots 200, determine how to take the desired actions, how to move/rotate, coordinate with other transport robot 200, position relative to a target object, e.g., a vehicle, engage and lift the target object, avoid collisions, and other local decisions” & [0110]: “In order to drive transport robot 2200 in a particular direction, the driven directions of the pairs of Mecanum wheels 2254 of the powered drive sub-assemblies 2250 are selected accordingly. For example, in order to translate transport robot 2200 in a first direction, all four pairs of Mecanum wheels 2254 are driven in a forward direction. In order to translate transport robot 2200 in a second, opposite direction, all four pairs of Mecanum wheels 2254 are driven in a reverse direction. In order to translate transport robot 2200 in a third direction perpendicular to the first and second directions, one set of diagonally-opposed pairs of Mecanum wheels 2254 is driven in the forward direction while the other set of diagonally-opposed pairs of Mecanum wheels 2254 is driven in the reverse direction. To translate transport robot 2200 in a fourth direction perpendicular to the first and second directions and opposite the third direction, the one set of diagonally-opposed pairs of Mecanum wheels 2254 is driven in the reverse direction while the other set of diagonally-opposed pairs of Mecanum wheels 2254 is driven in the forward direction.” See also [0142] regarding the pair of transport robots moving in the “X” and “Y” directions.)
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to combine Fox’s facility with Prosser’s technique of moving the combined transport vehicle group along a body width direction. Doing so would be obvious so the transport vehicles are “capable of maneuvering behind columns, stairways, elevator shafts, and other obstacles” and for “the cooperative maneuvering, or swarming, of plural robots in a system, e.g., in a parking facility to achieve one or more tasks” (See [0006] & [0113] of Prosser).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 11947362 B1 is directed to transformable swarm robots that can be physically connected/disconnected with/from other robots through an electromagnetic locking mechanism.
/NIKKI MARIE M MOLINA/Examiner, Art Unit 3662