DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 20, 2024 and February 25, 2025 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-4, 9-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Luzenski et al. (US 2018/0343042, “Luzinski”).
Regarding claim 1, Luzinski teaches an electronic module (FIG. 25), comprising: a plurality of planar inductive coupling coils (FIG. 19, FIG. 20 – inductor coils 144, 146, 148, e.g., inductor coils on top surface of FIG. 25) configured to interface with a corresponding inductive coupling coil (e.g. one of the inductor coils on the side surface of FIG. 25 ), each planar inductive coupling coil in the plurality of planar inductive coupling coils being arranged in a different plane than other planar inductive coupling coils in the plurality of planar inductive coupling coils ([0113] “The third inductor coil 148 is positioned in a plane above the first and second inductor coils 144, 146. Alternatively, the third inductor coil 148 may be positioned on a plane below the first and second inductor coils 144, 146”).
Regarding claim 2, Luzinski teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein the plurality of planar inductive coupling coils is configured to establish inductive coupling with the corresponding coil sufficient to support near field communication ([0054] In this application, the subject technology concepts particularly pertain to NFMC. NFMC enables the transfer of electrical energy and/or data wirelessly through magnetic induction between a transmitting antenna 22 and a corresponding receiving antenna 26 (FIG. 13). The NFMC standard, based on near-field communication interface and protocol modes, is defined by ISO/IEC standard 18092).
Regarding claim 3, Luzinski teaches claim 2 and further teaches wherein the plurality of planar inductive coupling coils is configured to establish inductive coupling with the corresponding coil sufficient to support the near field communication in a frequency range of 13.767 MHz to 15.553 MHz ([0111] “the multi-antenna array 140 of the present application may be configured with a multitude of inductor coils 12 that are specifically tuned to a variety of operating frequencies. These frequencies include but are not limited to between 50 kHz to about 500 kHz as well as from about 6.78 MHz to about 276.12 MHz”).
Regarding claim 4, Luzinski teaches claim 2 and further teaches wherein the near field communication conforms with ISO/IEC Standard 18092:3143 ([0054] In this application, the subject technology concepts particularly pertain to NFMC. NFMC enables the transfer of electrical energy and/or data wirelessly through magnetic induction between a transmitting antenna 22 and a corresponding receiving antenna 26 (FIG. 13). The NFMC standard, based on near-field communication interface and protocol modes, is defined by ISO/IEC standard 18092).
Regarding claim 9, Luzinski teaches claim 1 and further teaches further comprising an inductive wireless charging coil configured to transmit more than one watt of electrical power to a corresponding inductive wireless charging coil ([0057] “the transmitting antenna 22 and the receiving antenna 26 of the present disclosure may be configured to transmit and/or receive electrical power having a magnitude that ranges from about 100 mW to about 100 W. In one or more embodiments the inductor coil 12 of the transmitting antenna 22 is configured to resonate at a transmitting antenna resonant frequency or within a transmitting antenna resonant frequency band”).
Regarding claim 10, Luzinski teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein one inductive coupling coil in the plurality of planar inductive coupling coils is arranged in a plane that is substantially perpendicular relative to planes of other inductive coupling coils in the plurality of planar inductive coupling coils (FIG. 25 – inductor coils on the top surface is substantially perpendicular to inductor coils on the side surfaces).
Regarding claim 11, Luzinski teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein one inductive coupling coil in the plurality of planar inductive coupling coils is arranged in a plane that is substantially parallel and offset relative to planes of other inductive coupling coils in the plurality of planar inductive coupling coils (FIG. 20 shows inductor coil 148 positioned in a plane that is parallel to inductor coil 144 and 146. [0113] “The third inductor coil 148 is positioned in a plane above the first and second inductor coils 144, 146. Alternatively, the third inductor coil 148 may be positioned on a plane below the first and second inductor coils 144, 146”).
Regarding claim 12, Luzinski teaches a wireless communication module (FIG. 25), comprising: a first inductive coupling coil configured to generate a first magnetic field having a first axis (FIG. 25 – inductors on the top surface. [0051] “[0051] In one or more embodiments, magnetic fields 24 emanating from the inductor coil 12 of the subject technology having a figure eight configuration exhibit the pattern shown in FIG. 4. As illustrated in the embodiment shown in FIG. 4, magnetic fields 24 emanating from a transmitting antenna 22 comprising an inductor coil 12 having a figure eight configuration emanate in a direct, straight direction between opposing transmitting and receiving antennas 22, 26”); and a second inductive coupling coil configured to generate a second magnetic field having a second axis non-coaxial with the first axis (FIG. 25 – inductors on the side surface. [0051] “[0051] In one or more embodiments, magnetic fields 24 emanating from the inductor coil 12 of the subject technology having a figure eight configuration exhibit the pattern shown in FIG. 4. As illustrated in the embodiment shown in FIG. 4, magnetic fields 24 emanating from a transmitting antenna 22 comprising an inductor coil 12 having a figure eight configuration emanate in a direct, straight direction between opposing transmitting and receiving antennas 22, 26”).
Regarding claim 13, Luzinski teaches claim 12 and further teaches wherein the second axis of the second coil is laterally offset from the first axis of the first coil (FIG. 25 – axis direction of inductors on the top surface have different axis direction of inductors on side the surface).
Regarding claim 14, Luzinski teaches claim 12 and further teaches wherein the first axis of the first coil is substantially perpendicular to the second axis of the second coil (FIG. 25 – axis direction of inductors on the top surface is perpendicular to axis direction of inductors on the side surface).
Regarding claim 15, Luzinski teaches claim 12 and further teaches wherein at least one of the first and second inductive coupling coils are configured to transmit up to one watt of electrical power ([0057] “the transmitting antenna 22 and the receiving antenna 26 of the present disclosure may be configured to transmit and/or receive electrical power having a magnitude that ranges from about 100 mW to about 100 W. In one or more embodiments the inductor coil 12 of the transmitting antenna 22 is configured to resonate at a transmitting antenna resonant frequency or within a transmitting antenna resonant frequency band”).
Regarding claim 16, Luzinski teaches claim 12 and further teaches wherein a single substrate comprises the first and second inductive coupling coils ([0114] “In one or more embodiments, the multi-antenna arrays 140 illustrated in either or both FIG. 19, 20, or 21 may be embedded within a platform 142 or substrate 72. In one or more embodiments, the multi-antenna array 140 may be embedded within the platform 142 such that the top surface of at least one of the inductor coils 144, 146, 148 of the array 140 is positioned flush with the top surface of the platform 142”).
Regarding claim 17, Luzinski teaches claim 12 and further teaches further comprising a third inductive coupling coil configured to generate a third magnetic field having a third axis laterally offset from the first axis of the first coil and substantially perpendicular to the second axis of the second coil (FIG. 25 – inductors on the top surface located at 3 different position therefore they have axis “offset” from each other. The axis direction of inductors on the top surface is perpendicular to the axis direction of inductors on the side surface).
Regarding claim 19, Luzinski teaches claim 12 and further teaches wherein the third coil is configured to transmit more than one watt of electrical power ([0057] “the transmitting antenna 22 and the receiving antenna 26 of the present disclosure may be configured to transmit and/or receive electrical power having a magnitude that ranges from about 100 mW to about 100 W. In one or more embodiments the inductor coil 12 of the transmitting antenna 22 is configured to resonate at a transmitting antenna resonant frequency or within a transmitting antenna resonant frequency band”).
Regarding claim 20, Luzinski teaches claim 12 and further teaches wherein the first and second inductive coupling coils are contained in a single substrate ([0114] “In one or more embodiments, the multi-antenna arrays 140 illustrated in either or both FIG. 19, 20, or 21 may be embedded within a platform 142 or substrate 72. In one or more embodiments, the multi-antenna array 140 may be embedded within the platform 142 such that the top surface of at least one of the inductor coils 144, 146, 148 of the array 140 is positioned flush with the top surface of the platform 142”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luzinski.
Regarding claim 5, Luzinski teaches claim 2 but does not specifically teach wherein at least one of the coils in the plurality of planar inductive coupling coils and the corresponding coil are configured to establish inductive coupling sufficient to support the near field communication at a distance up to four centimeters.
However, Luzinski’s application uses “NFMC standard, based on near-field communication interface and protocol modes, is defined by ISO/IEC standard 18092.” It is well known in the art NFC devices communicate range at up to 4 cm.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein at least one of the coils in the plurality of planar inductive coupling coils and the corresponding coil are configured to establish inductive coupling sufficient to support the near field communication at a distance up to four centimeters, to provide sweet spot for ultra-low power consumption, high privacy, and enhanced security.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luzinski in view of Lee (US 2018/0040950, “Lee”).
Regarding claim 6, Luzinski teaches claim 2 but does not specifically teach wherein a single substrate comprises the plurality of planar inductive coupling coils.
However, Lee teaches wherein a single substrate comprises the plurality of planar inductive coupling coils ([0102] “In a case where the loop antenna is a part of a flexible printed circuit board shape, a plurality of loop antennas for communication may be included in one flexible printed circuit board.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein a single substrate comprises the plurality of planar inductive coupling coils, as taught by Lee in Luzinski to so facilitate overlapping antennas. Regarding claim 7, Luzinski in in view of Lee teaches claim 6 but does not specifically teach wherein the single substrate is formed of a flexible dielectric material.
However, Lee teaches wherein the single substrate is formed of a flexible dielectric material ([0102] “the conductive pattern(s) 553a, 553b may form a loop antenna. In a case where the loop antenna is a part of a flexible printed circuit board shape, a plurality of loop antennas for communication may be included in one flexible printed circuit board.” [0101] “According to various embodiments, the base member 551 may include a film made of an insulating or dielectric material and may provide a region for forming the conductive pattern(s) 553a, 553b.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the single substrate is formed of a flexible dielectric material, as taught by Lee in Luzinski to so facilitate overlapping antennas.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luzinski in view of Kurz et al. (US 2015/0145634, “Kurz”).
Regarding claim 8, Luzinski teaches claim 1 but does not teach wherein the plurality of planar inductive coupling coils is formed by a stamped copper circuit.
Kurz teaches wherein the plurality of planar inductive coupling coils is formed by a stamped copper circuit ([0043] “FIG. 7 is a view of an electrical component assembly 390 including a wireless charging coil 370. More specifically, the wireless charging coil 370 is attached to ferrite substrate 392 and in conjunction with a near field communication (NFC) antenna 394 having contact paddles. The wireless charging coil 370 and NFC antenna 394 could have contact pads (e.g., gold) to connect the wireless charging coil 370 and NFC antenna 394 to the circuitry of the mobile device. The assembly comprises a first jumper 374, a second jumper 376, and a third jumper 377 connecting the various ends of the coil 370, as explained above in more detail. There could be a film (e.g., clear plastic) over the wireless charging coil 370 and NFC antenna 394, with the jumpers 374, 376, 377 on top of the film and only going through the film at the points of connection.” [0030] “The present disclosure relates to a wireless charging coil and methods of making same. As discussed in more detail below in connection with FIGS. 1-7, the stamped metal wireless charging coil comprises a series of parallel traces connected in a bifilar fashion.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the plurality of planar inductive coupling coils is formed by a stamped copper circuit, as taught by Kurz in Luzinski to increase magnetic coupling effectiveness (e.g., magnetic field strength) and thereby transmit energy at a higher efficiency.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luzinski in view of
Shinohe et al. (US 2014/0125141, “Shinohe”)
Regarding claim 18, Luzinski teaches claim 12 but fails to teach a third inductive coupling coil configured to generate a third magnetic field having a third axis coaxial with the first axis of the first coil.
Shinohe teaches a third inductive coupling coil configured to generate a third magnetic field having a third axis coaxial with the first axis of the first coil ([0124] “The first proximity radio communication antenna 510 and the first non-contact power transmission coil 520 are formed on the same plane of the first dielectric substrate 500 to be coaxial with each other”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature a third inductive coupling coil configured to generate a third magnetic field having a third axis coaxial with the first axis of the first coil, as taught by Shinohe in Luzinski so that even if the antenna module 20 is rotated, alignment of the center position of the non-contact power transmission coil 220 makes both the proximity radio communication and the non-contact power transmission available.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Oodachi et al. (US 2012/0223595) teaches a wireless power transmission apparatus including coils having different orientations of axes.
Yeh et al. (US 2016/0322852) teaches a wireless charging device including transmission coils.
Signh et al. (US 2017/0054213) teaches a multi-mode antenna including a first inductor coil and second inductor coil.
/QUOC THAI N VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642