DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation described in claim 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 should depend upon claim 7 to avoid 35 USC 112 issues of lack of antecedent basis for “the transition”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jasnie et al. (US 2012/0222643).
With respect to claim 1, Jasnie et al. teach an acoustic component comprising a flow channel (Figs.1 and 2, Item 10) comprising an inlet, an outlet, and a channel section (Fig.2, Item 28) arranged between the inlet and outlet; and a flow deflection device (Fig.2, Item 60) arranged in the channel section, the flow deflection device comprising a longitudinal stay, the longitudinal stay comprising an axially extending rib (Fig.2, Item 34) along an interior of the channel section of the flow channel.
With respect to claim 2, Jasnie et al. teach wherein the channel section comprises a chamber (Fig.2, Item 56) arranged along an exterior of the channel section of the flow channel, the chamber being in fluid communication with the interior of the channel section (Fig.2, Item 28) via at least one opening (Fig.2, Item 30).
With respect to claims 3 and 4, Jasnie et al. teach wherein the chamber is configured as a resonator chamber, or wherein the chamber defines a silencer volume (¶ [0043]).
With respect to claim 12, Jasnie et al. teach wherein the acoustic component (Fig.2, Item 10) is cylindrical in shape.
With respect to claim 14, Jasnie et al. teach wherein the acoustic component comprises a second flow deflection device (Fig.2, Item 60).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 – 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jasnie et al. (US 2012/0222643) in view of Inoue et al. (US 7,971,682).
With respect to claims 5 and 6, Jasnie et al. teach the limitations already discussed in a previous rejection, but fail to disclose wherein the flow deflection device comprises a step or wherein the flow deflection device is configured to deflect a flow of air through the channel section away from the at least one opening.
On the other hand, Inoue et al. teach an acoustic component (Fig.3) comprising a flow channel (Fig.3, Item 39) and a flow deflection (Fig.3, Item 50) device arranged in the channel section; and wherein the flow deflection device is configured to deflect a flow of air through the channel section away from the at least one opening (Fig.7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the Inoue et al. flow deflection device with the Jasnie et al. design because it would rectify the fluid flow to have a smooth flow profile when the fluid is flowing at high speed, preventing an undesired backpressure.
With respect to claim 7, Inoue et al. teach wherein the flow deflection device (Fig.3, Item 51) is arranged at a transition from the inlet (Fig.3, Item 44) into the channel section (Fig.3, Item 39).
With respect to claim 8, Inoue et al. teach wherein the transition comprises a change in diameter from the inlet into the channel section (Figs.3 and 6).
With respect to claims 9 and 10, The Examiner considers that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to provide the outlet comprising a larger diameter than the channel section or wherein the channel section comprises a larger diameter than the inlet because it would create a low backpressure fluid flow profile that would benefit the performance of the fluid source.
With respect to claims 11, Inoue et al. teach wherein the step is sharp-edged (Fig.4).
With respect to claim 13, The Examiner considers that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to provide the step extending circumferentially about the flow channel because it would act uniformly over the whole fluid flow improving the deflection effect. Additionally, it has been held by the courts that a change in configuration, without any criticality, is nothing more than one of numerous configurations that one of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide based on the suitability for the intended final application. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). Also, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to choose from the finite number of identified and predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397).
Claims 15 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jasnie et al. (US 2012/0222643) in view of Poisson et al. (US 11,118,544).
With respect to claims 15 and 16, Jasnie et al. teach the limitations already discussed in a previous rejection, but fail to disclose wherein the acoustic component comprises a second channel section.
Nevertheless, Poisson et al. teach an acoustic component comprising a first and second channel sections (Fig.6, about Items 220 and 210).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the Poisson et al. configuration with the Jasnie et al. teachings because each of the channel sections could be tuned to different sound frequencies, broadening the acoustic performance of the component.
With respect to claim 17, Poisson et al. teach wherein the acoustic component comprises a second chamber (Fig.6, Item 218).
With respect to claim 18, The Examiner considers that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to provide the second chamber being a smaller volume than the chamber because it would be tune to a different sound frequency range than that first chamber, broadening the acoustic performance of the component. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
With respect to claim 19, Poisson et al. teach wherein the second channel section (Fig.6, Item 300) comprises a larger diameter than the channel section (Fig.6, Item 220).
With respect to claim 20, The Examiner considers that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to provide the longitudinal stay extending longitudinally from the flow deflection device to the second flow deflection device because it would provide its benefits along the length of the component.
Double Patenting
Claims (1 – 6), 7, 9 – 11, 13 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 7 – 9 and 12, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,110,849. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter in the current application is contained in the patented claims.
Conclusion
The attached hereto PTO Form 892 lists prior art made of record that the Examiner considered it pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact Information
/Edgardo San Martin/
Edgardo San Martín
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2837
June 18, 2026