DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the Restriction Requirements in the reply filed on 3/27/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Office has a burden of establishing by evidence that the invention are independent or distinct and there would be an undue burden. This is not found persuasive because:
1. Group I claims 1-14 recite a network node and a method performed by the first network node (i.e. a PCF – see claim 2) comprising retrieving from an analytics network entity an energy estimate report, determining PCC rules based on the received report and transmitting the determined PCC rule to a second network node in response to receiving a request for PCC rules which includes indication that optimization of policies for energy consumption is request. Whereas Group II claims 15-20 recites a method performed by a wireless transmit-receive unit (WTRU) for managing energy consumption in the WTRU. The steps performed by the WTRU involves requesting energy-optimized network session; receiving rules: network responds with specific traffic steering rules; initial data transfer: transmits UL data using energy-aware steering; estimating energy consumption: calculates its own energy efficiency; reporting data: sends consumption estimate to the network; receiving DL data: the network provides energy estimates for incoming traffic; updating mode: modifies its steering mode based on all estimates; data transferring: sends UL data using update rules. The inventions are distinct because each method is performed by a different network entity and each method claims a subject matter that is not overlap in scope with the other method as can be seen in the listed Table.
Claims 1-14 a method implemented by a policy control function (PCF) and a device (PCF) that performs the method
Claims 15-20 a method implemented by a wireless transmit-receive unit WTRU
A method implemented by a first network node, comprising
A method, implemented by a wireless transmit-receive unit (WTRU) in a network, the method comprising
receiving, from a second network node, a first request for policy and charging control (PCC) rules, the first request comprising an indication that a policy association is for a multi-access packet data unit (MA PDU) session and that optimization of policies for energy consumption is requested;
transmitting, to the network, a multi-access packet data unit (MA PDU) session establishment request comprising an indication that user plane (UP) energy optimization is preferred for the requested MA PDU session
transmitting, to a third network node, a second request to obtain energy related information for the MA PDU session
receiving, from the network, a response to the MA PDU session establishment request comprising configuration information comprising quality of service (QoS) rules and access traffic steering, switching and splitting (ATSSS) rules comprising a selected energy aware steering mode to be used by the WTRU and related parameters
receiving, from the third network node, an energy estimate report;
receiving uplink (UL) data from an application hosted on the WTRU;
determining PCC rules based on the energy estimate report
transmitting, to the network, the received UL data using an energy aware traffic steering mode of the ATSSS rules
transmitting the determined PCC rules to the second network node.
performing energy efficiency and/or average energy consumption estimations according to received configuration information and transmitting the energy consumption estimations to the network
receiving, from the network, energy related estimations for downlink (DL) traffic to the WTRU;
updating the energy aware traffic steering mode according to the performed energy efficiency and/or average energy consumption estimations and the received energy related estimations.
Group I requires a search for
PCF/SMF/NWDAF policy analytics for session management
QoS-aware access selection.
Group II requires a search involves
5G/6G ATSSS and MA PDU session control
Energy-efficient traffic steering and load balancing
QoS-aware access selection
3GPP/non-3GPP dual access mobility and path management
Uplink/downlink measurement assistance and steering updates.
It is a burden because the search requires different field of search, different search queries and different classification classes/subclasses symbols.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/3/2024 and 2/24/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talebi Fard et al. (US 2025/0212023), hereinafter Talebi Fard in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0357082), hereinafter Kim.
As for claim 1, Talebi Fard teaches a method implemented by a first network node, comprising:
receiving, from a second network node, a first request for policy and charging control (PCC) rules (paragraph [0218] describes a PFC (i.e. first network node) receives a request to update policy from an SMF (i.e. second network node). The request is based on meeting a condition as determined by the policy control request trigger (PCRT) which defines the conditions when the SMF may interact again with PCF after a PDU session establishment, see Table for Policy Control Request Trigger that lists “Enforced PCC rule request”); the first request comprising an indication that optimization of policies for energy consumption is requested (paragraph [0218] and the Table list requests related to policies for energy consumption);
transmitting, to a third network node, a second request to obtain an energy related information for the MA PDU session (Fig. 16; paragraphs [0215]-[0216] describe the PCF sends a subscription request message to a network entity (e.g. EENF, EMF, and the like). The subscription request message comprises conditions for reporting an event to the PCF. The event comprises the event that corresponds to energy consumption related events, the energy consumption is associated with the PDU session of an EU (see paragraph [0266] regarding an MA PDU session));
receiving, from the third network node, an energy estimate report (Fig. 16 and paragraph [0215] illustrates/describes the PCF receives a notify message related to energy saving state change, from the EENF, EMF, NWFAF);
determining PCC rules based on the energy estimate report (Fig. 16 illustrates the PCF determines to update policy information based on the energy saving event); and
transmitting the determined PCC rules to the second network node (Fig. 16 and paragraph [0217] illustrates/describes the PCF sends a message comprises information about modification to QoS, policy for energy saving state change, to the SMF).
Talebi Fard fails to teach
a first request comprising an indication that a policy association is for a multi-access packet data unit (MA PDU).
Kim discloses
a first request comprising an indication that a policy association is for a multi-access packet data unit (MA PDU) (paragraph [0018] describes a method of establishing a multi-access PDU session for an ATSSS function).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Kim for requesting a change in ATSSS in a MA PDU session. The teachings of Kim, when implemented in the Talebi Fard system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to . One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kim in the Talebi Fard system in order to update and propagate changing in ATSSS rules across multiple access networks.
As for claim 2, the combined system of Talebi Fard and Kim teaches wherein the first network node is a policy control function (Talebi Fard: paragraph [0218] describes the PCF receives a request to update policy), the second network node is any one of a session management function or an application function (Talebi Fard: paragraph [0218] describes the request is provided by the SMF), and the third network node is a network data analytics function (Talebi Fard: Fig. 16 and paragraph [0215] illustrates/describes the PCF receives a notify message related to energy saving state change, from the EENF, EMF, NWFAF).
As for claim 3, the combined system of Talebi Fard and Kim teaches receiving desired quality of service (QoS) parameters for one or more flows of the MA PDU session (Talebi Fard: paragraphs [0215]-[0216] describe the PCF receives a notification in response to sending a subscription request message related to a QoS flow of an UE, a QoS flow of the PDU session; Kim: paragraph [0018] describes a multi-access PDU session).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Kim for requesting a change in ATSSS in a MA PDU session. The teachings of Kim, when implemented in the Talebi Fard system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to . One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kim in the Talebi Fard system in order to update and propagate changing in ATSSS rules across multiple access networks.
As for claim 4, the combined system of Talebi Fard and Kim teaches wherein the second request comprises at least one of:
a data network name and slice selection assistance information that are associated with the MA PDU session (Talebi Fard: paragraph [0215] describes the subscription message comprises Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI); Kim: paragraph [0018] describes a multi-access PDU session); and
one or more desired quality of service parameters for one or more flows of the MA PDU session (Talebi Fard: paragraph [0216] describes the event corresponds to an energy saving status change such as a change in managed object instance (MOI) attribute (value) of a NE of a NF; Kim: paragraph [0018] describes a multi-access PDU session).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Kim for requesting a change in ATSSS in a MA PDU session. The teachings of Kim, when implemented in the Talebi Fard system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to . One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kim in the Talebi Fard system in order to update and propagate changing in ATSSS rules across multiple access networks.
As for claim 5, the combined system of Talebi Fard and Kim teaches wherein the energy estimate report comprises energy estimate information for at least a 3GPP access and a non-3GPP access of the MA PDU session (Talebi Fard: paragraph [0082] describes an UE accesses a data network (DN) using a 3GPP and a non-3GPP; paragraphs [0245] [0249], [0260] and [0266] describe monitoring key parameter is used to indicate usage monitoring on an PDU session level, in the case of an MA PDU Session, the monitoring key parameter is used to indicate using monitoring on a PDU Session level, NF level, S-NSSAI level, slice instance level, QoS flow level for the 3GPP and the Non-3GPP access; paragraph [0277] describes the PCF receives a notification from an analytics function. The notification is received in response to sending a subscription request message to the analytics function. The subscription request message comprises an event that corresponds to energy consumption related events such as energy consumption exceeding a threshold. The event is associated with a NF, or NE of the 3GPP network; Kim: paragraph [0018] describes a multi access PDU session).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Kim for requesting a change in ATSSS in a MA PDU session. The teachings of Kim, when implemented in the Talebi Fard system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to . One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kim in the Talebi Fard system in order to update and propagate changing in ATSSS rules across multiple access networks.
As for claim 6, the combined system of Talebi Fard and Kim teaches wherein the energy estimate report indicates at least one of:
an estimated energy consumption for at least one of the at least a 3GPP access and a non-3GPP access, relative to a target data rate;
an estimated energy consumption for at least one of the at least a 3GPP access and a non-3GPP access, relative to a target quality of service metric value (Talebi Fard: paragraph [0082] describes an UE accesses a data network (DN) using a 3GPP and a non-3GPP; paragraph [0215] and Table describes the energy consumption is associated with the UE, the PDU session of the UE, a QoS flow of the UE, a QoS flow of the PDU session; paragraph [0266] describes monitoring key parameter is used to indicate usage monitoring on an PDU Session level, NF level S-NSSAI level, slice instance level, QoS flow level or, in the case of an MA PDU Session, to indicate usage monitoring on PDU Session level, NF level, S-NSSAI level, slice instance level, QoS flow level for the 3GPP access and/or the non-3GPP access); and
an estimated energy consumption for at least one of the at least a 3GPP access and a non-3GPP access, relative to a target quality of experience metric value.
As for claim 7, the combined system of Talebi Fard and Kim teaches wherein the transmitted PCC rules comprise an indication that an energy aware steering mode is to be enabled for the MA PDU session (Kim: paragraphs [0047]-[0051] describe in the state in which the MA PDU session is established, the UE triggers and requests a change of the ATSSS rule for a specific packet filter set to the core network. After an AMF receives a request indicating an ATSSS rule needs to be changed from a UE. The AMF transmits a message to the SMF which in turn performs a session management policy modification with the PCF. The PCF evaluates the ATSSS preference requested by the UE based on a session management policy and performs the change of the ATSSS rule. The PCF informs the SMF of the changed ATSSS rule; paragraph [0042] describes the PCF transmits policy and charging control rules (PCCs) required for the SMF to map into ATSSS rules to the SMF).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Kim for requesting a change in ATSSS in a MA PDU session. The teachings of Kim, when implemented in the Talebi Fard system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to . One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kim in the Talebi Fard system in order to update and propagate changing in ATSSS rules across multiple access networks.
As for claim 8, Talebi Fard teaches a first network node (paragraph [0054] describes a PCF), comprising at least one processor configured to (paragraph [0178] describes processors):
receive, from a second network node, a first request for policy and charging control (PCC) rules (paragraph [0218] describes a PFC (i.e. first network node) receives a request to update policy from an SMF (i.e. second network node). The request is based on meeting a condition as determined by the policy control request trigger (PCRT) which defines the conditions when the SMF may interact again with PCF after a PDU session establishment); the first request comprising an indication that optimization of policies for energy consumption is requested. See also Table 1 that lists an “Enforced PCC rule request” as a trigger); the first request comprising an indication that optimization of policies for energy consumption is requested (paragraph [0218] and Table 1 list all request’s content related to policies for energy consumption);
transmit, to a third network node, a second request to obtain an energy related information for the MA PDU session (Fig. 16; paragraphs [0215]-[0216] describe the PCF sends a subscription request message to a network entity (e.g. EENF, EMF, and the like). The subscription request message comprises conditions for reporting an event to the PCF. The event comprises the event that corresponds to energy consumption related events, the energy consumption is associated with the PDU session of an EU (see paragraph [0266] regarding an MA PDU session));
receive, from the third network node, an energy estimate report (Fig. 16 and paragraph [0215] illustrates/describes the PCF receives a notify message related to energy saving state change, from the EENF, EMF, NWFAF);
determine PCC rules based on the energy estimate report (Fig. 16 illustrates the PCF determines to update policy information based on the energy saving event); and
transmit the determined PCC rules to the second network node (Fig. 16 and paragraph [0217] illustrates/describes the PCF sends a message comprises information about modification to QoS, policy for energy saving state change, to the SMF).
Talebi Fard fails to teach
a first request comprising an indication that a policy association is for a multi-access packet data unit (MA PDU).
Kim discloses
a first request comprising an indication that a policy association is for a multi-access packet data unit (MA PDU) (paragraph [0018] describes a method of establishing a multi-access PDU session for an ATSSS function).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Kim for requesting a change in ATSSS in a MA PDU session. The teachings of Kim, when implemented in the Talebi Fard system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to . One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kim in the Talebi Fard system in order to update and propagate changing in ATSSS rules across multiple access networks.
As for claim 9, the combined system of Talebi Fard and Kim teaches wherein the first network node is a policy control function (Talebi Fard: paragraph [0218] describes the PCF receives a request to update policy), the second network node is any one of a session management function or an application function (Talebi Fard: paragraph [0218] describes the request is provided by the SMF), and the third network node is a network data analytics function (Talebi Fard: Fig. 16 and paragraph [0215] illustrates/describes the PCF receives a notify message related to energy saving state change, from the EENF, EMF, NWFAF).
As for claim 10, the combined system of Talebi Fard and Kim teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive desired quality of service (QoS) parameters for one or more flows of the MA PDU session (Talebi Fard: paragraphs [0215]-[0216] describe the PCF receives a notification in response to sending a subscription request message related to a QoS flow of an UE, a QoS flow of the PDU session; Kim: paragraph [0018] describes a multi-access PDU session).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Kim for requesting a change in ATSSS in a MA PDU session. The teachings of Kim, when implemented in the Talebi Fard system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to . One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kim in the Talebi Fard system in order to update and propagate changing in ATSSS rules across multiple access networks.
.
As for claim 11, the combined system of Talebi Fard and Kim teaches wherein the second request comprises at least one of:
a data network name and slice selection assistance information that are associated with the MA PDU session (Talebi Fard: paragraph [0215] describes the subscription message comprises Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI); Kim: paragraph [0018] describes a multi-access PDU session); and
one or more desired quality of service parameters for one or more flows of the MA PDU session (Talebi Fard: paragraph [0216] describes the event corresponds to an energy saving status change such as a change in managed object instance (MOI) attribute (value) of a NE of a NF; Kim: paragraph [0018] describes a multi-access PDU session).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Kim for requesting a change in ATSSS in a MA PDU session. The teachings of Kim, when implemented in the Talebi Fard system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to . One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kim in the Talebi Fard system in order to update and propagate changing in ATSSS rules across multiple access networks.
As for claim 12, the combined system of Talebi Fard and Kim teaches wherein the energy estimate report comprises energy estimate information for at least a 3GPP access and a non-3GPP access of the MA PDU session (Talebi Fard: paragraph [0082] describes an UE accesses a data network (DN) using a 3GPP and a non-3GPP; paragraphs [0245] [0249], [0260] and [0266] describe monitoring key parameter is used to indicate usage monitoring on an PDU session level, in the case of an MA PDU Session, the monitoring key parameter is used to indicate using monitoring on a PDU Session level, NF level, S-NSSAI level, slice instance level, QoS flow level for the 3GPP and the Non-3GPP access; paragraph [0277] describes the PCF receives a notification from an analytics function. The notification is received in response to sending a subscription request message to the analytics function. The subscription request message comprises an event that corresponds to energy consumption related events such as energy consumption exceeding a threshold. The event is associated with a NF, or NE of the 3GPP network; Kim: paragraph [0018] describes a multi access PDU session).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Kim for requesting a change in ATSSS in a MA PDU session. The teachings of Kim, when implemented in the Talebi Fard system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to . One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kim in the Talebi Fard system in order to update and propagate changing in ATSSS rules across multiple access networks.
As for claim 13, the combined system of Talebi Fard and Kim teaches wherein the energy estimate report indicates at least one of:
an estimated energy consumption for at least one of the at least a 3GPP access and a non-3GPP access, relative to a target data rate;
an estimated energy consumption for at least one of the at least a 3GPP access and a non-3GPP access, relative to a target quality of service metric value (Talebi Fard: paragraph [0082] describes an UE accesses a data network (DN) using a 3GPP and a non-3GPP; paragraph [0215] and Table describes the energy consumption is associated with the UE, the PDU session of the UE, a QoS flow of the UE, a QoS flow of the PDU session; paragraph [0266] describes monitoring key parameter is used to indicate usage monitoring on an PDU Session level, NF level S-NSSAI level, slice instance level, QoS flow level or, in the case of an MA PDU Session, to indicate usage monitoring on PDU Session level, NF level, S-NSSAI level, slice instance level, QoS flow level for the 3GPP access and/or the non-3GPP access); and
an estimated energy consumption for at least one of the at least a 3GPP access and a non-3GPP access, relative to a target quality of experience metric value.
As for claim 14, the combined system of Talebi Fard and Kim teaches wherein the transmitted PCC rules comprise an indication that and energy aware steering mode is to be enabled for the MA PDU session (Kim: paragraphs [0047]-[0051] describe in the state in which the MA PDU session is established, the UE triggers and requests a change of the ATSSS rule for a specific packet filter set to the core network. After an AMF receives a request indicating an ATSSS rule needs to be changed from a UE. The AMF transmits a message to the SMF which in turn performs a session management policy modification with the PCF. The PCF evaluates the ATSSS preference requested by the UE based on a session management policy and performs the change of the ATSSS rule. The PCF informs the SMF of the changed ATSSS rule; paragraph [0042] describes the PCF transmits policy and charging control rules (PCCs) required for the SMF to map into ATSSS rules to the SMF).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Kim for requesting a change in ATSSS in a MA PDU session. The teachings of Kim, when implemented in the Talebi Fard system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to . One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kim in the Talebi Fard system in order to update and propagate changing in ATSSS rules across multiple access networks.
Conclusions
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Suh et al. (US 2025/0365655) teach method for selection of network supporting energy control in wireless communication system
Qiao et al. (US 2022/0158858) teach charging control for non-public network
Ranganath et al. (US 2024/0259879) teach radio access network intelligent application manager
Ryu et al. (US 2022/0408333) teach session management for edge computing.
/L. T. N/
Examiner, Art Unit 2459
/TONIA L DOLLINGER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2459