DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action for serial number 18/905,429, Equipment Hanging Device, filed on October 3, 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the language recitation “forming” is considered a method claim in an apparatus format. See MPEP 2173.05(p).
Regarding claim 12, it appears that applicant is trying to positively recited the hooks. In this case, the word ‘hooks’ is not positively recited and is considered as a functional language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8, 9, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 4,632,285 to Dillingham.
Regarding claim 1, and 11, Dillingham ‘285 discloses an equipment hanger (10) comprising a body (12) having a front side and a back side, and a top and a bottom (Fig. 1); two hanging arms (30) attached to and hanging from the bottom of the body; an equipment loop (46) attached to and hanging from the bottom of the body and a loop arm (52) attached to and hanging from the equipment loop; wherein the body, the hanging arms, the equipment loop and the loop arm are all formed integrally as a single piece as shown in Figure 1; wherein the hanging arms and the loop arm form hook openings (36, and 60).
Regarding claim 5, Dillingham ‘285 discloses multiple pinholes (holes at the bottom where 33, 34 – pins enter) on the body.
Regarding claim 8, Dillingham ‘285 discloses hooks (58) and wherein the hanging arms and the loop arm further form hook openings (36, 60) for attaching the hooks.
Regarding claim 9, Dillingham ‘285 discloses wherein the hooks form wider hook heads extending from narrower hook bodies and wherein the hook bodies are configured to thread through the hook openings and the hook heads hold the hooks in place within the hook openings in use.
Regarding claim 12, see 112 rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 6-7, 13, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dillingham ‘285 in view of U.S. Patent No. 10,066,421 to Strassburger et al. (Strassburger).
Regarding claims 2-3, 13, 17, and 19, Dillingham ‘285 fails to disclose wherein a back inset on the back side and a front inset on the front side of the body for inserting a back plate / a front plate. Nevertheless, Strassburger ‘421 discloses wherein the body (12) comprising back and front insets (30, 32). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the body of Dillingham ‘285 with insets as one would have a motivation to provide convenient surfaces for pictures, logos or test to be embossed in as taught by Strassburger ‘421.
Regarding claims 6-7, Dillingham ‘285 fails to disclose wherein the single piece is injection molded and formed of TPU. Nevertheless, Strassburger ‘421 discloses wherein the whole parts are made of plastic (col. 3, lines 30-35). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the single piece of Dillingham ‘285 with TPU injection molded to provide strength and rigidity to support the weight as deemed suitable for given application factors as taught by Strassburger ‘421.
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dillingham ‘285 in view of Strassburger ‘421, and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0311785 to O’Malley.
Dillingham ‘285 in view of Strassburger ‘421 fails to disclose a transparent window. Nevertheless, O’Malley ‘785 discloses a transparent window display for hangers [0098]. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the back inset of Dillingham in view of Strassburger to include the transparent window because one would have a motivation to improve the appearance, and to help weatherize the transparent window if used outdoor as taught by O’Malley ‘785.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4, 10, 15, 16, 18, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 4, 16, and 20, the prior art fails to disclose a retaining band 802 configured to hold the back plate in place in the back inset.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art fails to disclose wherein the back inset forms slots.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art fails to disclose a collar disposed around the equipment loop and configured to tighten the loop when the collar slides down the equipment loop.
Regarding claim 18, the prior art fails to disclose wherein the body further forms tabs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent No. 1,815,673 - drying rack
/TODD M EPPS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 December 30, 2025