DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to preliminary amendment filed 1/16/2025. Claims 2-21 have been examined. This office action is Non-Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6-12, and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coxe et al. (2015/0332029) in view of Kamal et al. (2019/0261169).
As per claim 2, Coxe discloses an identity network, comprising:
one or more processors (Coxe: para. 0156); and
a memory having stored thereon instructions that, upon execution by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to (Coxe: para. 0156-0157):
receive a sign-up request for a user from a relying party, wherein the sign-up request includes requested information (Coxe: para. 0052, receive, a sign-up request for a user from a relying party, the sign-up request is (i.e. new account creation request) includes requested information (i.e. assertions/attributes));
receive a request for details of the sign-up request from an identity provider (Coxe: para. 0110, receive a selection, by the user choosing from the list of IDPs (i.e. details of the sign-up request));
in response to receiving the request for details of the sign-up request, provide the details of the sign-up request to the identity provider (Coxe: para. 0110, receiving a selection, by the user choosing from the list of IDPs);
receive, from the identity provider, a validation of authentication of the user (Coxe: para. 0113, validation of authentication of the user);
in response to receiving the validation, request, from the identity provider, the requested information (Coxe: para. 0110-0113, requested information);
receive from the identity provider at least a portion of the requested information (Coxe: para. 0113, receive from the identity provider at least a portion of the requested information and session identifier); and
transmit the at least the portion of the requested information to the relying party (Coxe: para. 0113, 0120, transmitting the encrypted requested information to the RP (relying party)).
Coxe does not disclose; however, Kamal discloses store a token associated with the user for the identity provider to create a stored relationship between the user and the identity provider.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include store a token associated with the user from the identity provider to create a stored relationship between the user and identity provider of Kamal with Coxe, the motivation is that this is a security issue that the token is used to generate the fraud score (Kamal: para. 0053).
As per claim 6, Coxe discloses the identity network of claim 2, wherein: the token enables the identity provider to be identified as a previously selected identity provider in subsequent login attempts by the user (Coxe: para. 0112).
As per claim 7, Coxe discloses the identity network of claim 2, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: generate the token upon receiving a selection of the identity provider (Coxe: para. 0012).
As per claim 8, Coxe discloses the identity network of claim 2. Coxe further discloses wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: receive the token from the user as part of a user selection of the identity provider (Coxe: para. 0112).
As per claim 9, rejected under similar basis as claim 1 above.
As per claim 10, Coxe discloses the method for using an authenticated digital identity in account creation of claim 9, further comprising: sharing a cryptographic key with the identity provider, wherein the validation is encrypted with the cryptographic key (Coxe: para. 0012, 0014.
As per claim 11, Coxe discloses the method for using an authenticated digital identity in account creation of claim 10, wherein: the cryptographic key is a unique key generated for a specific session associated with the sign-up request (Coxe: para. 0012, 0014, and 0136-0137).
As per claim 12, Coxe discloses the method for using an authenticated digital identity in account creation of claim 10, further comprising: generating the cryptographic key (Coxe: para. 0012, 0014).
As per claim 16, rejected under similar scope as claim 1 above.
As per claim 17, Coxe discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: encrypting the at least the portion of the requested information with a cryptographic key prior to transmitting the at least the portion of the requested information to the relying party (Coxe: para. 0014).
As per claim 18, Coxe discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: obtain other information regarding the user from a third party source; calculate a confidence score of the user based at least in part on the other information; and transmit the confidence score to the relying party (Coxe: para. 0050, transmit the confidence score to the relying party).
As per claim 19, Coxe and Kamal disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: identifying suspicious activity associated with a user device of the user; and sending an alert to the identity provider about the suspicious activity (Kamal: para. 0050, fraud detection (i.e. suspicious activity).
Same motivation as claim 1 above.
As per claim 20, Coxe and Kamal disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 19. Kamal further discloses wherein: identifying the suspicious activity associated with the user device comprises applying one or both of a suspicious activity model and a normal activity model to activity associated with the user device (Kamal: para. 0023, 0050, 0053, discloses applying a suspicious activity model).
Same motivation as claim 1 above.
As per claim 21, Coxe and Kamal disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein: provide a confidence score associated with a digital identity of the user to the relying party (Kamal: para. 0050).
Same motivation as claim 1 above.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-5, and 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of Coxe (2015/0332029) and Kamal (2019/0261169) do not disclose or suggest the claims above.
Conclusion
4/28/2026
/J.E.J/Examiner, Art Unit 2499 /PHILIP J CHEA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2499