DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and an injectable material in the reply filed on 07/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Accordingly, claims 51-53 and 60-65 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 50 be found allowable, claim 54 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 41 and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 41, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 58 recites wherein the scaffold material is composed of a single particle having a single pore. The claim is indefinite since it contradicts with claim 35. claim 35 requires the scaffold material to consist essentially of a plurality of particles and claim 35 requires the particles to have a plurality of interconnected pores.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 35-50 and 54-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffin et al. (WO 2016/011387 A1, Jan. 21, 2016) (IDS refence) (hereinafter Griffin) in view of Bellas et al. (US 2014/0308362, Oct. 16, 2014) (IDS reference) (hereinafter Bellas) and Kaully et al. (US 2011/0293722, Dec. 1, 2011) (IDS reference) (hereinafter Kaully).
Griffin discloses a microporous gel system comprising an aqueous solution (i.e., claimed liquid containing material) containing a plurality of microgel particles (i.e., claimed scaffold material). The microgel particles act as gel building blocks that anneal to one another to form a covalently-stabilized scaffold of microgel particles having interstitial spaces therein. Annealing of the microgel particles occurs after exposure to an annealing agent that is endogenously present or exogenously added (abstract). The scaffold is a hydrogel (¶ [0010]). The microgel particles may be made from any synthetic or natural polymer capable of forming a hydrogel. Suitable polymers include hyaluronic acid (i.e., glycosaminoglycan) and gelatin (¶ [0090]). The microgel particles can be injected and molded into any desired shape (¶ [0088]). The precursor materials prior to final annealing are flowable and can be delivered as paste, slurry, or even injected to the delivery site of interest (¶ [0085]). The precursor materials can be applied using a syringe device into a treatment site where the microgel conforms to the shape of the injection site (¶ [0126], Fig. 6B). Cells can be introduced into the aqueous solution (i.e., liquid containing material is a cell suspension) to enable encapsulation of these cells within the microgel particles such that encapsulated cells can produce factors to enhance wound healing or cell ingrowth (¶ [00108]). Cells may also be initially adhered to microgel particles (¶ [0083]). In one or more embodiments, the microgel particles comprise cell adhesive peptides exposed on a surface thereof (¶ [0013]). The microgel particles are purified (¶ [00124]). The microgel particles are biodegradable (claim 22). The scaffold may be present in tissues 21 days after injection (¶ [00127]). The microgel particles are 30 to 150 µm in diameter (¶ [00133]).
Griffin differs from the instant claims insofar as not disclosing wherein the microgel particles have a plurality of interconnected pores in their core and on their surfaces that are connected to an environment external to said particles.
However, Bellas discloses silk fibroin particles having porous structures, to mimic the structural morphology of a native tissue, to modulate the degradation rate/volume retention rate of the silk fibroin particles, and/or to modulate release profile of an active agent embedded therein, if any. The term “porous” is generally used to describe a structure having a connected network of pores or void spaces (which can, for example, be openings, interstitial spaces or other channels) throughout its volume (¶ [0050]).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to have formulated the microgel particles of Griffin to have interconnected pores motivated by the desire to mimic the structural morphology of a native tissue, to modulate the degradation rate/volume retention rate of the particles, and/or to modulate release profile of the cells embedded therein as taught by Bellas.
The combined teachings of Griffin and Bellas do not teach wherein the pores have a mean pore diameter between 1 µm and 2 mm and wherein the particles have a ratio of mean pore diameter to wall thickness of at least 3.
However, Kaully discloses a macroporous hydrogel sponge having a pore diameter of 50-1000 µm (abstract). The hydrogel sponge may be in dry form suitable for injection after wetting (¶ [0020]). Most of the pores in coarse grain sponges were ~400-600 µm, while the ones of finer pore sponges were ~100-400 µm. The wall thickness of the coarse pores is ~50 µm and the one of the fine pores is ~ 20 µm (¶ [0142]).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the microgel particles to have a pore size of 50-1000 µm since this is a known and effective pore size for porous hydrogel materials that are injected into the body as taught by Kaully.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the microgel particles to have a ratio of mean pore diameter to wall thickness of 5 since an effective pore size for porous hydrogel materials that are injected into the body may be 100 µm and an effective wall thickness for porous hydrogel materials with a pore size of 100 µm may be 20 µm as taught by Kaully, thus a ratio between pore diameter and pore wall thickness of 5 would have been obvious.
In regards to instant claim 35 reciting elastically compressible particles, the instant specification discloses on page 14, lines 4-11 wherein hydrogels have elastic mechanical properties. The instant specification further discloses on page 14, lines 23-24 wherein examples of hydrogels include natural polymers. Griffin discloses microgel particles formed from natural polymers capable of forming hydrogels. Therefore, since Griffin disclose substantially the same particles as the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the microgel particles of Griffin are elastically compressible like the claimed invention.
In regards to instant claim 36 reciting wherein the particles are hydrated to a w/w ratio between the liquid and the particles of between 1000 and 1, Griffin discloses wherein the precursor material prior to final annealing is flowable and can be delivered as paste or slurry. Therefore, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art to have arrived at the claimed ratio depending on the form of the precursor material desired.
In regards to instant claim 41 reciting wherein the scaffold material is coated on the bioactive molecule, Griffin discloses wherein cells may be initially adhered to microgel particles. Thus, the cells (i.e., bioactive molecule) have microgel particles (i.e., scaffold material) on its surface (i.e., coated).
In regards to instant claims 48 and 55, Griffin discloses substantially the same particles as the claimed invention (i.e. particles formed form substantially the same hydrogel forming material as the claimed invention). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the microgel particles of Griffin to have substantially the same properties as the claimed invention.
In regards to instant claim 58, by Griffin disclosing a plurality of particles, a single particle is also taught. It would also have been obvious to have a single pore since pores can modulate release profile of an active agent embedded therein as taught by Bellas and a single pore can modulate release profile of an active agent embedded therein.
In regards to instant claim 59 reciting between 0.1% and 10% dry material content, since the microgel particles (i.e., dry material) are used to form a scaffold, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art to have arrived at the claimed amount depending on size of the scaffold desired.
Double Patenting
Claims 35-50 and 54-59 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent Nos. 11,219,703 and 12,109,330. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims recite a more specific version of the instant claims (i.e., the conflicting claims recite additional functional limitations) and thus read on the instant claims.
Conclusion
Claims 35-50 and 54-59 are rejected.
Claims 51-53 and 60-65 are withdrawn.
No claims are allowed. (IDS
/TRACY LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614