DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 is indefinite since it appears that some text is missing between “supporting” and “and”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weindorf et al (US 2019/0310470) in view of any one of Kim et al (US 2015/0307065), CN 207345672 and DE 102011011412.
Weindorf et al teach a system.
The system comprises:
A housing 12;
An imager with a lens (camera) 18;
A baffle (readable at least on the walls of the part 14;
An inlet opening (readable at least on openings 34A, 34B);
A channel (readable at least on channels 22, 24);
A moveable vent cover movable between (readable at least on shutters 44A, C);
See entire document, especially Figures 1-4 and the related description and the description at [0003-22], [0028-48].
Thus, Weindorf et al teach a system as claimed except for the specific recitation that the moveable vent cover configured to move between an open position, wherein the moveable vent cover extends away from the housing on the exterior thereof, and a closed position, wherein the moveable vent cover is generally flush with an adjacent portion of the housing.
However, the movable vent covers as claimed were known in the art as evidenced by Kim et al (at least Figures 6-7 and the related description), CN 207345672 (at least Figures 1-4 and the related description) and DE 102011011412 (at least Figures 2 and 3 and the related description).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to utilize the vent covers as proposed by Kim et al, CN 207345672 or DE 102011011412 in the system of Weindorf et al in order to use a known device for its known purpose.
As to claim 2:
Weindorf et al teach:
The claimed lens cover, which is readable at least on part 26.
The claimed segment, which is readable at least on part 14.
As to claim 3:
Weindorf et al teach:
The diverter, which is readable at least on an upper part of the housing extending from a horizontal upper wall of the housing.
As to claim 4 and 8:
Weindorf et al teach:
The actuator for moving vent covers, which is readable at least on part 42.
Further, Kim et al and CN 207345672 teach the covers moved by actuators.
As to claims 5-7:
Weindorf et al teach a controller 20 that controls functioning of the system and configured to control actuator 42 to move vent covers 44 upon receiving an input from vehicle systems such as temperature and moisture sensors, an advanced driver assistance system, etc.
As to claim 9:
Weindorf et al teaches:
The filter, which is readable at least on filters 38, 36.
As to claims 10-11:
Since Weindorf et al teach the housing as connected or integrated into the part of the vehicle, such as mirrors, spoilers, roof racks, side steps, etc., the presence of a mounting plate (readable on parts of the referenced mirrors, spoilers, roof racks, side steps, etc.) is obviously present in the Weindorf et al.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,139,107. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims of the patent is inside of the scope of the instant claims and because the claims of the patent recite all the limitations of the instant claims. Please, note that the instant claims were not the subject of the restriction requirements applied during prosecution of the patent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The documents listed on the attached PTO 892 are cited to show the state of the art with respect to systems for cleaning lens and other devices.
/ALEXANDER MARKOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711