Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 7/21/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US 12147521 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 361-369, 371-380 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mankowski et al. (US 2015/0062321) and in view of Kime et al. (US 2017/0344812).
As to claim 379, Mankowski teaches a method for executing control commands based on facial skin micromovements, the method comprising: operating at least one audio source (S1-S4) in a manner enabling reflection of a non-lip portion of a face 201; receiving (M1-M4) specific signals representing the reflections associated with specific non-lip facial skin micromovements 202; accessing a data structure 113 associating a plurality of non-lip facial skin micromovements with control commands for controlling an electronic device 100 or application 203—205; identifying in the data structure a specific control command associated with the specific signals associated with the specific non-lip facial skin micromovements 206; and executing the specific control command to control operation of the electronic device or application 207 (Pars.5,17, 26-27; Figs.1-6).
It is noted that since Mankowski uses audio source he doesn’t explicitly teach where the facial micromovements are obtained by operating a light source causing illumination of a portion of face.
However, Kim teaches a method of operating a wearable headset device comprising a control unit for recognizing a facial expression, comprising the steps of emitting infrared rays (IR) to at least one object; receiving infrared rays related to a correlation with the at least one object; collecting intensity information from the received infrared rays; determining transmission characteristic change in the received infrared rays based on the intensity information; measuring deformation of skin for the at least one object based on the intensity information and the transmission characteristic change; and recognizing a facial expression by comparing the level or magnitude of the deformation of skin with reference data of the facial expression.
The combination of the analogous teachings would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the time of applicant’s invention as an alternative to utilizing a sound source.
As to claim 362, Kim teaches wherein the facial skin micromovements correspond to a nonvocalized articulation of at least one word associated with the specific control command (Pars.87-95; Fig.2, 3, 8).
As to claims 363-364, Kim teaches wherein the facial skin micromovements/deformation correspond to recruitment/movement of at least one specific muscle, inherently comprising the specific facial muscle mentioned in the claims (Figs.1-3, 8).
As to claim 365, Kim teaches wherein the facial skin micromovements includes a sequence of facial skin micromovements from which the specific control command is derived (Fig.4, 409, Pars.68-74).
As to claims 366-367, according to Kim the facial skin micromovements include involuntary micromovements, representing the user intention or feeling via facial expression (Pars.87-92, 119-120).
As to claim 368, according to Kim the involuntary micromovements (the deformation of the skin) that are detected by the light intensity of an infrared rays, are unnoticeable to a human eye (Pars.23, 86-93, 116; Figs.1-3)
As to claim 369, Kim teaches wherein operating the at least one light source includes determining an intensity or a light pattern for illuminating the non-lip portion of the face (Figs.1-3).
As to claim 371, Kim teaches wherein the operations further include analyzing the specific signals to identify temporal and intensity changes of speckles produced by light reflections from the non-lip portion of the face (Pars.104, 119-123).
As to claim 372, Kim teaches wherein the operations further include processing data from at least one sensor to determine context for the specific non-lip facial skin micromovements, and determining an action to initiate based on the specific control command and the determined context (Figs,1-6).
As to claim 373, Kim teaches where the facial expression is recognized and the result displayed on the display. Mazur also teaches displaying text associated with the user command. But, they do not explicitly teach audible translation of the displayed text. However, Official Notice is taken that translation of words to a target language is very common and well known in the art and would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of applicant’s invention for the purpose of providing a multilanguage service.
As to claims 374-378, Mankowski teaches where the electronic device 100 comprises devices that are worn, such as eyeglasses or eye-pieces having ultrasonic transmitters and receivers, and a display or cellular phone and wherein the functions controlled by the detected movement of a facial feature include a scrolling function a volume function, a power function, or any other similar function (Pars.27-34).
Regarding claims 361 and 380, the corresponding system and method comprising the steps similar to the steps cited in claim 379, are analogous therefore rejected as being unpatentable over Mankoski et and in view of Kim et al. for the foregoing reasons.
Claim(s) 370 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mankowski et al. and Kim et al. as applied above, and further in view of Qiu et al. (US 2020/0319301).
As to claim 370, Kim doesn’t explicitly discuss the infrared signal frequency.
However, Qui teaches detecting facial expression based on radar signal measuring light intensity reflected caused by movements of a person’s face, where the signal comprises a rate at 50HZ and 200HZ (Pars.37-40; Figs. 3-4, 8-11).
The combination of the analogous prior arts would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of applicant’s invention for the purpose of measuring the skin movement via signal rate.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL ABEBE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2657