DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Davidson (2023/0152594).
Regarding Claim 1: Davidson teaches a head-mountable assembly, comprising: a display unit (1200); a retention band (1340); a mount (1505) attachable to the retention band (figs. 68a-72b), the mount being movable relative to the retention band (slidable with 1504/1503 in figs. 68a-72b or pivotable with 1516 in fig. 68c); and an accessory (1502) attachable to the mount (figs. 53a-53g), the accessory being movable with the mount (1502 is attached in 1505 so therefore moves with it).
Regarding Claim 2: Davidson teaches the accessory comprises a battery (paragraph [1529]).
Regarding Claim 3: Davidson teaches the accessory is magnetically attached to the mount (paragraph [1369]).
Regarding Claim 4: Davidson teaches the mount is extendable to increase a distance between the display unit and the accessory (through the springs in figs. 68c, 68d).
Regarding Claim 5: Davidson teaches the mount comprises an output component (1510).
Regarding Claim 6: Davidson teaches the mount is integrally formed with the retention band (figs. 68a-72b).
Regarding Claim 7: Davidson teaches the mount is integrally formed with the accessory (figs. 68a-72b).
Regarding Claim 8: Davidson teaches a head-mountable device, comprising: a display (1200); a support (1300) attached to the display and configured to retain the display on a user's head (figs. 62a); and an attachment feature (1505) configured to removably couple a battery (1502) to the support (figs. 68a-72b), the attachment feature positioned opposite the display (figs. 68a-72b).
Regarding Claim 9: Davidson teaches the battery comprises a supplemental battery (figs. 53a-53g).
Regarding Claim 10: Davidson teaches the attachment feature is removable from the support (figs. 68a-72b).
Regarding Claim 11: Davidson teaches the attachment feature is movable to adjust a position of the battery (figs. 68a-72b).
Regarding Claim 12: Davidson teaches the attachment feature comprises a cable management feature to retain a cable of the battery (figs. 53a-53g).
Regarding Claim 13: Davidson teaches the attachment feature comprises: a first electrical connector (figs. 53a-53g) configured to establish an electrical connection with the battery (figs. 53a-53g); and a second electrical connector (figs. 53a-53g) configured to establish an electrical connection with the display (figs. 53a-53g).
Regarding Claim 14: Davidson teaches the attachment feature defines an internal volume configured to house an electrical component (figs. 53a-53g).
Regarding Claim 15: Davidson teaches the attachment feature comprises an over-the-head support (figs. 68a-72b).
Regarding Claim 16: Davidson teaches a mount for an auxiliary battery of a head-mountable device, the mount comprising: a cable management system (figs. 53a-53g); a first attachment interface (figs. 68a-72b) configured to attach the mount to a retention band of the head-mountable device (figs. 68a-72b); and a second attachment interface (figs. 53a-53g) configured to attach the auxiliary battery to the mount (figs. 53a-53g).
Regarding Claim 17: Davidson teaches the cable management system comprises a retraction device configured to automatically retract the cable (paragraph [0073]).
Regarding Claim 18: Davidson teaches the second attachment interface is rotatable and translatable relative to the first attachment interface (through pivot 1516).
Regarding Claim 19: Davidson teaches at least one of the first attachment interface or the second attachment interface comprises a magnetic attachment (paragraph [1369).
Regarding Claim 20: Davidson teaches the second attachment interface is configured to attach to the auxiliary battery in response to the auxiliary battery being positioned against the mount (figs. 53a-53g).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. All other art cited in the notice of references PTO-892 but not relied upon in the above rejection all relate as teaching head mounted devices including head retention straps with an accessory device attached thereto.
/ANTHONY M HAUGHTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841