DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The applicants filed new claim 13.
The claim is indefinite because it is not clear whether or not the recited “vehicle” is a part of the claimed system.
The claim is also indefinite because it fails to define structural relationships between the vehicle and the other parts of the system.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The applicants amended the claim.
The amended claim recites: “The system of claim 1, further comprising a segment disposed within the cavity and at least partially occluding the cavity opening, the segment defining a lens opening and a lens cover supported by the housing.
Thus, the amended claim recites that the segment defines the lens opening and the lens cover.
Such is not supported by the original disclosure.
The original disclosure clearly recites the segment 56, which defines the lens opening, and a lens cover 68, as separate parts. See at least Figure 4.
While the segment 56 is disclosed as supporting the lens cover 68, the subject matter of the amended claim is not supported by the original disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weindorf et al (US 2019/0310470) in view of any one of Kim et al (US 2015/0307065), CN 207345672 and DE 102011011412.
Weindorf et al teach a system.
The system comprises:
A housing 12;
An imager with a lens (camera) 18;
A baffle (readable at least on the walls of the part 14;
An inlet opening (readable at least on openings 34A, 34B);
A channel (readable at least on channels 22, 24);
A moveable vent cover movable between open and closed position (readable at least on shutter 44C);
See entire document, especially Figures 1-4 and the related description and the description at [0003-22], [0028-48].
Thus, Weindorf et al teach a system as claimed except for the specific recitation that the moveable vent cover configured to move between an open position, wherein the moveable vent cover extends away from the housing on the exterior thereof, and a closed position, wherein the moveable vent cover is generally flush with an adjacent portion of the housing.
However, the movable vent covers as claimed were known in the art as evidenced by Kim et al (at least Figures 6-7 and the related description), CN 207345672 (at least Figures 1-4 and the related description) and DE 102011011412 (at least Figures 2 and 3 and the related description).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to utilize the vent covers as proposed by Kim et al, CN 207345672 or DE 102011011412 in the system of Weindorf et al in order to use a known device for its known purpose.
As to claim 2:
Weindorf et al teach:
The claimed lens cover, which is readable at least on part 26.
The claimed segment, which is readable at least on part 14.
As to claim 3:
Weindorf et al teach:
The diverter, which is readable at least on an upper part of the housing extending from a horizontal upper wall of the housing.
As to claim 4 and 8:
Weindorf et al teach:
The actuator for moving vent covers, which is readable at least on part 42.
Further, Kim et al and CN 207345672 teach the covers moved by actuators.
As to claims 5-7:
Weindorf et al teach a controller 20 that controls functioning of the system and configured to control actuator 42 to move vent covers 44 upon receiving an input from vehicle systems such as temperature and moisture sensors, an advanced driver assistance system, etc.
As to claim 9:
Weindorf et al teaches:
The filter, which is readable at least on filters 38, 36.
As to claims 10-11:
Since Weindorf et al teach the housing as connected or integrated into the part of the vehicle, such as mirrors, spoilers, roof racks, side steps, etc., the presence of a mounting plate (readable on parts of the referenced mirrors, spoilers, roof racks, side steps, etc.) is obviously present in the Weindorf et al.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,139,107. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims of the patent is inside of the scope of the instant claims and because the claims of the patent recite all the limitations of the instant claims. Please, note that the instant claims were not the subject of the restriction requirements applied during prosecution of the patent application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicants allege that the shutters in Weindorf et al are internal.
This is not persuasive because at least the shatter 44C is disclosed to cover external air intake 34B.
Further, the rejection is made over the combination of the references.
The applicants attack the applied documents individually.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
With respect to the double patenting rejection:
The applicants admitted that the pending claims do not correspond to the claims that were restricted in the parent application, but argue that the subject matter of the referenced claims is the same as the subject matter of the claims restricted in the parent application.
This is not persuasive because the instant claims were not the subject of the restriction requirements applied during prosecution of the patent.
The instant claims and the claims that were the subject of the restriction requirements applied during prosecution of the patent application have different scope.
Further, although 1-13 and claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,139,107 are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims of the patent is inside of the scope of the instant claims and because the claims of the patent recite all the limitations of the instant claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER MARKOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711