DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7 have been examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ihli et al (US Patent 8,465,401).
1. Ihli et al disclose a muscle training device comprising:
a flat plate (210) for a user to board; and a
main body (600) that is attachable to, and detachable from, the flat plate (Col 3, Lines 19-40); wherein: the main body includes
a base portion (692),
an elastic body (690) provided on the base portion, and
a string (620) having a first end portion connected to the elastic body, and a second end portion positioned on a side opposite to the first end portion, and
the elastic body is configured to apply, to the string, an elastic force that acts against a tensile force when the second end portion is pulled (Col 5, Line 58- Col 6, Line 3).
2. Ihli et al disclose the muscle training device according to claim 1, wherein
the main body includes two main bodies (600; Fig 1),
the flat plate includes a side portion extending in a direction between two end portions (Fig 1), and
the two main bodies are attachable to, and detachable from, the two end portions of the side portion (Col 5, Line 58- Col 6, Line 3), respectively, and a region of the flat plate other than the two end portions of the side portion is configured as a boarding region (210) on which the user can board.
3. Ihli et al disclose the muscle training device according to claim 1, wherein
the flat plate (210) includes an attachment portion (260) to which the main body is attachable,
the attachment portion includes a first plate arranged such that a gap is formed between the first plate and a surface of the flat plate (See Examiner's Figure below),
the main body includes a second plate that is provided on a side of an outer surface of the base portion with a gap formed between the second plate and the outer surface (See Examiner's Figure below), and
when the main body is slid with respect to the attachment portion of the flat plate, the second plate of the main body is configured to enter into the gap between the first plate and the surface of the flat plate to restrict separation of the main body from the attachment portion (Col 3, Lines 19-40).
Examiner’s Figure
[AltContent: textbox (2nd Plate / Gap)][AltContent: textbox (Outer Surface)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Flat Plate)][AltContent: textbox (Gap)]
4. Ihli et al disclose the muscle training device according to claim 3, wherein
the main body is configured to rotate with respect to the attachment portion so that the second plate of the main body enters into the gap between the first plate and the surface of the flat plate (Col 3, Lines 19-40).
5. Ihli et al disclose a muscle training device comprising:
a base portion (692);
two elastic bodies (690) provided on the base portion; and
a string (620) having a first end portion attached to one of the two elastic bodies, and a second end portion positioned on a side opposite to the first end portion;
wherein the two elastic bodies are configured to apply, to the string, an elastic force that acts against a tensile force when the second end portion is pulled (Col 5, Line 58- Col 6, Line 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Paz Domante et al, Akeel et al, Mandel, and Krull et al all disclose similar muscle training devices with a cable wound around a reel and having a resistance associated therewith.
/JOSHUA T KENNEDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784 4/28/2026