CTNF 18/905,342 CTNF 87809 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings 06-36 AIA The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the subject matter of claim 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In particular, it is unclear, based on the current claim language, how the subject matter of claim 17 is not contradictory, as it requires that both Ls = 0.75Lc and Ls < 0.75Lc are satisfied. Appropriate correction is required. No new matter may be entered. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3, 6, 8-11, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaima et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2019/0371525 in view of Kim et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2013/0135789) . With respect to claim 1, Zaima teaches a multilayer ceramic capacitor (see abstract) comprising: a multilayer body including an inner layer portion in which a plurality of dielectric layers with internal electrodes provided thereon are laminated (see FIGS. 1-3B, body 10, electrodes 30/40, and dielectric layers 50, and paragraphs [0025]-[0027]), the multilayer body including two main surfaces including a first main surface provided on one side in a lamination direction and a second main surface provided on an other side in the lamination direction, two lateral surfaces respectively provided on both sides in a width direction intersecting with the lamination direction, and two end surfaces respectively provided on both sides in a length direction intersecting with the lamination direction and the width direction (see paragraph [0024]); and external electrodes respectively provided on the end surfaces and the lateral surfaces of the multilayer body (see FIG. 1, elements 20a/20b, and paragraph [0024]); the dielectric layers including first dielectric layers and second dielectric layers that are alternately laminated with each other (see FIGS. 3A/3B, elements 31), the internal electrodes including end-surface- exposure internal electrodes that are exposed at least at the end surfaces (see FIG. 3A, element 40), and lateral-surface-exposure internal electrodes that are exposed at least at the lateral surfaces (see FIG. 3A, element 30), each of the first dielectric layers including the end-surface-exposure internal electrode thereon, each second dielectric layer including the lateral-surface-exposure internal electrode thereon (see FIGS. 3A and 3B), each end-surface-exposure internal electrode including a counter portion and a lead-out portion that extends from the counter portion (see FIG. 4, the portions within capacity region 70 and end margin regions 80, respectively), each lateral-surface-exposure internal electrode including a counter portion and a lead-out portion that extends from the counter portion, the counter portion of the end-surface-exposure internal electrode and the counter portion of the lateral-surface-exposure internal electrode being opposed to each other (see FIG. 5, the portions within capacity region 70 and side margin regions 90 (i.e., element 31), respectively); wherein the inner layer portion includes a first-main-surface-side region, a second-main-surface-side region, and a central region between the first-main-surface-side region and the second-main-surface-side region (see FIG. 4); in the central region, the dielectric layers each located between the internal electrodes that are adjacent to each other in the lamination direction and are exposed at a same one of the surfaces of the multilayer body are in contact with the external electrode at contact portions (see FIG. 4), and an average of thickness of the dielectric layers at the contact portions is referred to as an average thickness Lc (see FIG. 4, noting that Zaima teaches a consistent thickness for the dielectric layers in the central region); in at least one of the first-main-surface-side region or the second-main-surface-side region, the dielectric layers each located between the internal electrodes that are adjacent to each other in the lamination direction and are exposed at the same one of the surfaces of the multilayer body are in contact with the external electrode at contact portions (see FIG. 4). Zaima fails to teach that a thickness of the dielectric layer at each contact portion is referred to as a thickness Ls; and a relationship represented by Ls < 0.75Lc is satisfied. Kim, on the other hand, teaches that a thickness of the dielectric layer at each contact portion in the main-surface-side region is different from the central region, with a thickness Ls; and a relationship represented by Ls < 0.75Lc is satisfied. See FIG. 3, paragraphs [0033] and Table 1, Inventive Example 2, noting dielectric thicknesses of 0.7 µm in the central region “a” and 0.5 µm in the main-surface-side regions “b”; such that 0.5<.75(.7) = 0.5<.714. Such an arrangement increases the continuity of the internal electrode and producing excellent withstand voltage characteristics and reliability. See paragraph [0049]. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Zaima, as taught by Kim, in order to increase the continuity of the internal electrode and produce excellent withstand voltage characteristics and reliability. With respect to claim 2, the combined teachings of Zaima and Kim teach that a plurality of the dielectric layers with the thickness Ls at the contact portions with the external electrode are continuously arranged. See Kim, FIG. 3. With respect to claim 3 the combined teachings of Zaima and Kim fail to explicitly teach that a total number of the internal electrodes is defined as K; a number of the internal electrodes in each of the first-main-surface-side region and the second-main-surface-side region is defined as m, and a relationship represented as m ≤ K/3 is satisfied. However, the Office notes that the number of electrodes in each area is merely a simple change in size/proportion of the capacitor element, which has been determined to be obvious as being well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A), citing In re Rose , 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) and In re Rinehart , 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); see also Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc. , 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984). The Office further notes that the instant specification fails to indicate that the number of internal electrodes in each region has a criticality or produces any sort of unexpected result. With respect to claim 6, the combined teachings of Zaima and Kim teach that the multilayer ceramic capacitor has a three terminal structure. See Zaima, FIG. 1. With respect to claim 8, the combined teachings of Zaima and Kim teach that in each of the first-main-surface-side region and the second-main-surface-side region, the relationship represented by Ls < 0.75Lc is satisfied. See Kim, See FIG. 3, paragraphs [0033] and Table 1, Inventive Example 2, noting dielectric thicknesses of 0.7 µm in the central region “a” and 0.5 µm in the main-surface-side regions “b”; such that 0.5<.75(.7) = 0.5<.714. With respect to claim 9, the combined teachings of Zaima and Kim teach that the external electrodes include end-surface external electrodes and lateral-surface external electrodes. See Zaima, FIG. 1. With respect to claim 10, the combined teachings of Zaima and Kim teach that each of the external electrodes includes a base electrode layer and a plated layer. See Zaima, FIG. 9, base layer 20a and plated layer 25; see also, paragraph [0039]. With respect to claim 11, the combined teachings of Zaima and Kim teach that the base electrode layer includes Cu and the plated layer includes Ni and tin. See Zaima, paragraph [0038], noting that layer 20a is formed of Cu and paragraph [0039], noting that the plated layers include Cu, Ni, and Sn layers, respectively. With respect to claim 13, the combined teachings of Zaima and Kim teach that a thickness of each of the external electrodes in the first-main-surface-side region and the second-main-surface-side region is about 10 μm or less, and a thickness of each of the external electrodes in the central region is about 10 μm or more and about 60 μm or less. See Zaima, paragraphs [0034]-[0040]. With respect to claim 16, the combined teachings of Zaima and Kim teach that a thickness of each of the first and second dielectric layers in the first-main-surface-side region and the second-main-surface-side region is equal to a thickness of each of the first and second dielectric layers in the central region. See Zaima, FIGS. 4 and 5 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaima et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2019/0371525 in view of Kim et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2013/0135789) . With respect to claim 7, the combined teachings of Zaima and Kim fail to explicitly teach that the multilayer body includes rounded corners and ridges. Kanzaki, on the other hand, teaches that the multilayer body includes rounded corners and ridges. See paragraph [0041]. Such an arrangement results in a multilayer body that resists cracking. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the combined teachings of Zaima and Kim, as taught by Kanzaki, in order produce a multilayer body having rounded corners and ridges to prevent cracks . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaima et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2019/0371525 in view of Kim et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2013/0135789), and further, in view of JP 2022-136822 . With respect to claim 12, the combined teachings of Zaima and Kim fail to explicitly teach that each of the external electrodes includes voids. JP ‘822, on the other hand, teaches that each of the external electrodes includes voids. See paragraph [0038]. Such an arrangement results helps with solder wettability when used with a plating layer. See paragraph [0038]. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the combined teachings of Zaima and Kim, as taught by JP ‘822, in order to helps with solder wettability when used with a plating layer. With respect to claim 14, the combined teachings of Zaima and Kim fail to teach that interdiffusion layers are provided at junctions between the internal electrodes and the external electrodes. JP ‘822, on the other hand, teach that interdiffusion layers are provided at junctions between the internal electrodes and the external electrodes. See paragraph [0108]. Such an arrangement improves bonding between the internal electrode, the external electrode and the ceramic body. See paragraph [0108]. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the combined teachings of Zaima and Kim, as taught by JP ‘822, in order to improve bonding between the internal electrode, the external electrode and the ceramic body. With respect to claim 15, the combined teachings of Zaima, Kim, and JP ‘822 teach that the interdiffusion layers are discontinuous with each other. See JP ‘822, FIG. 2B . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 4 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to claims 4 and 5, the prior art fails to teach, or fairly suggest, the details of the internal electrodes and the auxiliary electrodes, respectively, when taken in conjunction with the limitations of base claim 1 . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nishibayashi et al. (US 2023/0238183) and Ishizuka et al. (US 2023/0197338) each disclose a three terminal ceramic capacitor, but fail to teach the ratio for the dielectric layers recited in claim 1 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DION R FERGUSON whose telephone number is (571)270-7566. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 5:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Timothy Dole, can be reached at 571-272-2229 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DION R. FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/905,342 Page 2 Art Unit: 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/905,342 Page 3 Art Unit: 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/905,342 Page 4 Art Unit: 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/905,342 Page 5 Art Unit: 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/905,342 Page 6 Art Unit: 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/905,342 Page 7 Art Unit: 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/905,342 Page 8 Art Unit: 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/905,342 Page 9 Art Unit: 2847