DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7, 9-11, 35 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/8/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the pad and spring as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 37, 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McCauley (US 5,773,773).
1. McCauley discloses a controller comprising (Fig. 1):
a housing comprising a socket (i.e. ball is received in a cylindrical socket within a housing), (col. 2);
a thumbstick that is rotatably held within the socket of the housing (i.e. joystick connected by a stem to a ball is rotatably held within he socket of the housing), (Fig. 1), (col. 2), and that is configured to: pivot within the socket; and rotate within the socket around a pivoting central axis of the thumbstick (i.e. the ball can be pivoted/tilted away from the neutral position by rotating around central axis (the pivoting central/longitudinal axis of the joystick and ball) while the joystick and ball is tilted or pivoted from the neutral position), (Fig. 1, 3, 4), (Col. 2-3).
2. McCauley discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein the thumbstick comprises a ball positioned within the socket, wherein the ball is configured to permit the thumbstick to pivot within the socket and around a central point of the ball from a neutral position as discussed above (Fig. 1, 3, 4).
3. McCauley discloses the controller of claim 2, comprising a rotating mechanism that is configured to permit the ball to rotate around the central pivoting axis of the thumbstick when the ball is pivoted from the neutral position (i.e. O-ring 58: Fig. 1).
4. McCauley discloses the controller of claim 3, wherein the rotating mechanism comprises a pad mounted within the socket that is configured to engage with the ball when the ball is pivoted from the neutral position and to disengage from the ball when the ball is in the neutral position (i.e. O-ring 58: Fig. 1).
5. McCauley discloses the controller of claim 4, wherein the rotating mechanism further comprises a spring system configured to engage the pad with the ball and drive rotation of the ball around the pivoting central axis of the thumbstick (i.e. O-ring can act as a spring system).
6. McCauley discloses the controller of claim 5, wherein the spring system comprises a spring that is biased to (i) provide engaging pressure on the pad towards the ball and rotational pressure on the ball, and (ii) provide an incremental amount of rotational pressure on the ball each time the ball is pivoted away from the neutral position (“O-ring 58 is compressed by cap 50 due to the frustoconical surface 56 engaging the frustoconical surface 36 of the ball. The pressure of the O-ring 58 against the ball 18 thus seats the ball with the axis 20 of the joystick 12 extending perpendicular to O-ring 58. Accordingly, the joystick 12 is resiliently maintained in the center position of FIG. 1”), (col. 2).
8. McCauley discloses the controller of claim 3, comprising a locking mechanism that is configured to prevent the ball from rotating when the ball is in the neutral position (24, 25: Fig. 1, 3, 4).
37. McCauley discloses a system comprising: one or more processors, and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media that store instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: pivoting a thumbstick within a socket of a housing of a controller, the thumbstick being rotatably held within the socket of the housing, and rotating the thumbstick within the socket around a pivoting central axis of the thumbstick as similarly discussed above (i.e. the joystick is implemented in a system with components to register electrical contacts to control electronics which inherently comprises processers and non-transitory computer-readable media).
38. McCauley discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media that store instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: pivoting a thumbstick within a socket of a housing of a controller, the thumbstick being rotatably held within the socket of the housing, and rotating the thumbstick within the socket around a pivoting central axis of the thumbstick as similarly discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26-34, 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCauley (US 5,773,773) in view of Olsson (US 2010/0265176 A1).
26-34, 36. McCauley discloses system comprising: a controller comprising: a housing comprising a socket; a thumbstick that is rotatably held within the socket of the housing and that; is configured to: pivot within the socket; and rotate within the socket around a pivoting central axis of the thumbstick as similarly discussed above. McCauley does not expressly disclose the system comprising a gaming system; however, it is notoriously well known that such joystick system can be implemented in a gaming system as evidenced by Olsson. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the application was filed to modify McCauley with Olsson and would have been motivated to do so to implement it in a gaming environment.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached USPTO form PTO-892.
Filing of New or Amended Claims
The examiner has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasoning to explain why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the original disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims. See Wertheim, 541 F.2d at 263, 191 USPQ at 97 (“[T]he PTO has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasons why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims.”). However, when filing an amendment an applicant should show support in the original disclosure for new or amended claims. See MPEP § 714.02 and § 2163.06 (“Applicant should specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure.”). Please see MPEP 2163 (II) 3. (b)
Correspondence
/Seng H Lim/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715