DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Fig. 3 shows the first deflector (215-b), the second deflector (275), the fourth deflector (215-a); fig. 5 shows the third deflector (515). Therefore, the fifth deflector positioned above the third deflector, as required by claim 5, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites a fifth deflector positioned above the third deflector. Fig. 3 shows the first deflector (215-b), the second deflector (275), the fourth deflector (215-a); fig. 5 shows the third deflector (515). However, none of the figures appear to show a fifth deflector positioned above the third deflector 515. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8-16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill (US 20190327896 A1) in view of Cote (US 5191758 A) and Segura (WO 2004068933 A1).
Regarding claim 1, 13, and 16, Hill discloses a system, comprising:
a shaker, comprising:
a shaker head (220) configured to engage a trunk of a tree to shake the tree;
a first deflector (215) configured to direct fruits or nuts falling from the tree in response to a shaking of the tree, the first deflector being slanted with respect to ground, and the first deflector having a notch (240) to receive the tree; and
a receiver, comprising:
a hopper (605); and
a conveyor (520) configured to receive the fruits or nuts directed from the first deflector and the second deflector and deposit the fruits or nuts into the hopper, wherein the hopper is at an end of the conveyor, wherein the hopper is configured to deposit the fruits or nuts on the ground.
Hill does not disclose a second deflector within the notch and at least partially covering the shaker head, the second deflector approximately parallel to the ground.
In the same field of endeavor, Cote discloses deflectors (113, 114, 115) surrounding a tree trunk, above a shaker head, to ensure no harvested nuts drop out of the foldable collection canopy (col. 5 lines 8-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided Hill with a second deflector within the notch and above the shaker head, as disclosed by Cote, to ensure no harvested crop reaches the shaker head and all harvested crop is deposited from the deflectors and onto the conveyor belt as intended.
Hill does not disclose a blower configured to blow air to direct the fruits or nuts falling from the tree off of the second deflector in response to the shaking of the tree, wherein the blower is configured to blow air toward the conveyor.
In the same field of endeavor, Segura discloses a blower (see air streams 28, fig. 35-36, 38) configured to blow fruit that has fallen from a tree (1) off of a deflector (5) toward a conveyor (13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided Hill with a blower, as disclosed by Segura, to ensure all fruit collected on the deflectors is transferred to the conveyor.
Regarding claim 3, the resultant combination discloses the system of claim 1,
The combination does not disclose wherein the hopper is configured to: control a rate of deposition of the fruits or nuts on the ground.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the resultant combination with an adjustable conveyance rate, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Regarding claim 8 and 14, the resultant combination discloses the system of claim 1.
The combination does not disclose wherein a top of the shaker head is less than or equal to 25 inches from the ground when coupled with the tree.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the height of the top of the shaker head, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Further, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 9, 15, and 20, Hill, of the resultant combination, discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the receiver comprises a third deflector (515) configured to direct the fruits or nuts falling from the tree in response to the shaking of the tree, the third deflector being slanted with respect to the ground, wherein the conveyor is further configured to receive the fruits or nuts directed from the third deflector (see fig. 8).
Regarding claim 10, Hill, of the resultant combination, discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the shaker comprises a fourth deflector (215, see fig.3, 7a-b) positioned above the first deflector and configured to direct the fruits or nuts falling from the tree onto the first deflector in response to the shaking of the tree, and wherein the receiver comprises a fifth deflector (fig. 8) positioned above the third deflector and configured to direct the fruits or nuts falling from the tree onto the third deflector in response to the shaking of the tree.
Regarding claim 11, Hill, of the resultant combination, discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the shaker comprises a first plurality of wheels (225) and is configured to travel in a first direction and in a second direction opposite the first direction, and wherein the receiver comprises a second plurality of wheels (530) and is configured to travel in the first direction and in the second direction opposite the first direction independently of the shaker (paragraphs 0043-44).
Regarding claim 12, Hill, of the resultant combination, discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the shaker (220) and the receiver (520) are configured to collect the fruits or nuts that fall from the tree shaken by the shaker.
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill (US 20190327896 A1) in view of Cote (US 5191758 A) and Segura (WO 2004068933 A1), and further in view of Gohl (US 20200352210 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the resultant combination discloses the system of claim 1.
The combination does not disclose a second blower configured to blow air to remove debris from the fruits or nuts during deposition of the fruits or nuts from the conveyor into the hopper.
In the same field of endeavor, Gohl discloses a blower (255) configured to blow air to remove debris from fruits or nuts during deposition of the fruits or nuts from a conveyor into a hopper (paragraph 0081).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the resultant combination with a second blower, as disclosed by Gohl, to remove unwanted leaves from the harvested crop.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 3477215 A discloses deflectors disposed above a shaker head.
/MADELINE I RUNCO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3671