DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1:
Claims 1-9, 19-20 recite, in the preamble, a method of determining a rheological property of a fluid and claims 10-18 recite a system (apparatus) for measuring a rheological property of a fluid. Thus, the claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention (method and apparatus).
Step 2A:
Claim 1 recites: A method of determining a rheological property of a fluid, comprising: flowing the fluid into a turbine having at least two disks that are rotatable about a rotational axis and having a gap therebetween, wherein the fluid flows into the gap at a circumferential edge of the at least two disks to rotate the at least two disks around the rotational axis, wherein the gap is variable; measuring a first value of a dynamic parameter of the turbine resulting from an interaction between the at least two disks and the fluid in the gap as the fluid flows from the circumferential edge towards the axis with the gap having a first gap width; measuring a second value of the dynamic parameter with the gap having a second gap width different from the first gap width; and determining the rheological property of the fluid based on the first value of the dynamic parameter and the second value of the dynamic parameter. [The examiner finds that the foregoing underlined elements recite a mental process because they can be performed in the human mind].
Claim 10 recites: A system for measuring a rheological property of a fluid, comprising: a turbine having at least two disks rotating around a rotational axis of the turbine, the at least two disks separated by a gap that is variable; a nozzle at a circumferential edge of the at least two disks for flowing the fluid into the gap; a sensor for measuring a dynamic parameter of the turbine resulting from an interaction between the at least two disks and the fluid in the gap as the fluid flows from the circumferential edge towards the axis; and a processor configured to: determine the rheological property of the fluid based on a first value of the dynamic parameter of the turbine obtained from the sensor with the gap having a first gap width and a second value obtained from the sensor with the gap having a second gap width different from the first gap width. [The examiner finds that the foregoing underlined elements recite a mental process because they can be performed in the human mind].
Claim 19 recites: A method of determining a rheological property of a fluid, comprising: flowing the fluid into a turbine having at least two disks that are rotatable about a rotational axis and having a gap therebetween, wherein the fluid flows into the gap at a circumferential edge of the at least two disks to rotate the at least two disks around the rotational axis; measuring a first value of a dynamic parameter of the turbine resulting from an interaction between the at least two disks and the fluid in the gap as the fluid flows from the circumferential edge towards the axis, wherein the fluid has a first fluid flow parameter value; measuring a second value of the dynamic parameter of the turbine resulting from the interaction between the at least two disks and the fluid in the gap as the fluid flows from the circumferential edge towards the axis, wherein the fluid has a second fluid flow parameter value; and determining the rheological property of the fluid based on the first value of the dynamic parameter and the second value of the dynamic parameter. [The examiner finds that the foregoing underlined elements recite a mental process because they can be performed in the human mind].
The elements that are not underlined above are the additional elements.
The examiner finds that each of the following additional elements does no more than generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use because it/they is/are merely an incidental or token addition to the claim that does not alter or affect how the process steps of determining the rheological property of the fluid are performed.
Regarding claim 1: a turbine having at least two disks that are rotatable about a rotational axis and having a gap therebetween, wherein the fluid flows into the gap at a circumferential edge of the at least two disks to rotate the at least two disks around the rotational axis, wherein the gap is variable.
Regarding claim 10: A system for measuring a rheological property of a fluid, comprising: a turbine having at least two disks rotating around a rotational axis of the turbine, the at least two disks separated by a gap that is variable; a nozzle at a circumferential edge of the at least two disks for flowing the fluid into the gap; a sensor for measuring a dynamic parameter of the turbine resulting from an interaction between the at least two disks and the fluid in the gap as the fluid flows from the circumferential edge towards the axis;
Regarding claim 19: a turbine having at least two disks that are rotatable about a rotational axis and having a gap therebetween, wherein the fluid flows into the gap at a circumferential edge of the at least two disks to rotate the at least two disks around the rotational axis.
The examiner finds that each of the following additional elements merely recites the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the abstract idea or merely includes instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea:
Claim 10: a processor.
The examiner finds that each of the following additional elements merely adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea:
Claim 1: measuring a first value of a dynamic parameter of the turbine resulting from an interaction between the at least two disks and the fluid in the gap as the fluid flows from the circumferential edge towards the axis with the gap having a first gap width; measuring a second value of the dynamic parameter with the gap having a second gap width different from the first gap width [data gathering is considered insignificant pre-solution activity].
Claim 19: measuring a first value of a dynamic parameter of the turbine resulting from an interaction between the at least two disks and the fluid in the gap as the fluid flows from the circumferential edge towards the axis, wherein the fluid has a first fluid flow parameter value; measuring a second value of the dynamic parameter of the turbine resulting from the interaction between the at least two disks and the fluid in the gap as the fluid flows from the circumferential edge towards the axis, wherein the fluid has a second fluid flow parameter value. [data gathering is considered insignificant pre-solution activity].
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For example, there is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology.
Step 2B:
The examiner finds that the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
A turbine having at least two disks that are rotatable about a rotational axis and having a gap therebetween, a nozzle at a circumferential edge of the at least two disks for flowing the fluid into the gap wherein the fluid flows into the gap at a circumferential edge of the at least two disks to rotate the at least two disks around the rotational axis, wherein the gap is variable is well-understood, routine, and conventional as evidenced by:
WO2017030916 ([0030] disks having spacing from 0.5-2mm; nozzle (injector 185, Fig. 1), a known (therefore measured) flowrate [0022], and temperature and pressure instrumentation [0029]); and
US20100129193 [0023, 0082] inter-disc spacing is adjustable and tangentially directed working fluid through inlets (nozzle) [0026, 0084, 0134], temperature signal [0023];
US20170205108 [0063] the spacing between discs 23 can be adjusted and nozzles introduce fluid at the perimeter of discs [0065], pressure sensors 47a, 47b (Fig. 5);
US20130071259 [0062] the disks are separated by a spacer, conduit 200 is a nozzle [0077], Fig. 4, and pressure and flow rate are controlled (therefore measured) [0073];
US6779964 teaches spacers 4 with adjustable heights (col. 9, lines 1-32) and fluid inlet 230 is a nozzle, Fig. 3A;
US20020064469 uses specially designed turbine spacers 30a between turbine disks such that the spacer size is determined by the type of internal combustion engine in which the turbine is to be used on [0051] and inlets 22 (nozzles) directed at a periphery 33 of the disks 16, Fig. 3.
Therefore, claims 1, 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding dependent claims 2-9, 11-18, and 20 further limit the abstract idea without adding significantly more.
Dependent claims 2 and 11 are directed to measuring a fluid flow parameter of the fluid (data gathering which is insignificant extra-solution activity) and determining the rheological property of the fluid based on the first value, the second value and the fluid flow parameter [The examiner finds that the foregoing underlined elements recite a mental process because they can be performed in the human mind].
Dependent claims 3 and 12 are directed to determining the rheological property by performing one of: (i) comparing the fluid flow parameter and at least one of the first value and the second value to experimentally determined calibration data stored in a database; and (ii) using an experimentally determined mathematical relation [The examiner finds that the foregoing underlined elements recite a mental process because they can be performed in the human mind].
Dependent claims 4 and 13 are directed to wherein the dynamic parameter of the turbine is at least one of: (i) a torque applied to the at least two disks by the fluid; and (ii) a rotational velocity of the at least two disks which further limits the abstract idea by generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use but does not amount to significantly more.
Dependent claims 5, 14, and 20 are directed to wherein the fluid flow parameter is at least one of: (i) a flow rate of the fluid; (ii) a density of the fluid; (iii) a first fluid pressure at an inlet to the turbine; (iv) a second fluid pressure at an outlet of the turbine; (v) a first fluid temperature at the inlet; and (vi) a second fluid temperature at the outlet which further limits the abstract idea by generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use but does not amount to significantly more because they are merely an incidental or token addition to the claim that does not alter or affect how the process steps of determining the rheological property of the fluid are performed.
Dependent claim 6 is directed to the rheological property further comprising at least one of (i) a viscosity of the fluid; (ii) a shear stress of the fluid; (iii) a shear rate of the fluid; (iv) an adhesion of the fluid; and (v) a gel strength of the fluid which further limits the abstract idea of determining a rheological property which does not amount to significantly more that the judicial exception because they are merely an incidental or token addition to the claim that does not alter or affect how the process steps of determining the rheological property of the fluid are performed.
Dependent claim 7 is directed to wherein a flow of the fluid is one of (i) Newtonian flow; and (ii) non-Newtonian flow which further limits the abstract idea by generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use but does not amount to significantly more.
Dependent claims 8 and 16 are directed to a first turbine in parallel with a second turbine, the first turbine having first disks separated by the first gap width and the second turbine having second disks separated by the second gap width, the method further comprising flowing the fluid into the first turbine and the second turbine which is considered well-understood, routine, and conventional as discussed in step 2B, above, and does not amount to significantly more.
Dependent claims 9 and 17 are directed to controlling a temperature of the fluid flowing into the turbine, which is considered well-understood, routine, and conventional as discussed in step 2B, above and does not amount to significantly more.
Dependent claim 15 is directed to the location of the turbine at one of: (i) a surface of a drilling operation; and (iii) in a drill string which further limits the abstract idea by generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use but does not amount to significantly more.
Dependent claim 18 is directed to a pump configured to increase flow rate of the fluid from a zero-velocity, and wherein the processor is further configured to determine the gel strength of the fluid from a measurement of the dynamic parameter as the flow rate of the fluid increases from the zero-velocity flow rate which is considered insignificant extra-solution activity [data gathering is considered insignificant pre-solution activity] and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use but does not amount to significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over applicant-cited Chong et al. (WO2017030916) in view of Sherrer (US20100129193).
Claim 1: Chong teaches/discloses a method of determining a rheological property of a fluid (fluid 102, Fig. 1), comprising: flowing the fluid into a turbine (turbine type rotary viscometer unit 100) having at least two disks (disks 170-178) that are rotatable about a rotational axis (axis is same as the shaft 165) and having a gap (spaces 195) therebetween, wherein the fluid flows into the gap at a circumferential edge of the at least two disks (the fluid 102 flows into the spaces 195 from the circumferential edge at the entry line 105 and injector 185) to rotate the at least two disks around the rotational axis ([0019] The fluid 102 is injected at a known flowrate and results in the rotation (167) of the entire array of disks 170-178 at an angular velocity which may be measured.); measuring a first value of a dynamic parameter of the turbine resulting from an interaction between the at least two disks and the fluid in the gap as the fluid flows from the circumferential edge towards the axis with the gap having a first gap width ([0034] viscosity readings are determined based on analysis of angular velocity obtained from the unit 100. Also [0020, 0026, 0037]); and determining the rheological property of the fluid (the viscosity is determined from the angular velocity/rpm or torque [0025]; claims 17-18); Chong teaches that the distance (d) between disks 170-178 may be between 0.5-2mm and can be changed to accommodate different types of fluids being analyzed [0030].
Chong fails to teach measuring a second value of the dynamic parameter with the gap having a second gap width different from the first gap width; and determining the rheological property of the fluid based on the first value of the dynamic parameter and the second value of the dynamic parameter.
Chong teaches the relevant variables which are known or controlled when determining viscosity, thus the variables are contributing factors: RPM/angular velocity [0020, 0026], flowrate [0026], a pressure drop through the system [0029] and temperature [0029]. These variables allow one measured RPM or torque from the viscometer 100 to be correlated to a viscosity [0020, 0037]. Chong uses various known flowrate and velocity curves [0037] for fluids of known viscosity and creates a calibration curve (claims 9-10) from pre-stored information regarding flow rate, angular velocity, and viscosity. Based on the teachings of Chong, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to create a calibration curve for any measurable variable pertaining to the Tesla turbine operation as long as the other relevant parameters are known and controlled.
Sherrer teaches that inter-disc spacing is a result-effective variable which affects fluid viscosity and turbine function [0083-0086].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teaching of Sherrer with the method of Chong in order to determine viscosity of a fluid using a mathematical relationship between known result-effective variables that are well-known in the art.
Claim 2: Chong in view of Sherrer teaches the method of claim 1. Chong teaches measuring a fluid flow parameter of the fluid and determining the rheological property of the fluid based on the first value, the second value and the fluid flow parameter ([0035] the unit 300 may be configured to control and keep track of flowrate into the unit 100, pressure, temperature and other factors that may have an impact on the viscosity analysis).
Claim 3: Chong in view of Sherrer teaches the method of claim 2. Chong teaches the rheological property by performing one of: (i) comparing the fluid flow parameter and at least one of the first value and the second value to experimentally determined calibration data stored in a database; and (ii) using an experimentally determined mathematical relation (Chong teaches pre-stored calibration curves, Fig. 4, [0020, 0037, 0041] to compare a measured value to known reference values in order to determine the unknown value of viscosity.)
Claim 4: Chong in view of Sherrer teaches the method of claim 2. Chong teaches wherein the dynamic parameter of the turbine is at least one of: (i) a torque applied to the at least two disks (disks 170-178) by the fluid; and (ii) a rotational velocity of the at least two disks (torque [0007, 0025], angular velocity [0026, 0034]).
Claim 5: Chong in view of Sherrer teaches the method of claim 4. Chong teaches wherein the fluid flow parameter is at least one of: (i) a flow rate of the fluid; (ii) a density of the fluid; (iii) a first fluid pressure at an inlet of the turbine; (iv) a second fluid pressure at an outlet of the turbine; (v) a first fluid temperature at the inlet; and (vi) a second fluid temperature at the outlet ([0029] pressure drop (thus inlet and outlet), temperature and flowrate, [0035] the unit 300 may be configured to control and keep track of flowrate into the unit 100, pressure, temperature and other factors that may have an impact on the viscosity analysis).
Claim 6: Chong in view of Sherrer teaches the method of claim 1. Chong teaches wherein the rheological property further comprises at least one of (i) a viscosity of the fluid; (ii) a shear stress of the fluid; (iii) a shear rate of the fluid; (iv) an adhesion of the fluid; and (v) a gel strength of the fluid ([0041] the viscosity and shear rate are pre-stored in order to be determined from a measured dynamic parameter).
Claim 7: Chong in view of Sherrer teaches the method of claim 1. Chong teaches wherein a flow of the fluid is one of (i) Newtonian flow; and (ii) non-Newtonian flow ([0041] providing viscosity measurements for any non-Newtonian (or Newtonian) fluid 102.).
Claim 8: Chong in view of Sherrer teaches the method of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the turbine further comprises a first turbine in parallel with a second turbine, the first turbine having first disks separated by the first gap width and the second turbine having second disks separated by the second gap width, the method further comprising flowing the fluid into the first turbine and the second turbine.
However, Chong uses a turbine type rotary viscometer unit 100 to detect angular velocity and torque for a circulating fluid 102 which flows in from the entry line 105. Using the same turbine configured with a first gap for a first measurement and configured with a second gap for a second measurement versus using two separate turbines provides no new or unexpected result. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use two turbines, having two different gap widths, arranged in parallel to obtain a first and second value for a dynamic parameter in order to reduce the time for obtaining a range of result values.
Claim 9: Chong in view of Sherrer teaches the method of claim 1. Chong teaches controlling a temperature of the fluid flowing into the turbine ([0029] …temperature compensation may be imparted on the fluid 102 in order to heat or cool the fluid 102 in conjunction with taking other measurements thereof. For example, electric heaters, an extended recirculating period at the unit 100, pumping of coolant and other measures may be employed to attain a target temperature of the fluid 102 in advance of determining viscosity.).
Claim 10: Chong teaches a system for measuring a rheological property of a fluid, comprising: a turbine (turbine type rotary viscometer unit 100) having at least two disks (disks 170-178) rotating around a rotational axis (axis is same as the shaft 165) of the turbine, the at least two disks separated by a gap that is variable (the distance (d) between disks 170-178 may be between 0.5-2mm and can be changed to accommodate different types of fluids being analyzed [0030].); a nozzle (injector 185 with ports 190, Fig. 1) at a circumferential edge of the at least two disks for flowing the fluid into the gap (see Fig. 1); a sensor for measuring a dynamic parameter ([0019] angular velocity which may be measured; [0020] angular velocity measurement, and [0026, 0031, 0037]) of the turbine resulting from an interaction between the at least two disks and the fluid in the gap as the fluid flows from the circumferential edge towards the axis; and a processor ([0034] processor equipped control unit 300) configured to: determine the rheological property of the fluid based on a first value of the dynamic parameter of the turbine obtained from the sensor with the gap having a first gap width (the viscosity is determined from the angular velocity/rpm or torque [0025]; claims 17-18).
Chong fails to teach that the processor is configured to determine the rheological property of the fluid based on a first value of the dynamic parameter of the turbine obtained from the sensor with the gap having a first gap width and a second value obtained from the sensor with the gap having a second gap width different from the first gap width.
Chong teaches the relevant variables which are known or controlled when determining viscosity, thus the variables are contributing factors: RPM/angular velocity [0020, 0026], flowrate [0026], a pressure drop through the system [0029] and temperature [0029]. These variables allow one measured RPM or torque from the viscometer 100 to be correlated to a viscosity [0020, 0037]. Chong uses various known flowrate and velocity curves [0037] for fluids of known viscosity and creates a calibration curve (claims 9-10) from pre-stored information regarding flow rate, angular velocity, and viscosity. Based on the teachings of Chong, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to create a calibration curve for any measurable variable pertaining to the Tesla turbine operation as long as the other relevant parameters are known and controlled.
Sherrer teaches that inter-disc spacing is a result-effective variable which affects fluid viscosity and turbine function [0083-0086].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teaching of Sherrer with the method of Chong in order to determine viscosity of a fluid using a mathematical relationship between known result-effective variables that are well-known in the art.
Claim 11: Chong in view of Sherrer teaches the system of claim 10. Chong teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine the rheological property of the fluid based on the first value, the second value and a fluid flow parameter ([0035] the unit 300 may be configured to control and keep track of flowrate into the unit 100, pressure, temperature and other factors that may have an impact on the viscosity analysis).
Claim 12: Chong in view of Sherrer teaches the system of claim 11. Chong teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine the rheological property by performing one of: (i) comparing the fluid flow parameter and at least one of the first value and the second value to experimentally determined calibration data stored in a database; and (ii) using an experimentally determined mathematical relation (Chong teaches pre-stored calibration curves, Fig. 4, [0020, 0037, 0041] to compare a measured value to known reference values in order to determine the unknown value of viscosity.)
Claim 13: Chong in view of Sherrer teaches the system of claim 11. Chong teaches wherein the dynamic parameter of the turbine is at least one of: (i) a torque applied to the at least two disks (disks 170-178) by the fluid; and (ii) a rotational velocity of the at least two disks (torque [0007, 0025], angular velocity [0026, 0034]).
Claim 14: Chong in view of Sherrer teaches the system of claim 13. Chong teaches wherein the fluid flow parameter is at least one of: (i) a flow rate of the fluid; (ii) a density of the fluid; (iii) a first fluid pressure at an inlet to the turbine; (iv) a second fluid pressure at an outlet of the turbine; (v) a first fluid temperature at the inlet; and (vi) a second fluid temperature at the outlet ([0029] pressure drop (thus inlet and outlet), temperature and flowrate, [0035] the unit 300 may be configured to control and keep track of flowrate into the unit 100, pressure, temperature and other factors that may have an impact on the viscosity analysis).
Claim 15: Chong in view of Sherrer teaches the system of claim 10. Chong teaches wherein the turbine is located at one of: (i) a surface of a drilling operation; and (iii) in a drill string ([0033] the viscometer unit 100 is connected to the wellhead 355, Fig. 3, at the surface of a drilling operation).
Claim 16: Chong in view of Sherrer teaches the system of claim 10, but fails to teach a first turbine in parallel with a second turbine, the first turbine having first disks separated by the first gap width and the second turbine having second disks separated by the second gap width, wherein fluid flows from a turbine input line both into the first turbine and the second turbine.
However, Chong uses a turbine type rotary viscometer unit 100 to detect angular velocity and torque for a circulating fluid 102 which flows in from the entry line 105. Using the same turbine configured with a first gap for a first measurement and configured with a second gap for a second measurement versus using two separate turbines provides no new or unexpected result. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use two turbines, having two different gap widths, arranged in parallel to obtain a first and second value for a dynamic parameter in order to reduce the time for obtaining a range of result values.
Claim 17: Chong in view of Sherrer teaches the system of claim 10. Chong teaches at least one of: (i) a temperature control device for controlling a temperature of the fluid flowing into the turbine ([0029] …temperature compensation may be imparted on the fluid 102 in order to heat or cool the fluid 102 in conjunction with taking other measurements thereof. For example, electric heaters, an extended recirculating period at the unit 100, pumping of coolant and other measures may be employed to attain a target temperature of the fluid 102 in advance of determining viscosity.).; and (ii) a gap control device for controlling the gap width between the at least two disks.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chong in view of Sherrer further in view of Stock et al. (US20150316572).
Claim 18: Chong in view of Sherrer teaches the system of claim 10. Chong teaches a pump configured to increase flow rate of the fluid ([0026] pump 200, Fig. 2A) from a zero-velocity.
Chong in view of Sherrer fails to teach wherein the processor is further configured to determine the gel strength of the fluid from a measurement of the dynamic parameter as the flow rate of the fluid increases from the zero-velocity flow rate.
However, Stock teaches that a detected viscometer torque can be used to determine both viscosity and gel strength of a fluid [0063].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to determine the gel strength of the fluid from a measurement of the dynamic parameter as the flow rate of the fluid increases from the zero-velocity flow rate in order to determine relevant drilling fluid properties of a fluid using a mathematical relationship between well-known relevant properties (Stock, [0126]).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chong.
Claim 19: Chong teaches a method of determining a rheological property of a fluid (fluid 102, Fig. 1), comprising: flowing the fluid into a turbine (turbine type rotary viscometer unit 100) having at least two disks (disks 170-178) that are rotatable about a rotational axis (axis is same as the shaft 165) and having a gap therebetween (the distance (d) between disks 170-178 may be between 0.5-2mm and can be changed to accommodate different types of fluids being analyzed [0030]), wherein the fluid flows into the gap at a circumferential edge of the at least two disks(the fluid 102 flows into the spaces 195 from the circumferential edge at the entry line 105 and injector 185) to rotate the at least two disks around the rotational axis ([0019] The fluid 102 is injected at a known flowrate and results in the rotation (167) of the entire array of disks 170-178 at an angular velocity which may be measured.); measuring a first value of a dynamic parameter of the turbine resulting from an interaction between the at least two disks and the fluid in the gap as the fluid flows from the circumferential edge towards the axis, wherein the fluid has a first fluid flow parameter value ([0034] viscosity readings are determined based on analysis of angular velocity obtained from the unit 100. Also [0020, 0026, 0037] at a known flowrate [0031]).
Chong fails to teach measuring a second value of the dynamic parameter of the turbine resulting from the interaction between the at least two disks and the fluid in the gap as the fluid flows from the circumferential edge towards the axis, wherein the fluid has a second fluid flow parameter value; and determining the rheological property of the fluid based on the first value of the dynamic parameter and the second value of the dynamic parameter.
Chong teaches the relevant variables which are known or controlled when determining viscosity, thus the variables are contributing factors: RPM/angular velocity [0020, 0026], flowrate [0026], a pressure drop through the system [0029, 0035] and temperature [0029, 0035]. These variables allow one measured RPM or torque from the viscometer 100 to be correlated to a viscosity [0020, 0037]. Chong uses various known flowrate and velocity curves [0037] for fluids of known viscosity and creates a calibration curve (claims 9-10) from pre-stored information regarding flow rate, angular velocity, and viscosity. Based on the teachings of Chong, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to create a calibration curve for any measurable variable pertaining to the Tesla turbine operation as long as the other relevant parameters are known and controlled.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method of Chong in order to determine a rheological property including viscosity of a fluid, as taught by Chong, using a mathematical correlation between known result-effective variables well-known in the art.
Claim 20: Chong teaches the method of claim 19. Chong teaches wherein the fluid flow parameter is at least one of: (i) a flow rate of the fluid; (ii) a density of the fluid; (iii) a first fluid pressure at an inlet of the turbine; (iv) a second fluid pressure at an outlet of the turbine; (v) a first fluid temperature at the inlet; and (vi) a second fluid temperature at the outlet ([0029] pressure drop (thus inlet and outlet), temperature and flowrate, [0035] the unit 300 may be configured to control and keep track of flowrate into the unit 100, pressure, temperature and other factors that may have an impact on the viscosity analysis).
Conclusion
/JEAN F MORELLO/Examiner, Art Unit 2855 9/3/26
/KRISTINA M DEHERRERA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855