DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in Figure 6 there is a typographical error. Element ‘2a00’ should be labeled ‘200’.
Specification
Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 19; Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted steps are: any and all steps required by the method, since the claim is directed to a method but recites no steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parkman, III et al. (US 20080310795 A1), hereafter Parkman in view of Roth et al. (US 20050069262 A1), hereafter Roth.
Regarding claims 1-3; Parkman teaches (see Figure 2-3) a dust cap (26; title, Paragraph [0022]) comprising: a main body (28) configured for insertion within a port of a connector adapter (50; Paragraph [0022]), the main body (28) comprising: a ferrule cavity (36) at an insertion end (32) of the main body (28), the ferrule cavity (36) being configured to cover a ferrule end (62) of a connector therein to block dust from contaminating the ferrule end (62) while the ferrule cavity (36) covers the ferrule end (62; see Figure 3 and Paragraph [0026]); and a grip (40) attached to a proximal end (30) of the main body (28), the grip (40) being configured to aid a user in inserting the dust cap (26) into the port of the connector adapter (50) or in removing the dust cap (26) from the connector adapter (50; Paragraph [0024]); wherein the proximal end (30) is an opposite end of the main body (28) from the insertion end (32).
Parkman does not teach a spring portion configured to adjust a length of the main body of the connector adapter based on whether the dust cap is in a compressed state or an uncompressed state. However, in the same field of endeavor, Roth teaches (see Figure 1):
a spring portion (124) configured to adjust a length of the main body (102) of the connector adapter (100) based on whether the dust cap is in a compressed state or an uncompressed state (when compressed the front portion 122 is pushed rearward towards the rear portion 120, reducing the length of the overall main body 102; Paragraph [0032]).
wherein the spring portion (124) is deformable between the uncompressed state and the compressed state (Paragraph [0032]), the length of the main body (102) being greater when the dust cap is in the uncompressed state than when the dust cap is in the compressed state (when compressed the front portion 122 is pushed rearward towards the rear portion 120, reducing the length of the overall main body 102; Paragraph [0032]).
wherein the main body (102) comprises a base portion (rear portion 120) and an extension portion (front portion 122), the spring portion (124) being located between (see Figure 1, 124 is between 120 and 122) and connecting together the base portion (120) and the extension portion (122).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the dust cap taught by Parkman to include the spring portion and extension/front portion taught by Roth. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Roth teaches that the compressed state actuates the doors 108 to expose the fiber (Paragraph [0032]), which protects the ferrule and prevents the accumulation of dust.
Regarding claims 10; Parkman/Roth teach the dust cap of claim 3 (see rejection to claims 1-3 above). Parkman does not teach a spring portion. However, in the same field of endeavor, Roth teaches (see Figure 1) wherein the spring portion (124) is directly attached to the base portion (120) and is also directly attached to the extension portion (122). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, when modifying the dust cap taught by Parkman to include the spring portion and extension portion taught by Roth to directly attach the spring portion to the base portion and the extension portion. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to construct the spring portion and extension portion directly attached to the base portion on the ferrule side of the dust cap because of the construction taught by Roth (Figure 1; Paragraph [0032]).
Regarding claim 11; Parkman/Roth teach the dust cap of claim 3 (see rejection to claims 1-3 above). Parkman does not teach a spring portion, but does teach that the dust cap (26) including the grip portion (40) and base portion (28) are integrally formed with the resilient member (42) and latching feature (38; Paragraph [0023]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the dust cap taught by Parkman when modified to include the spring portion and extension portion taught by Roth to have a unitary or monolithic construction. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to construct the entire dust cap unitarily to save on manufacturing costs and because the other features of the dust cap taught by Parkman were already integrally formed.
Regarding claim 12; Parkman/Roth teach the dust cap of claim 1. Parkman does not teach a ramp cover configured to cover a ramp portion of a ramp adapter. However, in the same field of endeavor, Roth teaches (see Figure 9) a ramp cover (920; Paragraph [0068-0069]) configured (Paragraph [0068]) to cover a ramp portion (952; tabs 954 engage slots 952 (Paragraph [0069])) of a ramp adapter (950) attached to the connector adapter (100) into which the dust cap (104) is configured for insertion, the ramp cover (920) being configured to prevent accumulation of dust (Paragraph [0068]) on the ramp portion (952) while the dust cap (104) is inserted into the port of the connector adapter (100). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the dust cap of Parkman to include the rear construction forming a labyrinth seal 920 as a ramp cover as taught by Roth. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Roth teaches “By using such a seal, the rear portion of the connector can be more securely protected from dust. In this way, the amount of dust or other contaminants reaching the mating face 912 is reduced” (Paragraph [0068]).
Regarding claims 13-16; Parkman/Roth teaches the dust cap of claim 1. Parkman further teaches:
wherein the ferrule cavity (36) has a shape and depth configured for the ferrule end (62) of the connector to be inserted at least partially within the ferrule cavity (36) to protect the ferrule end (62) from dust contamination (“is of sufficient length such that the polished end face of the ferrule 62 does not contact a surface of the dust cap 26” (Paragraph [0026,0028])).
wherein the ferrule cavity (36) has a shape and depth configured for the ferrule end (62) of the connector to be inserted fully within the ferrule cavity (36) to protect the ferrule end (62) from dust contamination (“is of sufficient length such that the polished end face of the ferrule 62 does not contact a surface of the dust cap 26” (Paragraph [0026,0028])).
wherein the ferrule cavity (36) has a substantially similar shape or profile as the ferrule end (62) of the connector (“The ferrule opening 36, as shown, is sized to interact with the internal structural geometry of the LC adapter for exemplary purposes only and may be sized differently to accommodate other single and multi-fiber ferrules” (Paragraph [0028]).
wherein the ferrule cavity (36) has a depth that is at least substantially similar to or greater than a depth of the ferrule end (62) of the connector (“The ferrule opening 36, as shown, is sized to interact with the internal structural geometry of the LC adapter for exemplary purposes only and may be sized differently to accommodate other single and multi-fiber ferrules” (Paragraph [0028]); see also Paragraph [0026]).
Regarding claim 17; Parkman/Roth teaches the dust cap of claim 1. Parkman further teaches (see Figure 2 and Figure 4) comprising a latch (38) configured to secure the dust cap (26; Paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 18; Parkman/Roth teaches the dust cap of claim 17. Parkman further teaches (see Figure 2 and Figure 4) wherein the latch (38) is formed vertically above a base portion (28) of the main body (dust cap 26; see Figure 2, latch 38 is vertically above base portion 28 of the dust cap 26).
Regarding claim 19; Parkman/Roth teaches the dust cap of claim 1. Parkman further teaches (see Figure 3) a method for connection (Paragraph [0025-0026]) a dust cap (26) to a connector adapter (50) using the dust cap of claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4; The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record, which is the most relevant prior art known, does not disclose or reasonably suggest:
The dust cap of claim 4, including all the limitations of the base and intervening claims it depends on (especially wherein the spring portion is deformable between the uncompressed state and the compressed state, the length of the main body being greater when the dust cap is in the uncompressed state than when the dust cap is in the compressed state), and wherein the spring portion comprises at least one strut that has a first end, where the at least one strut is pivotably attached to the base portion at a first hinge point, and a second end, where the at least one strut is pivotably attached to the extension portion at a second hinge point, the first and second ends being opposite ends of the at least one strut.
Regarding claims 5-9; Claims 5-9 are allowable by virtue of dependency on claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al. (US 20110058775 A1) discloses a dust cap, see entire disclosure.
/P.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/MICHELLE R CONNELLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874