DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDSs) submitted on 10/17/24 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, but where the documents in the IDS(s) will be considered in the same manner as other documents in Office search files while conducting a search of the prior art in a proper field of search.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application, with claims 1-12 and 17-19 under consideration and claims 13-16 and 20 withdrawn.
Election/Restriction
Applicants’ election without traverse of Group I claims 1-12 and 17-19 in the 9/18/26 Restriction Response is acknowledged. The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 13-16 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. A complete reply to a final rejection must include cancellation of nonelected claims or other appropriate action (37 CFR 1.144) See MPEP § 821.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claims 1-12 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Clark (US 9333321 B2) (as printed publication published 5/10/2016, before the effective filing date of 3/25/2024).
As to claim 1, Clark teaches a catheter 10 (Fig.9A-D; Col.8,ll.20 to Col.12,ll.61) for placement within a vessel or cavity of a body of a patient (Abstract), the catheter comprising:
a tip (lower end of catheter 90; Fig.9A,C; Col.11,ll.27 to Col.12,ll.61) including: a longitudinal axis (along 10; Fig.1),
a first lumen 91 configured to carry a fluid in a proximal direction through the tip (Fig.9A,C;Col.11,ll.29-39), the first lumen including: an inlet port 95 (intake port 95; Fig.9C; Col.11,ll.58,54-61) located at a distal end or distal end portion thereof (Fig.9C; ; Col.11,ll.58,54-61; Col.12,ll.2) and an outlet port 99 (as one or more side holes 99; Fig.9C; Col.12,ll.4-9) located at a proximal end or a proximal end portion thereof (Fig.9C; Col.12,ll.4-32); and, located inside the first lumen 91 at a first longitudinal distance away from the inlet port 95 (Fig.9C) is: a first spiral flow inducing structure 100 (twisted portion 100 forming a spiral twist; Fig.9A,C; Col.11,ll.40-46) that is located entirely inside and surrounded by a wall 93 (curved wall 93; Fig.9A,C; Col.11,ll.53-54) that form the first lumen 91 (Fig.9A,C; Col.11,ll.52-54); and
a second lumen 92 configured to carry the fluid in a distal direction through the tip (Fig.9A,C;Col.11,ll.29-39), the first 91 and second 92 lumens being respectively formed at least in part by first and second sides of a first septum (as septum shown in Fig.9D between and forming a wall between first 91 and second 92 lumens;Col.11,ll.34-37).
As to claims 2-3, Clark teaches:[claim 2]:
wherein the second lumen 92 includes an inlet port (as inlet to lumen 92 Fig.9A,C, corresponding to inlet of tube 30 that connects to lumen 16 of Fig.1 Col.8,ll.33-34, corresponding to lumen 92 of Fig.9A,C; Col.11,ll.65,63-65), a first outlet port 96 (out port 96 Fig.9A,C; Col.11,ll.64-66) and a second outlet port 99 (one or more side holes 99 Col.12,ll.4-33), the inlet port of the second lumen 92 being located at a proximal end thereof (inlet port of 92 corresponding to inlet port of tube 30 at proximal end of lumen 16 Fig.1; Col.8,ll.33-34); the first 96 and second 99 outlet ports being circumferentially spaced-apart from one another (Fig.9A,C) with each extending through a wall 94 of the tip at a longitudinal location proximal to the distal end of the tip (Fig.9C; Col.11,ll.63-67; first outlet port 96 and second outlet port 99 through wall 94 of tip at longitudinal location Fig.9A,C; Col.12,ll.4-6), located in the second lumen 92 is a second spiral flow inducing structure 100 that is configured to direct a first portion of the fluid towards the first outlet port 96 and a second portion of the fluid to the second outlet port 99 (where, after treatment, fluid flows through and out of lumen 92 and is deflected by twisted portion 100 of curved wall 94 Col.11,ll.63-64 [forming spiral/twisted flow Col.11,l..41-46] and out of first port 96 and second port 99 as first and second portions of the fluid flow Col.22,ll.63-67); and[claim 3] wherein the second spiral flow inducing structure 100 is configured to cause the first portion of the fluid to spiral in a first rotational direction and to cause the second portion of the fluid to spiral in a second rotational direction opposite the first rotational direction (where second port 99 is approximately perpendicular to the first port 96, such that a portion of the spiral output flow into first port 96 would be in a first rotational direction that would necessarily create at least some opposite spiral flow in a second rotational direction through the second port 99).
As to claim 4, Clark teaches wherein the first 96 and second 99 outlet ports of the second lumen 92 are circumferentially aligned with one another (where at least a portion of the first 96 outlet port is circumferentially aligned with the second outlet port 99, as shown in Fig.9A,C).
As to claim 5, Clark teaches wherein: at least a portion of a first structure that forms the first outlet port 96 is configured to induce spiral flow as the first portion of the fluid passes through the first outlet port 96, and at least a portion of a second structure that forms the second outlet port 99 is configured to induce spiral flow as the second portion of the fluid passes through the second outlet port 99 (where, after treatment, fluid flows through and out of lumen 92 and is deflected by twisted portion 100 of curved wall 94 Col.11,ll.63-64 [forming spiral/twisted flow Col.11,l..41-46] and out of first port 96 and second port 99 as first and second portions of the fluid flow Col.22,ll.63-67)
As to claim 6, Clark teaches wherein the second spiral flow inducing structure 100 is a monolithic structure that extends between an inner wall of the second lumen 92 and the first septum (as septum shown in Fig.9D between and forming a wall between first 91 and second 92 lumens;Col.11,ll.34-37) (Fig.9A, 9C, 9D).
As to claim 7, Clark teaches wherein the first spiral flow inducing structure 100 is a curved ramp (twisted portion 100 forming curved ramp (Fig.9A,C,D).
As to claim 8, Clark teaches wherein no portion of the first spiral flow inducing structure 100 exists at the inlet port 95 of the first lumen 91 (where symmetrical tip design eliminates the septum extending beyond the distal ends/ports 95 and 96 of lumens 91 and 92, such that no portion of the spiral flow inducing structure 100 within lumens 91 and 92 at ports 95 and 96 extends beyond or into the opposite of each of the corresponding ports 91 and 92 Col.11,ll.31-38,63-65).
As to claim 9, Clark teaches wherein the second lumen includes a third outlet port, the first, second and third outlet ports of the second lumen being spaced equidistantly apart about a circumference of the tip (where first 96 and second 99 outlet ports are spaced equidistant apart around circumference of tip, as presented above for claim 4, and where there can be one or more outlet ports 99, such that a third outlet port 99 can be provided as equidistant circumferentially (Col.12,ll.4-5).
As to claim 10, Clark teaches wherein the tip is a monolithic structure, being made from a single piece of material (as continuous monolithic structure Fig.9A,9C,9D, as constructed of same material Col.8,ll.3-6).
As to claim 11, Clark teaches wherein the first spiral flow inducing structure 100 is configured to produce a spiral laminar flow of the fluid (as twisted structure producing spiral laminar flow (Fig.9A,C,D; Col.11,ll.40-51).
As to claim 12, Clark teaches wherein the second spiral flow inducing structure is configured to direct the first portion of the fluid towards the first outlet port with laminar flow and a second portion of the fluid to the second outlet port with laminar flow (where, fluid flows through and out of lumen 92 and is deflected by twisted portion 100 of curved wall 94 Col.11,ll.63-64 [forming spiral/twisted flow Col.11,l..41-46] and out of first port 96 and second port 99 as first and second portions of the fluid flow Col.22,ll.63-67, thus necessarily providing laminar flow through the to both first 96 and second 99 outlet ports).
As to claim 17, Clark teaches wherein the first spiral flow inducing structure 100 is configured to cause the first portion of the fluid to spiral in a first rotational direction and to cause the second portion of the fluid to spiral in a second rotational direction opposite the first rotational direction (where second port 99 is approximately perpendicular to the first port 96, such that a portion of the spiral output flow into first port 96 would be in a first rotational direction that would necessarily create at least some opposite spiral flow in a second rotational direction through the second port 99).
As to claim 18, Clark teaches wherein at least a portion of a first structure 100 that forms the first outlet port 96 is configured to induce spiral flow as the first portion of the fluid passes through the first outlet port 96, and at least a portion of a second structure 100 that forms the second outlet port 99 is configured to induce spiral flow as the second portion of the fluid passes through the second outlet port 99 (where, fluid flows through and out of lumen 92 and is deflected by twisted portion 100 of curved wall 94 Col.11,ll.63-64 [forming spiral/twisted flow Col.11,l..41-46] and out of first port 96 and second port 99 as first and second portions of the fluid flow Col.22,ll.63-67).
As to claim 19, Clark teaches wherein the catheter is a dialysis catheter (Col.4,ll.56-57) and the fluid is blood (Col.4,ll.58-60).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The references provided on the attached PTO Form 892 are considered relevant to Applicants’ disclosure and are cited to show further the general state of the art.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, REBECCA EISENBERG, can be reached on 571-270-5879. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GUY K TOWNSEND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781