DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 7, 9, 10, 12, 13, 15, 16, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (WO 2021/015310).
Regarding Claim 1, Choi teaches an electronic device, comprising: a first housing; a second housing configured to slide with respect to the first housing (Figure 2b, first housing (200), second housing (300)); a rollable display including a first display area and a second display area extending from the first display area (Figure 2b, Section 0233), wherein at least a portion of the second display area is configured to be moved based on a sliding movement of the second housing (Figure 2b, Section 0233); and a driving structure configured to provide a driving force for sliding of the second housing with respect to the first housing (Figures 2c, 4, driving module (600)), wherein the driving structure includes: a motor disposed in the first housing (Figure 5, Section 0288, drive motor (631)); a pinion gear connected to the motor and configured to rotate in one direction or in another direction opposite to the one direction based on a driving force of the motor (Figure 5, Section 0294, the drive gear (640) acts as the pinion gear); a rack disposed in the second housing, configured to be engaged with the pinion gear (Figure 6, Section 0294, rack (620) engages with the drive gear (640)), and including a guide groove (rack comprises gear grooves (Sections 0075, 0078)); and a gear bracket including a guide groove support portion configured to support the guide groove of the rack (Figure 5, Sections 0047, 0053, 0284, bracket (610) supports the rack and thus supports the gear grooves of the rack), and coupled to one side of the motor (Section 0046, the bracket, the rack, the actuator, the drive gear, and the lower cover can be combined to form a drive module, which also comprises the motor (631) thus rendering a scenario wherein the bracket is coupled to at least one side of the motor).
Regarding Claim 16, Choi teaches an electronic device comprising: a first housing; a second housing configured to slide relative to the first housing (Figure 2b, first housing (200), second housing (300)); a display including a first display area and a second display area extending from the first display area (Figure 2b, Section 0233), wherein at least a portion of the second display area is configured to be moved based on a sliding movement of the second housing (Figure 2b, Section 0233); and a driving structure configured to provide a driving force for sliding of the second housing with respect to the first housing (Figures 2c, 4, driving module (600)) wherein the driving structure includes a motor fixed to the first housing (Figure 5, Section 0288, drive motor (631)), a pinion gear connected to the motor and configured to rotate in one direction or in another direction opposite to the one direction based on a driving force of the motor (Figure 5, Section 0294, the drive gear (640) acts as the pinion gear), a rack fixed to the second housing and including at least a portion configured to be engaged with the pinion gear (Figure 6, Section 0294, rack (620) engages with the drive gear (640)), and a gear bracket receiving at least a portion of the pinion gear (Section 0046, the bracket, the rack, the actuator, the drive gear, and the lower cover can be combined to form a drive module, this means that the bracket, rack, actuator, and drive gear work together to form and operate as a drive module thus rendering a scenario wherein the bracket effectively receives the drive gear) and at least a portion of the rack (Sections 0047, 0053, bracket supports the rack) and fixed to the motor (Section 0046, the bracket, the rack, the actuator, the drive gear, and the lower cover can be combined to form a drive module, which also comprises the motor (631) thus rendering a scenario wherein the bracket is coupled to at least one side of the motor) and the first housing (Figures 5, 6, the bracket (610), which is a part of the drive module (600), is coupled to the housing (200) thus enabling the slide feature to occur) wherein the gear bracket includes a first coupling portion and a second coupling portion coupled to the first housing (Figure 5, bracket (610) has a top portion and a bottom portion which correspond to the first and second coupling portions respectively), and wherein a virtual first straight line connecting the first coupling portion and the second first coupling portion are parallel to a sliding direction of the second housing (Figures 5, 6, bracket (610) has a top portion and a bottom portion which correspond to the first and second coupling portions respectively, said bracket (610) is a part of the drive module (600), the position of the drive module (600) in Figure 6 renders a position wherein the line from the top portion of the bracket to the bottom portion of the bracket is parallel to the sliding direction).
Regarding Claim 2, Choi teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Choi further teaches wherein the gear bracket includes a first coupling portion and a second first coupling portion coupled to the first housing (Figure 5, bracket (610) has a top portion and a bottom portion which correspond to the first and second coupling portions respectively), and wherein a virtual first straight line connecting the first coupling portion and the second first coupling portion is parallel to a sliding direction of the second housing (Figures 5, 6, bracket (610) has a top portion and a bottom portion which correspond to the first and second coupling portions respectively, said bracket (610) is a part of the drive module (600), the position of the drive module (600) in Figure 6 renders a position wherein the line from the top portion of the bracket to the bottom portion of the bracket is parallel to the sliding direction).
Regarding Claim 3, Choi teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 2. Choi further teaches wherein the rack includes a first coupling portion and a second coupling portion coupled to the second housing (Figure 5, rack (620) has a top portion and a bottom portion which correspond to the first and second coupling portions respectively), and wherein a virtual second straight line connecting the first coupling portion and the second coupling portion is parallel to the virtual first straight line (Figures 5, 6, rack (620) has a top portion and a bottom portion which correspond to the first and second coupling portions respectively, said rack (620) is a part of the drive module (600), the position of the drive module (600) in Figure 6 renders a position wherein the line from the top portion of the rack to the bottom portion of the racket is parallel to the straight line of the bracket (610)).
Regarding Claim 7, Choi teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Choi further teaches wherein the pinion gear includes: a first portion, at least a portion of which is configured to be inserted into and fixed to the motor (Figure 5, drive gear (640) can be inserted and fixed to the drive motor (631)); and a second portion protruding from at least a portion of the first portion and configured to be engaged with the rack (Figures 5, 6, drive gear (640) can also engage with the rack (620)), and wherein the first portion is rotatably connected to the gear bracket (Figure 5, bracket (610)).
Regarding Claim 9, Choi teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Choi further teaches wherein the rack includes: a first portion configured to be engaged with the pinion gear (Figures 5, 6, rack (620) is engaged with the drive gear (640)); a second portion connected to the first portion and having a width less than a width of the first portion, wherein the first portion and the second portion are integrally formed (Figure 5, gear grooves (622, 623, 624) are coupled or integrated as part of the rack (620), said gear grooves have a width less than the width of the rack (620)), and wherein the guide groove includes a stepped portion based on a width difference between the first portion and the second portion (Figure 5, gear grooves (622, 623, 624) are the guide grooves).
Regarding Claim 10, Choi teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 9. Choi further teaches wherein the guide groove support portion is configured to protrude from at least a portion of the guide bracket to support the guide groove (Figure 5, gear grooves (622, 623, 624), bracket (610)).
Regarding Claim 12, Choi teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Choi further teaches wherein the motor includes a fixing protrusion protruding from at least a portion thereof (Figure 5, motor (631) protrudes), wherein the gear bracket includes a fixing recess recessed from at least a portion thereof (Figure 5, bracket (610), and wherein the fixing protrusion is configured to be inserted into the fixing recess (Figure 5, motor (631) can be inserted into recesses of bracket (610)).
Regarding Claim 13, Choi teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Choi further teaches a battery disposed in the first housing and configured to provide power to the motor (Section 0153).
Regarding Claim 15, Choi teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Choi further teaches wherein the gear bracket is configured to receive at least a portion of the pinion gear and at least a portion of the rack (Figure 5, bracket (610), drive gear (640), rack (620)).
Regarding Claim 19, Choi teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 16. Choi further teaches wherein the first coupling portion and the second first coupling portion extend in opposite directions from the gear bracket (Figure 5, bracket (610) has a top portion and a bottom portion which correspond to the first and second coupling portions respectively).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (WO 2021/015310) in view of Shin et al. (US 11,227,516).
Regarding Claim 20, Choi teaches an electronic device comprising: a first housing; a second housing configured to slide relative to the first housing (Figure 2b, first housing (200), second housing (300)); a display including a first display area and a second display area extending from the first display area (Figure 2b, Section 0233), wherein at least a portion of the second display area is configured to be moved based on a sliding movement of the second housing (Figure 2b, Section 0233); and a driving structure configured to provide a driving force for sliding of the second housing with respect to the first housing (Figures 2c, 4, driving module (600)), wherein the driving structure includes a motor fixed to the first housing (Figure 5, Section 0288, drive motor (631)), a pinion gear connected to the motor and configured to rotate in one direction or in another direction opposite to the one direction based on a driving force of the motor (Figure 5, Section 0294, the drive gear (640) acts as the pinion gear), a rack fixed to the second housing and including at least a portion configured to be engaged with the pinion gear (Figure 6, Section 0294, rack (620) engages with the drive gear (640)), and a gear bracket configured to receive at least a portion of the pinion gear (Section 0046, the bracket, the rack, the actuator, the drive gear, and the lower cover can be combined to form a drive module, this means that the bracket, rack, actuator, and drive gear work together to form and operate as a drive module thus rendering a scenario wherein the bracket effectively receives the drive gear) and at least a portion of the rack (Sections 0047, 0053, bracket supports the rack) and fixed to the motor (Section 0046, the bracket, the rack, the actuator, the drive gear, and the lower cover can be combined to form a drive module, which also comprises the motor (631) thus rendering a scenario wherein the bracket is coupled to at least one side of the motor) and the first housing (Figures 5, 6, the bracket (610), which is a part of the drive module (600), is coupled to the housing (200) thus enabling the slide feature to occur), and wherein at least a portion of the gear bracket is coupled to the motor (Section 0046, the bracket, the rack, the actuator, the drive gear, and the lower cover can be combined to form a drive module, which also comprises the motor (631) thus rendering a scenario wherein the bracket is coupled to at least one side of the motor).
Choi does not teach wherein at least a portion of the gear bracket is welded to the motor.
Shin, which also teaches a mobile with a flexible display, teaches welding of a bracket (Col. 36 lines 46 – 48).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Choi with the above features of Shin for the purpose of providing a means for facilitating the relative movement of the two bodies, such that slip and friction occurring when the two bodies move relative each other may be significantly reduced as taught by Shin. The combination of Choi and Shin teaches a portion of the gear bracket is welded to the motor.
Regarding Claim 11, Choi teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Choi does not teach wherein at least a portion of the motor and at least a portion of the gear bracket are welded to each other.
Shin, which also teaches a mobile with a flexible display, teaches welding of a bracket (Col. 36 lines 46 – 48).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Choi with the above features of Shin for the purpose of providing a means for facilitating the relative movement of the two bodies, such that slip and friction occurring when the two bodies move relative each other may be significantly reduced as taught by Shin. The combination of Choi and Shin teaches wherein at least a portion of the motor and at least a portion of the gear bracket are welded to each other.
Claim(s) 4 – 6, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (WO 2021/015310) in view of Stone et al. (US 2011/0199718)
Regarding Claim 4, Choi teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Choi does not teach a first buffer member comprising a flexible material and disposed between the first housing and the gear bracket.
Stone, which also teaches a mobile device with slidable capability, teaches a first buffer member comprising a flexible material and disposed between mechanical entities in a mobile device (Section 0022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Choi with the above features of Stone for the purpose of permitting adjustable positioning as taught by Stone. The combination of Choi and Stone teaches a first buffer member comprising a flexible material and disposed between the first housing and the gear bracket.
Regarding Claim 5, Choi in view of Stone teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 4. Choi does not teach wherein the first buffer member includes a rubber washer.
Stone, which also teaches a mobile device with slidable capability, teaches wherein the first buffer member includes a rubber washer (Section 0022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Choi with the above features of Stone for the purpose of permitting adjustable positioning as taught by Stone.
Regarding Claim 6, Choi teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Choi does not teach a second buffer member comprising a flexible material disposed between the second housing and the rack.
Stone, which also teaches a mobile device with slidable capability, teaches a second buffer member comprising a flexible material disposed between mechanical entities in a mobile device (Section 0022, rubber washer disposed about multiple shaft portions renders a plurality of rubber washers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Choi with the above features of Stone for the purpose of permitting adjustable positioning as taught by Stone. The combination of Choi and Stone teaches a second buffer member comprising a flexible material disposed between the second housing and the rack.
Regarding Claim 17, Choi teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 16. Choi does not teach a first buffer member comprising a flexible material and disposed between the first housing and the gear bracket; and a second buffer member comprising a flexible material disposed between the second housing and the rack
Stone, which also teaches a mobile device with slidable capability, teaches a first buffer member comprising a flexible material and disposed between mechanical entities in a mobile device (Section 0022) and a second buffer member comprising a flexible material disposed between mechanical entities in a mobile device (Section 0022, rubber washer disposed about multiple shaft portions renders a plurality of rubber washers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Choi with the above features of Stone for the purpose of permitting adjustable positioning as taught by Stone. The combination of Choi and Stone teaches a first buffer member comprising a flexible material and disposed between the first housing and the gear bracket and a second buffer member comprising a flexible material disposed between the second housing and the rack.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (WO 2021/015310) in view of Jung et al. (US 2023/0199984)
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding Claim 8, Choi teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 7. Choi does not teach wherein the driving structure includes a bearing disposed on the gear bracket and rotatably supporting the first portion.
Jung, which also teaches a rollable display, teaches a bearing disposed on the gear bracket and rotatably supporting an entity (Section 0144).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Choi with the above features of Jung for the purpose of reducing friction as taught by Jung.
Claim(s) 14, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (WO 2021/015310) in view of Shin et al. (US 2023/0189460)
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding Claims 14, 18, Choi teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 16. Choi does not teach wherein the pinion gear and the rack include a helical gear.
Shin, which also teaches a rollable display, teaches wherein the pinion gear and the rack include a helical gear (Section 0111).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Choi with the above features of Shin for the purpose of providing better durability, which is a benefit of helical gears.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Takeda et al. (US 2021/0242923) Section 0055 teaches u-plane latency, Joo et al. (US 2020/0159495) Section 0129 teaches power line communication (PLC), and Yun et al. (US 2020/0333818) Section 0114 teaches mobile industry processor interface (MIPI) all of which are disclosed in Applicants’ specification but not claimed.
/RAYMOND S DEAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 Raymond S. Dean
September 23, 2026