DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Double Patenting
2. Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over combined claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No: 11,429,323.
Instant Application
7. An information processing apparatus capable of communicating with a server system having a cloud print service, the information processing apparatus comprising:
a receiving unit configured to receive identification information of an image forming apparatus registered in the cloud print service;
a generating unit configured to generate a print queue of the image forming apparatus corresponding to the received identification information;
and an acquiring unit configured to acquire a print setting application that is identified based on the received identification information of the image forming apparatus
and provides a print setting screen for setting a print setting transmitted to the server system, wherein upon receiving an instruction for opening the print setting screen with the generated print queue selected, the print setting screen is provided by the print setting application.
Referenced Patent: 11,429,323
1. An information processing apparatus, connectable to a server system including a first print queue for managing a print job to be transmitted to an image forming apparatus, the information processing apparatus comprising:
an obtaining unit configured to obtain information identifying one or more available print queues, including the first print queue, in the server system;
a generation unit configured to generate, in the information processing apparatus, a second print queue for managing a print job to be transmitted to the first print queue, based on a user selection of the first print queue from among the one or more available print queues identified based on the obtained information;
and a download unit configured to download a print setting application for setting print setting values to be included in the print job, based on information related to the first print queue
4. The information processing apparats according to claim 1, further comprising: an installation unit configured to install the downloaded print setting application; an activation unit configured to activate the installed print setting application in response to a user selecting an object for performing detailed print setting while the generated second print queue is selected; and a second generation unit configured to generate the print job to be transmitted to the first print queue, wherein the print job includes the print setting values set by the activated print setting application.
Claim 7 was rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of US Patent NO. 11,429,323. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are claiming similar subject matter as example indicated in the table above.
3. Claims 1, 7, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6, 1, 12 of U.S. Patent No: 12,131,081 respectively.
Instant Application
7. An information processing apparatus capable of communicating with a server system having a cloud print service, the information processing apparatus comprising:
a receiving unit configured to receive identification information of an image forming apparatus registered in the cloud print service;
a generating unit configured to generate a print queue of the image forming apparatus corresponding to the received identification information;
and an acquiring unit configured to acquire a print setting application that is identified based on the received identification information of the image forming apparatus
and provides a print setting screen for setting a print setting transmitted to the server system, wherein upon receiving an instruction for opening the print setting screen with the generated print queue selected, the print setting screen is provided by the print setting application.
Referenced Patent: 12,131,081
1. An information processing apparatus, connectable to a first server system storing information of a plurality of printers, the information processing apparatus comprising: a controller configured to:
receive the information of the plurality of printers from the first server system;
generate a print queue corresponding to a printer selected by a user from a plurality of printers displayed based on the information of the plurality of printers received from the first server system, wherein the print queue of the printer selected by the user is generated after the user selects the printer selected by the user;
download a print setting application specified based on information of the print setting application from a second server system that distributes one or more applications without receiving a user instruction for downloading the print setting application, wherein the information of the print setting application corresponds to the printer selected by the user, wherein the second server system is different from the first server system;
cause a display to display a print setting screen provided by the print setting application based on a predetermined user instruction received via another print setting screen provided by the operating system in a situation where the generated print queue is selected via said another print setting screen and the print setting application is stored in the information processing apparatus; and transmit print setting values set via the print setting screen to the first server system.
Claims 1, 7, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6, 1, and 12 of US Patent NO. 12,131,081 respectively. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are claiming similar subject matter as example indicated in the table above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minagawa (US Pub: 2015/0124282) and in further view of Barnard et al (US Patent: 2003/0005097), JP548’ (JP Pub: 2017097548) and JP690’ (JP Pub: 2017111690).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Minagawa teaches: A control method for controlling an information processing apparatus capable of communicating with a server system having a cloud print service [p0002], the control method comprising: receiving identification information of an image forming apparatus registered in the cloud print service [p0107].
Minagawa does not specified generated queue corresponding to printer ID. In the same field of endeavor, Barnard et al teaches: generating a print queue of the image forming apparatus corresponding to the received identification information [p0051]. Therefore, generating a print queue corresponding to a printer would have been well practiced in the art for compatibility.
Minagawa in view of Barnard et al does not specify print setting application based on printer ID. In the same field of endeavor, JP548’ teaches: and acquiring a print setting application that is identified based on the received identification information of the image forming apparatus [page 11: p03-p05]; and provides a print setting screen for setting a print setting to be transmitted to the server system [page 11: p06]. And JP690’ teaches: wherein upon receiving an instruction for opening the print setting screen with the generated print queue selected, the print setting screen is provided by the print setting application [page 4: p04; page 5: p01, p06]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to acquire and display print setting associated with print queue based on printer/driver identification for consistency.
Regarding claim 2 (Original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. JP548’ further teaches: The control method according to claim 1, wherein the identification information of the image forming apparatus is model information of the image forming apparatus [page 11: p03-p05].
Regarding claim 3 (Original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Minagawa further teaches: The control method according to claim 1, further comprising: transmitting the print setting set by means of the print setting screen to the server system via the Internet [p0112].
Regarding claim 4 (Original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. JP548’ and JP690’ further teach: The control method according to claim 1, wherein the print setting application is installed into the information processing apparatus after being acquired by the information processing apparatus, and, upon receiving the instruction for opening the print setting screen with the print queue selected on the information processing apparatus in which the print setting application is installed, the print setting application causes the information processing apparatus to display the print setting screen [JP548’: page 17: p02; page 11: p06; JP690’: page 5: p06].
Regarding claim 5 (Original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. JP548’ and JP690’ further teach: The control method according to claim 1, wherein the print setting application is installed into the information processing apparatus after being acquired by the information processing apparatus, and, upon receiving the instruction for opening the print setting screen with the print queue selected on the information processing apparatus in which the print setting application is installed, the print setting application is activated by the information processing apparatus and causes the information processing apparatus to display the print setting screen [JP548’: page 17: p02; page 11: p06; JP690’: page 4: p04; page 5: p01, p06].
Regarding claim 6 (Original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Minagawa further teaches: The control method according to claim 1, wherein the cloud print service stores a print job including the print setting into a print queue of a registered printing apparatus and transmits the stored print job to the printing apparatus via the Internet [p0118, p0121, p0125, p0126].
Claims 7-12 have been analyzed and rejected with regard to claims 1-6 respectively.
Claims 13-17 have been analyzed and rejected with regard to claims 1, 2, and 4-6 respectively and in accordance with JP548‘s further teaching on an application to be run on an information processing apparatus [page 11: p06].
Claims 18-22 have been analyzed and rejected with regard to claims 13-17 respectively and in accordance with further teaching on: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing an application to be run on an information processing apparatus [claim 14].
Contact
/Fan Zhang/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2682