DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is a first office action, non-final rejection on the merits. Claims 1-16, filed as preliminary amendment, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Response to Amendment
2. Applicant’s amendment filed October 03, 2024 amends claims 1-16Claims 1-16 presented for Examination. Applicant’s amendment has been fully considered and entered.
Priority
3. The application is filed on 10/03/2024 but claims the benefit of foreign application number FR 2315337 filed on 12/27/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/03/2024 has been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Form PTO-1449 is signed and attached hereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-3, 7-8, 10 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Fu (US 20220332152 A1) (hereinafter Fu) in view of Shostak (US 20060025897 A1) (hereinafter Shostak).
Regarding claim 1, Fu discloses a method for communicating (Fig. 7, Bluetooth host 2 of the vehicle, para 53, Bluetooth module configured to transmit a radio frequency (RF) signal) according to a communication protocol allowing short-range two-way data exchanges using radio waves between an electronic module (Fig. 7, Bluetooth host 2) from among a plurality of electronic modules (Fig. 7, right rear tire, right rear tire (i.e., plurality modules), para 53, tire pressure monitoring modules are mounted on respective tires, where each of the tire pressure monitoring modules includes a first Bluetooth module configured to transmit a radio frequency (RF) signal, para 95, Bluetooth module 101 performed through Bluetooth to transmit and receive information (i.e., short-range- Bluetooth is short-range communication known in the Arts), data representing temperature, pressure, and the like (i.e., two-way data exchanges)) and a remote control device (para 54, Bluetooth host includes a second Bluetooth module and a processing unit, para 25, Bluetooth module of each of the tires, radio frequency signal in response to an instruction),
the method comprising: a step of transmitting, by the remote control device (Fig. 7, Bluetooth host 2 of the vehicle), which comprises at least directional antennas having different transmission directions, a command through its at least directional antennas that is intended for the plurality of electronic modules (para 08, Bluetooth module in each tire, wherein the first data comprises data representing two different directions in a corresponding tire, para 53, Bluetooth module transmit a radio frequency (RF) signal in at least two different directions in a tire where the tire pressure monitoring module is mounted, para 134, Bluetooth modules of tires transmit first radio frequency (RF) signals in response to instructions (i.e. command through antennas)); and
a step of identifying an electronic module from among the plurality of electronic modules that is identified as being opposite the remote control device (Fig. 7, Bluetooth host and Right front tire module or Right rear tire module (i.e, as being opposite), para 123, Fig. 7, θ.sub.RB represents an angle of arrival of first Bluetooth module in right rear tire relative to second Bluetooth module (i.e, as being opposite), para 127, Bluetooth host, straight line formed by two antennas is perpendicular to longitudinal direction, and straight line from antenna A.sub.0 pointing to the antenna A.sub.1 directs to right (i.e. being opposite the remote control as tire sending signal in an angle and direction of A0 and A1), para 130, based on the MAC address and the ID in the broadcast signal identifying the Bluetooth module is a target device),
with the communication only being established between the remote control device and the electronic module from among the plurality of electronic modules that is identified as being opposite the remote control device (Fig. 7, remote control-Bluetooth Host and electronic module- right front or rear tire module in opposite, para 41, first Bluetooth module communicate with a second Bluetooth module of a Bluetooth host in the vehicle, para 87, Bluetooth module 201 communicate with first Bluetooth module 101 in a wireless manner (i.e. based on established communication), processing unit 202 perform tire positioning procedure, Abstract, tire is determined to be a front tire or a right tire based on magnitude of an AOA of a first Bluetooth module in tire pressure monitoring module relative to a multi-antenna Bluetooth host.).
Fu specifically fails to disclose communication protocol allowing data exchanges using ultra-high frequency radio waves between an electronic module;
which include at least two switchable directional antennas, a command through its at least two switchable directional antennas.
In analogous art, Shostak discloses communication protocol allowing data exchanges using ultra-high frequency radio waves between an electronic module (para 1118 and 1121, Fig. 126, one or more RFID devices 302, switch 315 , each sensor assembly (tire pressure monitor or other) include an antenna 303 in series with an RFID device 302/switch 315 in series with the SAW sensor 304, Interrogator 309 send RFID device command, para 832, RFID to operate with directional antennas at a relatively frequency such as 2.4 GHz (i.e. ultra-high frequency), para 1331, system, para 1543, waves can be either electromagnetic (radio frequency, microwave, infrared, etc) or ultrasonic and use variety of protocols such as CDMA, FDMA, TDMA (i.e. ultra-high frequency));
which include at least two switchable directional antennas, a command through its at least two switchable directional antennas (para 302, plurality of sensors arranged to generate and transmit a signal and use radio frequency signal and a multi-element, switchable directional antenna array, para 897, vehicle body having four tires 621 and a centrally mounted four element, switchable directional antenna array 622, switches each of four antennas of the array 622, send RF signals to each of the four tires 621 ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of tire pressure monitoring module, a tire localization system and a tire localization method of a vehicle are provided to tires determined a left tire or a right tire conditions, based on a phase relationship of components of field intensity in two different directions disclosed by Fu to use plurality of sensors each arranged to generate and transmit a signal upon receipt and detection of a radio frequency signal and a multi-element, switchable directional antenna array as taught by Shostak to use directional antenna elements which add superior signal strength, increased range, and reduced interference by focusing radio frequency (RF) energy into a specific, narrow beam and to switches each of the four antennas of the array to monitor the tires on a vehicle, i.e., when the sensors are constructed to be arranged in connection with tires of the vehicle to improve measurement accuracy of temperature and/or pressure thereof. [Shostak, para 303].
Regarding claim 2, Fu discloses the communication method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a preliminary mapping step, wherein: the remote control device transmits a basic signaling message; upon detection by an electronic module of a basic signaling message transmitted by the remote control device, the electronic module transmits a standard response message, with the remote control device thus being aware of the electronic modules located in the vicinity (para 31, determining for each of the tires, based on the angle of arrival of first Bluetooth module in each tire relative to second Bluetooth module, para 25, Bluetooth module of each of tires, radio frequency signal in response to an instruction, para 90, second Bluetooth module 201 has at least two antennas which receive radio frequency (RF) signals sent by first Bluetooth module 101, para 86, on obtained data representing components of time module; and transmit first data to first Bluetooth module 101 to Bluetooth host 2 wirelessly).
Regarding claim 3, Fu fails to discloses the communication method as claimed in claim 2, wherein the standard response message transmitted by the electronic module upon detection of a basic signaling message transmitted by the remote control device comprises an identifier of the electronic module.
In analogous art, Shostak discloses the communication method as claimed in claim 2, wherein the standard response message transmitted by the electronic module upon detection of a basic signaling message transmitted by the remote control device comprises an identifier of the electronic module (para 87, remote tire pressure monitoring system includes a sending unit for each monitored tire, and transmit RF signals, each including an identifier and a pressure indicator. A receiver operates in a learn mode in which receiver associates specific identifiers with specific tires).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of tire pressure monitoring module, a tire localization system and a tire localization method of a vehicle are provided to tires determined a left tire or a right tire conditions, based on a phase relationship of components of field intensity in two different directions disclosed by Fu to use plurality of sensors each arranged to generate and transmit a signal upon receipt and detection of a radio frequency signal and a multi-element, switchable directional antenna array as taught by Shostak to use antenna elements to monitor the tires on a vehicle in response from the RFID, SAW or tire pressure, temperature, ID, acceleration and/or other property monitor arranged in connection with or associated with the tire , to measure the temperature and/or pressure thereof. [Shostak, paragraph 897].
Regarding claim 7, Fu fails to discloses the communication method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the strength level is established on at least four signals successively received by the remote control device or the electronic modules.
In analogous art, Shostak discloses the communication method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the strength level is established on at least four signals successively received by the remote control device or the electronic modules (para 91, tire pressure monitoring device for a vehicle receiving antennas sense highest field strength of a received radiogram during communications, para 346, processor determine difference between the temperatures of the tire at different locations exceeds a threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of tire pressure monitoring module, a tire localization system and a tire localization method of a vehicle are provided to tires determined a left tire or a right tire conditions, based on a phase relationship of components of field intensity in two different directions disclosed by Fu to use plurality of sensors each arranged to generate and transmit a signal upon receipt and detection of a radio frequency signal and a multi-element, switchable directional antenna array as taught by Shostak to detect remote tire pressure monitoring system which monitors a vehicle's tire pressures and to indicates an alarm condition when the tire pressure falls below certain predefined threshold [Shostak, paragraph 84].
Regarding claim 8, Fu fails to discloses the communication method as claimed in claim 3, wherein the identifier of the electronic module is a specific address stored in a physical memory for controlling access to the medium of the electronic module.
In analogous art, Shostak discloses the communication method as claimed in claim 3, wherein the identifier of the electronic module is a specific address stored in a physical memory for controlling access to the medium of the electronic module (para 1113, provide a tire ID to interrogator and ID portion of RFID stored in memory, para 87, remote tire pressure monitoring system transmit RF signals, each including an identifier and a pressure indicator).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of tire pressure monitoring module, a tire localization system and a tire localization method of a vehicle are provided to tires determined a left tire or a right tire conditions, based on a phase relationship of components of field intensity in two different directions disclosed by Fu to use plurality of sensors each arranged to generate and transmit a signal upon receipt and detection of a radio frequency signal and a multi-element, switchable directional antenna array as taught by Shostak to use directional antennas and use of multiple antennas and measuring the time of arrival or angle of arrival of the pulses and the use of an identification code, such as a number, that is transmitted along with the tire pressure and temperature readings. [Shostak, paragraph 1113].
Regarding claim 10, Fu discloses a remote control device for implementing a communication method as claimed in claim 1, comprising: at least two phase-shifted switchable directional antennas; and radio frequency switches (Abstract, Each of tires is determined to be a left tire or a right tire based on a phase relationship of components of magnetic field intensity in two different directions in the tire, para 28, obtaining, based on the I/Q data corresponding to the two antennas, a phase difference, para 84, tire is determined to be a left tire or a right tire based on a phase relationship of field intensity variation curves).
Regarding claim 15, Fu discloses a system for implementing the communication method as claimed in claim 1, comprising: at least one remote control device comprising at least two phase-shifted switchable directional antennas and radio frequency switches; and at least two electronic modules configured to communicate in accordance with a communication protocol allowing short-range two-way data exchanges using ultra-high frequency radio waves (Fig. 7, right rear tire, right rear tire (i.e., plurality modules), para 53, tire pressure monitoring modules are mounted on respective tires, where each of the tire pressure monitoring modules includes a first Bluetooth module configured to transmit a radio frequency (RF) signal, para 95, Bluetooth module 101 performed through Bluetooth to transmit and receive information (i.e., short-range- Bluetooth is short-range communication known in the Arts), data representing temperature, pressure, and the like (i.e., two-way data exchanges)).
Shostak discloses two phase-shifted switchable directional antennas (para 897, vehicle body having four tires 621 and a centrally mounted four element, switchable directional antenna array 622, switches each of four antennas of the array 622, send RF signals to each of the four tires 621).
Regarding claim 16, Fu discloses the system as claimed in claim 15, wherein the electronic modules are wheel units of a tire pressure monitoring system for a vehicle (para 05, tires are determined to be a left tire or a right tire, based on a phase relationship of field intensity in two different directions, where field intensity in two different directions are measured in a tire pressure monitoring module).
9. Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Fu (US 20220332152 A1) (hereinafter Fu) in view of Shostak (US 20060025897
A1) (hereinafter Shostak) and further in view of DAYANANDAN (US 20150264584
A1) (hereinafter DAYANANDAN).
Regarding claim 11, Fu discloses as in Fig. 7, Bluetooth module in the right front tire relative to the second Bluetooth module, where θ.sub.RB is less than 90 degrees , and θ.sub.RF is greater than 90 degrees [123] and
Shostak discloses the remote control use directional antennas phase-shifted by an angle (para 897, vehicle body having four tires 621 and a centrally mounted four element, switchable directional antenna array 622, switches each of four antennas of array 622, send RF signals to each of the four tires 621 and [1526], oriented at 45 degrees relative to the plane of polarization of the incident field).
Additionnaly DAYANANDAN (20150264584) also discloses device comprising two switchable directional antennas phase-shifted by an angle that is greater than 45° (para 183, as in Fig. 15A-15B, wireless network 100, an AP 110 includes an array of directional antennae, comprising antennae 112, 114, and 116, antennae 112, 114, and 116, AP 110 transmits the packet via antenna 118 to end devices 132, 134, 136, and 138, para 23, plurality of input ports may comprise 3 input ports or more, steering angle that is at or between about -90. degrees . and 90. degrees ., e.g., at or between -45. degrees . and about 45. degrees ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of tire pressure monitoring module, a tire localization system and a tire localization method of a vehicle are provided to tires determined a left tire or a right tire conditions, based on a phase relationship of components of field intensity in two different directions disclosed by Fu and Shostak to use directional antennas including phased array antennas and arrays of multiple antennas, and methods for operating the directional antennas as taught by DAYANANDAN to use switch configured switch RF input between input ports; and a plurality of antenna elements, wherein each antenna element coupled to one of output ports to detect antennas phase-shifted by desired angle [DAYANANDAN, para 31].
Regarding claim 12, Fu discloses determined to belong to the rear tire group in response to an absolute value of the angle of arrival being less than 90 degrees; and the corresponding tire is determined to belong to a front tire group in response to the absolute value of the angle of arrival being greater than 90 degrees [033] and.
Shostak discloses the remote control device as claimed in claim 10, further comprising switchable directional antennas phase-shifted by 90° (para 664, FIG. 124 shows at 45 degrees to radar beam to achieve a 90 degrees rotation during reflection).
Additionnaly DAYANANDAN (20150264584) also discloses device comprising two switchable directional antennas phase-shifted by 90° (para 183, as in Fig. 15A-15B, wireless network 100, an AP 110 includes an array of directional antennae, comprising antennae 112, 114, and 116, antennae 112, 114, and 116, AP 110 transmits the packet via antenna 118 to end devices 132, 134, 136, and 138, para 23, plurality of input ports may comprise 3 input ports or more, steering angle that is at or between about -90. degrees . and 90. degrees ., e.g., at or between -45. degrees . and about 45. degree).
Regarding claim 13, Fu fails to discloses the remote control device as claimed in claim 10, further comprising two rows of at least two switchable directional antennas, with the two rows of at least two switchable directional antennas being phase-shifted.
In analogous art, Shostak discloses the remote control device as claimed in claim 10, further comprising switchable directional antennas, with the two switchable directional antennas being phase-shifted (para 897, vehicle body having four tires 621 and a centrally mounted four element, switchable directional antenna array 622, switches each of four antennas of the array 622, send RF signals to each of the four tires 621).
Additionnaly DAYANANDAN (20150264584) also discloses two rows of at least directional antennas, with the two rows of at least two directional antennas being phase-shifted (para 183, as in Fig. 15A-15B, wireless network 100, an AP 110 includes an array of directional antennae, comprising antennae 112, 114, and 116, antennae 112, 114, and 116, AP 110 transmits the packet via antenna 118 to end devices 132, 134, 136, and 138, para 23, plurality of input ports may comprise 3 input ports or more, steering angle that is at or between about -90. degrees . and 90. degrees ., e.g., at or between -45. degrees . and about 45. degrees).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of tire pressure monitoring module, a tire localization system and a tire localization method of a vehicle are provided to tires determined a left tire or a right tire conditions, based on a phase relationship of components of field intensity in two different directions disclosed by Fu and Shostak to use directional antennas including phased array antennas and arrays of multiple antennas, and methods for operating the directional antennas as taught by DAYANANDAN to use switch configured switch RF input between input ports; and a plurality of antenna elements, wherein each antenna element coupled to one of output ports and antenna beam steered to any of the other predetermined azimuthal angles to detect antennas phase-shifted by desired angle [DAYANANDAN, para 126].
Regarding claim 14, Fu fails to discloses the remote control device as claimed in claim 13, wherein the two rows of at least two switchable directional antennas are phase-shifted by an angle that is greater than 45°.
Shostak discloses switchable directional antennas are phase-shifted by an angle that is greater than 45°(para 897, vehicle body having four tires 621 and a centrally mounted four element, switchable directional antenna array 622, switches each of four antennas of the array 622, send RF signals to each of the four tires 621, para 664, FIG. 124 shows at 45 degrees to radar beam to achieve a degrees rotation during reflection).
Additionnaly DAYANANDAN (20150264584) also discloses two rows of at least two directional antennas (para 183, as in Fig. 15A-15B, wireless network 100, an AP 110 includes an array of directional antennae, comprising antennae 112, 114, and 116, antennae 112, 114, and 116, AP 110 transmits the packet via antenna 118 to end devices 132, 134, 136, and 138, para 23, plurality of input ports may comprise 3 input ports or more, steering angle that is at or between about -90. degrees . and 90. degrees ., e.g., at or between -45. degrees . and about 45. degrees).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of tire pressure monitoring module, a tire localization system and a tire localization method of a vehicle are provided to tires determined a left tire or a right tire conditions, based on a phase relationship of components of field intensity in two different directions disclosed by Fu and Shostak to use directional antennas including phased array antennas and arrays of multiple antennas, and methods for operating the directional antennas as taught by DAYANANDAN to use antenna elements and to switches each of the four antennas of the array to monitor the tires on a vehicle, i.e., when the sensors are constructed to be arranged in connection with tires of the vehicle to measure the temperature and/or pressure thereof. [DAYANANDAN, paragraph 303].
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 4-6 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MIRZA F ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688