Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ergott (US 4965828 A) in view of Volpe (US 10949321 B1) in view of Lillibridge (US 10776192 B2).
In regards to claim 1, Ergott teaches:
a detection circuit enabling a trigger signal and outputting error information in response to an occurrence of an error event; (5 & 34, Error detection circuitry 18 includes standard Hamming code double bit detection, single bit correction circuitry to "scrub" errors from data read out of SRAM 2. Error detection and correction circuitry 20 includes row and column parity circuitry and correction circuitry which efficiently "scrubs" errors from data read out of E.sup.2 PROM 8. Control circuit 101 receives data error information 102A from Data In parity check circuit 102, and also receives external read and external write signals and control signals on bus 101A.) a storage circuit (4, Power is supplied to SRAM 2 via a power bus from an energy storage circuit 6); a comparison circuit enabling an interruption signal in response to the count value reaching a threshold value; (45 & 12, Hamming comparator/corrector circuit 110 receives both the 16 bits of latched data on bus 112A and also receives the 6 bits of Hamming data supplied on bus 109A by Hamming code generator 109 or read out of Hamming data section 2B of SRAM 2. Hamming code generator 109 regenerates the Hamming codes. The Hamming data that is regenerated is compared to the Hamming data that was previously stored. The interruption of input power designated by section 32B of input voltage waveform 32 causes a very slow decay of backup voltage waveform 35 between points 35C and 35D. However, backup voltage waveform 35 does not fall below backup voltage threshold 36.) and a processing circuit performing a specific operation according to the interruption signal. (6, The non-volatile memory system 1 of FIG. 1 normally operates as an SRAM when the main power on conductor 10 is present. If there is a power interruption or failure, non-volatile energy system 1 acts as a backup memory that contains all of the data in SRAM 2 immediately before the interruption of input power 10.)
Ergott fails to teach:
A microcontroller circuit comprising; storing the error information;
However, Volpe teaches:
A microcontroller circuit comprising; (Abstract, an integrated circuit device can be performed by a microcontroller based on information associated with the notification messages generated by the integrated circuit device.) storing the error information; (15, each integrated circuit may include registers to store information associated with runtime operations of the integrated circuit. the statistics registers may store counts for the number of instructions executed, number of interrupts, number of cycles in running state, number of cycles in waiting state, number of write transactions performed, etc. For example, the metadata may identify an error or an event).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ergott which teaches error detection and correction with the teaching of Volpe which teaches a microcontroller circuit storing the error information in order to identify and correct errors found in the memory. (Volpe: 61, The error management 406 may be configured to detect an error condition in the integrated circuit.)
Ergott fails to teach:
an error counter circuit adjusting a count value according to the number of times that the trigger signal is enabled by the detection circuit;
However, Lillibridge teaches:
an error counter circuit adjusting a count value according to the number of times that the trigger signal is enabled by the detection circuit; (Claim 9, upon initiating the execution of the first process, trigger a synchronous error check process and an asynchronous error check process, wherein the synchronous error check process comprises: proactively accessing an error counter to determine a current value; determining that the first value was written to the memory; proactively accessing the error counter to determine an updated value; and when the current value and the updated value are different, indicating that a first error occurred in writing to the memory;)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ergott which teaches error detection and correction with the teaching of Lillibridge which teaches an error counter according to a detected signal in order to identify errors found in the memory. (Lillibridge: 18, The error counter may be used to count the number of errors that have occurred writing to the memory 140. In other words, upon detection of an error in writing to memory, the error counter may be altered (e.g., incremented or decremented).)
In regards to claim 2, Ergott in view of Volpe in view of Lillibridge teaches the microcontroller circuit as claimed in claim 1. Ergott teaches:
wherein the specific operation is a reset operation. (5, a reset signal is produced to reset the processor.)
In regards to claim 3, Ergott in view of Volpe in view of Lillibridge teaches the microcontroller circuit as claimed in claim 2. Ergott teaches:
wherein after finishing the reset operation, the processing circuit enters an error analysis mode to analyze the error information stored in the storage circuit. (3, SRAM 2 is accessed in response to control circuitry 22 and in conjunction with operation of error detection and correction circuitry 18.)
In regards to claim 4, Ergott in view of Volpe in view of Lillibridge teaches the microcontroller circuit as claimed in claim 2. Ergott teaches:
further comprising: an error flag coupled to the comparison circuit, wherein: in response to the count value reaching the threshold value, the comparison circuit sets the value of the error flag to a specific value, and in response to the value of the error flag being the specific value, the processing circuit performs the specific operation. (5, a counter is started, but normal operation of the system continues. If the unregulated DC voltage does not rise above a second threshold that is slightly higher than the first threshold before the counter times out, a processor initiates transfer of data from the volatile RAM to the non-volatile E.sup.2 PROM.)
In regards to claim 5, Ergott in view of Volpe in view of Lillibridge teaches the microcontroller circuit as claimed in claim 4. Ergott teaches:
further comprising: an interruption circuit providing an interruption vector in response to the value of the error flag being the specific value, wherein after finishing the reset operation, the processing circuit performs program codes corresponding to the interruption vector. (4, Power is supplied to SRAM 2 via a power bus from an energy storage circuit 6 which contains circuitry shown in FIG. 2 to supply a steady internal input power during normal operating conditions and backup power during short duration power interruptions. External power bus 10 supplies input power at, for example, +5 volts, to energy storage circuit 6.)
In regards to claim 6, Ergott in view of Volpe in view of Lillibridge teaches the microcontroller circuit as claimed in claim 1. Ergott teaches:
further comprising: an input-output pin, wherein: in response to the occurrence of the error event, the detection circuit sets a voltage level of the input-output pin to a specific level. (4, Power is supplied to SRAM 2 via a power bus from an energy storage circuit 6 which contains circuitry shown in FIG. 2 to supply a steady internal input power during normal operating conditions and backup power during short duration power interruptions. External power bus 10 supplies input power at, for example, +5 volts, to energy storage circuit 6.)
In regards to claim 7, Ergott in view of Volpe in view of Lillibridge teaches the microcontroller circuit as claimed in claim 1.
Ergott fails to teach:
further comprising: a remap circuit generating a control signal according to the count value, wherein the storage circuit stores the error information according to the control signal.
However, Lillibridge teaches:
further comprising: a remap circuit generating a control signal according to the count value, wherein the storage circuit stores the error information according to the control signal. (8, a memory write error handling technique, a process may cause a processor to execute an instruction to store a value in memory. The processor may then issue the store command to a memory controller to actually execute the storage of the value in memory. The process may then continue execution, even though the memory controller may not yet have written the value to the memory. If an error in writing occurs, the process may be notified via some type of interrupt (e.g., a signal generated by the operating system (OS)).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ergott which teaches error detection and correction with the teaching of Lillibridge which teaches an error counter according to a detected signal in order to identify errors found in the memory. (Lillibridge: 18, The error counter may be used to count the number of errors that have occurred writing to the memory 140. In other words, upon detection of an error in writing to memory, the error counter may be altered (e.g., incremented or decremented).)
In regards to claim 8, Ergott in view of Volpe in view of Lillibridge teaches the microcontroller circuit as claimed in claim 1. Ergott teaches:
further comprising: a reset circuit configured to reset the count value. (5, a counter is started, but normal operation of the system continues. If the unregulated DC voltage does not rise above a second threshold that is slightly higher than the first threshold before the counter times out, a processor initiates transfer of data from the volatile RAM to the non-volatile E.sup.2 PROM. If the regulated supply voltage falls below a third threshold at which the processor is no longer able to reliably maintain its operating conditions, a reset signal is produced to reset the processor. The third threshold is set low enough that all data is safely transferred from the volatile RAM to the non-volatile E.sup.2 PROM before the reset signal is generated.)
In regards to claim 9, Ergott in view of Volpe in view of Lillibridge teaches the microcontroller circuit as claimed in claim 8. Ergott teaches:
wherein the processing circuit triggers the reset circuit at fixed time intervals. (34, Control circuit 101 receives data error information 102A from Data In parity check circuit 102, and also receives external read and external write signals and control signals on bus 101A. Control circuit 101 also receives control signals generated by host computer 120 on bus 101A. After an initial edge on the delay on a delay line following edges are produced by the conventional delay line circuitry at 25 nanosecond intervals, and suitable gain circuitry is provided to generate timing signals used to produce the sequence of handshaking required);
In regards to claim 10, Ergott in view of Volpe in view of Lillibridge teaches the microcontroller circuit as claimed in claim 8.
Ergott fails to teach:
further comprising: a power-on reset circuit configured to trigger the reset circuit.
However, Volpe teaches:
further comprising: a power-on reset circuit configured to trigger the reset circuit. (27 & 79, each statistics register may be reset to zero at power up and after each read of the register. the configuration module 612 may be used to write the system configuration registers 308a to configure the notification queues, or to enable the generation of notification messages. The configuration module 612 may also be used to initialize different components of the offload engine 108, e.g., the data movement processors 206a-206p, the accelerators 202a-202n, the memory controllers 214, by writing to associated registers after power on reset.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ergott which teaches error detection and correction with the teaching of Volpe which teaches a microcontroller circuit storing the error information in order to identify and correct errors found in the memory. (Volpe: 61, The error management 406 may be configured to detect an error condition in the integrated circuit.)
In regards to claim 11, Ergott in view of Volpe in view of Lillibridge teaches the analysis system. The claim corresponds to claim 1 as analyzed accordingly.
In regards to claim 12, Ergott in view of Volpe in view of Lillibridge teaches the analysis system as claimed in claim 11.
Ergott fails to teach:
wherein in response to the detection circuit enabling the trigger signal, the measuring instrument reads the error information from the storage circuit.
However, Volpe teaches:
wherein in response to the detection circuit enabling the trigger signal, the measuring instrument reads the error information from the storage circuit. (15, each integrated circuit may include registers to store information associated with runtime operations of the integrated circuit.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ergott which teaches error detection and correction with the teaching of Volpe which teaches a microcontroller circuit storing the error information in order to identify and correct errors found in the memory. (Volpe: 61, The error management 406 may be configured to detect an error condition in the integrated circuit.)
In regards to claim 13, Ergott in view of Volpe in view of Lillibridge teaches the analysis system as claimed in claim 11.
Ergott fails to teach:
wherein the debug interface is a serial wire debug (SWD) interface.
However, Volpe teaches:
wherein the debug interface is a serial wire debug (SWD) interface. (84, The debug module 620 may be used for debugging the offload engine 108 in instances when the performance or the health of the offload engine 108 is outside an acceptable range based on the threshold.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ergott which teaches error detection and correction with the teaching of Volpe which teaches a microcontroller circuit storing the error information in order to identify and correct errors found in the memory. (Volpe: 61, The error management 406 may be configured to detect an error condition in the integrated circuit.)
In regards to claim 14, Ergott in view of Volpe in view of Lillibridge teaches the analysis system as claimed in claim 11. Ergott teaches:
wherein the microcontroller circuit further comprises: a remap circuit generating a control signal according to the count value, wherein the storage circuit stores the error information according to the control signal. (34, Error detection and correction circuitry 20 includes row and column parity circuitry and correction circuitry which efficiently "scrubs" errors from data read out of E.sup.2 PROM 8. Control circuit 101 receives data error information 102A from Data In parity check circuit 102, and also receives external read and external write signals and control signals on bus 101A.)
In regards to claim 15, Ergott in view of Volpe in view of Lillibridge teaches the analysis system as claimed in claim 14. Ergott teaches:
wherein the storage circuit comprises: a non-volatile memory; a volatile memory; and a memory controller storing the error information in the non-volatile memory or the volatile memory according to the control signal. (5, all data is safely transferred from the volatile RAM to the non-volatile E.sup.2 PROM before the reset signal is generated.)
In regards to claim 16, Ergott in view of Volpe in view of Lillibridge teaches the analysis system as claimed in claim 11. Ergott teaches:
wherein the microcontroller circuit further comprises: an interruption circuit providing an interruption vector according to the interruption signal, wherein after finishing the reset operation, the processing circuit performs program codes corresponding to the interruption vector. (4, Power is supplied to SRAM 2 via a power bus from an energy storage circuit 6 which contains circuitry shown in FIG. 2 to supply a steady internal input power during normal operating conditions and backup power during short duration power interruptions. External power bus 10 supplies input power at, for example, +5 volts, to energy storage circuit 6.)
In regards to claim 17, Ergott in view of Volpe in view of Lillibridge teaches the analysis system of claim 11. The claim corresponds to claim 8 as analyzed accordingly.
In regards to claim 18, Ergott in view of Volpe in view of Lillibridge teaches the analysis system of claim 11. The claim corresponds to claim 9 as analyzed accordingly.
In regards to claim 19, Ergott teaches:
A control method applied in a microcontroller circuit, comprising: determining whether an error event occurs; (3, SRAM 2 is accessed in response to control circuitry 22 and in conjunction with operation of error detection and correction circuitry 18.) recording the error information in a storage circuit; (4, Power is supplied to SRAM 2 via a power bus from an energy storage circuit 6); directing a processing circuit to perform a reset operation in response to the count value reaching a threshold value; (45 & 12, Hamming comparator/corrector circuit 110 receives both the 16 bits of latched data on bus 112A and also receives the 6 bits of Hamming data supplied on bus 109A by Hamming code generator 109 or read out of Hamming data section 2B of SRAM 2. Hamming code generator 109 regenerates the Hamming codes. The Hamming data that is regenerated is compared to the Hamming data that was previously stored. The interruption of input power designated by section 32B of input voltage waveform 32 causes a very slow decay of backup voltage waveform 35 between points 35C and 35D. However, backup voltage waveform 35 does not fall below backup voltage threshold 36.) and providing the error information to the processing circuit in response to the processing circuit finishing the reset operation. (6, The non-volatile memory system 1 of FIG. 1 normally operates as an SRAM when the main power on conductor 10 is present. If there is a power interruption or failure, non-volatile energy system 1 acts as a backup memory that contains all of the data in SRAM 2 immediately before the interruption of input power 10.)
Ergott fails to teach:
adjusting the count value and generating error information in response to the error event occurring;
However, Lillibridge teaches:
adjusting the count value and generating error information in response to the error event occurring; (Claim 9, upon initiating the execution of the first process, trigger a synchronous error check process and an asynchronous error check process, wherein the synchronous error check process comprises: proactively accessing an error counter to determine a current value; determining that the first value was written to the memory; proactively accessing the error counter to determine an updated value; and when the current value and the updated value are different, indicating that a first error occurred in writing to the memory;)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ergott which teaches error detection and correction with the teaching of Lillibridge which teaches an error counter according to a detected signal in order to identify errors found in the memory. (Lillibridge: 18, The error counter may be used to count the number of errors that have occurred writing to the memory 140. In other words, upon detection of an error in writing to memory, the error counter may be altered (e.g., incremented or decremented).)
In regards to claim 20, Ergott in view of Lillibridge teaches the control method as claimed in claim 19. Ergott teaches:
further comprising: notifying a measuring instrument and providing the error information to the measuring instrument each time the error event occurs, wherein the measuring instrument analyzes the error information to provide an analysis report. (3, SRAM 2 is accessed in response to control circuitry 22 and in conjunction with operation of error detection and correction circuitry 18.)
Prior Art Made of Record
The prior art mode of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
Zhou (US 2023/0083193 A1): A system can predict memory device failure through identification of correctable error patterns based on the memory architecture. The failure prediction can thus account for the circuit-level of the memory rather than the mere number or frequency of correctable errors. A failure prediction engine correlates hardware configuration of the memory device with correctable errors (CEs) detected in data of the memory device to predict an uncorrectable error (UE) based on the correlation.
Conclusion
should be directed to VICTOR PERRY whose telephone number is (571)272-6319. The examiner can
normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 - 5:00.
Mark Featherstone can be reached on (571) 270-3750. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/V.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2111
/GUERRIER MERANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111 2/2/2026