DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-2 and 4-18 are pending and have been examined in this application.
Information disclosure statements (IDS) have been filed on 10/21/2024 and 07/30/2026 and reviewed by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by da Rosa (U.S. Pub. 20140358483).
In regard to claim 1, da Rosa discloses a fishing information management system having a fishing rod, and a fishing reel with a spool capable of winding a fishing line being attached to the fishing rod (Fig. 3 and Paragraphs [0029-0030] and [0037-0046], where there is a fishing rod (part of 14) and a fishing reel (part of 14) with a spool capable of at least winding a fishing line being attached to the fishing rod (“calculate line feed amount and line retrieval rates”)), the fishing information management system comprising: an operation and environment information detector configured to detect fishing-related information (Fig. 3 and Paragraphs [0029-0030] and [0037-0046], where the fishing information management system has an operation and environment information detector (“automatically collect equipment use data or information (EUD) such as the number of cast, casting distance, direction of cast, lure depth, lure retrieval speed, and when a fish is caught… real-time environmental data or information (RED) available through the internet, sensors or other inputs, such as date, time, location, weather, water condition, moon phase, tide, and so forth, is also automatically collected”) configured to detect fishing-related information); a calculator configured to determine an occurrence of an event from the fishing-related information (Fig. 3 and Paragraphs [0029-0030] and [0037-0046], where there is at least a calculator (one example being “calculate line feed amount and line retrieval rates” or “the number of cast, casting distance, direction of cast, lure depth, lure retrieval speed, and when a fish is caught”) configured to determine an occurrence of an event from the fishing-related information); and a storage configured to store detection values of the fishing-related information from before and until after the occurrence of the event as event information (Fig. 3 and Paragraphs [0029-0030] and [0037-0046], where a storage configured to store detection values of the fishing-related information from before and until after the occurrence of the event (some of “calculate line feed amount and line retrieval rates” and “the number of cast, casting distance, direction of cast, lure depth, lure retrieval speed, and when a fish is caught” involve collection of information at least from before until after the event has been completed) as event information (stored in “a PC or other cloud storage”)), wherein the event is an event related to catching fish (Fig. 3 and Paragraphs [0029-0030] and [0037-0046], where the event is an event related to catching fish (“the number of cast, casting distance, direction of cast, lure depth, lure retrieval speed, and when a fish is caught”)).
In regard to claim 2, da Rosa discloses the fishing information management system according to claim 1, wherein the fishing-related information is information on an operation of fishing tools and information on an operation environment of the fishing tools when in use (Fig. 3 and Paragraphs [0029-0030] and [0037-0046], where the fishing-related information is information on an operation of fishing tools (“automatically collect equipment use data or information (EUD) such as the number of cast, casting distance, direction of cast, lure depth, lure retrieval speed, and when a fish is caught”) and information on an operation environment of the fishing tools when in use (“real-time environmental data or information (RED) available through the internet, sensors or other inputs, such as date, time, location, weather, water condition, moon phase, tide, and so forth, is also automatically collected”)).
In regard to claim 4, da Rosa discloses the fishing information management system according to claim 1, comprising an indicator, wherein the indicator is configured to display the detection values (Figs. 1 and 4A-5C and Paragraphs [0061] and [0064], where there is at least an indicator (display unit of communication element 25 or PC 35) that displays at least either of the detection values (EUD) or the hit values (estimated probability of success or data of previously caught fish)).
In regard to claim 5, da Rosa discloses the fishing information management system according to claim 2, wherein the fishing-related information includes at least any one of information on a time of use of the fishing reel, information on a number of use of the fishing reel, information on the spool of the fishing reel, information on a fishing line wound on the spool of the fishing reel, information on a brake setting of the fishing reel, and information on a drag setting of the fishing reel (Figs. 4A-D and Paragraphs [0042-0044], and [0057-0058], where the fishing-related information at least includes a motion of a fishing rod (an accelerometer indicates handle movement) and a rotation history of the spool (movement speed associated with spool movements is shown in Fig. 4D across an interval of time)).
In regard to claim 6, da Rosa discloses the fishing information management system according to claim 2, wherein the fishing-related information is fishing reel operation information on an operation performed against the fishing reel (Fig.3 and Paragraphs [0029-0030] and [0037-0046], where fishing-related information is fishing reel operation information on an operation (“line feed amount and line retrieval rates”) performed against the fishing reel (part of 14)).
In regard to claim 7, da Rosa discloses the fishing information management system according to claim 6, wherein the fishing-related information includes at least any one of information on an operation of a handle of the fishing reel, information on an operation of a clutch of the fishing reel, information on an operation of a drag of the fishing reel, and information on a rotation of the spool of the fishing reel (Figs. 4A-D and Paragraphs [0042-0044], and [0057-0058], where the fishing-related information at least includes a motion of a fishing rod (an accelerometer indicates handle movement) and a rotation history of the spool (movement speed associated with spool movements is shown in Fig. 4D across an interval of time)).
In regard to claim 8, da Rosa discloses the fishing information management system according to claim 6, wherein the fishing-related information is information of changes on the fishing reel including any one of information on a change of a tension applied to the fishing line wound on the spool of the fishing reel, information on a change of the fishing line in an unwinding direction, and information on a change of a handle rotation of the fishing reel (Figs. 4A-D and Paragraphs [0042-0044], and [0057-0058], where the fishing-related information at least includes a rotation history of the spool (movement speed associated with spool movements is shown in Fig. 4D across an interval of time)).
In regard to claim 9, da Rosa discloses the fishing information management system according to claim 1, wherein the calculator is configured to determine an occurrence of the event based on the information of changes on the fishing reel (Fig. 3 and Paragraphs [0029-0030] and [0037-0046], where there is at least a calculator (one example being “calculate line feed amount and line retrieval rates” or “the number of cast, casting distance, direction of cast, lure depth, lure retrieval speed, and when a fish is caught”) configured to determine an occurrence of the event based on the information of changes on the fishing reel (part of 14)).
In regard to claim 10, da Rosa discloses the fishing information management system according to claim 1, wherein the calculator is configured to calculate hit values based on the information on an operation of fishing tools and information on an operation environment of the fishing tools when in use (Paragraphs [0029-0030] and [0064-0068], where the calculator is configured to calculate hit values (estimated probability of success or data of previously caught fish) based on the information on an operation of fishing tools (such as “EUD” data) and information on an operation environment of the fishing tools (such as “RED” or “OD” data)), and to determine the occurrence of the event (Paragraphs [0029-0030] and [0064-0068], where the calculator is configured to determine the occurrence of the event (for example “when a fish is caught”)).
In regard to claim 11, da Rosa discloses the fishing information management system according to claim 10, wherein the fishing-related information is rod information on the fishing rod (Figs. 4A-D and Paragraphs [0042-0044], and [0057-0058], where the fishing-related information at least includes a motion of a fishing rod (an accelerometer indicates handle movement)).
In regard to claim 12, da Rosa discloses the fishing information management system according to claim 11, wherein the fishing-related information includes at least any one of information on a time of use of the fishing rod, information on a number of times of use of the fishing rod, information on a hardness of the fishing rod, and information on a condition of the fishing rod (Fig. 3 and Paragraphs [0029-0030] and [0037-0046], where the fishing-related information is information “the number of cast, casting distance, direction of cast, lure depth, lure retrieval speed, and when a fish is caught”).
In regard to claim 13, da Rosa discloses the fishing information management system according to claim 11, wherein the fishing-related information is rod operation information on an operation of the fishing rod (Fig. 3 and Paragraphs [0029-0030] and [0037-0046], where the fishing-related information is information “the number of cast, casting distance, direction of cast, lure depth, lure retrieval speed, and when a fish is caught”).
In regard to claim 14, da Rosa discloses the fishing information management system according to claim 13, wherein the fishing-related information includes any one of information on an operation speed of the fishing rod, information on vibrations transmitted to the fishing rod, information on an angle of the fishing rod, and information on an orientation of the fishing rod (Figs. 4A-D and Paragraphs [0042-0044], and [0057-0058], where the fishing-related information at least includes a motion of a fishing rod (an accelerometer indicates handle movement) and a rotation history of the spool (movement speed associated with spool movements is shown in Fig. 4D across an interval of time)).
In regard to claim 15, da Rosa discloses the fishing information management system according to claim 13, wherein the fishing-related information is information of changes on the fishing rod including any one of information on a condition of the fishing rod, information on a change in an operation speed of the fishing rod, information on a change in vibrations transmitted to the fishing rod, information on an angle of the fishing rod, and information on an orientation of the fishing rod (Figs. 4A-D and Paragraphs [0042-0044], and [0057-0058], where the fishing-related information at least includes a motion of a fishing rod (an accelerometer indicates handle movement) and a rotation history of the spool (movement speed associated with spool movements is shown in Fig. 4D across an interval of time)).
In regard to claim 16, da Rosa discloses the fishing information management system according to claim 15, wherein the calculator is configured to determine an occurrence of the event based on the information of changes on the fishing rod (Fig. 3 and Paragraphs [0029-0030] and [0037-0046], where there is at least a calculator (one example being “calculate line feed amount and line retrieval rates” or “the number of cast, casting distance, direction of cast, lure depth, lure retrieval speed, and when a fish is caught”) configured to determine an occurrence of the event based on the information of changes on the fishing rod (part of 14)).
In regard to claim 17, da Rosa discloses the fishing information management system according to claim 2, wherein the fishing-related information is fishing trip-related information on a fishing trip (Paragraph [0068], where the fishing-related information is fishing trip-related information on a fishing trip such as “data points in the database are also used for trip planning, fishing location sequence planning and to prepare maps and directions to locations based upon frequency analysis”).
In regard to claim 18, da Rosa discloses the fishing information management system according to claim 17, wherein the fishing-related information includes any one of information on a season of the fishing trip, information on a number of the fishing trip, information on a location during the fishing trip, information on a temperature during the fishing trip, information on a weather during the fishing trip, information on an air pressure during the fishing trip, information on a wind direction during the fishing trip, and information on a wind force (wind speed) during the fishing trip (Paragraph [0068], where the fishing-related information includes information on a location during the fishing trip (“fishing location sequence planning… prepare maps and directions to locations”)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (filed 06/17/2026) with respect to the rejection of the claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. by da Rosa (U.S. Pub. 20140358483) discloses the applicant’s claim 1, as specified under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 above.
Specifically, da Rosa teaches, in Fig. 3 and Paragraphs [0029-0030] and [0037-0046], where the event is an event related to catching fish (“the number of cast, casting distance, direction of cast, lure depth, lure retrieval speed, and when a fish is caught”). Da Rosa also teaches, a storage configured to store detection values of the fishing-related information from before and until after the occurrence of the event as event information in Fig. 3 and Paragraphs [0029-0030] and [0037-0046], where a storage configured to store detection values of the fishing-related information from before and until after the occurrence of the event (some of “calculate line feed amount and line retrieval rates” and “the number of cast, casting distance, direction of cast, lure depth, lure retrieval speed, and when a fish is caught” involve collection of information at least from before until after the event has been completed) as event information (stored in “a PC or other cloud storage”).
As recited in the amended claims, the limitations of claim 1 are disclosed by da Rosa. The rejections are maintained as proper.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Particularly the references were cited because they pertain to the state of the art of fishing devices.
/KEVIN M DENNIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3647
/KIMBERLY S BERONA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3647