CTNF 18/905,578 CTNF 88481 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-4, 6-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Kasaba (US 2023/0015312) . Regarding claim 1 , Kasaba discloses A computer-implemented method for generating time-based models (“allow AI engine to identify a time period,” Kasaba, para. 50) , the method comprising: receiving a request, at a client device, specifying a subject (“a request to initiate an interactive session with an avatar of the subject person,” Kasaba, para. 6) ; determining a time period covering a time span associated with the request (“identify a time period or age range of the subject person,” Kasaba, para. 50) ; retrieving, from at least the client device, contextual information including at least text data associated with the subject (“first data collection may include … text data associated with a subject person,” Kasaba, para. 45) , the contextual information restricted by the time period (“identify a time period or age range of the subject person when the associated data was generated. With this arrangement, first data collection can represent the collected information or data associated with the subject person at a particular age or age range of their life,” Kasaba, para. 50) ; generating, based on the contextual information, a model representing characteristics of the subject; and displaying an interactive digital representation of the model in a user interface of the client device (“the interactive digital avatar generated by AI engine can accurately reflect the subject person at that particular age or age range,” Kasaba, para. 50). Regarding claim 2 , Kasaba discloses wherein determining the contextual information comprises: obtaining image, video, and text data from one or more external data sources (“first data collection may include audio data, video data, image data, and/or text data associated with a subject person,” Kasaba, para. 45) associated with a user account, wherein the request is made through the user account; and storing the model in association with the user account, wherein user credentials are required to gain access to the user account (“Account data can include account identifiers, such as user names and passwords,” Kasaba, para. 56; “each user … will have a unique data set in their user file stored in user database that includes their own personalization data, account data, and interaction data,” Kasaba, para. 58). Regarding claim 3 , Kasaba discloses generating a physical operation for identifying physical characteristics of the subject; and capturing an image or video depicting the subject performing the physical operation, the image or video depicting the subject included in the contextual information (“Video data can include one or more video files or recordings of the subject person so that AI engine may use video data to accurately mimic facial expressions, hand movements, body posture, and other physical mannerisms of the subject person,” Kasaba, para. 47). Regarding claim 4 , Kasaba discloses generating a questionnaire for identifying a personality of the subject; and receiving user input in response to the questionnaire, the user input included in the contextual information (“prepare and save in avatar database for each avatar, a menu or list of potential questions and their associated responses that may be used during an interactive session with a subject person's avatar. The predetermined topics or responses may be obtained by processing and analyzing the data collection associated with the subject person and/or may be prepared in advance by the subject person,” Kasaba, para. 85). Regarding claim 6 , Kasaba discloses requesting authorization for access to the contextual information at the client device based on the time period (“account identifiers, such as user names and passwords,” Kasaba, para. 56). Regarding claim 7 , Kasaba discloses wherein the time period is made up of a present, past, or future period of time (“an older or younger age or age range,” Kasaba, para. 43). Regarding claim 8 , Kasaba discloses wherein the model reflects an appearance of the subject, and includes speech patterns of the subject and audio outputs corresponding to a voice of the subject (“represent the physical appearance and speech, mannerisms, and inflections of the subject person,” Kasaba, para. 44). Regarding claim 9 , Kasaba discloses generating a message thread in a social platform between a user of the client device and the interactive digital representation; rendering at least a portion of the interactive digital representation in an image of the subject within the message thread (“avatar interface includes one or more of text, audio, and video options for a user to interact with interactive digital avatar … a user may choose to engage with interactive digital avatar via text by typing on a keyboard or touchscreen input,” Kasaba, para. 61) ; receiving text queries input by the user into the message thread; generating predicted responses to the text queries based on the model of the subject; and outputting the predicted responses to the text queries in the message thread in a conversation format (“allow interactive avatar of subject person to answer questions and provide help to first user,” Kasaba, para. 111). Regarding claim 10 , Kasaba discloses rendering the model as an avatar in a virtual environment wherein a physical appearance of the avatar matches an appearance of the subject during the time period (“allow one or more users to virtually interact with the digitally rendered avatar of the subject person,” Kasaba, para. 25; “interactive digital avatars of the same subject person at different ages can accurately represent the physical appearance and speech, mannerisms, and inflections of the subject person at different time periods in the subject person's life,” para. 44). Regarding claim 11 , it is rejected using the same citations and rationales described in the rejection of claim 1, with the additional limitations of A system … comprising: one or more processors; and a memory comprising instructions stored thereon, which when executed by the one or more processors, causes the one or more processors (see Kasaba, Fig. 1) and wherein the time period is made up of a present, past, or future period of time (“an older or younger age or age range,” Kasaba, para. 43). Regarding claims 12-14, 16, and 17-19 , they are rejected using the same citations and rationales described in the rejections of claims 2-4, 6, and 8-10, respectively. Regarding claim 20 , it is rejected using the same citations and rationales described in the rejection of claim 1, with the additional limitation of A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions stored thereon, which when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations (see Kasaba, Fig. 1) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasaba . Regarding claim 5 , Kasaba does not explicitly recite wherein the time period is specified by a user in the request . However, Kasaba does disclose “a request to initiate an interactive session with an avatar of the subject person is received from at least one user” (para. 68) and “the subject person may have an interactive digital avatar … at a first age and another interactive digital avatar … at a second age” (para. 44). The Examiner takes Official Notice that both the concepts and the advantages of a user specifying desired parameters in a request were well known and expected in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allow a user to specify a desired avatar age range (since multiple age ranges are possible) in Kasaba in order to give a user more control. Regarding claim 15 , it is rejected using the same citations and rationales described in the rejection of claim 5. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Ryan McCulley whose telephone number is (571)270-3754. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday, 8:00am - 4:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kee Tung can be reached at (571) 272-7794. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /RYAN MCCULLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611 Application/Control Number: 18/905,578 Page 2 Art Unit: 2611 Application/Control Number: 18/905,578 Page 3 Art Unit: 2611 Application/Control Number: 18/905,578 Page 4 Art Unit: 2611 Application/Control Number: 18/905,578 Page 5 Art Unit: 2611 Application/Control Number: 18/905,578 Page 6 Art Unit: 2611 Application/Control Number: 18/905,578 Page 7 Art Unit: 2611 Application/Control Number: 18/905,578 Page 8 Art Unit: 2611