Water Extinguishing System and Method for Controlling a Pump Test Run in a Water Extinguishing System
DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/07/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 24, the limitation “actuating a switch” is unclear if the switch is the pressure switch of claim 21 or an additional switch. For the purpose of examination, the examiner interprets the limitation as “actuating an additional switch”. Claim 25 is likewise interpreted as “the additional switch comprises a flow switch and/or a second pressure switch”. The dependent claims are likewise rejected and interpreted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20-27, 31-33, 36-37, 43-48 and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yasuda (JP 58-005064, “Yasuda”).
Regarding claim 20, Yasuda discloses, in figures 1-2, a method of operating (see Yasuda’s translation, p. 6, ¶ 1-3) a water extinguishing system (see fig. 1), the water extinguishing system having a fluid supply line (5) configured to provide an extinguishing fluid (see Yasuda’s translation, p. 6, ¶ 1, “water supply system”) and a pump (3) configured to transport the extinguishing fluid from the fluid supply line (5) to a pipe system (see fig. 1, examiner notes Yasuda’s pipe system includes branch pipes 6a-6f), wherein the method comprises: starting a pump test run based on a pressure drop in the pipe system (see Yasuda’s translation, p. 4, ¶ 2, examiner notes when a pressure drop is detected, the fire extinguishing pump is started, p. 6, ¶ 1, Yasuda sequentially opens test valves 11a-11f to begin a pump test operation, therefore Yasuda drops the pressure when each test valve is open, starting the fire extinguishing pump); detecting an indication of a fire event (see Yasuda’s translation, p. 6, ¶ 2, a fire is detected if branch flow meters detect a larger flow than the test flow meters); and operating the pump (3) based on the indication of the fire event (see Yasuda’s translation, p. 6, ¶ 3, when a fire determination has occurred, the control device closes any open test valves and commands the continuous operation of the fire extinguishing pump).
Regarding claim 21, Yasuda discloses, in figures 1-2, the starting a pump test run based on a pressure drop in the pipe system (see Yasuda’s translation, p. 4, ¶ 2, examiner notes when a pressure drop is detected, the fire extinguishing pump is started, p. 6, ¶ 1, Yasuda sequentially opens test valves 11a-11f to begin a pump test operation, therefore Yasuda drops the pressure when each test valve is open, starting the fire extinguishing pump) comprises switching a pressure switch (see Yasuda’s translation, p. 4, ¶ 2, the examiner construes Yasuda’s function of starting a pump when pressure drops as a pressure switch, further Yasuda has at least a discharge pressure sensor fluidly connected to the pump and control device for implementing the pressure switch) to activate a pump control (see previous comment).
Regarding claim 22, Yasuda discloses, in figures 1-2, the detecting an indication of a fire event comprises evaluating a flow of the extinguishing fluid (see Yasuda’s translation, p. 6, ¶ 2, a fire is detected if branch flow meters detect a larger flow than the test flow meters).
Regarding claim 23, Yasuda discloses, in figures 1-2, the operating the pump (5) based on the indication of the fire event comprises operating the pump after a completion or a supposed completion of the pump test run (see Yasuda’s translation, p. 6, ¶ 3, when a fire determination has occurred, the control device closes any open test valves and commands the continuous operation of the fire extinguishing pump, examiner notes if a pump test is already complete, no test valves are open and Yasuda simply commands pump operation).
Regarding claim 24, Yasuda discloses, in figures 1-2, actuating an additional switch (11a-11f, 12a-12f, 25) based on a flow of the extinguishing fluid (see Yasuda’s translation, p. 6, ¶ 3, if branch flow meters detect a larger flow than the test flow meters, the control device closes any open test valves).
Regarding claim 25, Yasuda discloses, in figures 1-2, the additional switch (11a-11f, 12a-12f, 25) comprises a flow switch (the examiner construes Yasuda’s combined control device flow meters and valves to be flow switches.
Regarding claim 26, Yasuda discloses, in figures 1-2, the flow switch (11a-11f, 12a-12f, 25) and the pressure switch (see Yasuda’s translation, p. 4, ¶ 2, the examiner construes Yasuda’s function of starting a pump when pressure drops as a pressure switch, further Yasuda has at least a discharge pressure sensor fluidly connected to the pump and control device for implementing the pressure switch) comprise an activation position and a deactivation position based on a specified amount of extinguishing fluid (examiner notes when pressure drop occurs, Yasuda’s pressure switch activates the pump, when fluid flow through each branch is larger than the test flow meters, Yasuda’s fluid switches deactivate the test valves).
Regarding claim 27, Yasuda discloses, in figures 1-2, determining a pressure value indicative of a pressure change within the pipe system that exceeds a threshold value (see Yasuda’s translation, p. 4, ¶ 2, when a pressure drop is detected, Yosuda starts the fire extinguishing pump, p. 5, ¶ 3, the examiner construes Yasuda’s pressure drop to be any drop below a normal state of 1kg / cm2).
Regarding claim 31, Yasuda discloses, in figures 1-2, generating a signal (26a-26f) with a flow indicator system based on a flow of the extinguishing fluid in the pipe system (8a-8f, 12a-12f).
Regarding claim 32, Yasuda discloses, in figures 1-2, using a control device (25) to operate the pump (3) after a completion or a supposed completion of the pump test run (see Yasuda’s translation, p. 6, ¶ 3, when a fire determination has occurred, the control device closes any open test valves and commands the continuous operation of the fire extinguishing pump, examiner notes if a pump test is already complete, no test valves are open and Yasuda simply commands pump operation).
Regarding claim 33, Yasuda discloses, in figures 1-2, changing a first switching arrangement (3, 25) to an activation position from a deactivation position (see Yasuda’s translation, p. 4, ¶ 2, examiner notes when a pressure drop is detected, Yasuda’s control device starts the fire extinguishing pump).
Regarding claim 36, Yasuda discloses, in figures 1-2, a water extinguishing system (see fig. 1) comprising: a fluid supply (1) for providing an extinguishing fluid (see Yasuda’s translation, p. 6, ¶ 1, “water supply system”); and a pump (3) configured to provide the extinguishing fluid from the fluid supply (1) into a supply line (5) of a pipe system of the water extinguishing system (see fig. 1), wherein the pump (3) provides the extinguishing fluid (see Yasuda’s translation, p. 6, ¶ 3, when a fire determination has occurred, the control device closes any open test valves and commands the continuous operation of the fire extinguishing pump) upon an indication of a fire event (see Yasuda’s translation, p. 6, ¶ 2, a fire is detected if branch flow meters detect a larger flow than the test flow meters) after completion or supposed completion of a pump test run initiated upon a pressure drop in the pipe system (see Yasuda’s translation, p. 4, ¶ 2, examiner notes when a pressure drop is detected, the fire extinguishing pump is started, p. 6, ¶ 1, Yasuda sequentially opens test valves 11a-11f to begin a pump test operation, therefore Yasuda drops the pressure when each test valve is open, starting the fire extinguishing pump).
Regarding claim 37, Yasuda discloses, in figures 1-2, a control device (25) configured to operate the pump (3).
Regarding claim 43, Yasuda discloses, in figures 1-2, the control device (8a-af, 11a-11f, 17, 18, 25) comprises a control unit (25) and a sensor (8a-af, 11a-11f, 17, 18).
Regarding claim 44, Yasuda discloses, in figures 1-2, the control device (25) comprises a switching arrangement (see Yasuda’s translation, p. 6, ¶ 3, the control device closes any open test valves and commands the continuous operation of the fire extinguishing pump).
Regarding claim 45, Yasuda discloses, in figures 1-2, a flow indicator (8a-8f, 11a-11f) configured to detect a flow of the extinguishing fluid within the pipe system and/or pump and provide the indication of a fire event (see Yasuda’s translation, p. 6, ¶ 2, a fire is detected if branch flow meters detect a larger flow than the test flow meters) to the control device (25).
Regarding claim 46, Yasuda discloses, in figures 1-2, the flow indicator (8a-8f) is positioned between the fluid supply (5) and the pipe system (6a-6f).
Regarding claim 47, Yasuda discloses, in figures 1-2, the control device (25) operates the pump after the completion or supposed completion of the pump test run (see Yasuda’s translation, p. 6, ¶ 3, when a fire determination has occurred, the control device closes any open test valves and commands the continuous operation of the fire extinguishing pump).
Regarding claim 48, Yasuda discloses, in figures 1-2, the switching arrangement of the control device (25) comprises: a first switching arrangement (3, 25) configured to change from a deactivation position to an activation position to start the pump test run (see Yasuda’s translation, p. 4, ¶ 2, examiner notes when a pressure drop is detected, Yasuda’s control device starts the fire extinguishing pump).
Regarding claim 53, Yasuda discloses, in figures 1-2, an input device (25) configured to receive an automated input to start the pump test run (see Yasuda’s translation, p. 3, ¶ 1, Yasuda periodically automatically checks for failures by running a pump test, the examiner construes this to mean a timer signals the control device to begin a pump test).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 28-30, 34-35, 39-42 and 49-52 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY P GRAVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855