DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 10/03/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01.
Regarding claim(s) 9, the apparatus claimed as a positioning, doesn't comprise any other element or structure that would allow performing and operate the claimed functions. The Examiner further notes that the claimed disclosure configured to: complete time-frequency synchronization, perform positioning, exchange a positioning result and executing other functions by the apparatuses is lacking the sufficient structural subject matter as to perform the claimed functions (e.g. transceiver, processor, memory etc.).
For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret the claims as best understood.
Claims 10-16, respectively, are dependent of claim 9, respectively, therefore they are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 9.
Claim Interpretations - 35 USC § 112(f)
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Regarding claim 9 the claim limitations a synchronization unit, a ranging unit and an exchange unit has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder means for/unit coupled with functional language configured to, respectively, without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification; for a synchronization unit, Fig. 13 shows a block diagram showing an apparatus that possess a processor, a memory and a transceiver being described in the specifications as an structure part of the apparatus to execute the claimed functions, see para. 233 of the specifications; for a ranging unit, Fig. 13 shows a block diagram showing an apparatus that possess a processor, a memory and a transceiver being described in the specifications as an structure part of the apparatus to execute the claimed functions, see para. 233 of the specifications; for an exchange unit, Fig. 13 shows a block diagram showing an apparatus that possess a processor, a memory and a transceiver being described in the specifications as an structure part of the apparatus to execute the claimed functions, see para. 233 of the specifications.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) 9-16 and the dependent claim(s) 9-16, has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification, that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-11 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammerschmidt et al. (US. Pub. 20220137177) in view of Thomas et al. (US. Pub. 20240019525).
Regarding claim 1 Hammerschmidt disclose, a method, comprising: completing, by a first device, time-frequency synchronization with a second device via a narrowband system, to obtain time-frequency synchronization information para. 55, “The two devices may first perform an initial phase during which there may be initial device discovery and initial (e.g., "coarse") synchronization between the two devices”;
performing, by the first device, positioning between the first device and the second device via a wideband system when the first device determines para. 55, “For example, techniques disclosed herein may enable a first device to efficiently determine a position (location) of a second device relative to the first device and/or efficiently determine a distance estimation (e.g., a range estimate) between the two devices”, at a media access control (MAC) layer, that the time-frequency synchronization information reaches time-frequency precision associated with the wideband system para. 57, “by utilizing a hybrid of NB and UWB signaling, embodiments improve upon operating range and/or efficiency when performing ranging and/or positioning via UWB signaling”.
Hammerschmidt does not specifically disclose, exchanging, by the first device, a positioning result with the second device via the narrowband system. However, Thomas disclose, exchanging, by the first device, a positioning result with the second device via the narrowband system para. 252, “the second method includes receiving, from the UE device, a UWB measurement and location information report for the UE device using the at least one UWB positioning method”.
Hammerschmidt and Thomas are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to transmission parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thomas in the system of Hammerschmidt so the system can report the location information to the second terminal. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure the second device obtains its location after being determined by an external source so it can save processing power and improve energy conservation.
Regarding claim 2 Hammerschmidt disclose, wherein the completing, by a first device, time-frequency synchronization with a second device via a narrowband system, to obtain time-frequency synchronization information comprises para. 55, “The two devices may first perform an initial phase during which there may be initial device discovery and initial (e.g., "coarse") synchronization between the two devices”:
sending, by the first device, a broadcast message to the second device via the narrowband system, wherein the broadcast message comprises a connection, in the narrowband system, established between the first device and the second device para. 150-151, “Accordingly, it should be understood that the simplified protocol illustrated by process 2500 (and/or other processes described herein) may further include (and/or be included within) other operations and/or protocol variants of the present disclosure (e.g., a full-ranging protocol, a beaconing protocol, etc.). Turning to process 2500, at block 2502, a first device (e.g., initiator 2402) may transmit to a second device (e.g., responder 2404) a first initiation packet via a first narrowband channel”; and
performing, by the first device, monophonic synchronization with the second device via the narrowband system para. 210, Fig. 43, “In some embodiments, all the NB exchanges within a ranging round can use a single channel to maximize the collective success of all exchanges”, to obtain time-frequency synchronization information of coarse synchronization between the first device and the second device para. 210, Fig. 43, “In some embodiments, the Responder 4302 obtains Time (T) and Frequency (F) synchronization data by the virtue of receiving NB_POLL and the same happens with the initiator 4304 when it receives the NB_RSP”.
Regarding claim 3 Hammerschmidt disclose, wherein the completing, by a first device, time-frequency synchronization with a second device via a narrowband system, to obtain time-frequency synchronization information comprises:
sending, by the first device, a first broadcast message to the second device via the narrowband system, wherein the first broadcast message comprises basic information for time-frequency synchronization para. 151, “Turning to process 2500, at block 2502, a first device (e.g., initiator 2402) may transmit to a second device (e.g., responder 2404) a first initiation packet via a first narrowband channel”;
starting, by the first device, monophonic synchronization in the narrowband system based on the basic information para. 156, Fig. 43, “In some implementations, all NB (narrow bands) exchanges within a ranging round may use a single channel to maximize the collective success of all exchanges”, to obtain time-frequency synchronization information of coarse synchronization between the first device and the second device para. 68, “For example, the wireless system of the second device may perform a coarse synchronization with the first device (e.g., initiator device a1602 of fig. 17 and 18)”; and
receiving, by the first device, a second broadcast message sent by the second device, wherein the second broadcast message comprises time-frequency synchronization information of coarse synchronization of the second device para. 3, “The second device may then transmit an NB response packet at the desired start time, wherein the NB response packet conveys second synchronization data”.
Claim 9 recites an apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 1 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claims 10-11 and 18-19 the limitations of claims 10-11 and 18-19, respectively, are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claims 2-3, respectively.
Claim 17 recites a computer–program product corresponding to the apparatus of claim 1 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim(s) 4-8, 12-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammerschmidt et al. (U.S. Pub. 20220137177), in view of Thomas et al. (US. Pub. 20240019525), further in view of Han et al. (WIPO. Pub. CN109644403B).
Regarding claim 4 Hammerschmidt disclose, wherein the completing, by a first device, time-frequency synchronization with a second device via a narrowband system, to obtain time-frequency synchronization information comprises:
sending, by the first device, a first broadcast message to a plurality of second devices via the narrowband system, wherein the first broadcast message comprises basic information for time-frequency synchronization para. 97, “Turning to process 2500, at block 2502, a first device (e.g., initiator 2402) may transmit a first initiation packet to a second device (e.g., responder 2404) via a first narrowband channel”;
starting, by the first device, monophonic synchronization in the narrowband system based on the basic information, to complete time-frequency synchronization para. 210, Fig. 43, “In some embodiments, all the NB exchanges within a ranging round can use a single channel to maximize the collective success of all exchanges”, and obtain time-frequency synchronization information of coarse synchronization between the first device and the plurality of second devices para. 121, “For example, a wireless system of the second device may perform a coarse synchronization with a first device (e.g., the initiator device A 1602 of FIGS. 17 and 18)”; and
wherein the second broadcast message sent by each second device of the plurality of second devices comprises time-frequency synchronization information of coarse synchronization of the second device para. 142-143, Fig. 18, “At block 2208, the first device may receive, from the second device, the second packet via the second narrowband signal during the window. In some embodiments, one or more operations of block 2208 may be similar to operations of block 1808 of FIG. 18. At block 2210, the first device may obtain (e.g., extract) second synchronization data based at least in part on the second packet”.
Hammerschmidt and Thomas does not specifically disclose, sequentially receiving, by the first device, second broadcast messages sent by the plurality of second devices. However, Han teach, sequentially receiving, by the first device, second broadcast messages sent by the plurality of second devices para. 68, “he first device receives the confirmation message of the second message sent by each of the at least one second device through the second interface”.
Hammerschmidt, Thomas and Han are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to synchronization parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Han in the system of Hammerschmidt and Thomas so the system can expedite the interchange of time-frequency synchronization information. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce the timing for the subsequent fine synchronization process.
Regarding claim 5 Hammerschmidt disclose, wherein before the first device determines, at the MAC layer, that the time-frequency synchronization information reaches the time-frequency precision associated with the wideband system, the method further comprises:
continuing, by the first device based on the time-frequency synchronization information of coarse synchronization, to perform time-frequency synchronization with the second device via the wideband system para. 145, Fig. 23, “Continuing with block 2214 in FIG. 23, the first device may transmit the plurality of fragments to the second device via the ultra-wideband signal”, to obtain time-frequency synchronization information of fine synchronization between the first device and the second device para. 200, Fig. 38, “Meanwhile, the NB sub-system may handle fine synchronization to assist (“anchor”) the MMS-UWB (Multi-Millisecond) transmission. Also, the UWB sub-system may more efficiently “harvest” multiple milliseconds worth of UWB energy from specialized fragments 3806a-c for TOF/AOA estimation”.
Regarding claim 6 Hammerschmidt disclose, wherein both the first device and the second device comprise the MAC layer, a SUB-MAC layer of the wideband system, and a SUB-MAC layer of the narrowband system para. 58, “For example, the hybrid wireless transceiver may include a shared time base unit, for example, including a Crystal Oscillator (XO) and/or a clocking and time-keeping apparatus. The shared time base unit may ensure that the NB and UWB subsystems generate signals that are tightly synchronized in time and frequency. The subsystems for a given device may also share Medium Access Control (MAC) functionality”; and the completing, by a first device, time-frequency synchronization with a second device via a narrowband system comprises: completing, by the first device, time-frequency synchronization with the second device via the SUB-MAC layer of the narrowband system para. 59, “The hybrid system controller may coordinate transmission and reception activities of both the NB and UWB sub-systems, as well as information exchange between the NB and UWB sub-systems. For example, the hybrid system controller may receive time and frequency synchronization information from the NB sub-system… The hybrid system controller may also provide time and frequency configuration information to the UWB sub-system. This may enable the UWB sub-system receiver to be more precisely configured (e.g., synchronized), based on the time and frequency information extracted from the NB signaling”.
Regarding claims 12-14 the limitations of claims 12-14, respectively, are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claims 4-6, respectively.
Regarding claim 20 the limitations of claim 20 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 4.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. 20100091736) which disclose(s) system for packet data service in the mixed network of asynchronous communication network and synchronous communication network and hand-over method thereof.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RAUL RIVAS whose telephone number is (571)270–5590. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday – Friday, from 8:30am to 5:00pm.If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Sujoy K. Kundu, can be reached on (571) 272 - 8586. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571–272–8300.
/R.R/ Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471