DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: “a first” in line 4 of each claim should read “the first”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In reference to claims 2-4 and 8, each claim recites “further comprising ball guides” in line 1 of each claim. It is unclear if these recitations are referring to the guides recited in line 12 of claims 1 and 7 or other additional guides. For purposes of examination the recitations will be interpreted as referring to the guides of claims 1 and 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0334957 A1 to Simmons et al. (Simmons).
In reference to claims 1 and 7, Simmons discloses a double diaphragm pump having an intake (136; Fig. 1) and an outlet (138) each in communication with first and second chambers (126, 128), and balls (162) located proximate to suction and delivery seats (160) of each of the first and second chambers, wherein said pump selectively and alternatingly directs fluid into one of a first and second chambers with first and second air diaphragms (120, 122; par. 0028) with the ball displaced from its suction seat and the other of the first and second chambers having the ball at its suction seat preventing flow into the other of the first and second chambers while filling the one of the first and second chambers with the first air diaphragm pulling a suction on the one of the first and second chambers, while the second air diaphragm expels fluid from the other of the first and second chambers with the ball displaced from its delivery seat, and the ball at the delivery seat of the one of the first and second chambers prevents flow into the one of first and second chamber (pars. 0038, 0045), the improvement comprising: ball guides (150) proximate to the suction seats and delivery seats, said ball guides limiting the movement of the balls on and off the suction seats to substantially linear travel on and off the suction seats and delivery seats (see Fig. 1).
In reference to claim 2, Simmons discloses the improvement of claim 1 further comprising ball guides having interior curved surfaces substantially corresponding to a diameter of the balls thereby limiting travel to substantially linearly on and off the suction seats (see Figs. 1 and 2).
In reference to claim 3, Simmons discloses the improvement of claim 2 further comprising ball guides proximate to the delivery seats, said ball guides limiting the movement of the balls on and off the delivery seats to substantially linear travel on and off the delivery seats (see Figs. 1 and 2).
In reference to claim 4, Simmons discloses the improvement of claim 3 further comprising ball guides having interior curved surfaces substantially corresponding to a diameter of the balls thereby limiting travel to substantially linearly on and off the delivery seats (see Figs. 1 and 2).
In reference to claim 8, Simmons discloses the improvement of claim 7 further comprising ball guides having interior curved surfaces substantially corresponding to a diameter of the balls thereby limiting travel to substantially linearly on and off the delivery seats (see Figs. 1 and 2).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2005/0249621 A1 to Bethel (Bethel).
In reference to claim 11, Bethel discloses a double diaphragm pump having an intake (48; Fig. 2) and an outlet (60) each in communication with first and second chambers, and balls located proximate to suction and delivery seats (66; Figs. 3-5) of each of the first and second chambers (20, 22; Fig. 1), wherein said pump selectively and alternatingly directs fluid into one of a first and second chambers with first and second air diaphragms (24, 26) with the ball displaced from its suction seat and the other of the first and second chambers having the ball at its suction seat preventing flow into the other of the first and second chambers while filling the one of the first and second chambers with the first air diaphragm pulling a suction on the one of the first and second chambers, while the second air diaphragm expels fluid from the other of the first and second chambers with the ball displaced from its delivery seat, and the ball at the delivery seat of the one of the first and second chambers prevents flow into the one of first and second chamber (see Fig. 1), the improvement comprising: a support (12) and an intake manifold (34, 42, 46, 52, 54), and wherein the intake is located in the intake manifold (see Fig. 2), said manifold having the suction seats with its respective ball alternatingly sealing thereon, and the support elevating the manifold to a position above a lower surface of the support permitting the removal of the manifold without requiring removal of the pump from its installed location (see Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simmons as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Bethel.
In reference to claims 5 and 9, Simmons discloses the improvement of claims 1 and 7, further comprising a manifold (see Fig. 1) but fails to explicitly disclose a support. However, Bethel discloses a similar pump with first and second chambers (see Fig. 1), further comprising a support (12) and an intake manifold (34, 42, 46, 52, 54; Fig. 2), and wherein the intake is located in the intake manifold, said manifold having the suction seats (60; Figs. 3-5) with its respective ball alternatingly sealing thereon, and the support elevating the manifold to a position above a lower surface of the support permitting the removal of the manifold without requiring removal of the pump from its installed location (see Fig. 1). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have simply substituted the known support and separable manifold disclosed by Bethel for the known manifold of Simmons. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it has been held that the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious (see MPEP 2141).
In reference to claims 6 and 10, the modified Simmons teaches the improvement of claims 5 and 9, wherein the support further comprises feet extending downwardly from the pump (see Bethel, Fig. 1).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2023/0265845 A1, 2021/0108630 A1, 2003/0024571 A1, 6,168,394 B1 and 6,142,749 A each appear to also anticipate at least claims 1 and 7 and may be relied upon in a subsequent Office action.
US 2024/0392770 A1 and 2022/0372969 A1 each appear to also anticipate at least claim 11 and may be relied upon in a subsequent Office action.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN R MATTHIAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
03 December 2025